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2014 Legislation

• HB44-Rep. Boothe

• HB60-Reps. Hurst and Fincher

• SB26- Senators Dial and Whatley

• Amends Section 40-12-248

• Removes F4 plate restriction for truck tractors for 
farmers

• Currently only one plate can be obtained

• Permits unlimited plate purchases

• Effective immediately following passage



2014 Legislation

• HB85 – Rep. Merrill

• Annual additional $5 fee for Fire Fighter license plate

• Who qualifies for this plate? Current/retired members 
of:
– Paid

– Part-paid

– Volunteer fire departments (in-state/out-of-state)

• Net proceeds to be distributed to the Fire Fighters 
Annuity and Benefit Fund

• Effective first day of the third month following passage



2014 Legislation

• Act 2014-007 -Rep. DeMarco

• Permits cities in Jefferson County to issue license plates

• Exception: If a vehicle has not been previously 
registered in this state by or in the name of the current 
vehicle owner.

• Must be resident of the city

• Annual additional fee up to $5 used for the operations of 
city licensing official’s office

• Effective April 1, 2014



2014 Legislation

• HB221- Rep. Shedd

• Amends Sections 32-6-130, 32-6-131, and 32-6-133

• Creates a DV motorcycle plate

• Code sections pertain to $5 DV plate

• Qualifications
- Vehicle has special mechanical control devices

- Physical disability exceeds 50%

• Effective first day of the third month 

following passage



2014 Legislation

• HB359- Rep. DeMarco

• SB265- Sen. Dial

• Permits DOR to outsource the manufacturing and 
distribution of license plates and validation decals

• Will permit print-on-demand receipts and decals

• Effective immediately following passage



2014 Legislation
• HB398/SB312

• Reps. Collins, McClurkin, Scott

• Senator Blackwell

• Requires licensing officials to capture the FEIN or SSN 
for each applicant:
– 40-12, Article 2 - Business, occupational, vocational licenses, 

store licenses

– Article 6 – Store licenses

– Article 8 – Dealer licenses

– Article 9 - Automotive dismantlers and parts recyclers

• Application information must be transmitted to DOR

• Effective first day of the third month



2014 Legislation

• HB400/SB305

• Amends both the dealer licensing and dealer tag laws

• Motorcycle and trailer dealers will be required to obtain 
the Section 391 dealer license and present it to the 
licensing officials in order to purchase the Section 62 or 
169 licenses.

• Licensed dealers will automatically be licensed as 
wholesaler and rebuilders.

• One bond for designated agents and dealers- $25,000

• Effective date is August 1, 2014



2014 Legislation

• HB461- Reps. Drake, Faust, Carns, Wallace, 
Standridge, Baker, Patterson, McClendon

• Creates the professional firefighter plate

• Paid and part-paid fire department employees

• Creates a motorcycle FF plate

• FF Personnel Standards and Education Commission will 
provide lists to licensing officials

• Effective date is the first day of the third month



2014 Legislation

• HB495- Rep. Millican

• Permits registrants to purchase IRP plates from either 
DOR or county licensing officials

• Effective January 1, 2015



2014 Legislation

• SB32-Senator Whatley

• Alabama State Nursing Association 
License Plate

• Available to all supporters

• Annual additional fee of $50

• Net proceeds to the Alabama State Nurses 
Association

• Plate to be designed by the Alabama State 
Nurses Association

• Effective date is the first day of the third 
month following passage.



2014 Legislation

• SB50- Senator Blackwell

• Ovarian Cancer motorcycle license plate

• Available to all supporters

• Annual additional fee of $50

• Net proceeds to the Norma Livingston 
Ovarian Cancer Foundation

• Plate to be designed by the Norma 
Livingston Ovarian Cancer Foundation

• Effective January 1, 2015



2014 Legislation
• SB86- Sen. Taylor

• HB193-Rep. Boothe

• Exemption from penalty and interest charges for military 
personnel deployed for any part of the renewal month

• Exception: Discharged as “dishonorable” or “other than 
honorable”

• Evidence of deployment:
– military deployment orders, gov’t. issued statement of service 

letter, form DD214, letter from unit commander certifying 
deployment ending date

• Must renew registration within 30 calendar days of end 
of deployment. 

• Effective first day of third month.



2014 Legislation

• SB188-Sens. Coleman, Brewbaker, etc.

• Provides for a 2-year registration renewal option

• County commission can authorize licensing officials to 
offer the option

• Registrants pay registration fees, ad valorem taxes for 
each year 

• Local issuance fees only collected for the first 
registration year

• Effective date is January 1, 2015



2014 Legislation

• SB264-Sens. Dial, Whatley, Williams

• Amends Sections 40-12-244 and 40-12-254

• Provides for additional registration fee exemption and ad 
valorem tax exemption (40-12-254) for:
– Active and retired guard members, service connected disabled 

veterans, active reserve members, volunteer rescue squad members, 
Civil Air Patrol, volunteer firefighters (40-12-244)

– Disabled veterans whose personal use vehicles are paid or partly paid 
for by Veterans’ Affairs (40-12-254)

• Effective date is the first day of the third month following 
passage



2014 Legislation

• SB286- Sen. Holley

• Requires registrants obtaining placards (both blue and 
red) to provide the following information to licensing 
officials:

– State issued driver’s license number or

– State issued non-driver identification number or

– Unique identifying number prescribed by DOR

• Effective on January 1, 2015



2014 Legislation

• SB399-Senators Dial, Whatley, Holtzclaw and Taylor

• Amends Code Sections 32-6-250 and 32-6-251

• Creates a Legion of Valor license plate

• Must provide proof of the award of the MOH, Army 
Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross, or Air Force 
Cross

• First plate is registration fee and ad valorem tax exempt

• Effective first day of the third month


