U.S. flag An official website of the United States government.

Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser's address (or "location") bar.

SSL

This site is also protected by an SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificate that's been signed by the U.S. government. The https:// means all transmitted data is encrypted  — in other words, any information or browsing history that you provide is transmitted securely.

Recreational Vehicle & Motor Home

Information

  • Code Section: 40-12-248
  • Primary Tag Type(s): RV
  • Secondary Tag Type(s): R1, R2
  • Series Began: January 2014

All residents of Alabama who are owners of self-propelled campers or house cars (i.e., recreational vehicles/motor homes) with a gross vehicle weight of 12,000 pounds or less may purchase license plates in this category.

This plate may be displayed upon self-propelled campers or house cars (i.e., recreational vehicles/motor homes) with a gross vehicle weight of 12,000 pounds or less.

The license plate design changes every five (5) years.

The plates may not be personalized.

Plates in this category are not transferable.

Information

  • Code Section: 40-12-248
  • Primary Tag Type(s): RV
  • Secondary Tag Type(s): R3 through R6
  • Series Began: October 2018

All residents of Alabama who are owners of self-propelled campers or house cars (i.e., recreational vehicles/motor homes) with a declared gross vehicle weight of at least 12,001 pounds but not exceeding 42,000 pounds may purchase license plates in this category.

This plate may be displayed upon self-propelled campers or house cars (i.e., recreational vehicles/motor homes)with a declared gross vehicle weight not exceeding 42,000 pounds.

The license plate design changes every five (5) years.

The plates may not be personalized.

Plates in this category are not transferable.

Fees

Registration fees are distributed in accordance with the provisions of Sections 40-12-269, 40-12-270, and 40-12-274.

  • Registration fees associated with the purchase of Recreational Vehicle / Motor Home license plates range from $23.00 to $500.00, depending on the declared gross vehicle weight of the recreational vehicle / motor home up to 42,000 pounds.
  • Recreational vehicles / motor homes with a gross vehicle weight of more than 12,000 pounds must be registered with annual license plates – see Secondary Tag Type(s): R3 through R6 (or distinctive license plates, where permitted by law).
  • Recreational Vehicles / Motor homes with a declared gross vehicle weight of 42,001 pounds or more will be registered with a truck license plate.
  • Additional fees: N/A