U.S. flag An official website of the United States government.

Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser's address (or "location") bar.

SSL

This site is also protected by an SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificate that's been signed by the U.S. government. The https:// means all transmitted data is encrypted  — in other words, any information or browsing history that you provide is transmitted securely.

FAQ

Which taxes must be paid electronically?
The Alabama Legislature passed Act No. 2006-552 specifying that for each occasion that a business taxpayer is obligated to make a tax payment of $750 or more to the Alabama Department of Revenue, after October 1, 2006, such payment must be remitted electronically through an electronic funds transfer (EFT) method. Voluntary participation of transactions less than $750 is encouraged.

For withholding tax, if you meet the requirements to file through EFT (the current threshold is for payments of $750 or more), you must file and pay electronically. If you do not meet the filing requirements, filing withholding tax electronically is an option.

NOTE: If you file withholding tax electronically, you must also pay electronically.

What are the system requirements?
On the My Alabama Taxes (MAT) homepage, click on the Help link, then the Technical link.

Is the website secure?
Yes.  The My Alabama Taxes system uses the most up-to-date security technology to assure the privacy of your transactions. In addition, the login and user authentication areas are designed to assure users that only they can access their sensitive tax filing information.

Where do I find my sign on ID and access code?
The Access Code and Sign On ID are located in the notification letter you received from the Alabama Department of Revenue.

How do I reset my password?
The password is user-generated and case sensitive. If you have forgotten your password and receive an error message, you will need to correctly answer the security questions you selected during the Sign Up process (access this through the link ‘Forgot Password/Locked Out?’).

Should I receive a payment confirmation number?
Yes. The confirmation number is provided on the Confirmation Page to confirm payment information was successfully submitted.

What are the submission dates for making my payment?
Tax payment transactions are due on or before the due date of the return.

NOTE: EFT payments must be transmitted BEFORE 4:00pm CST on or before the due date, to be considered timely paid.

NOTE: If you have debit block on your bank account, please provide the following information to your bank so that your bank will allow the tax payment(s) to be processed without rejecting:

ADORCCD000 (Company ID #) for Alabama Department of Revenue Payments
2621862182  (Company ID #s) for Non-State Administered (NSA) Local Payments

You may submit the payment at any time up until the due date to be considered timely.

If you submit your payment early before the Due Date, you can choose to warehouse your payment so that the payment will not be deducted from your bank account until one business day subsequent to the Payment Date that you selected. If you choose not to edit the payment date, the payment date will default to the same date you are making your payment and the payment will be made the next business day if your payment is submitted before 4:00 p.m. CST, or two subsequent business days if filed after 4:00 p.m. CST.  If you wish for the payment to NOT be deducted from your bank account until the DUE DATE, you must EDIT THE PAYMENT DATE FIELD and enter that date.  You can change this date to any date from the default Payment Date up to the REMIT DUE DATE.  Unless you select a later date, the payment will be deducted from your bank account the NEXT BUSINESS DAY.

If I file multiple returns, can I make a single payment?
No. A separate payment is required for each return, otherwise the payment will not match up with the return and your account may not receive proper credit for the payment.

If I submit my payment before the due date, when will my payment be deducted from my bank account?
If you submit your payment early before the Due Date, you can choose to warehouse your payment so that the payment will not be deducted from your bank account until one business day subsequent to the Payment Date that you selected. If you choose not to edit the payment date, the payment date will default to the same date you are making your payment and the payment will be made the next business day if your payment is submitted before 4:00 p.m. CST, or two subsequent business days if filed after 4:00 p.m. CST.  If you wish for the payment to NOT be deducted from your bank account until the DUE DATE, you must EDIT THE PAYMENT DATE FIELD and enter that date.  You can change this date to any date from the default Payment Date up to the REMIT DUE DATE.  Unless you select a later date, the payment will be deducted from your bank account the NEXT BUSINESS DAY

NOTE: If you have debit block on your bank account, please provide the following information to your bank so that your bank will allow the tax payment(s) to be processed without rejecting:

ADORCCD000  (Company ID #) for Alabama Department of Revenue Payments
2621862182  (Company ID #s) for Non-State Administered (NSA) Local Payments

 

Why is the system not giving me the option to make my payment?
There are a several reasons why you may not be given the option to pay. If you are trying to pay Business Privilege Tax (Form CPT or PPT) or Corporate Income Tax (Form 20C or 20S) and If you have not previously filed a return with the Department, you will not be given the option to pay these taxes and will not be able to use the system as your method of payment. Also, verify that the access code and sign-on id being used is designated for the particular tax attempting to be paid. If you are still unable to make a payment, and none of the above applies, please contact the Alabama Department of Revenue at 1-877-256-2447 or (334) 353-7659.

