
 

June 11, 2014 
 
 

NOTICE:  All Tobacco Wholesalers and Retailers   
 
 

On April 2, 2014, Governor Robert Bentley signed into law Act No. 2014-262 which becomes effective 
October 1, 2014.  The Act amends the tobacco tax laws in Title 40, Chapter 25, Code of Alabama 1975.  It 
further defines a wholesale dealer and jobber as entities that buy tobacco products direct from the 
manufacturer or an affiliate of the manufacturer and sell tobacco products at wholesale only to licensed 
wholesale dealers, jobbers, semijobbers, and retail dealers for the purpose of resale only.  It defines 
semijobber as an entity that buys tobacco products from permitted wholesalers or obtains tobacco from other 
sources and sell at wholesale to licensed retail dealers for the purpose of resale only.  It defines cigars, 
cheroots, stogies, etc. as a roll for smoking that is of any size or shape and that is made wholly or in part of 
tobacco or any substitute therefor, irrespective of whether the tobacco is pure or flavored, adulterated or 
mixed with any other ingredient, if the roll has a wrapper made wholly or in part of tobacco.  
 
The Act separates little cigars from certain filtered cigars and eliminates the retail selling price requirement 
on cigars.   Filtered cigars are defined as cigars that have a cellulose acetate or similar integrated filter, made 
of tobacco, or any substitute therefor.  The following four bullets relate to companies required to file reports 
and remit tobacco tax payments to the Alabama Department of Revenue. 
   

• Filtered cigars weighing 3 pounds or less per thousand will be taxed at the little cigar rate which is 
$0.04 per ten cigars or fractional part thereof. 
 

• Filtered cigars weighing more than 3 pounds per thousand will be taxed at a rate of $0.015 per 
filtered cigar.  

  
• All other cigars will be taxed at a rate of $40.50 per thousand cigars or $0.0405 per cigar. 

  
• My Alabama Taxes (MAT) will be updated to accommodate filing and payment of the new filtered 

cigar categories.  Review the sample return at http://revenue.alabama.gov/tobaccotax/ttforms.cfm. 
 
The Act has the following additional requirements and changes as it relates to wholesalers, retailers, and 
semijobbers: 
 

• Wholesaler tobacco invoices must show the state and state-administered county tobacco tax 
separately, per each line item, from the price of the tobacco products. 
   

• Wholesaler tobacco invoices must be computer or machine generated and the seller’s/supplier’s 
name must be on the invoice.  Handwritten tobacco invoices may not be considered legitimate 
documentation to substantiate proof of sale. 

 
• Retailers and semijobbers that import tobacco products into the State must electronically provide the 

Department with a duplicate invoice of the purchase within 12 hours of receiving the tobacco 
products.  The invoice must show who tobacco products were received from, kinds and quantities of 
tobacco.  Failure to furnish the duplicate invoice may subject the retail dealer or semijobber to a 
Department imposed penalty of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000, to be multiplied by the 

 

http://revenue.alabama.gov/tobaccotax/ttforms.cfm


sum of the current violation plus prior violations.  Additionally, said tobacco products will be 
considered contraband and subject to confiscation and destruction.  If the tobacco products are 
untaxed, the retailer or semijobber is required to register with the Department to file and pay the 
appropriate tobacco taxes.  The duplicate invoices must be provided to the following email address:  
Tobacco.Account@ revenue.alabama.gov.  These invoices may subsequently be provided 
electronically via MAT.  Note: It is not the intent of this provision to require the Alabama retailer to 
report these invoices when they purchase tobacco products directly from a wholesaler who has obtained 
a permit from the Department and that permitted wholesaler delivers the products to the retailer.  In this 
situation, the permitted wholesaler is importing the tobacco products into Alabama, not the retailer. The 
permitted wholesaler is also responsible for payment of the appropriate tobacco taxes. 

 
• Any tobacco products possessed by retailers or semijobbers which do not have the appropriate tax 

stamp(s) affixed, or, in the case of products not requiring a stamp to be affixed where purchase 
invoices do not itemize the applicable tobacco taxes (OTP), will be contraband and subject to 
confiscation and destruction. 

 
• Any untaxed tobacco products found anywhere within the State other than the primary location of the 

permitted wholesaler or jobber, registered semijobber, registered retailer or at the bonded warehouse 
of a tobacco products manufacturer will be considered contraband and may be seized by the 
Department, or any peace officer, for destruction.  Any vehicle used for the purpose of transporting 
untaxed tobacco products is subject to confiscation and may be sold at public auction to the highest 
bidder after due advertisement and notice to the title owner of the vehicle. 
  

• Retailers must receive, examine and keep tobacco purchase invoices for a period of 90 days at the 
retail location and then maintain them with required books and records.  Retailer’s tobacco invoices 
from the seller must be computer or machine generated.  Failure to acquire appropriate tobacco 
invoices, substantiate tax payment or retain invoices as required may result in confiscation of the 
products and a penalty of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 to be multiplied by the number of 
violations. 

 
• Any business who shall reuse or refill any box, package, or container from which tax-paid tobacco 

products have been removed, may be subject to a Department imposed penalty of not less than $500 
nor more than $1,000 to be multiplied by the number of violations. 
 

• Wholesalers, jobbers, semijobbers, retailers, importers or any other person selling, receiving, or 
distributing tobacco products in this State for resale shall file a report of its sales for resale activity 
with the Department.  The report will be due by the 20th of the month following the month of activity.  
Retailers who sell only to end-users (consumers) and who make no sales for resale are not required 
to file this report.  The Department has created a form to report this information which will be filed 
via MAT.  The first report will be due by November 20, 2014.  Review a sample of this new report 
(TOB: SALES FOR RESALE) at http://revenue.alabama.gov/tobaccotax/ttforms.cfm . 

 
• Imports of tobacco products from an entity other than entities listed on the Department’s website 

shall be subject to confiscation, if the appropriate tax is not remitted by the retailer to the 
Department.  Tobacco products delivered directly to a retailer in this State must be purchased from a 
company permitted or registered with the Department and whose name appears on the Department’s 
website listing.  A listing of permitted and registered tobacco distributors will be made available on 
the Department’s website. 

 
Note:  Please share this information with your customers, if applicable.  Questions concerning this notice should be 
directed to the below address or telephone number.   

 
Business and License Tax Division • Tobacco Tax Section • P O Box 327555 • Montgomery, AL 36132-7555 • (334) 242-9627 

http://revenue.alabama.gov/tobaccotax/ttforms.cfm

