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Motor Vehicle Updates
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1
Amends Code Sections 32-8-30, 32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

« Updates the title requirements for vehicles of a certain age or
type.

* For example:
- Vehicles over 35 years old
- Trailers over 20 years old
- Low speed vehicles
- Certain motor driven cycles
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Sections 32-8-30,
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

» Requires a person or entity initiating an involuntary transfer
by operation of law in Alabama to give notice of the action to
the department at least 35 calendar days prior to the date of
the transfer.

* Requires the Department to maintain a list of reported
vehicles to the public, without fee.
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Sections 32-8-30,
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

* Does not apply to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant to the
abandoned law or to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant to
a divorce decree, or to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant
to documents creating a lien or other security interest in the
motor vehicle

« Effective Date: January 1, 2017
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2015-470: HB458-Rep. Johnson

« Standardizes definitions for unclaimed/abandoned motor
vehicles

Ensures that owners/lienholders receive notice prior to sale
to include out of state owners/lienholders

Records search includes NMVTIS

Sellers must retain records for three years from date of sale

Less paperwork will be submitted to licensing officials

System generated documents (i.e. bill of sale)
Effective July 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 2 - New Code Section

« Provides that act 2015-470 only applies to the sale of an
abandoned vehicle for which notice is published on or after
July 1, 2016.

« |f the notice of the sale was posted prior to July 1, 2016, the
vehicle could be sold under the current abandoned MV law.

« Vehicle must be titled prior to the end of the calendar year
2016, or the purchaser would be required to post a title surety
bond in order to title the vehicle.

« Effective Date: July 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 1
New Code Section

* New “State Park” distinctive license plate available January
2017

« Annual additional fee of $50

* Net proceeds to Department of Conservation to benefit
state park system
 Effective January 1, 2017
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 2 - Amends Code Section 32-6-64.1

« Removes $5 fee when metal plate issued for:
- Military
- Veteran
- Alabama Gold Star Family (32-6-630) and
- Replacement (40-12-265) plates

« Effective August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 2 Continued - Amends Code Section 32-6-68

Distribution for all distinctive plates additional ($50) fee (32-6-68)

Except $5 distribution to Department of Senior Services “John L. Buskey
Senior Meals Program” not withheld from:

- Children’s Trust Fund (32-6-450)

- Ducks Unlimited (32-6-460)

- Support the Arts (32-6-470)

- Alabama Cattlemen’s Foundation (32-6-500)
- Alabama Association of Realtors (32-6-520)

- Alabama Wildlife Federation (32-6-560)

- God Bless America Personalized (32-6-611)
- State Law Enforcement Memorial (32-6-680)

Effective August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial
Section 2 Continued - Amends Code Section 32-6-68
« When law does not specify distribution for additional fee
- After distribution 32-6-68(b)(1)-(3)
- Net proceeds ($46.25) distributed to State General Fund
-Ex. Out of State college or university (32-6-67 (e))

« Specifies this section does not apply to the standard
personalized plates (32-6-150)

« Effective August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 3
Moves Code Section 32-6-150.1 to 32-6-69

« $50 additional fee for distinctive plates distributed in accordance
with 32-6-68 excepit:
- Public two-year and four-year colleges and universities
- Private four-year colleges and universities
- Athens State University
- Environmental distinctive plate (32-6-150)
- Plates listed on next slide
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 3 Continued - Moves Code Section 32-6-150 to 32-6-69

« Details distinctive plate categories where additional $50 fee
does not apply

- Bicentennial - unless personalized (32-6-155.3) - $0

- God Bless America - unless personalized (32-6-610) - $0
- Helping Schools (32-6-300) - $20

- Educator and Retired Educator (32-6-302) - $50/$25

- Gold Star Family — unless personalized (32-6-630) - $0

- Plates exempt from personalization in subsection (a)

« $5 paid in year metal plate issued (32-6-64.1)
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial -

