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810-5-1-.211  Motor Vehicle Registration Delinquency Penalty and Interest Charges.  
 

(1)  Penalties for the late registration of a motor vehicle are codified in 
Sections 40-12-260(a)(5) and 32-6-65(b), Code of Alabama 1975. Additionally, a 
penalty under Section 40-12-249(b) is applicable to anyone operating a vehicle with an 
improper class license plate. This rule does not address the penalty provisions of 
Section 40-12-255(b) involving manufactured homes.  
 

(2)  Registrants have 20 days from date of purchase or acquisition to register 
a newly acquired vehicle without penalty.  
 

(3)  In determining the 20-day penalty free period, the day the vehicle was 
actually acquired is not included in the calculations. Thus issuing officials, in calculating 
the 20-day “grace period” must begin counting using the day following the purchase or 
acquisition date.  
 

(4)  In calculating the 20 day penalty and interest “grace period,” if the 20th 
day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, holiday, or any day that the county issuing office is 
closed, the vehicle owner may register his or her vehicle the next business day without 
penalty and interest charges as per Alabama law.  
 

(5)  If someone is issued a current and valid Alabama temporary license 
plate(s) before the 20-day penalty and interest “grace period” expires for his or her 
newly acquired vehicle, penalty and interest are not to be charged if the vehicle is 
registered while the temporary plate(s) remains valid. The temporary plate must have 
been acquired prior to the delinquent period.  
 

(6)  If someone is issued a current and valid temporary license plate for his or 
her newly acquired vehicle in another jurisdiction, penalty and interest shall not be 
charged when registered while the temporary plate is valid, even if the 20th day occurs 
before the temporary plate expires. Provided, the temporary plate acquired from another 
jurisdiction must have been secured within the 20-day “grace period” from date 
purchased or acquired.  
 

(7)  Section 32-6-65(b), in defining the phrase “late registration of a motor 
vehicle” uses the phrase “date of purchase or acquisition.” There are many ways one 
may acquire a motor vehicle, including:  
 

(a) Gift,  
(b) Prize,  
(c) Divorce settlement,  
(d) Estate settlement.   
 
(8)  It is the responsibility of anyone acquiring a vehicle to prove to the 

satisfaction of the license plate issuing official the date the vehicle was acquired, if the 
vehicle was operated with a temporary license plate, and any other factor that would 
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assist the issuing official in determining when the registration fee liability attaches, and if 
delinquency penalty and interest charges are due.  
 

(9)  Situations sometimes occur where the date of purchase is different from 
the date of acquisition. In cases where the registrant can document to the issuing 
official that the newly acquired vehicle was not received by the owner until a date 
subsequent to the purchase date, penalty and interest shall not be charged if the vehicle 
is registered within 20 days of the acquisition date. Example: Someone acquiring a new 
truck from a dealership, as part of the purchase contract, requires the dealer to paint the 
truck and add special equipment, and such changes result in the new owner not taking 
possession of the truck until several days after the date shown on the title application as 
the purchase date.  
 

(10)  Situations sometimes occur where a purchaser will acquire a motor 
vehicle, have it delivered by the selling dealership to the purchaser’s location, where it is 
stored until weeks or months later when the purchaser needs to place the vehicle into 
service. If the purchaser documents to the license plate issuing official that the vehicle 
was delivered by the seller and not subsequently operated on the public highways prior 
to the vehicle being registered, the issuing official shall charge no late registration 
penalty or interest.  
 

(11)  Under provisions of the Alabama Certificate of Title and Antitheft Act, a 
salvage motor vehicle may be rebuilt and operated on the public highways. In such 
cases, upon inspection and the issuance of an application for certificate of title for the 
rebuilt vehicle by the Department of Revenue, the vehicle shall be registered within 20 
days of the date shown on the application for certificate of title without penalty or 
interest charges attaching (unless the registration fee liability does not attach, for 
example, if the rebuilt vehicle is acquired by and immediately placed into dealer 
inventory).  
 

(12)  There are situations where owners acquire motor vehicles to be used 
exclusively on private property and not on the “public highway” as that term is defined in 
Section 40-12-240. In the event the owner needs to operate the vehicle on the public 
highways, before operating, the owner must first register the vehicle – there is no 20-
day grace period in such cases. In the event the vehicle is operated on the public 
highways without the registration having been acquired before operation, delinquency 
penalties and interest charges are due when the vehicle is subsequently registered. 
Vehicle operation on the public highways does not include movement directly from one 
side of a public highway to the opposite side of the highway (for example, to move the 
vehicle from plant sites directly across the highway from each other).  
 

