
 

July 15, 2015 

 
NOTICE 

 
To All Automotive Dismantlers and Parts Recyclers 

 
On June 5, 2015 Governor Robert Bentley signed into law Act 2015-362 which becomes effective October 
1, 2015. The Act amends Section 40-12-414, Code of Alabama 1975, by increasing the continuous bond 
amount from $10,000 to $25,000 for Automotive Dismantlers and Parts Recyclers in the State of Alabama.   

Therefore, all current licensees renewing their automotive dismantler license for the 2015-2016 
license year must submit a new continuous automotive dismantler surety bond in the amount of 
$25,000.  Replacement bonds or bond riders will not be accepted.  The effective date of the continuous 
bond must be on or before October 1, 2015.  No lapse in coverage may occur when changing from the old 
bond to the new bond.  The new bonds must not utilized the bond number of the $10,000 bond currently 
on file.  Only bonds with new bond numbers will be accepted for the 2015-2016 license year.  All 
licensees/applicants will be required to scan and upload an electronic copy of the signed bond and 
accompanying power of attorney via My Alabama Taxes at www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov when the 
dismantler license is renewed. 

Blank bond forms are available at http://revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/forms/LIC-756-2.pdf. 

Questions concerning the new bond requirement may be directed to: 

 
Severance & License Section 

Business & License Tax Division 
P. O. Box 327550 

Montgomery, AL 36132-7550 
(334) 353-7827 

 

 

http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
http://revenue.alabama.gov/licenses/forms/LIC-756-2.pdf

