What is a salvage vehicle (total loss)?
A salvage vehicle (total loss) occurs when an insurance company or any other person pays or makes other monetary settlement to a person when a vehicle is damaged and the damage to the vehicle is greater than or equal to 75 percent of the fair retail value of the vehicle prior to damage as set forth in a current edition of a nationally recognized compilation of retail values, including automated data bases.
I owned my vehicle prior to salvage. How do I apply for a rebuilt inspection?
As owner of the vehicle prior to salvage in accordance with Section 32-8-87(k)(3), Code of Alabama 1975, you may apply for rebuilt inspection by submitting the following:
I did not own my vehicle prior to salvage. How do I apply for a rebuilt inspection?
Section 32-8-87, Code of Alabama 1975, requires you to be a licensed rebuilder to apply for a rebuilt inspection. Once you obtain your license, you may apply by submitting the following:
I bought a vehicle with a salvage title. Can a salvage title be issued in my name?
No, Alabama law will not allow a salvage title to be issued once a current salvage title already exists. Ownership is transferred using the assignments on the back of the title in addition to a bill of sale.
Can I sell a salvage vehicle without the current salvage title being in my name?
Yes, in accordance with Section 32-8-87(p), Code of Alabama 1975, you may sell a salvage or rebuilt vehicle as long as you provide a disclosure to the buyer in no smaller than 10-point type that, “This vehicle’s title contains the designation salvage or rebuilt.”
How do I schedule a rebuilt inspection for my vehicle?
Inspections are scheduled by the Motor Vehicle Inspector once your application is processed. The inspector will contact you for inspection once the request for inspection has been received.
Where do I take my vehicle for the inspection?
Upon application, you will enter a physical location address for inspection on the application. The inspector will contact you once the request has been received and coordinate a time for the inspection. Depending on location, you may be required to bring your vehicle to the Montgomery Inspection Station.
Can I bring my application for rebuilt inspection and vehicle to Montgomery for an inspection today?
No, the application must be received and processed first prior to having an inspection scheduled and completed. You will then have to wait until the inspector contacts you for an inspection.
How long does it take to get a rebuilt inspection?
An inspection is generally scheduled within 1 to 2 weeks once the application has been received.
How much does it cost for a rebuilt inspection?
The inspection fee is $90.00 ($75 for the inspection and $15 for the title issuance fee). The fee should be paid in either certified funds or money order made payable to the Department of Revenue.
My vehicle has a salvage title. Can I register and drive it on the public highways of this state?
A salvage vehicle cannot be registered or operated on the highways or other public places of this state until a rebuilt title has been issued for the vehicle.
How do I apply for an Alabama Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)?
You will need to submit the INV 26-3, Application for Alabama Assigned Vehicle Identification Number, found on the Department’s website under the Motor Vehicle Division Forms link (https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/INV26-3.pdf).
How do I apply for an Alabama Assigned Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to a homemade trailer?
You will need to submit the INV 26-1, Application for Alabama Assigned Vehicle Identification Number for a Homemade Trailer, found on the Department’s website under the Motor Vehicle Division Forms link (https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/INV26-1.pdf).
What do I have to do to become a licensed rebuilder?
You may apply for a rebuilder’s license electronically by visiting https://mvlicense.mvtrip.alabama.gov/. Upon completion of the application, the transmittal sheet must be printed and mailed to the Department along with supporting documents specified on the transmittal sheet.
May I apply for an inspection to a vehicle rebuilt in another state?
No, Section 32-8-87, Code of Alabama 1975, provides only for inspections of vehicles rebuilt in this state.
Do I have to repair all the damage to my salvage vehicle before applying for salvage inspection?
Yes, Section 32-8-87(k), Code of Alabama 1975, requires every salvage vehicle to be restored in this state to its operating condition which existed prior to the event which caused the salvage certificate of title to issue.
Where can I find the application package for rebuilt inspection?
You can find the “Owner Retention” application package by visiting https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Owner-Retained-Salvage-Vehicle-Inspection-Instructions-Application.pdf. All licensed rebuilders must become a designated agent and apply for inspection using the Alabama Titling System (ALTS).
Can I rebuild a motor vehicle with a parts only, parts car, non-rebuildable, certificate of destruction, or junk branded certificate of title?
No, these brands indicate the motor vehicle cannot be rebuilt and are basically only good for selling the parts.
How do I track the status of my rebuilt inspection application?
You may track the status of your application by visiting https://etaps.mvtrip.alabama.gov/StatusInquiry/TitleStatus.aspx.