If you know you cannot file your return by the due date, you do not need to file for an extension. You will automatically be granted an extension until October 15, 2021. If you anticipate that you will owe additional tax on your return you should submit your payment with a payment voucher (Form 40V) with the box “Automatic Extension Payment” checked by May 17, 2021. Except in cases where taxpayers are abroad, no extension will be granted for more than 6 months. An extension means only that you will not be assessed a penalty for filing your return after the due date. Interest on the additional tax due from the due date of the return and any penalties will be assessed if applicable to your return. NOTE: No paper or electronic extension form is needed to be filed to obtain the automatic extension.
Form 40V: If making a payment with your original or amended return (for 2008 and forward), you MUST complete Form 40V. Submit Form 40V along with your payment, loose in the envelope. If you electronically filed your return and are making a payment by check or money order, you must complete a Form 40V. If you are making a payment by credit card, a Form 40V is not required. If you are making an automatic extension payment, you also must use Form 40V unless it is made electronically.
For automatic extension payments that are $25,000 or more, the payment must be made electronically. See Section 41-1-20, Code of Alabama 1975 for more information on this requirement. The payments can be made electronically through the following options:
View an incomplete listing of companies that have notified ADOR that their pension plans qualify as a defined benefit plan.
Alabama has only two requirements to be accepted as an ERO into the AL E-File Program.
Note: It is not necessary for you to mail us the AL8453 Alabama Signature document or W-2’s, etc. Please retain all AL/IRS Forms/Schedules in your files for 3 years.
Alabama does not allow the tax preparer to sign the return with the Practitioner PIN.Â If you receive a fee to prepare a taxpayer’s Alabama return, then the paid preparer’s information must be completed on the return.
Requirements for mandatory e-file (rule no. 810-3-27-.09 and 810-3-27-.10) for paid preparers using packaged software:
If an income tax return preparer prepares 11 or more acceptable, original individual income tax returns using tax preparation software in a calendar year, then for that calendar year and for each subsequent calendar year thereafter, all acceptable individual income tax returns prepared by that income tax preparer must be filed using electronic technology, as defined in the “Electronic Tax Return Filing Act,” as codified in Chapter 30 of Title 40, Code of Alabama 1975.
Access the Consumers Use Tax Calculator to keep track of all the purchases you made but did not pay sales tax on. This applies to retail purchases outside of Alabama, purchases from businesses on the internet, and the purchase of any retail items over the telephone.
Learn more about the exemption for certain employees who lose their jobs as a result of an “administrative downsizing” on the Alabama Severance Pay Exemption page.
Access more forms and information pertaining to net operating loss provisions for individuals.