Section 4
Amends 32-6-250 and 32-6-251

« New “Silver Star” plate 2
« Must provide proof of receiving the Silver Star — DD214
« The first plate is a permanent distinctive plate

« Regqular registration fee, ad valorem tax, and an annual
additional fee of $25 must be paid for all Silver Star license
plates

* Net proceeds distributed to the AL Veterans Assistance Fund
« Effective Date — August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial EEEadPaY WAV sTaNY VoS aEes
Section 4
Amends COde SeCtlon 32-6-630 == #® GOLD STAR FAMILY . it

« Alabama Gold Star Family plate to be designed by
Department of Veteran Affairs in consultation with
Alabama Gold Star Family Organization.

* Next redesign — January 2021

» Effective Date — August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-339: HB94 Representative Baker

* Amends 32-6-130, 40-12-254 & 40-12-244

 Amends Disabled Veteran registration fee exemption
or fee reduction

* Apply to any license plate category

« Exemption/reduction for standard registration fee only
* Must pay additional fee for distinctive plates
 Effective Date — January 1, 2017
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2016-355: HB246 Representative Ledbetter
Code Section to be determined

« New “Stop Domestic Violence” distinctive license plate

« Additional annual fee of $50 to be distributed in accordance
with 32-6-68

« Portion due sponsoring organization goes to office of the
district attorney for the county where plate issued

« For use and benefit of domestic violence prevention
programs B2 ALABAMA B3

- Effective Date — January 1, 2017 000000
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Administrative Rule
810-5-1-.238 Registration of Motor Vehicles Not Subject to Titling

« Removes reference to 17 digit NHTSA conforming VIN

 Clarifies vehicle cannot be registered for public highway use if the
MSO, title or bill of sale indicates the vehicle is for off road use only.

« Specifies additional items identified in certification label on vehicle
manufacturer

« VIN

« date of manufacture

« statement: “This vehicle conforms to all applicable federal motor
vehicle safety standards in effect on the date of manufacture
shown above.”

- Effective date — February 10, 2016
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MLI System Updates

« Suspension File sent to Licensing Officials

Suspension code updated to include earliest reinstatement

date (memo 2016-003)

Includes VOID/REVOKED (VR) status records

Includes OPEN (MO) status records

« Clerk should mention to registrant and attempt to get
answered before registering vehicle

« Clerk should not refuse to process registration
transaction if registrant is not prepared to respond.

« Registrant has appeal period
« Suggestion to include Insurance Verification Date
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MLI System Updates

* New Status Code: (ID) Insurance Denied

« The MLI System has been updated to reflect a new “registration
status code”. (ID) Insurance Denied (memo 2016-014)

« The new status code alerts licensing offices and registrants that
the registration will be suspended unless the registrant can
provide evidence of insurance that can be confirmed with the
Insurer.

« Clerk should mention to registrant to inform them of the
pending suspension unless evidence is provided.

« Clerk should not refuse to process registration transaction if
the status code is present.
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MLI System Updates

« Administrative Rule 810-5-8-.10 MLI Questionnaire and
Notice of Suspension(NOS)

- Department send questionnaires by email
- If registration record includes email address
- No postcard mailed

- Department send NOS by email
- Registrant opened link to questionnaire record
sent by email

- Currently only receiving email addresses on 11% of
registration records

PLEASE INCLUDE EMAIL ADDRESSES IN REGISTRATION FILES.
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Print on Demand Temporary Tags

Currently:

« 60 day standard temp tags can be fed through laser
printers; MC size temp tags not available

« Works with PROS system

* Problem with size of temp tag form (not standard size)

Proposed:

« 8.5 X 11 perforated form for both standard and MC tag

« Same design for both 20 day and 60 day tags

« 20 day tag will work with ALTS or an application through
PROS

« 60 day tag will work with PROS

« Can be secured to bolt holes of license plate holder
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New Temp Tag Design

