
General Information

The Terminal Operator Annual Report must be filed by those
licensees who operate an IRS approved terminal located in
Alabama.  Terminal operators who operate more than one
terminal must file a separate report for each terminal.  Ter-
minal operators must also file a Terminal Operator Monthly
Report (B&L: MFT-TOM) due by the last day of the month
following the month covering the report.

Any unaccounted for loss of fuel in excess of the allowance
are subject to the fuel tax.

The annual report must be filed and the payment must be
made by the last day of January following the calendar year
covered.  If the report is not filed timely, then a delinquent
penalty of 10% of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater,
will be assessed.   If the payment is not submitted timely,
then a delinquent penalty of 1% per month will be assessed.
If the last day of the January falls on a weekend or state hol-
iday, then the report and payment are due the next business
day.

Instructions

Report the motor fuels in the appropriate columns based on
product type.  Please enter whole gallon amounts.

Enter the Terminal Control Number in the Terminal Code
Number line.

Line 1 – In the appropriate column, enter the number of net
gallons from the beginning physical inventory of the motor
fuels for the reporting period.  

Line 2 – In the appropriate column, report the total number
of net gallons received during the reporting period.  This
schedule summarizes the receipts reported on the Terminal
Operator Monthly Reports during the reporting period.  

Line 3 – Add lines 1 and 2.

Line 4 – In the appropriate column, report the total number
of net gallons of disbursements during the reporting period.
This schedule summarizes the disbursements reported on
the Terminal Operator Monthly Reports during the reporting
period.  

Line 5 – In the appropriate column, report the ending phys-
ical inventory.  This should be the physical inventory at the
end of the calendar year.

Line 6 – Add lines 4 and 5.

Line 7  – Subtract line 6 from line 3 to calculate the total loss
and enter the amount in the appropriate columns.  If line 7
is equal to or less than zero, then enter zero in the column
and do not complete lines 8 through 11.

Line 8 – Multiply line 4 by .005 and enter the amount in the
appropriate columns.  Code of Alabama 1975, Section 40-
17-327 provides a loss allowance of ½ of 1% of all net gal-
lons removed.

Line 9 – Subtract line 8 from line 7 to calculate the taxable
unaccounted for loss and enter the amounts in the appro-
priate columns.

Line 10 – Tax rates by fuel type.

Line 11 – Multiply line 9 by line 10.

Line 12 – If the report is not filed by the last day of January
following the calendar year covered, then calculate the late
file penalty at the rate of 10% of the tax due (Line 11) or
$50, whichever is greater.  If the total tax due for all taxes is
over $500, then use the 10% penalty rate for the tax due in
each column.  If the total tax due is under $500, then add
the $50 penalty in Column A only.

Line 13 – If the payment is not submitted by the last day of
January following the calendar year covered, then deter-
mine the number of months or fraction thereof that the re-
turn has been delinquent.  Multiply that number by 1% to
determine the percentage for the failure to timely pay
penalty (not to exceed 25%).  Multiply line 11 by the per-
centage to calculate the failure to timely pay penalty and
enter the amount in the appropriate column.

Line 14 – Enter the applicable interest based on the tax due.

Line 15 – Add lines 11, 12, 13, and 14 to calculate the total
tax due for each column.

Line 16 – Add the totals for each column from line 15 to cal-
culate the total tax due for all the tax types.  Pay this amount.
Payments over $750 must be paid electronically.
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