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810-6-1-.183.02.   Sales of Tangible Personal Property Through Vending Machines. 
  

(1)   Sales tax is due on sales of tangible personal property sold through vending 
machines operated by coins, currency, credit cards, slugs, tokens, or other media of 
exchange.  The retail operator of vending machines shall report and pay sales tax on the 
operator’s total gross receipts from sales through vending machines without any deduction 
for commissions or rental charges paid to a person on whose property the machines are 
located.  Sales tax may be removed from the retail vending machine operator’s total gross 
receipts from vending machine sales before computing sales tax due.  (State of Alabama  
v. Automatic Sales, 277 Ala. 63, 167 So.2d 146 (1964))  (Sections 40-23-1(a)(6), 40-23-
1(a)(8), 40-23-2(1), and 40-23-2(5), Code of Alabama 1975) 
 

(2)   Sales of tangible property through vending machines are taxable as follows: 
 

(a)   Vending machine sales of food and food products for human consumption, 
coffee, milk, milk products, and substitutes for these products are taxable at 3 percent of 
the retail sales price.  Items which qualify for this special rate include, but are not limited to, 
sandwiches, candy, potato chips, and crackers. (Section 40-23-2(5)) 
 

(b)   All other tangible personal property sold through vending machines is taxable 
at 4 percent of the retail sales price.  Items which are taxable at the 4 percent general rate 
include, but are not limited, to softdrinks, fruit juices, bottled water, cigarettes, health and 
beauty aids, and chewing gum.  (Section 40-23-2(1)) 
 

(3)   Except as noted in (a) below, the wholesale supplier of property sold through 
vending machines sells the property at wholesale and is not required to collect sales tax 
from the retail operator provided the operator is a retailer licensed pursuant to Section 
40-23-6, Code of Alabama 1975.  The licensed retail operator is required to report and pay 
the sales tax due on vending machine sales.  The wholesale supplier shall charge tax to  
all customers who do not have a sales tax license number or who are not otherwise 
exempted by law.  The measure of tax is the amount received by the supplier for the sale of 
the property.  (Section 40-23-1(a)(9)a) 
 

(a)   Where a licensed or unlicensed retail operator purchases property for resale 
through vending machines and retains title to the property in the vending machines, the 
wholesale supplier and the retail operator may agree that the wholesale supplier will service 
the machines, collect the receipts from the machines, and collect and pay sales tax to the 
Department of Revenue on the vending machine sales.  The payment of all applicable 
sales tax to the Department of Revenue by the wholesale supplier shall discharge both the 
supplier and the licensed or unlicensed retail operator from any additional sales tax liability 
with respect to sales through the vending machines covered by the agreement. The 
payment of a rental fee on the machines by the retail operator to the wholesale supplier 
shall not affect the validity of the agreement.  
 

(4)   A wholesale supplier of property sold through vending machines shall 
maintain records which show the sales tax license number of every purchaser who 
purchases property at wholesale.  These records may be maintained on a ledger or other 
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suitable book, in a separate card index, on each individual invoice, or in a computerized 
record keeping system.  Each wholesale invoice shall show the complete name and 
address of the wholesale purchaser.  Invoices made out to "cash" shall always be 
considered retail sales invoices.  (Section 40-23-9)  
 

(5)   A wholesale supplier who places vending machines on location, retains title to 
the property in the vending machines, pays the location owner a certain percentage of the 
gross sales as a rental charge for conducting business in the space occupied by the 
vending machines, services the machines, and collects the receipts is the retail operator of 
the vending machines and is required to report and pay the sales tax due on the sales 
through the machines.  (Sections 40-23-2(1) and 40-23-2(5)) 
 

(6)   The provision in paragraph (2)(a) regarding the proper measure of tax to be 
used in computing the 3 percent sales tax applicable to vending machine sales of food and 
food products for human consumption, coffee, milk, milk products, and substitutes for these 
products shall be effective January 1, 2000.  (Adopted through APA effective December 23, 
1999) 
 
 


