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810-5-12-.01   Application for New and Used Motor Vehicle Dealer, Motor Vehicle 
Wholesaler,  Motor Vehicle Reconditioner, and Motor Vehicle Rebuilder Licenses and 
Renewals – Application for Off-site Sales Event.   

 (1)   Effective August 1, 2012, all new regulatory license applications and 
regulatory license renewal applications for new motor vehicle dealers, used motor 
vehicle dealers, motor vehicle wholesalers, motor vehicle reconditioners, and motor 
vehicle rebuilders shall be filed electronically. 

 (2) The applicant shall provide the following information on the application: 

 (a) Legal name of business and trade name or DBA (if applicable) and mailing 
address 

 (b) Physical address(es) of business and telephone number(s) 

 (c) Form of organization 

 1. Individual, 

 2. Partnership, 

 3. Limited Liability Corporation (LLC), 

 4. Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), or 

 5. Corporation 

 (d) Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) – not required for 
individual owners 

 (e) Type of regulatory license(s) requested: 

 1. New motor vehicle dealer (must provide name(s) of manufacturer(s) and 
line(s) that applicant is authorized to represent) 

 2. Used motor vehicle dealer 

 3. Motor vehicle wholesaler 

 4. Motor vehicle reconditioner 

 5. Motor vehicle rebuilder 
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 (f) State sales tax number (new motor vehicle dealers and used motor 
vehicle dealers only) 

 (g) Number of new and used vehicles sold during the previous calendar year 

 (h) Name, resident home address, home telephone number, driver license 
number or non-driver identification card  number and state of issuance and social 
security number for all owner(s), partners, members, officers and directors. 

 (i) Email address of person completing application (notice of regulatory 
license issuance or notice or request for additional information will be sent to this email 
address) 

 (3) The applicant shall electronically submit the information required in section 
2 of this rule and pay the ten dollar ($10) application fee(s) as required by Section 40-
12-392, Code of Alabama 1975, and any applicable five dollar ($5) fee(s) for 
supplemental locations as provided for in Section 40-12-395(a), Code of Alabama 1975, 
electronically. 

 (4) The Department will provide an application receipt that must be printed 
and mailed to the Department along with the following documents in order to complete 
the application: 

 (a) Properly executed Surety Bond or Surety Bond Continuation Certificate 
(provided with the application receipt for printing). Note: Pursuant to Section 40-12-398, 
Code of Alabama 1975, a Surety Bond or Surety Bond Continuation Certificate shall not 
be required for a motor vehicle dealer or wholesaler licensed under Section 40-12-51, 
Code of Alabama 1975, on or before April 1, 1978, or a motor vehicle rebuilder or 
reconditioner licensed to engage in such business on or before April 1, 1978. 

 (b)  Evidence of liability insurance for business and inventory vehicles for the 
new license application or license renewal period. 

 (c) A photograph of the motor vehicle dealership and principal sign displayed 
and situated on the dealer's permanent location or locations apprising the public that a 
retail motor vehicle sales business is being conducted at said location. The sign shall 
use the name under which the applicant is licensed, and should this name not clearly 
identify the applicant as a seller of new and/or used motor vehicles, then a supplement 
sign shall be attached, and state, in letters not less than six inches high, "used motor 
vehicle dealer" and/or "new motor vehicle dealer." The sign must be of sufficient size to 
be legible from the street fronting the display area, or from a distance to fifty yards, 
whichever is greater, so as to apprise a reasonable consumer that a retail motor vehicle 
sales business is being conducted at said location. This sign may be free standing or 
attached to the face of a building, and shall be erected at the location stated on the 
regulatory license application. Any new and/or used motor vehicle dealer having more 
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than one location shall submit a photograph for each location. The photograph shall be 
of such visual quality and size that a reasonable viewer of the photograph could discern 
all lettering appearing on the sign or signs. Note: A photograph shall only be 
required for the initial franchised new motor vehicle dealer or used motor vehicle 
dealer regulatory license application and shall not be required for renewals 
unless the sign or location has been modified or changed. 

 (5) Upon review of the information provided in the application and 
accompanying documents, the Department will issue the appropriate license(s) with a 
unique regulatory license number and notify the applicant by email of the issuance and 
provide a method for the licensee to electronically print the license. The Department will 
notify the applicant by email or first class mail if additional information is required and by 
first class or certified mail if the application is refused. Additional information may 
include any documentation deemed necessary by the Department to verify any of the 
information provided in the application and accompanying documents. 

 (6) A licensed motor vehicle dealer shall electronically apply for an off-site 

sales event license at least fourteen (14) days prior to conducting off-site sale. The 

motor vehicle dealer shall provide the following information on the application: 

 (a) Legal name of business, trade name or DBA (if applicable) and mailing 
address, 

 (b) Physical address(es) of business, 

 (c) Regulatory license number, 

 (d) Off-site sales event location address, and 

 (e) Beginning and ending dates of off-site sales event 

 (7) The applicant shall electronically submit the information required in section 

6 of this rule and pay the twenty-five dollar ($25) application fee as required by Section 

40-12-395(b)(3), Code of Alabama 1975, electronically. 

 (8) Upon review of the information provided and approval of the application, 
the Department will issue an off-site sales event license and notify the applicant by 
email of the issuance and provide a method for the licensee to electronically print the 
license. The Department will notify the applicant by email or first class mail if additional 
information is required and by first class or certified mail if the application is refused. 

Author: Mike Gamble 
Authority: Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5), 40-12-392, 40-12-395 and 40-12-398, Code of  
  Alabama 1975 
History: New rule:  Filed June 27, 2012, effective August 1, 2012.  
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