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2020 Legislative Session

* Began February 4th

 MVD legislation tracking

— https://revenue.alabama.gov/motor-
vehicle/reference-statistics/leqgislative-
tracking/
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Gas Tax

* Act 2019-2 (Effective: January 1, 2020)
* Rebuild Alabama Act Memo (October 1, 2019)
« Annual additional registration fee:
— Battery electric vehicle $200
— Plug in hybrid electric vehicle $100
« 2.5% commission retained by official
 Fees may only be prorated like other license fees
« Uniform Vehicle Valuation Manual includes fuel types:
— E (electric) $200 due
— P (plug-in hybrid) $100 due
— H (hybrid) ask registrant if plug-in
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Gas Tax
« Attorney General Opinion 2020-005:

— State portion of fees shall be deposited in the State General
Fund until the total annual registrations of battery electric and
plug-in hybrids exceed four percent of the total annual
registrations.

« Comptroller memo dated 12/23/19 says hold funds until receive further
instruction from their offices.

— Treasurer may not distribute proceeds to counties or cities.

— Fees must be prorated in same manner as license fees for other
motor vehicles that may be acquired or first brought into the state
(40-12-259).

— If prorated amount collected, it shall be distributed proportionally

to state, counties and cities with any remainder to the Rebuild AL
Fund.
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Proposed Gas Tax Amendment

* The proceeds of the annual license taxes and
registration fees to be distributed to counties and
municipalities pursuant to subsection (f) of Section 40-
12-242, as amended by Act 2019-2, shall be distributed
by the same entity responsible for the distribution under
subdivisions (2) and (3) of subsection (c) of Section 40-
17-371, as created by Act 2019-2.

« This act shall become effective immediately, following its
passage and approval by the Governor, or upon its
otherwise becoming law.
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Realtor License Plate

ABAMA

Act 2019-138 00000

HOMEOWNERSHIP MATTERS

Effective: January 1, 2020 ! 1y j

Redirects proceeds from sale of the Alabama
Association of Realtors distinctive license plates
from the Alabama Children's Trust Fund to the
Alabama Realtors Foundation
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EMS License Plate

* Act 2019-418 (Effective:
January 1, 2020)

« Creates Emergency Medical
Services Provider distinctive
license plate

— Additional fee of $50

e |ssued to licensed EMSP

— Verified through ADPH Office of
EMS website
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Title Service Provider
* Act 2019-238 (Effective: October 1, 2019)

« Allows a title service provider to perform designated
agent duties for a licensed dealer
— Application package available online

 Title service provider
— Any person who acts as an agent for a licensed dealer
— Must be bonded like a designated agent
— Designated agent cannot do work for another designated agent

* Admin Rule 810-5-75-.52.01

* Notify MVD of anyone in your county acting as an
unregistered title service provider
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Fleet Online Registration & Tax (FORT)

Act 2019-129 (Effective: May 8, 2019)
Establish Advisory Committee — met 11/20 and
1/22

DOR portal to allow registration and renewal of
fleet vehicles (January 1, 2022)

Fleet — 50 or more vehicles less than 12,000 Ibs.
DOR will calculate ad valorem tax and issue
“fleet” license plate

DOR rule making authority to expand to other
vehicles (i.e. IRP)
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Abandoned Vehicles

Act 2019-245 (Effective: January 1, 2020)

Affects vehicles reported unclaimed on or after 1/1/20

Increases title hold from 45 to 60 days

— Unless vehicle is redeemed or sold as abandoned

Purchaser must post title surety bond if vehicle is not

sold by a bonded agent

— Towing companies may become designated agents
under rule 810-5-75-.52

— Revised Abandoned Bill of Sale

— Message on ALTS Pre-qualifier Screen
Purchaser has one year to apply for title without posting
bond if vehicle is purchased from bonded agent
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Manufactured Homes

Act 2019-239 (Effective: January 1, 2020)
Exempts year models 1999 & older

Expands titling of MH to MH'’s older than 20 model
years

Clarifies additional $5 MH title fee shall be collected
for each unit (side) of a MH subject to titling

System changes
— Updated edits in ALTS & Surety Bond Portal
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Temporary Tag for Transporters

Bill number: H 106

Sponsor: Ledbetter

Drive out operations (i.e. transporters) may issue
temporary (20-day) tags

Transporters must be bonded
Add house trailer to travel trailer definition 32-8-2

Add self-propelled camper or house car definition
to 32-8-2 — includes motor homes and RVs

Effective — October 1, 2020
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Disabled Veteran Fees

* Bill Number: H 80
« Sponsor: Marques

« Exempts DVs from $1.25 issuance fee
» Effective — January 1, 2021
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Disability Access Placards

