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810-5-12-.01 Application for New and Used Motor Vehicle Dealer, Motor Vehicle 
Wholesaler, and Motor Vehicle Rebuilder Licenses –Application for Off- site Sales 
Event. 

 

          (1) All new and renewal regulatory license applications for new motor 
vehicle dealers, used motor vehicle dealers, motor vehicle wholesalers, and motor 
vehicle rebuilders shall be filed electronically. 

 

          (a) The applicant shall provide the following information on the application: 
 

1. Legal name of business and trade name or DBA (if applicable) and 
mailing address 

 
2. Physical address(es) of business and telephone number(s) 

 
3. Form of organization 

 
(i) Individual, 

 
(ii) Partnership, 

 
(iii) Limited Liability Company (LLC), 

 
(iv) Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), or 

 
(v) Corporation 

 
4. Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) – not required for 

individual owners 
 

5. Type of regulatory license(s) requested: 
 

(i) New motor vehicle dealer, as defined in §40-12-390, Code of Alabama_1975 
must provide name(s) of manufacturer(s) or distributor(s) and line(s) that applicant is 
authorized to represent 

 
(ii) Used motor vehicle dealer, as defined in  §40-12-390, Code of 

Alabama 1975 
 

(iii) Motor vehicle wholesaler, as defined in §40-12-390, Code of 
Alabama 1975 

 

(iv) Motor vehicle rebuilder, as defined in §40-12-390, Code of 
Alabama 1975 
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6.  State sales tax number (new and used motor vehicle dealers only) 
 

7.  Number of motor vehicles sold during the previous calendar year 
 

8.  Name, resident home address, home telephone number, driver 
license number or non-driver identification card number and state of issuance 
and social security number for all owner(s), partners, members, officers and 
directors. 

 
9. Email address of person completing application (notice of regulatory 

license issuance or notice or request for additional information will be sent to this 
email address) 

 
 (b)  The applicant shall electronically submit the information required in 
section (1) (a) of this rule and pay the twenty-five dollar ($25) application fee(s) as 
required by §40-12-392, Code of Alabama 1975, and any applicable five dollar ($5) 
fee(s) for supplemental locations as provided for in §40-12-395, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 

           (c)   The Department will provide an application receipt that must be printed 
and mailed to the Department along with the following documents in order to complete 
the application: 
 

1.  Properly executed surety bond in the sum of twenty-five thousand 
dollars ($25,000) as provided in §40-12-398, Code of Alabama 1975. Note: 
There will be one bond for dealers and designated agents.  The continuous 
bond shall be submitted with the initial application.  The Department must be 
notified of any change in the status of the bond. 

 
2.  Evidence of blanket motor vehicle liability insurance coverage as 

provided in §40-12-392, Code of Alabama 1975, for business and inventory 
vehicles for the new license application or license renewal period if evidence of 
insurance cannot be verified electronically. 

 

 3. A copy of the driver license or non-driver identification card for all 
owner(s), partners, members, officers and directors. 
 

4.  A photograph of the motor vehicle dealership and principal sign displayed 
and situated on the dealer's permanent location or locations, as defined in §40-12-392, 
Code of Alabama 1975, apprising the public that a retail motor vehicle sales business is 
being conducted at said location. Any new and/or used motor vehicle dealer having 
more than one location shall submit a photograph for each location. The photograph 
shall be of such visual quality and size that a reasonable viewer of the photograph 
could discern all lettering appearing on the sign or signs. Note: A photograph shall only 
be required for the initial new motor vehicle dealer or used motor vehicle dealer 
regulatory license application and shall not be required for renewals unless the sign or 
location has been modified or changed. 
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 (d)  The sign must meet the following requirements: 
 
(i)   The sign shall use the name under which the applicant is licensed, and 

should this name not clearly identify the applicant as a seller of new and/or used motor 
vehicles, then a supplemental sign shall be attached, and state, in letters not less than 
six inches high, "used motor vehicle dealer" and/or "new motor vehicle dealer."  

 
(ii)   The sign must be of sufficient size to be legible from the street fronting the 

display area, or from a distance to fifty yards, whichever is greater, so as to apprise a 
reasonable consumer that a retail motor vehicle sales business is being conducted at 
said location.  

 
(iii)   This sign may be free standing or attached to the face of a building, and 

shall be erected at the location stated on the regulatory license application.  
 
 (e)  To establish a permanent location, an applicant must demonstrate to the 

department the satisfaction of at least three (3) of the following: 
 
 1. If the applicant is an individual, that his or her driver's license or non-driver 
identification card is issued by Alabama.  
 
 2. If the applicant is a corporation, partnership, LLC or LLP that it is 
incorporated in Alabama or registered to conduct business in Alabama as a foreign 
corporation.  
 
 3. If the applicant is a corporation, that the principal owner is a resident of 
Alabama.  
 
 4. The applicant has filed an Alabama income tax return for the previous tax 
year.  
 
 5. The applicant has paid real estate or personal property taxes to Alabama.  
 
 6. The applicant receives utility bills in Alabama in its name. 
 
 7. Other factors that clearly evidence the applicant's legal residence in 
Alabama. 
 
 (f)  A permanent location does not include the following: 
 
 1. A shared or common space with other tenants.  
 
 2. Space rented by the hour or day.  
 
 3. Cubicles. 
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 4. Temporary, virtual or rotating office spaces.  
 
 5. More than one (1) dealer under the same roof. 
 

(g)  When retail sales are conducted from a residence, the location must be 
properly zoned for business. 

 
(h)   Upon review of the information provided in the application and 

accompanying documents, the Department will issue the appropriate license(s) with a 
unique regulatory license number and notify the applicant by email of the issuance and 
provide a method for the licensee to electronically print the license. The Department 
will notify the applicant by email or first class mail if additional information is required 
and by first class or certified mail if the application is refused. Additional information 
may include any documentation deemed necessary by the Department to verify any of 
the information provided in the application and accompanying documents. 

 
             (2)  Off-Site Sales Event 
 

(a)  A licensed motor vehicle dealer shall electronically apply for an off-site 

sales event license, as defined in § 40-12-395, Code of Alabama 1975, at least one 

(1) calendar day prior to conducting the off-site sale. Dealers may not participate in 

more than 3 off-site sales events per license year. The motor vehicle dealer shall 

provide the following information on the application: 

 
1.  Legal name of business, trade name or DBA (if applicable) and 

mailing address, 
 

2.  Physical address(es) of business, 
 

3.  Regulatory license number, 
 

4.  Off-site sales event location address, and 
 

5.  Beginning and ending dates of off-site sales event. The sales event 

cannot exceed 10 consecutive calendar days in duration. 
 

(b)  The applicant shall pay the twenty-five dollar ($25) application fee as 

required by §40-12-395, Code of Alabama 1975, electronically. 
 

(c)  Upon review of the information provided and approval of the application, 
the Department will issue an off-site sales event license and notify the applicant by 
email of the issuance and provide a method for the licensee to electronically print the 
license. The Department will notify the applicant by email or first class mail if 
additional information is required and by first class or certified mail if the application is 
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refused. 
 
 
Author: Lisa Blankenship, Mike Gamble 
Authority: Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5), 40-12-392, 40-12-395 and 40-12-398, Code 

of Alabama 1975 
History: New rule: Filed June 27, 2012, effective August 1, 2012. 

Amended: Filed October 27, 2014, effective December 1, 2014. 
Amended:  Filed November 30, 2015, effective January 4, 2016. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


