Click Here To Print This Page
- Code Section: 32-6-56 and 40-12-248
- Administrative Rule: 810-5-1-.440
- Primary Tag Type(s): AP
- Secondary Tag Type(s): N/A
- Series Began: January 2022 *Retained Current Design*
All residents of Alabama who are owners of qualified motor vehicles as defined in the International Registration Plan (IRP) may purchase license plates in this category.
The plates may not be personalized.
A plate may be transferred when one fleet vehicle is being replaced by another. The plates are not transferable between vehicle owners.
The license plate design changes every five (5) years.
The registration period is Annual – staggered. Registrants are assigned a registration renewal month (January – November) based on the date that the apportioned fleet was created.
This plate may be displayed upon any power unit that is used or intended for use in two (2) or more jurisdictions and that is used for the transportation of persons for hire or designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and one of the following:
- has two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight in excess of 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms)
- has three or more axles, regardless of weight
- is used in combination, when the gross vehicle weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds (11,793.401 kilograms)
Effective January 1, 2016, charter buses traveling in two or more jurisdictions will be considered qualified vehicles. A recreational vehicle, a vehicle displaying restricted plates or a government owned vehicle is not an apportionable vehicle. However, any vehicle, regardless of weight, in which the registrant plans to haul commercially intrastate in any jurisdiction other than Alabama, may be apportioned at the option of the registrant.
In order to register a qualified motor vehicle with an apportioned license plate, the registrant must present the following documents to the license plate issuing official Alabama Department of Revenue:
- Have an established place of business located in Alabama or demonstrate residency by providing 3 items as proof. A detailed list of acceptable documents can be found on the IRP website (reference Publications/The Plan/Section 305)
- Complete IRP Schedules A, B and G
- Provide a USDOT Number for the Carrier responsible for the safety of the vehicle
- Provide proof of compliance with Alabama ad valorem tax laws
- Provide proof of payment of sales, use or rental tax, if applicable
- Provide proof of payment of the federal heavy vehicle use tax (FHVUT) for vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 55,000 pounds or more
- Provide a copy of the Alabama title or Alabama title application (NOTE: Out-of-State titles can only be accepted when there is a recorded lien holder.)
- Provide a motor carrier and operator lease agreement, if applicable
- Provide proof of prior registration if the vehicle was previously registered
- Provide any other documents that are deemed necessary according to Alabama law
- Pay the bill in full to complete the registration
Registration fees are distributed amongst the U.S. and Canadian member jurisdictions based on the mileage reported by the registrant. Alabama registration fees are distributed in accordance with Section 40-12-270, Code of Alabama 1975.
- Alabama registration fees are $105.00 to $890.00 depending on the gross vehicle weight of the qualified motor vehicle being registered. Total registration fees are calculated for each jurisdiction by multiplying the mileage percentage times the full registration fee for each jurisdiction.
- Additional fees: N/A