S 11
Sponsor — Whatley

Removable windshield placards shall
include photo of individual with disability

Photo of DL or non-driver ID on file with
DO

Effective — 15t day of 3" month following
passage and approval by governor
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Distinctive Tags

No bill number or sponsor

All distinctive tags required to go through LOC
for reissuance/redesign every 5 years

Military tags exempt

College/university tag designs must be approved
by LOC

Fee for distinctive tag applications not to exceed
$100

Requires military members to recertify at tag
reissuance

Effective — 15t day of 39 month
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IRP & IFTA Waivers

Bill number: S 112/H 180
Sponsor: Figures/McMillan

Allows commissioner of revenue to waive
IRP and IFTA licensing requirements for
vehicles engaged in interstate disaster
relief efforts when the president or
governor has declared a state emergency
or disaster

Effective: Immediately upon passage
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Elmore County

* Bill number: S 96
« Sponsor: Chambliss

* Transfers licensing duties from probate
judge to revenue commissioner

« Effective: July 1, 2020
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Non-conforming LSVs
Bill number: S 63/H 78
Sponsors: Chambliss, Ingram & Holmes

Disallows non-conforming LSVs from operating
on the public highways unless provided by local
ordinance

Mirrors LSV definition in 49 CFR 571.500

Excludes LSVs operated by public universities,
mini-trucks, or agricultural equipment

Permits LSVs to cross public highways
Effective: 1stday of 39 month following passage
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Release of MV Data

Bill number: H 54
Sponsor: Hall

Prohibits a state agency that collects or
maintains data containing personal
information of an Alabama resident from
giving or selling the personal information
of an Alabama resident to a third party.

Effective: 1stday of 3@ month following
passage
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Dealer License

No bill number or sponsor yet

Eliminates temporary 7-day auction transit
tag

Creates auction tag for licensed auctions

Auction required to be licensed, bonded
and insured

Effective — October 1, 2020
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Dealer Tags

Bill number: S 148
Sponsor: Albritton

Increases number of dealer tags allowed
to be purchased by used vehicle dealer
from 5 to 10

Effective: October 1, 2020
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Non-interstate Tag (Rule)

 Amend rule 810-5-1-.238
* Issue non-interstate tags to LSVs

e Issued to LSVs that meet FMVSS or
federal definition of LSV

» Effective: July 20207
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Administrative Rules

» Sign up on DOR website to receive rule
hearing notices

* Sunset provision — must review rules
every 5 years

 Rules on MVD website
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ALTS Updates

ETAPS API service no longer available (Dec. 2, 2019)

DA Lockout Feature

— Apps must be received by ADOR within thirty (30) days from creation
— Apps may be placed on “HOLD” for an additional thirty (30) days

— Live February 12, 2020

Adding a lienholder question in ALTS
— Must be answered prior to completing application
— Update to the API service

Adding a field to ALTS for “Vehicle Trim Packages”
— Update to the API service
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ALTS Updates

* Public Title Portal (hitps://title.mvirip.alabama.gov/)
— Apply for Replacement Title
— Check Application Status
— Check Undeliverable Titles

— Applications Coming Soon (Add lien, Salvage, Rebuilt Owner Retention)

 Document Upload Feature

« NMVTIS Webservice Integration
— Validate OOS Title Information
— Lien Verification

— Check for Brands (i.e. Junk, Salvage, Rebuilt, etc.)
— Stolen Vehicle Check


https://title.mvtrip.alabama.gov/

" Motos Vehicle Division

Dealer License & Tags

Act 2019-244 (Effective: October 1, 2020)

Result of HIR14 (2018) to research and draft
recommendations to combat curbstoning and
abandoned vehicle fraud

DOR responsible for issuing dealer tags

Dealer must have state regulatory license and
county license before tag is issued

Metal DT tag replaced by temporary 7-day DT
tag issued by DOR
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Dealer License & Tags

Temporary DT/Auction tag - $5
Manufacturer tags issued by DOR

Penalty for first violation of dealer tag law
increased from $100 to $200

Local official cannot collect ad valorem or sales
tax on vehicle in dealer inventory when
“standard” plate is issued

— Must provide MSO or reassigned title as evidence of
vehicle inventory
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Dealer License & Tags

Creates master dealer license — eliminates
separate wholesale and rebuilder license

Penalty for delinquent dealer license - 15% of
icense fee after grace period (Oct)

ncreases bond from $25K to $50K

Allows DOR to adjust license fee - $125

Penalty for failure to obtain license
— $500 for first offense
— $1,000 for second or subsequent offense
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Dealer License & Tags

* No person, other than licensed dealer,
may sell vehicle without title reflecting
person as owner

 Local licensing official or law enforcement
may impound vehicle
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Dealer License & Tags

