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Administrative Rule Updates

• 810-5-75-.34 Title Obtained Under Surety Bond – Effective 
December 4, 2014,

The amended rule provides that surety bond form MVT 10-1 may be 
used to obtain a certificate of title for a motor vehicle or manufactured 
home. The applicant(s) shall complete an electronic request for an 
Alabama certificate of title under surety bond (form MVT 10-1A).The 
rule also indemnifies any prior or subsequent owner and lienholder 
against any expense or loss by reason of a defect or undisclosed 
security interest in the vehicle for a period of three (3) years.



Administrative Rule Updates

• 810-5-75-.52 Designated Agent Appointments – Effective December 
1, 2014.

The rule provides that certain entities must provide a surety bond in 
order to become designated agents of the department. The rule is 
being in amended in accordance with the provisions of Act 2014-158.

The ten thousand dollar ($10,000) designated agent bond has been 
eliminated and is replaced with a twenty-five thousand dollar ($25,000) 
bond which covers both the requirements for the designated agent and 
dealer license bonds.



Administrative Rule Updates

• 810-5-75-.31 Transfer Of Title For Vehicle Under The Abandoned 
Motor Vehicle Act – Effective February 27, 2015

This rule removes out dated language and further clarifies the 
procedures for obtaining a certificate of title pursuant to Chapter 13, 
Title 32, Code of Alabama 1975. 

Major change is the rule allows the department to accept electronic 
delivery notification receipts, and a electronic return receipts.



Administrative Rule Updates

• 810-5-75-.31.02 Abandoned Motor Vehicle Record Request 
Effective October 1, 2014

Rule is being amended to allow an authorized representative of a 
person of firm in possession of an abandoned motor vehicle to provide 
written notice to the current owner, secured parties and lienholder 
regarding the planned sale of the vehicle.  The rule is also being 
amended to allow an Abandoned Motor Vehicle Record Request (MVT 
32-13) to be submitted electronically through a service provider 
authorized by the department to provide motor vehicle records for this 
purpose.



Abandoned Motor Vehicle 
Updates



Abandoned Motor Vehicle 
Updates

• The Abandoned Motor Bill of Sale, Form 32-13B (9/10/14), has been 
updated to require signatures and printed names of both the buyer and 
seller of an abandoned motor vehicle. The previous form only required the 
signature and printed name of the seller. 

The updated form can be accessed from the MVD web page: 
http://revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/mvforms/mvt3213B.pdf



Abandoned Motor Vehicle Changes
Abandoned Motor 
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Abandoned Motor Vehicle Updates
• Administrative rule 810-5-75-.31 has been amended (effective – February 

27, 2015) to allow sellers of abandoned motor vehicles to contract with 
service providers to identify and notify the current owners, registrants, and 
lienholders of the abandoned vehicle regarding the pending sale. 

• The rule also provides that original certified mail return receipt forms or 
equivalent documentation as determined by the department evidencing that 
all parties (owners and lienholders) as disclosed on the original certified 
Abandoned Motor Vehicle Record Request Response (MVT 32-13R) were 
notified, or notification was attempted. This may include:

a. PS Form 3811, domestic return receipt, (Green Card) OR

b. Electronic certified mail receipt (Reference License Plate Issuing  

Officials Memo 2015-2)

i. PS Form 3877 AND

ii. DirectPost Delivery Detail/USPS Postal Confirmation OR
iii. Postal Confirmation/Detail Manifest



Abandoned Motor Vehicle Updates

PS Form 3811 – Domestic Return Receipt (Green Card)



Abandoned Motor Vehicle Updates
PS Form 3877

PS Form 
3877

Owner, 
registrant, 

lienholder name 
and address

Date notice 
placed in mail

Signature of 
postal employee

Article/Tracking 
number

Sample Joe
2545Taylor Rd
Montgomery, AL 36117



Abandoned Motor Vehicle Updates

Sender’s name 
and address Article/Tracking 

number

Owner, registrant, 
lienholder name  

and address

Notification delivery 
date

Detail tracking 
of Notification

Joe Sample
2545 Taylor Rd
Montgomery, AL 36117

2545 Taylor Rd

Montgomery, AL 36117



Abandoned Motor Vehicle Updates

Non-delivery of 
notification

Postal Confirmation/Detail Manifest

Joe Sample
2545 Taylor Road
Montgomery, AL36117



Electronic Lien and Title
ELT



ELT
Authority

• Section 32-8-4, Code of Alabama 1975:

Delivery of certificate

The certificate of title shall be mailed to the first lienholder named in it or, if 
none, to the owner. If the certificate of title is issued electronically, the 
designated agent that processed the application, at the time of issuance, 
shall provide the owner with a printed copy of the electronic certificate of 
title record.

• Section 32-8-64.2(b), Code of Alabama 1975:

Release of Certain liens

The department may require that all lien releases shall be electronically 
submitted to the department within 10 days of the date that a lien or 
security interest in a motor vehicle is satisfied.



