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Presenter
Presentation Notes
Welcome and Introductions.  Presentation will be available on MVD webpage



Legislative & Regulatory Review



Motor "Uehicle “Division

2020 Legislative Session

* Begins February 4th

 MVD legislation tracking

— https://revenue.alabama.gov/motor-
vehicle/reference-statistics/leqgislative-
tracking/



https://revenue.alabama.gov/motor-vehicle/reference-statistics/legislative-tracking/

" Motos Vehicle Division

Gas Tax

Act 2019-2 (Effective: January 1, 2020)
Rebuild Alabama Act Memo (October 1, 2019)
Annual additional registration fee:

— Battery electric vehicle $200

— Plug in hybrid electric vehicle $100

2.5% commission retained by official

Fees may be prorated like other license fees
Uniform Vehicle Valuation Manual includes fuel types:
— E (electric) $200 due

— P (plug-in hybrid) $100 due

— H (hybrid) ask registrant if plug-in


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Question H (hybrid) due to differences among manufacturers to determine if should reflect “P” and fees collected.
I’ve got a slide coming up where I will discuss the changes to the fuel type within the MVD file format in more detail


" Motos Vehicle Division

Gas Tax
« Attorney General Opinion 2020-005:

— State portion of fees shall be deposited in the State General
Fund until the total annual registrations of battery electric and
plug-in hybrids exceed four percent of the total annual
registrations.

« Comptroller memo dated 12/23/19 says hold funds until receive further
instruction from their offices.

— Treasurer may not distribute proceeds to counties or cities.

— Fees must be prorated in same manner as license fees for other
motor vehicles that may be acquired or first brought into the state
(40-12-259).

— If prorated amount collected, it shall be distributed proportionally

to state, counties and cities with any remainder to the Rebuild AL
Fund.


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Fees may not be refunded.  


" Motos Vehicle Division

Gas Tax Amendment

* The proceeds of the annual license taxes and
registration fees to be distributed to counties and
municipalities pursuant to subsection (f) of Section 40-
12-242, as amended by Act 2019-2, shall be distributed
by the same entity responsible for the distribution under
subdivisions (2) and (3) of subsection (c) of Section 40-
17-371, as created by Act 2019-2.

« This act shall become effective immediately, following its
passage and approval by the Governor, or upon its
otherwise becoming law.


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Section 7 of Act 2019-2 codified under 40-17-371
(1) 66.67% to ALDOT
(2) 25% to counties – 45% equally & 55% based on population
(3) 8.33% to cities – 25% equally & 75% based on population


" Motos Vehicle Division

Realtor License Plate

Act 2019-138
Effective: January 1, 2020

Redirects proceeds from sale of the Alabama
Association of Realtors distinctive license plates
from the Alabama Children's Trust Fund to the
Alabama Realtors Foundation

ABAMA




" Motos Vehicle Division

EMS License Plate

* Act 2019-418 (Effective: January 1, 2020)

« Creates Emergency Medical Services Provider
distinctive license plate

— Additional fee of $50

e |ssued to licensed EMSP

— Verified through ADPH Office of EMS website
 Link to the site provided on the MVD plate page
» Law specifies to use ADPH site to verify


Presenter
Presentation Notes
EMPS = paramedic, emergency medical technician licensed with AL Dept of Public Health office of Emergency Medical Services
Use on privately owned passenger vehicles including station wagons and pick-up trucks (up to 12,000 and not more than 2 axles per definition under 32-8-2)


of Revenue

/Motor"Uehicle Division

EMS License Plate

DIXIE

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES
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Fleet Online Registration & Tax (FORT) Portal

Act 2019-129 (Effective: May 8, 2019)

Establish Advisory Committee — met 11/20 will meet
again on 1/22

DOR portal to allow registration and renewal of fleet
vehicles (January 1, 2022)

Fleet — 50 or more vehicles less than 12,000 Ibs.

DOR will calculate ad valorem tax and issue “fleet”
license plate

DOR rule making authority to expand to other vehicles
(i.,e. IRP)



" Motos Vehicle Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance
Act 2019-446 (Effective: January 1, 2020)

Eliminate 4 mo. suspension period

Reduce lookback period for 2" and subsequent
violations to 3 years

Increase licensing official’'s commission on
reinstatement fee from 10% to 15%

Change distribution date to 20t of the month

Increase annual amount retained by licensing
official’s office from $10K to $25K
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

« Tag must be surrendered to official when claiming
stored/inoperable exemption
— Voluntarily Surrender prior to insurance lapse (Poster)

— Within 30 calendar days from receipt of MLI Verification
Notice

— Use Form MV 32-7A-5 Request for Registration
Revocation to surrender tag upload to MLI system

« County registration record will be updated to “revoked”
county should update their records

« Exempt response can only be claimed once per year
per vehicle


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Rule 810-5-8-.06 being repealed and replaced labeled as MLI Reg. Suspension, Reinstatement and Revocation Procedures.  