(13)  In the event someone leases a motor vehicle, the lease date is the date of 
acquisition, and the registration fee liability attaches on the lease date, unless the lessor 
or lessee can provide evidence that the lessee did not receive control and possession of 
the vehicle on the lease date.  
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(14)  In the event a licensed motor vehicle dealer moves a vehicle from his/her 
vehicle sales inventory to be used as daily rental vehicle, the motor vehicle dealer shall 
certify to the issuing official the date that the vehicle was placed into the rental 
inventory, or the date that the vehicle was first used as a rental vehicle, whichever date 
is first, in order for the issuing official to determine if delinquency penalty and interest 
charges accrue. This same requirement is applicable if the vehicle is removed from 
dealer inventory for use as a service vehicle, etc.  
 

(15)  In the event a manufacturer of motor vehicles elects to sell a motor 
vehicle to the employee of the manufacturer or direct to a retail customer, the liability for 
registration fees would begin at the date of purchase or acquisition, with the purchaser 
having the 20-day grace period to acquire registration.  
 

(16)  In accordance with the opinion of the Attorney General issued to the 
Honorable Larry Prince, Tax Assessor, Franklin County, under date of June 2, 1993, 
during the 20-day period a newly acquired vehicle may be operated without a current 
and valid Alabama license plate being displayed on the vehicle, if the owner has not 
secured a new registration for the vehicle.  
 

(17)  In accordance with the provisions of Section 40-12-260(b)(1)(2) and (3), 
during the 20-day grace period from purchase date or acquisition date, the operator of 
the newly acquired vehicle must retain with the vehicle the ownership document(s) 
authorized in these law subsections for possible presentation to law enforcement. 
Provided, if the person acquiring the vehicle has a current and valid license plate 
formerly registered to another vehicle he/she previously owned, said license plate may 
be affixed to newly acquired motor vehicle.  
 

(18)  If the newly acquired motor vehicle is a truck or truck tractor with a gross 
weight exceeding 10,000 pounds, or is a commercial bus, while the registration may be 
secured without penalty during the 20-day period following the date of purchase or 
acquisition, operation of the truck, truck tractor or commercial bus on the public 
highways, without a current and valid license plate may subject the operator to law 
enforcement sanctions; particularly, if the vehicle is operated outside the State of 
Alabama.  
 

(19)  If the owner of a newly acquired motor vehicle seeks to register the 
vehicle by transferring the current and valid registration from a vehicle he/she continues 
to own, in accordance with the provisions of Section 40-12-260, such transfer cannot be 
made. If, however, the owner can document to the satisfaction of the license plate 
issuing official that the previously owned vehicle was sold or otherwise disposed of prior 
to the acquisition of new vehicle, the transfer may be made. Provided, if the owner of 
the newly acquired vehicle can document to the satisfaction of the license plate issuing 
official that the previously registered vehicle was junked or destroyed thereby rendering 
it inoperable, although he or she continues to own the vehicle, prior to the acquisition of 
the new vehicle, the issuing official may transfer the license plate from said vehicle to 
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the newly acquired vehicle within the 20-day period without registration penalty or 
interest charges.  
 

(20)  In the event an Alabama resident acquires a motor vehicle in another 
state, and operates the vehicle in that jurisdiction, or outside the State of Alabama, for 
days, weeks, or months, perhaps using temporary plates from the jurisdiction where 
vehicle was purchased, the 20-day penalty free period shall begin on the day following 
the date the vehicle enters the State of Alabama, as the registration fee liability attaches 
upon vehicle operation upon Alabama public highways.  
 

(21)  Generally, any vehicle subject to registration fee or ad valorem tax 
exemption is not exempt from penalty and interest charges. However, vehicle owners, 
under laws providing for exemption of “charges of any nature whatsoever” (such as 
Section 40-9-12) are exempt from penalty and interest charges.  
 

(22)  The $15 penalty levied under Section 32-6-65(b) for “the failure to register 
the vehicle within 20 calendar days of the date of purchase or acquisition” is applicable 
when the vehicle owner has no current and valid Alabama license plate that can be 
transferred to the newly acquired vehicle. In the case where the vehicle owner has a 
current and valid Alabama license plate which was removed from a vehicle that was 
sold, junked or destroyed, and fails to transfer said license plate to the newly acquired 
vehicle within 20 days of purchase or acquisition, only the transfer penalty imposed 
under Section 40-12-260 (a)(5) shall be applicable.  
 