If returns were previously remitted under one tax type (C-corporation form 20c) and an election was made to convert to another tax type (S-corporation form 20s), will I be able to make payments under my new election?
No, if you have not previously filed a return with the Department for the new election, you will not be given the option to pay and will have to use another method of payment. The option to make payments under your new election will be granted once a return is on file with the Department.

One of the web pages is not working, what are some things that I can check?
Contact the EFT Unit at: 1-877-256-2447 or 334-353-7659.

Does my tax account registration expire?
Taxpayer registrations have no expiration date and remain active until closed or inactivated.

How do I close my account?
To close a business tax account administered by the Sales & Use Tax Division, complete and mail the Business Closing Form.

To close your withholding tax account, select the box on Line 1 of Form A-1 or A-6. You will be instructed to complete Form A-7.

To cancel your permit or registration number associated with Tobacco or Storage Tank Trust Fund Charge Taxes, you may download the Permit/Registration Cancellation Form. Complete and mail to the address at the top of the form.

Why do we have to pay electronically?
The Alabama Legislature passed Act No. 2006-552 specifying that for each occasion that a business taxpayer is obligated to make a tax payment of $750 or more to the Alabama Department of Revenue, after October 1, 2006, such payment must be remitted electronically through an electronic funds transfer (EFT) method. Voluntary participation of transactions less than $750 is encouraged.

For withholding tax, if you meet the requirements to file through EFT (the current threshold is for payments of $750 or more), you must file and pay electronically. If you do not meet the filing requirements, filing electronically is an option.

What happens if I refuse to pay electronically?
If a taxpayer, who meets the EFT threshold, fails to pay electronically, a penalty of 10% of the tax can be applied.

For withholding tax, if you meet the requirements to file through EFT (the current threshold is for payments of $750 or more), you must file and pay electronically. Substantial penalties can be assessed for noncompliance.

What happens if I don’t have a computer?
ADOR is providing public access to computers in the taxpayer service centers located throughout the state. In addition, the public libraries have computers available to the public at no cost. To locate a taxpayer service center near you please visit a Taxpayer Service Center.

How do I make a supplemental payment?
Upon selecting the Tax Account ID, select the Pay link on the period that you want to make a supplemental payment.

Can I pay local taxes for all jurisdictions online?
Sales, Use and Rental taxes for all cities and counties can be paid online with the department. All state administered and certain self-administered city and county lodging taxes can be paid online as well. As part of ONE SPOT or the Electronic Filing Services provided for lodgings tax, the electronic data and payments for the non-state administered cities and counties will be transmitted to the local government or its tax administrator.

What information is needed in order to log-on the system to make a payment?
The first time you Sign Up to use My Alabama Taxes (MAT), you will need your tax account number, Sign On ID, Access Code. You must have a valid tax account number with the Alabama Department of Revenue to use the MAT payment system; or, if your tax payment does not require a tax account number, you must have filed a tax return with the ADOR within the past three years.

Can I e-pay an outstanding billing invoice or assessment I received from the ADOR?
Yes, but only if the unpaid billing or assessment has not been transferred to the ADOR’s Collection Services Division (CSD).  If the unpaid liability has been transferred to CSD, please contact the CSD at (334) 242-1220 to inquire about available payment methods..

Can I cancel an EFT payment through the ADOR’s my Alabama taxes system? If so, how?
Yes, but payments must be cancelled the same day by 4:00 p.m. Central Time, while the status of that request shows as “Pending”.  Click on the pending request, then click the “Withdraw” link then the “Confirm” button.

How do I know if I am doing the right thing with my taxes?
Please contact the Alabama Department of Revenue at 1-800-322-4106.

How do I change my payment method from ACH credit to ACH debit?
In most cases this change must be initiated through the EFT Unit.  Please contact a representative for additional information at 1-877-256-2447 or 334-353-7659.