Creates “facilitator” license for off-site sales - $25

Facilitator is any person who facilitates an off-site
sale, including the property owner

Must apply for license 10 days before sale

-acilitator must provide names of participating
icensed dealers who must also obtain an off-site
icense prior to sale

Penalties: 1st- $500 2™ - $1,000
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Dealer License & Tags

Creates motor vehicle wholesale auction license
iIssued by DOR

Any person in the business of buying, selling,
exchanging or facilitating the sale of vehicles at
wholesale to licensed dealers

Licensed and bonded similar to dealer

DOR may establish electronic reporting
requirements regarding sale of vehicles
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Licensing System

» Allows dealer or dismantler to apply for
license online
— Licensing official should check system before
privilege license is issued

» Displays status of license - should be
checked before privilege license and
dealer tags are issued

» Changes effective October 13t :

— Applicant must upload privilege license to
receive dealer tags from the MVD
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Temporary Tag Report

* Created by PROS
* Fees remitted to Comptroller’s Office

« Remit on 20t of each month — same as
other fees (Ex. Dec. on Jan. 20t)

« Upload Comptroller report (40-12-270) to
secure FTP folder

— Separate DOT report discontinued
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MLI| Reports

Fees remitted to Comptroller on 20t of the
month

10% reinstatement fees on Dec. report

15% reinstatement fees on Jan. report and
moving forward

Comptroller report breakdown

— 85% to general fund

— 15% to POAF (this is not the 15% to be
retained for reinstatement fees)
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Records Requests

New public portal
— Law Enforcement not charged for requests

Title records

Registration records

Abandoned vehicle records (title & registration)
Title histories

Alabama Interactive subscribers (ex. private
iInvestigators

Reminder - licensing offices can provide current
registration record to law enforcement
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Tag Redesigns

Auburn University-1/1/2020 aﬁﬁBﬁﬁoﬁ

Birmingham Southern College-11/1/19

Faulkner University-11/1/19

 University of Mobile-1/1/2020 TN
y ©00000)
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Standard License Plate

Issuance beginning 2022

000000

: “i\"l.l ilu -.-h..""

II
B ‘t wwwafabama.trav
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God Bless License Plate

* Next redesign in 2023

B ALABAMA B3

0000000

& God Bless America
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Bicentennial License Plate

* Plate can be renewed through 12/31/2020

ﬁmoooooo

www.alabama.travel
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Mandatory Liability Insurance
Act 2019-446 (Effective: January 1, 2020)

Eliminate 4 mo. suspension period

Reduce lookback period for 2" and subsequent
violations to 3 years

Increase licensing official’'s commission on
reinstatement fee from 10% to 15%

Change distribution date to 20t of the month

Increase annual amount retained by licensing
official’s office from $10K to $25K



“
LT

somy. of Revenne - Motor"Uehicle “Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Tag must be surrendered to official when claiming
stored/inoperable exemption
— Voluntarily Surrender prior to insurance lapse
— Within 30 calendar days from receipt of MLI Notice
— Use Form MV 32-7A-5 Request for Registration
Revocation to surrender tag

« County registration record must be updated to
“revoked” and uploaded to DOR

« Exempt response can only be claimed once per year
per vehicle
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

Exempt response cannot be claimed if vehicle was
iInvolved in crash or citation (MLI system links) during
time period registrant claims exemption

Rule 810-5-8-.06 establishes “good cause” exceptions

— Use Form MV 32-7A-11 Mandatory Liability Insurance
Affidavit

Documentation and completed forms should be
uploaded to MLI system

Revocation notice may be printed by licensing office
from MLI system
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MLI Exempt Situations

Exempt Responses: Correspondences dated prior to
12/18/19:

— Manually update the record to VR, and plate does not have to be
surrendered.

Exempt Responses: Tag Not Available to Surrender

— Due to being stolen, transferred to another vehicle, left on sold
vehicle, moved out of state, vehicle totaled, etc.

— Have Registrant Provide Documentation (bill of sale, police
report, total loss payoff from insurer, etc.) and manually update
record to VR.

— Form MV 32-7A-5 MLI Affidavit being updated to include
documentation submitted instead of plate, when plate cannot be
surrendered.
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Reinstatement Fees
— Collected only at a local licensing office (32-
[A-12)
— Department, including Taxpayer Service
Centers, can no longer accept payments

— Reinstatement notice may be printed by
licensing office from MLI system
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MV TRIP Notifications

Must have MV TRIP account

Each user should have their own emaill
address

Pilot county calls
Webinars?
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Contact Us

* Telephone number: (334) 242-9000

* Licensing Offices select option 5

* Provide name, county and reason for call
 MVD staff should identify themselves

* email: MVD@revenue.alabama.gov

* Report any issues to MVD management
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