Today is Thursday, October 2, 2014
Important Notices!
*****  Administrative Law Division Move Effective October 1st  *****
The Taxpayer Fairness Act transfers Revenue's Administrative Law Division to the newly-created Alabama Tax Tribunal; their website is now http://taxtribunal.alabama.gov/.
 

Motor Vehicle

ADOR - Motor Vehicle Division Rule 810-5-1-.484

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

 
 

810-5-1-.484  Licensing, Registration, Expiration, Etc. 

            (1)     Effective January 1, 2005, pursuant to Section 32-6-61, Code of Alabama 1975, license plate issuing officials, when issuing motor vehicle registrations for non-commercial vehicles, shall indicate the expiration date of those registrations as the last day of the designated renewal month of the registrant. For example, any vehicle owner whose last name begins with the letters “A” or “D,” when renewing their registrations in the month of January, will be issued registrations indicating an expiration date of January 31 of the following year.             (2)     Effective January 1, 2005, license plate issuing officials, when issuing registrations for non-apportioned commercial vehicles, shall indicate the expiration date to be November 30 instead of September 30.             (3)        Effective May 1, 2003, license plate issuing officials, when issuing registrations for apportioned (IRP) commercial vehicles, shall indicate the expiration date as the last day of the designated renewal month of the registrant.  The Department of Revenue assigns renewal months to registrants in order to ensure that registrations are equally distributed in order to establish a more efficient registration system.   Vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan staggered registration system are reregistered during the months of January through November.             (4)     Effective October 1, 1994, registrations issued for motorcycles, travel trailers and utility trailers owned by individuals shall be issued on a staggered registration basis and in the same month as that designated to purchase license plates for private automobiles and pickup trucks.

            (5)     The provisions of Act 2004-554, codified as Code Section 32-6-61, also effectively changes the starting date of the registration period from the first day of the designated renewal month to the first day of the month following the designated renewal month. The provisions of this act also change the ending date of the motor vehicle registration period to the last day of the designated renewal month in the following calendar year. Example: Anyone with a January designated renewal month renewing in January 2006 will be issued a registration for the period February 1, 2006 through January 31, 2007.

            (6)     Beginning January 1, 2005, anyone acquiring a motor vehicle within his or her designated renewal month would owe 13 months registration fees. The registrant would be paying fees for one month of his or her current registration year, and for the entire subsequent registration year. For example: A registrant with a last name beginning with the letter “A” acquires a vehicle and purchases the initial registration in the month of January. The registrant may elect to either pay registration fees for 13 months (January 1 through January 31 for the current registration year) and (February 1 through January 31 for the following year) at the time the plate is issued or he or she may elect to pay registration fees for one month (January 1 through January 31 for the current registration year) and return to the county tag office prior to January 31 and pay fees for the upcoming registration year (February 1 through January 31) in order to avoid penalty and interest charges.

            (7)     Similarly, anyone acquiring a truck with a gross vehicle weight exceeding 12,000 pounds in October 2005, would owe 14 months registration fees. The registrant would be paying fees for two months of his or her current registration year, and for the entire subsequent registration year. For example: When someone acquires a truck with a gross vehicle weight exceeding 12,000 pounds in October 2005, registration fees must be collected for the current registration year (October 1 through November 30, 2005) at the time a plate is issued. To avoid penalty and interest charges, the registrant must return to the county tag office prior to November 30, 2005, and pay fees for the upcoming registration year (December 1, 2005 through November 30, 2006). The registrant may opt, however, to pay registration fees for the 14-month period at the time the license plate is issued. Anyone acquiring a truck with a gross vehicle weight exceeding 12,000 pounds in November 2005 would owe registration fees for the current registration year (November 1 , 2005 through November 30, 2005), and for the upcoming registration year (December 1 , 2005 through November 30, 2006) (13 months fees due). As stated above, the registrant is not required to pay registration fees for the next registration year at the time the license plate is purchased. Registration fees however must be paid on or before November 30 or penalty and interest will be due.

            (8)     Beginning in January 2006, if a registrant, after having reregistered his or her motor vehicle for the 12-month period beginning the first day after the designated renewal month, sells, junks, completely totals, or otherwise disposes of the motor vehicle during the designated renewal month, the registrant may request and is entitled to a refund of the registration fees previously paid for the upcoming registration year because the vehicle was disposed of prior to the effective date of the upcoming registration period. Additionally, the registrant is entitled to a refund or credit voucher for the ad valorem tax paid for the upcoming registration year.

           (9)     License plate issuing officials and law enforcement officials should note that vehicle registrations issued in calendar year 2004 and expiring in calendar year 2005, will have expiration dates of the last day of the month prior to the designated renewal month, while those issued in calendar year 2005 and subsequent years will have expiration dates of the last day of the designated renewal month.

           (10)    Registrants may display their newly-issued Alabama license plates on their vehicle prior to the beginning of the registration period for which the license plate was issued. In the event the vehicle is registered for the upcoming registration period with a higher license plate classification or a license plate of greater cost than the current registration, the vehicle may not be operated beyond the current license plate classification until the current registration expires and the new registration becomes effective. Vehicle operators shall retain both the current registration receipt and the registration receipt for the new registration period, and, upon request of law enforcement, shall present both registration receipts for inspection.

 

Author:            James P. Starling Authority:        Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5), 32-6-61, 32-6-62 and 32-6-56, Code of Alabama 1975.    History:           Filed August 17, 1994, effective September 21, 1994.                         Amended:  Filed February 14, 2003, effective March 21, 2003.                         Amended:  Filed June 2, 2006, effective July 7, 2006.

                        Amended:  Filed December 8, 2009, effective January 12, 2010.

 

 
Motor Vehicle Rules Numeric Index