State of Alabama
Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov)

50 North Ripley Street Y N DERWOOD
G. THOMAS SURTEES Montgomery, Alabama 36132 LEWIS A EASTERLY

September 20, 2005

TO: ALL PERSONS, FIRMS, AND CORPORATIONS whose average monthly State Sales
Tax liability was $1,000.00 or greater during calendar year 2004 and who are not currently
making estimated payments.

Section 40-23-7, Code of Alabama 1975, requires all persons, firms, and corporations liable for
Alabama Sales Tax whose average monthly State Sales Tax liability was $1,000.00 or greater
during calendar year 2004 to make estimated payments of State Sales Tax to the Department of
Revenue on or before the 20th day of the month in which the liability occurs. This
requirement applies to State Sales Tax only. Estimated payments are not required for city and
county sales taxes.

Your first estimated payment will be for the month of October 2005 and should be reflected on your
September 2005 return due in this office on or before October 20, 2005. All estimates must equal
the lesser of 2/3 of your actual tax due for the same calendar month of the preceding year or 2/3 of the
current month's estimated tax due.

Instructions for filing returns with estimated payments are printed on the reverse side of this notice.
You may direct questions concerning estimated payments to this office.

Sales, Use & Business Tax Division

P. O. Box 327710

Montgomery, AL 36132-7710
(334) 242-1490

“AN AFFIRMATIVE ACTION / EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER”



Instructions

TO COMPUTE ESTIMATED TAX LIABILITY:

Line 9 - Show estimate of tax for the current month. Your estimate must equal the lesser of 2/3 of your actual tax due for the
same calendar month of the preceding year or 2/3 of the current month's estimated tax due. Your estimate cannot be less
than zero.

TO COMPUTE TAX FOR PRECEDING MONTH:

Line 1 - For the previous month, enter total gross sales, receipts from places of amusement and withdrawals. Use Column
A for farm machinery and manufacturing machines. Use Column B for automotive vehicles. Use Column C for gross
sales of food products sold through vending machines. Use Column D for all other sales of tangible personal property and for gross
receipts from places of amusement and entertainment.

Line2- Enter deductions under proper columns.

Line 3-Subtract Line 2 from Line 1, and enter results. This amount will be automatically calculated.

Line4- Compute tax on amounts shown on Line 3 and enter results. This amount will be automatically calculated.

Line5- For auto dealers only. Compute and enter tax on demonstrator automaobiles.

Line6- Enter total of Line 4 Columns A, B, C, & D & Line 5. This amount will be automatically calculated.

Line7- Enter discount. No discount is allowed unless tax is timely paid. Discount for prompt payment is 5% on the first $100.00 or less
of tax, plus 2% on tax due in excess of $100.00. Please note that the monthly discount may not exceed $400.00. This amount will be

automatically calculated.

Line 8 - Enter estimated payment made on last month's report. This is the amount on Line 9 from the previous month’s report.
This amount will be automatically brought forward from the previous month’s return.

Line 10 - Enter result of Line 6 minus lines 7 and 8 plus line 9. This amount will be automatically calculated.

TO COMPUTE TOTAL AMOUNT DUE:

Line 11 - Returns filed after the due date are subject to a "failure to timely file" penalty equal to the greater of 10% of the
tax required to be paid on the return or $50.00. Tax payments received after the due date are subject to a "failure to
timely pay" penalty equal to 10% of the delinquent tax. If the tax is not timely paid, interest is also due at the same rate established
by the Secretary of the Treasury under authority of 26 USC 6621. This amount will be automatically calculated.

Line12- Enter amounts over collected.

Line 13- Enter credit for previous overpayments.

Line 14 - Enter total of Line 10 plus lines 11 and 12 minus line 13. This amount will be automatically calculated.

Returns must be filed electronically for each calendar month and are due on or before the 20th day of the month following the month
covered by the return.



