Today is Sunday, October 26, 2014
Important Notices!
*****  Administrative Law Division Move Effective October 1st, 2014  *****
The Taxpayer Fairness Act transfers Revenue's Administrative Law Division to the newly-created Alabama Tax Tribunal; their website is now http://taxtribunal.alabama.gov/.
 

Motor Vehicle

Larger Image of License Plate

Auburn University

Auburn University

Code Section: 32-6-150
Primary Tag Type(s): AU (Pre-numbered)
Secondary Tag Type (s): 02 (Personalized)
Series Began: September 2009

 

Who may purchase license plates in this category?  All residents of Alabama who are vehicle owners and supporters of Auburn University.

 

Is there any documentation required to be presented by the registrant prior to purchasing this plate? No

 

What registration fees are associated with the purchase of this license plate?  $23.00- $890.00 depending on the type of vehicle being registered

 

May the plates be personalized? Yes

 

Additional fees:  $50.00 for pre-numbered or personalized plate

 

How often are the additional fees paid? Annually

 

Are plates in this category transferable?  If so, to whom?  Yes. If a motor vehicle is transferred to the transferor's spouse or child, at the option of the transferor, the license plate may remain on the vehicle in the hands of the transferee upon payment of the fee for recording the transfer of the license plate. The transfer fee is $1.25.

 

What type of vehicles may this plate be displayed upon?  Private passenger automobiles, pickup trucks, and pleasure motor vehicles (i.e., recreational vehicles)

 

How are the net proceeds from the purchase of this plate distributed? The net proceeds are distributed to the general scholarship funds of the college or university whose tag is purchased for scholarship grants to Alabama resident students only. These fees represent a charitable contribution from the purchaser to the general scholarship fund of that institution.

 

How often does the license plate design change? Every five (5) years