TOB: SWST  10/08

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
SALES, USE & BUSINESS Tax DIVISION

ToBAacCCO TAX SECTION
P.O. Box 327556 ® MONTGOMERY, AL 36132-7556

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY
Certificate Date:
Certificate No.:
Amount Paid:

Checked By:

Phone (334) 242-9627 » Fax (334) 353-1011

www.revenue.alabama.gov

Quarterly Solid Waste Disposal Fee Report

Required by Act No. 2008-151

For the Quarter Ending (March, June, September, December (Circle Appropriate Month)), 20

COMPANY PERMIT NO. (Issued by the Alabama Department of Environmental Management) FEIN/ SSN
ADDRESS CONTACT PERSON
CITY STATE ZIP TELEPHONE NUMBER E-MAIL ADDRESS
A B C D
INDICATE TOTAL FEE COLLECTED
QUARTERLY TONS (Muttiply tons and/or yards in
SOLID WASTE OR CUBIC YARDS FEE RATE| Column B by fee rate in Column C)
1. Waste received for disposal in a municipal solid waste landfill. Regulated solid waste
that may be approved by ADEM as alternate cover materials in landfills. Regulated solid
waste received from out-of-state for disposal at permitted public solid waste facilities.
1LTONS. .o 1 1100| 11$
2. Waste received for disposal in public industrial landfills, construction and demolition
landfills, non-municipal solid waste incinerators, or composting facilities, which was not
generated by the permittee. Regulated solid waste that may be approved by ADEM as
alternate cover materials in landfills. Regulated solid waste received from out-of-state for
disposal at permitted public solid waste facilities.
2a. Tons (show tons if scales available) . ... |2a 1100 [2a
2b. CubicYards ...................... 2b 25 |2b($
3. Waste generated for disposal in a private solid waste management facility. (Complete
schedule below. Do not exceed payment of $1000 per calendar year.)
3. Total CubicYards................... 3 3%
4. TOTAL FEE DUE (Add fees in Column D, Lines 1,22,2baNd 3). ... ... ..ot 4%
5. 4% Allowance (Multiply Column D, Line 4 by 4% and enter results here).
Private Facilities identified on Line 3 cannot take this allowance. . .. ... 5%
6. FEE DUE (Subtract Column D, Line 5 from Line 4, and enter results here) . ............ oo e 6%
7. Failure to Timely File Penalty (The greater of 10% of Column D, Line 6 0r $50). . . . .« oo i e 7%
8. Failure to Timely Pay Penalty (10% of Column D, LINE 6) . . . . . . ..ottt 8%
9. Interest (Contact the Department fOr rate) . . . .. . . ..ot e e 91$
10. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (Add Column D, Lines 6 through 9) . . . . .« oot e e e e e 10 [$

If payment is made by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) check thisbox . ...

Schedule to be Completed by Private Solid Waste Facilities ONLY
a. Total cubic yards this quarter (Enter here and in Column B, Line 3above.). . ........ ... i iin. a
b. Basic fee @ $0.25 per cubic yard (Multiply cubic yards on Line “a”by $0.25.) .. .......oviiii i b |$
c. Previous fee(s) paid this year (Add amount paid on Line “e” from previous quarter report(s) for this year). . ........... c$
d. Maximum remaining fee (Subtract amount on Line “c” from $1000). . .. ... ... d|$
e. Amount now due (Enter the smaller of Lines “b” or “d” here and in Column D, Line 3 above. If zero or less, enter 0-) ... | € |$

Under penalties of perjury, | hereby certify that the return made by me is true and correct.

Signature Title Date




General Instructions

This fee is to be remitted by solid waste disposal facilities that have been issued a permit by the Alabama Department of
Environmental Management (ADEM). Operators of permitted solid waste disposal facilities are required to assess the dis-
posal fees levied on generators of all waste (unless exempted by statute) as the waste is delivered to solid waste facilities. The
operator shall collect and remit the disposal fees received at the facility to the Alabama Department of Revenue on a quar-
terly basis not later than the 20th day of January (for October, November and December activity), April (for January, February and
March activity), July (for April, May and June activity), and October (for July, August, and September activity).

EXEMPTIONS:

The following persons are exempt from payment of fees required by Act 2008-151 (Note: References to the word “department”
below pertains to the Alabama Department of Environmental Management):

(1) Operators of industrial boilers, furnaces, and other processing equipment that burn solid waste generated on site for the
purpose of fuel replacement or energy recovery and which are permitted by the department or by a local air pollution
control agency.

(2) Operators of composting facilities which are owned by the Alabama Department of Corrections and which receive only
wastes generated by Alabama Department of Corrections facilities and institutions or those composting facilities other-
wise exempt from permitting as provided in rules promulgated by the department.

(3) Operators of industrial boilers, furnaces, and other processing equipment that burn scrap tires for the purpose of fuel
replacement or energy recovery and are registered with the department as provided in rules promulgated by the
department.

(4) Scrap tire processors who receive and process scrap tires and who are permitted by or registered with the department
as provided in rules promulgated by the department, except that a solid waste disposal facility permitted as a scrap tire
processor shall collect the fee on all waste disposed of in its landfill.

4% ALLOWANCE:

Owners and operators collecting the solid waste fee may retain 4% of the total solid waste fees collected at their facility as
an administrative collection allowance. Private solid waste management facilities are not eligible for this allowance.

REPORT FILING REQUIREMENTS:

Reports must be filed each quarter, regardless of activity, or if the private waste facility has met its $1000 fee payment limit.
If there is no activity during the quarter, file the report and indicate “NO ACTIVITY” across the face of the report. Mail re-
port to the address shown on the face of the report. Retain a copy of the report and supporting documentation in your files
which will be subject to audit by the Department of Revenue. Failure to file the report timely will result in penalty charges
according to the provisions of Alabama Code Section 40-2A-11.

FEE PAYMENT REQUIREMENTS:

Payment of the fee must be made to the Alabama Department of Revenue. A tax payment equaling $750 or more in a given
quarter obligates the taxpayer to remit the payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). The taxpayer may choose to make
payment by EFT if the amount is less than $750. To make payment by EFT, visit our web site at www.revenue.alabama.gov/
pfmailform.cfm or contact the EFT Unit at 1-800-322-4106 or (334) 242-0192 for assistance. If the payment amount is less than
$750 and you choose not to remit the payment by EFT, make check payable to the Alabama Department of Revenue and mail
to the address shown on the face of the report. Failure to make the payment timely will result in penalty charges according
to the provisions of Alabama Code Section 40-2A-11 and interest charges according to the provisions of Alabama Code Sec-
tion 40-1-44.

PERMIT:
To obtain a permit, contact:

Alabama Department of Environmental Management
Land Division

P. O. Box 301463

Montgomery, AL 36130-1463

(334) 271-7700