Do we want them uploading all documents to MLI system for VR as well as good cause?  I would think if we are telling them to do one then they should do for all.
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

« Exempt response cannot be claimed if vehicle was
iInvolved in crash or citation (MLI system links)
— Vehicle cannot be operated on insurance verification date and
during time period exemption was claimed
* Rule 810-5-8-.06 establishes “good cause” exceptions
— Use Form MV 32-7A-11 Mandatory Liability Insurance
Affidavit

« (Good cause documentation and completed forms should
be uploaded to MLI system
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Notice of Suspension

— Mailed and emailed by DOR if MLI case is not
resolved within 30 days

— Notifies vehicle owner that registration is
suspended as of the date of the notice of
suspension (i.e. immediately)

— Vehicle owner still has 30 days to appeal


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Updated from current process of notice of suspension explaining that registration will be suspended in 30 days


" Motos Vehicle Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

» Collecting Reinstatement Fees
— Only at a local licensing office (32-7A-12)

— Department, including Taxpayer Service
Centers, can no longer accept payments
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Abandoned Vehicles

Act 2019-245 (Effective: January 1, 2020)

Only affects vehicles reported unclaimed on or after
January 1, 2020

Increases title hold from 45 to 60 days
— Unless vehicle is redeemed or sold as abandoned

Purchaser must post title surety bond if vehicle is not sold

by a bonded agent
— Towing companies are designated agents

Purchaser has one year to apply for title without posting
bond if vehicle is purchased from bonded agent



" Motos Vehicle Division

Manufactured Homes

Act 2019-239 (Effective: January 1, 2020)
Exempts year models 1999 & older

Expands titling of MH to MH'’s older than 20 model
years

Clarifies additional $5 MH title fee shall be collected
for each unit (side) of a MH subject to titling



/Motor"Uehicle Division

Temporary Tag for Transporters

No bill number or sponsor yet

Drive out operations (i.e. transporters) may issue
temporary (20-day) tags

Transporters must be bonded

Add house trailer definition to 32-8-2 — includes
travel trailer

Add self-propelled camper or house car
definition to 32-8-2 — includes motor homes and
RVs

Effective — October 1, 2020


Presenter
Presentation Notes
House trailer and self-propelled camper/house car as defined in 10-12-240


" Motos Vehicle Division

Disabled Veteran Tag

* No bill number or sponsor yet
« Exempts DVs from $1.25 issuance fee
 Effective — January 1, 2021


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Relabel for Expected 202 Legislation?
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Disability Access Placards
+ SB11

* Sponsor — Whatley

 Removable windshield placards shall
include photo of individual with disability

 Photo of DL or non-driver ID on file with
DO

« Effective — 15t day of 3" month following
passage and approval by governor



Presenter
Presentation Notes
DPPA – personal information, including photo is protected
ALVerify doesn’t include photos
ALDOT not responsible for DL (ALEA)
Throw away existing placards and reissue?


" Moior Vehicl Division

Distinctive Tags
No bill number or sponsor

All distinctive tags required to go through
LOC for reissuance/redesign

College and military tags exempt
Fee for distinctive tag applications

May require military members to recertify
at tag reissuance

County indicator prescribed by DOR
Effective — 15t day of 3" month



" Motos Vehicle Division

Dealer License

No bill number or sponsor yet

Eliminates temporary 7-day auction transit
tag

Eliminates temporary 7-day dealer transit
tag

Creates auction tag for licensed auctions

Changes number of title applications to
500 to qualify for more dealer tags

Effective — October 1, 2020


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Currently 1,200.  300 in October.  Lisa will talk about dealer license and tag law changes effective 10/1/2020
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Non-interstate Tag (Rule)

 Amend rule 810-5-1-.238
* Issue non-interstate tags to LSVs

e Issued to LSVs that meet FMVSS or
federal definition of LSV


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Relabel for Expected 2020 Legislation?
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Administrative Rules

» Sign up on DOR website to receive rule
hearing notices

* Sunset provision — must review rules
every 5 years

 Rules on MVD website


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Makes sense to me to mention one time here and let each Section mention specifics related to rules they are working on – amended, repealed….


" Motor Ushicle Division

MV TRIP Notifications

Must have MV TRIP account

Each user should have their own emaill
address

Pilot county calls
Webinars?