Alabama Temporary Tag Receipt MVR: 32-6-211 (4/16)
Tag Number: Issue Date: Expiraton Date:
Issued To:
NAME CITY [ STATE. | ZIP
Issued For:
MAKE MODEL VIN
Issued By:
DEALER or C L J CIAL o s

Control Number: TSTOOO000 Designated Agent Number:

] VALID FOR GROSS WEIGH'T [ UNLADEN WEIGHT ONLY

ALABAMA

ISSUED IN CONJUNCTION WITH A TEMPORARY TAG RECEIPT

EXPIRES
MONTH

DAY

Control Number: TSTO0000

lTemporary l'ag T I O
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New Temp MC Tag Design

Alabama Temporary Tag Receipt M AT )
Tag Number: Issue Date: Expiraton Date:
Issued To:
NAME CITY | STATE | ZIP
Issued For:
YEAR MAKE MODEL VIN

Issued By:

DEALER or COUNTY OFFICIAL COUNTY CITY
Control Number: TST00000 Designated Agent Number:

] VALID FOR GROSS WEIGHT [ ] UNLADEN WEIGHT ONLY

ALABAMA

ISSUED IN CONJUNCTION WITH A TEMPORARY TAG RECEIPT

EXPIRES

MONTTH

DAY

YEAR

Control Number: TST00000

Temporary Motorcycle Tag

O 00O
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Print on Demand Tag Recelpts

MVR 40-12-253B (3/2013)

ALABAMA LAW REQUIRES ORIGINA R
ke ST e DA GINAL OR PHOTOCOPY OF RECEIPT TO BE IN VEHICLE.
MOTOR VEHICLE AEGISTHATION TAG AND Tax BECEIRT el UNTY SouNTY | Gy COOE AS VAR W= T RONUSE | VEAR DECAL NC. CURRENT YEAA DECAL NO.
cooe Tas AFFELAMST
TR A TEDRTORGS STATE | ACGUEED FROM
2o ey y TS o 3 AR TAG TVPE GURMENT YEAR TAG X0
ax a AY 2 STAY 1 TAG WO
HOW USTH
A0 WAL START 0T
' | FRICE S
VEMICLE IDENT FICATION NG wOOEL AT WO By GROSS WT. NOT OVER CURSFENT TG EvPiRES RENEW TS TAG IN
APSL. OR FITLE CARE = So0~ = CoLon BTATE SAAK TOUNT ¥ WTAK TV STAX Fo GTriin STA TO AL A AR
ASOESSED WALUE BIATE CouN = BL=tO0. Rh wm . R AD wALORE W AT WALORE Y TOTAL AD vAL ot ae TAT
PEMALTY WTEREST
FANS. FES mFF. FEL ADDL. -= CICERBE FoE BETEE FEMALTY [ | L4711 WNIEhES TOTAL T A WAL TET TOTAL TAS & TAN

TITLE =L

SIGN HERE [, >

Iwt comnry

TR AT

TIL Fe W RAATIOMN Colirbe O

TEPLON B IDAE ARG COWE G

T

DATE CF

IS UE

ME ISSUED

TOTAL PeID
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Administrative Rule

810-5-75-.40 Requirements for Names and Signatures on Title Applications,
Title Assignments and Motor Vehicle Registrations

Note that the owner’s name must be in agreement on all title documents and
any variance(s) in the owner’s name between title documents will require
that the owner provide an affidavit attesting to the variance(s). The affidavit
must be notarized, unless withessed by a designated agent.

If the current legal name of the owner or operator has changed, and the
certificate of title is issued by another state and is being held by a
lienholder, and the vehicle is not required to be titled in this state as
provided by 32-8-31, the owner or operator must provide evidence of
the current legal name, which shall be shown on the vehicle
registration.

Effective date — May 20, 2016
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Questions?



MotorUehicle Division

CONTACT INFORMATION

titles@revenue.alabama.gov
(334) 353-0477

'(" Q ML Unit

(334) 242-9006
mli@revenue.alabama.gov

CON of us
Registration Unit
(334) 242-9006

tags@revenue.alabama.gov




