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810-5-75-.52   Designated Agent - Dealer, Financial Institution, Pawnshop and 

Insurance Company Appointments.  

 (1) The term "Department" as used in this regulation shall mean the Department 

of Revenue of the State of Alabama.  

 (2) Every dealer as defined in Section 32-8-2 (2), Code of Alabama 1975, as 

amended, shall be a designated agent of the Department. A dealer may make 

application on form MVT 4-1 to become a designated agent of the Department. If the 

application is approved by the Commissioner of Revenue, the applicant shall enter into 

a bond with a corporate surety authorized to do business in this state as surety thereon, 

approved by the Commissioner of Revenue, payable to the State of Alabama in a sum 

to be determined by the Department, but in no event less than ten thousand dollars 

($10,000), conditioned on the faithful performance of its duties under the Act. (Bond 

form MVT 4-3 is provided by the Department.)  

 (3) A financial institution making mortgage loans on motor vehicles or a 

pawnshop licensed to enter into pawn transactions for motor vehicle certificates of title, 

legally authorized to do business in Alabama and having a place of business in 

Alabama, may make application on form MVT 4-2 to become a designated agent of the 

Department. If the application is approved by the Commissioner of Revenue, the 

applicant shall enter into a bond with a corporate surety authorized to do business in 

this state as surety thereon, approved by the Commissioner of Revenue, payable to the 

State of Alabama in a sum to be determined by the Department, but in no event less 

than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), conditioned on the faithful performance of its duties 

under the Act. (Bond form MVT 4-3 is provided by the Department.) 

 (4)  An insurance company, legally authorized to do business in Alabama and 

having a place of business in Alabama, may make application on form MVT 4-2 to 

become a designated agent of the Department.  If the application is approved by the 

Commissioner of Revenue, the applicant shall enter into a bond with a corporate surety 

authorized to do business in this state as surety thereon, approved by the 

Commissioner of Revenue, payable to the State of Alabama in a sum to be determined 

by the Department, but in no event less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), 

conditioned on the faithful performance of its duties under the Act. (Bond form MVT 4-3 

is provided by the Department.) 

 (5) The Department shall not appoint an out of state dealer, financial institution, 

pawnshop or insurance company as a designated agent of the Department. Designated 

agents of the Department located outside the State of Alabama that were qualified prior 

to January 1, 2004, may continue to operate as a designated agent of the Department 

as long as they comply with the requirements of Chapter 8, Title 32 of the Code of 
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Alabama 1975, as amended. Should the designated agent license of an out of state 

designated agent be cancelled, the designated agent cannot be reinstated.  

Author:  Mike Gamble  
Authority:  Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5), 32-8-3(b)(2) and 32-8-34(c), Code of Alabama  
  1975  
History:  New rule: Filed May 18, 2004, effective June 22, 2004.  
  Amended: Filed April 21, 2010, effective May 26, 2010.  
  Amended: Filed January 6, 2011, effective February 10, 2011. 
  Amended:  Filed January 10, 2013, effective February 14, 2013. 