(23)  Section 32-6-65(b) provides for a $15 penalty for anyone failing to renew 
his or her vehicle registration during his or her designated renewal month. In the event a 
motor vehicle owner has a current and valid Alabama license plate that may be 
transferred to a newly acquired vehicle, and fails to do so within the 20-day grace 
period, and also fails to timely renew his or her vehicle registration in the designated 
renewal month, both the $15 transfer penalty and the $15 penalty authorized under 
Section 32-6-65 (b) for failure to timely renew shall be applicable.  
 

(24)  If the last day of the registrant’s renewal month(s) falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, holiday, or other day that the issuing office is closed, the registrant may renew 
his or her vehicle registration without penalty or interest charges during the next 
business day.  
 

(25)  Some Alabama counties send renewal notices to persons previously 
registering their motor vehicles in that county. The failure of any county to offer this 
service, or the failure of the renewal notice to be received by the vehicle owner does not 
serve to waive the penalty or interest charges levied under Alabama law.  
 

(26)  Section 40-12-10(f) provides that a license-issuing official cannot “fail to 
collect such penalties when issuing such license.” However, anyone determined to be 
subject to a registration law penalty may, after paying the penalty, seek a review by a 
court of competent jurisdiction to seek a refund of the penalty or interest charges. 
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Registration penalties assessed on vehicles subject to registration under Section 32-6-
56, Code of Alabama 1975, may be appealed to the Department’s Administrative Law 
Division.  
 

(27)  Penalty provisions found in Sections 40-12-260 and 32-6-65 are not 
applicable when the following registrations are issued:  
 

(a)      State, county, municipal government, Public Utility Department vehicles.  
Vehicles owned by volunteer fire department license plates as authorized under Section 
40-12-250.  
 

(b)      U.S. Government Loaned Vehicles. 
  

(c)      Dealer, motorcycle dealer, manufacturer and dealer transit license plates  
(see Section 40-12-264).  
 

(d)  Temporary license plates.  
 

(28)  Under the provisions of Section 40-12-262, a non-resident moving to the 
State of Alabama with a current and valid out-of-state registration has 30 days following 
the date the vehicle enters the state to obtain an Alabama registration. Anyone failing to 
timely register their vehicle is subject to a registration penalty under Section 32-6-65(b). 
Note that this 30-day period is based on the vehicle owner having a current and valid 
out-of-state registration; if not, the vehicle must be registered immediately. Provided, if 
the vehicle is exempt from registration in its former base jurisdiction, registration for the 
vehicle must be accomplished within 20 days following the date the vehicle enters the 
state.  
 

(29)  Section 40-12-249(b) provides for a 25% penalty on the difference 
between fees paid and fees due when someone is cited with operating a vehicle with 
the incorrect class of license plate. This penalty refers to situations where the 
registrant’s vehicle is improperly registered with a lower weight license plate category 
than required, or when the registrant is operating a vehicle with one class license plate 
when another class license plate is required.  
 

(30)  In situations where a vehicle is operated during the renewal month(s) after 
the previous registration expired with an improper class license plate, the operator can 
be cited for improper license plate for the previous registration year, with the 25% 
penalty applicable. Additionally, the registrant would owe registration fees for the proper 
classification of license plate for the current registration period.  
 

(31)  In the event a person acquires a vehicle in a month other than their 
designated renewal month, and registers it with an improper classification license plate, 
the 25% penalty shall be based on the difference between the prorated fees for the 
license plate classification that should have been obtained beginning for the month the 
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vehicle was acquired, and the prorated fees for the license plate classification that was 
obtained.  
 

(32)  Section 40-12-10(d) authorizes the collection of a citation fee when a 
“Notice to Obtain License Plate” is issued, and requires that the issuing official collect 
the citation fee “before issuing any license.”  
 

(33)  The term “citation” as used in Section 40-12-249(b) refers to the “Notice to 
Obtain License Plate” as authorized in Section 40-12-10, and does not refer to Uniform 
Traffic Tickets.  
 

(34)  Section 40-12-10(e) requires the license plate issuing official to collect 
interest when issuing a delinquent motor vehicle registration. Interest charges are 
calculated based on the provisions of Section 40-1-44, with the Department of Revenue 
providing notice of interest rate changes to the license plate issuing officials.  
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