ELT
Authority

• Section 32-8-68, Code of Alabama 1975

Recording and releasing security interest by electronic means

Notwithstanding any requirement in this chapter that a lien on a motor vehicle 
shall be noted on the face of the certificate of title, if there is one lien or more 
liens or encumbrances on the motor vehicle, the department may 
electronically transmit the lien to the first lienholder and notify the first 
lienholder of any additional liens. Subsequent lien satisfactions may be 
electronically transmitted to the department and shall include the name and 
address of the person satisfying the lien. If liens and lien releases are 
processed electronically and the last lien is satisfied, a title will be issued to 
the owner of the vehicle in a manner prescribed by the department. When a 
vehicle is subject to an electronic lien, the certificate of title for the vehicle shall 
be considered to be physically held by the lienholder for purposes of 
compliance with state or federal odometer disclosure requirements. A duly 
certified copy of the department's electronic record of the lien shall be 
admissible in any civil, criminal, or administrative proceeding in this state as 
evidence of the existence of the lien.



ELT - Benefits
Benefits Identified for the Electronic Lien and Title Application are:

• Improved data accuracy 

• Improved timeliness of data exchange 

• Elimination of paper forms 

• Reduction of mailing costs 

• Improved security over data and forms 

• Reduction of office space requirements for files 

• Reduction of printing costs 

• Simplified procedures for lost documents 



ELT – Phase I

• The initial phase will give a designated agent of the state the ability to select 
themselves as the loan company (if they are the loan company issuing the 
lien) and have the title be issued electronically. They will be able to release 
the title using information obtained from the title snapshot feature available 
to them in the current titling system, and the lien free title will be printed and 
mailed to the owner of the vehicle. 

• The Department will notify financial institutions (banks, credit unions, 
pawnshops, etc.) that normally process applications to record liens on 
vehicles currently titled and Alabama. These financial institutions are 
required to be designated agents of the Department and use ETAPS to 
process lien recording.  



ELT - Process

Financial 
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ELT - Process



ELT - Process

Prequalifier screen: enter VIN, current Alabama title number,with no change of ownership  
and add lien.



ELT - Process

click for Electronic Lien



ELT - Process

Application, title and 
supporting documentation, 
if  any, submitted to 
Department,



ELT - Process

Lienholder may check title snapshot  
screen to verify electronic title issued

Lienholder may convert electronic title to 
paper  title upon satisfaction of lien



Surety Bonds



What is a Title Surety Bond?

• A Title Surety Bond is guarantee of performance of a specific 
obligation or contract.

• A bond is issued by an insurance company and guarantees 
damages in the event that another individual claims 
ownership of the vehicle.

• A bond is similar to your personal auto insurance in that it is 
offering coverage in the event that a claim is made, except in 
the case of a bond, the coverage is for the certificate of title.



When is a Title Surety Bond necessary?

• The trail or “chain of ownership” is broken.

• The Department can not ascertain 
ownership of the vehicle.



Common Examples of when a bond is required:

• The vehicle was never titled.

• The owner never received a title.

• The previous owner did not title.

• An error occurred in the title assignment.



How much Bond Coverage will I need?

• How much coverage does Alabama require?

– Alabama utilizes standardized bond amounts.

• Section 32-8-36 (3), Code of Alabama1975, states, in part, “The 
department may establish uniform bond amounts for vehicles”. 





What are the requirements for a Title Bond in Alabama?

� Standard bond amounts for type and age of vehicle.

� Document to substantiate ownership. (bill of sale, registration or 
outstanding title).  Required with the application (MVT 10-1A).

� State of Alabama Bond Form, (MVT 10-1).

� Vehicles branded as Salvage, Parts only, or Junk are not eligible for 
title surety bond.

� Bond Term of three (3) years.



An Overview of the Bond Process

� Simply stated, the bond process is a three (3) step process.

1. Apply, on the surety bond portal, to receive a bond form, Form (MVT 
10-1A).

2. If (MVT 10-1A) is approved, A bond form (MVT 10-1) is sent to the 
applicant, via email.

3. Take the bond form (signed/sealed by the insurance company) to a 
Designated Agent to apply for Certificate of Title with the bond as 
the primary supporting document.



Applying for a Bond. Form (MVT 10-1A)
* http://revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/forms



MLI System











MVT 10-1





Checklist for Designated Agents

� Ensure that bond is completed on a state bond form (MVT 10-1).
� Ensure that the (MVT 10-1) is complete:

� The bond number is printed at the top of the bond.
� The name of the Surety appears
� The bond execution date is on the bond
� The insurance company agent’s name and signature appear
� The Principal’s (owner’s) name and signature appear.

� Ensure that the Insurance Company provides a Power of Attorney 
with the bond.  This is mandatory.

� Ensure that the bond effective date is not older than 90 days.
� Ensure that the bond effective date and the date of the Power of 

Attorney agree.



Alabama title issued under surety bond.



THANK YOU!


