
TAX REFUND CALCULATION: Gasoline Undyed Diesel
1. Total gallons billed to licensed exempt entities 

without the excise tax (round to whole gallons) . . . . . . . . . . . . .

2. Excise tax rate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . X              $0.16 X              $0.19

3. Refund total (line 1 multiplied by line 2) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
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ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS & LICENSE TAX DIVISION

MOTOR FUELS SECTION
P.O. Box 327540 • Montgomery, AL 36132-7540 • (334) 242-9608 • Fax (334) 242-1199

www.revenue.alabama.gov

Credit Card Issuer Petition for Refund
For Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Purchases by Licensed Exempt Entities

B&L: MFT-PRC
1/12

I declare under the penalties of perjury that this claim has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is true and
correct, and that the number of gallons claimed were billed to the licensed exempt entities without the state excise tax, and that said
petitioner is entitled to such refund under the provisions of Section 40-17 -329(f). 

Signature: _________________________________________________________________ Date: ____________________________

Title or Position: ______________________________________________________________________________________________

Records to clearly substantiate the above petition must be maintained by the credit card issuer for a period of six years and must be
made available to the Alabama Department of Revenue or its authorized agents upon request. The statute of limitations is two years
from the date the credit card purchase was made by the licensed exempt entity. The petition must be filed on a quarterly basis with a
separate petition for each quarter and cannot include any purchases for any other period. A listing of purchases must be attached
stating the date of the credit card purchase made by the licensed exempt entity, the licensed exempt entity name, exempt license
number, vendor name and location, invoice number, product type, and number of gasoline and/or undyed diesel fuel gallons. Please
see instructions for further details. 



WHO MAY FILE. A credit card issuer who bills an
licensed exempt entity as listed in Section 40-17-
329(e) without the state excise tax for gasoline and/or
undyed diesel fuel purchased by a licensed exempt
entity at a fixed retail pump available to the public with
the issuer's credit card. 

WHEN TO FILE. The petition must be filed on a
quarterly basis with a separate petition for each quarter
and cannot include any purchases for any other period.
The statute of limitations for filing a refund is within two
(2) years from the date that the fuel was purchased by
the exempt entity using the issuer's credit card. 

WHERE TO FILE. The claim must be filed with the
Alabama Department of Revenue, Business & License
Tax Division, Motor Fuels Section, P.O. Box 327540,
Montgomery, AL 36132-7540. 

TAX REFUND CALCULATION. 
1.  Enter the total number of gasoline and/or undyed

diesel fuel gallons billed to the licensed exempt
entity without the excise tax. 

2.  The state excise tax rate on gasoline is $.16 and on
diesel fuel is $.19. 

3.  Multiply the total number of gallons by the excise
tax rate to compute the refund total. 

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED. A listing/report of
purchases by licensed exempt entities must be
attached to the petition for refund. The listing/report
must include the date of credit card purchases made
by the licensed exempt entity, licensed exempt entity
name, exempt license number, name of vendor and
location, invoice number, product type, and the number
of gasoline and/or undyed diesel fuel gallons billed by
the credit card issuer without the tax. 

APPEAL PROCEDURES. According to Section 40-
2A-7, Code of Alabama 7975, you may appeal a denial
of this claim within two years of written notice of denial
by filing a notice of appeal with the Administrative Law
Division, P.O. Box 320001, Montgomery, AL 36132-
0001. You have the option of appealing to the Circuit
Court in Montgomery County, Alabama, or to the
Alabama Circuit Court of the county in which you
reside or have a principal place of business. Please
provide a copy of the appeal to this office. 

PENALTIES. Any applicant who willfully files an
inaccurate petition or false claim for a refund shall be
subject to a penalty of 100 percent (100%) of the
refund claimed, plus interest. 

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE. If you need further
information or have any questions, please contact the
Motor Fuels Section at (334) 242-9608. 

Instructions for Preparing
Credit Card Issuer Petition for Refund (Form B&L: MFT-PRC)
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