AMotor"Uehicle “Division

Contact Us

* Telephone number: (334) 242-9000

* Licensing Offices select option 5

* Provide name, county and reason for call
 MVD staff should identify themselves

* email: MVD@revenue.alabama.gov

* Report any issues to MVD management



Presenter
Presentation Notes
No voicemail on this number 2-9008.  If no one answers call back or use one of the other options.  If operator is unable to transfer call, please leave a message with the operator.   No one is perfect and we don’t always have an immediate answer; however, we will no tolerate rude or unprofessional behavior.
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MVD Customer Service

» Calls received — 179,317

» Calls answered — 138,475

* Average hold time — 4.33 minutes
 Emails — 65,872

 Walk in customers — 17,534


Presenter
Presentation Notes
2019 calendar year


Title Updates



" Motos Vehicle Division

Title Section

 Managers/Supervisors
— Jonathan Lawrence, Section Manager
— Kevin Long, Title Customer Service Manager
— Allyson Ward, Title Examination Unit Supervisor

* Units
— Title Examination (16 employees)
— Title Customer Service (9 employees)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Title Examination (16 employees)
Auditing title apps for accuracy (1.8 million apps in 2019)
New employee training (6 months)

Title Customer Service (9 employees)
Assist taxpayers
Phone (81K)
Emails (25K)
Walk-Ins (12K)
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Manufactured Homes

* Act 2019-239 (Effective: January 1, 2020)
* Requires titles for year models 2000 and newer

« System changes
— Updated edits in ALTS & Surety Bond Portal
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Abandoned Vehicles

« Act 2019-239 changes only affects vehicles reported
unclaimed on or after January 1, 2020

- 60 Day Title Hold
— ALTS only allows applications using Abandoned Bill of Sale

 Bonded Agents

— Amended Rule 810-5-75-.52 to include towing companies
— Non-Dealer Application for Designated Agents (MVT 4-2)

» https://revenue.alabama.gov/motor-vehicle/motor-vehicle-license-
information/designated-agent-information/



Presenter
Presentation Notes
1st bullet point
Emphasize “Only”.  LO’s have been turning away taxpayers with abandoned sales under the old law.  
They should start seeing the new BOS beginning late February.

2nd bullet point
Mention how ALTS will work.  Error on pre-qualifier screen

3rd bullet point
-   Make sure they know under the new law bonded agents can process their own paperwork.  Only sales under bond should be processed by their offices.

https://revenue.alabama.gov/motor-vehicle/motor-vehicle-license-information/designated-agent-information/

|

Motor "Uehicle Division

Non-Dealer Application for Designated Agents (MVT 4-2

MVT 4-2

ArLABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Flev. 813
MoTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
P. (. Box 327640 = Montgomery, AL 36132-7640

www.revenue.alabama.gov

Non-Dealer Application For Designated Agent

COMPANY NAME: TELEPHONE:

PHYSICAL ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS (il diflerent fram above)

ciy: COUNTY: STATE: ap.

EMAIL ADDRESS:

Qualifier (qualifiers 3, 4, and 5 may only procass title li and i for factured homas):
[] 1) Alabama Financial Institution
Attach a copy of your company's Title 5, Chapter 19, State Banking License, credit union charter or section 83 occupational
license (obtained from your county license issuing official).
1 2) Alabama Pawnshop
Attach a copy of your Alabama Pawnshop Licensa.

[ 3) out of State Financial -M Homes Only
Attach a copy of your company's State business or regulatory license.
D 4) Law Firm = Homes Only

Attach evidence that a principal of the firm is admitted to a State Bar.

D 5) Title Agent = Manufactured Homes Only
Attach a copy of your certificate of authority issued by the Alabama Department of Insurance.

[ &) Towing Company

PRINCIPAL NAME(S) TITLE HOME ADDRESS HOME TELEPHONE

3

4

A Corporate Surety Band in the amount of $25,000.00, payable to the State of Alabama, is required to qualify as a Designated Agent.
{The surety bond s required to ba on Dapartment form MVT 4-3.)

The undersigned states under the penalties of perjury that all i ined in this ication ig true and correct to the best of hisher
knowledge and belief:

BY:

SIGNATURE AND TITLE

NOTE: A SEPARATE APPLICATION MUST BE SUBMITTED FOR EACH BRANCH OR LOCATION AND A SEPARATE ACCOUNT
NUMBER WILL BE ISSUED. YOU MAY DUPLICATE THIS FORM OR REQUEST ADDITIONAL FORMS FROM THIS
DEPARTMENT.




" Motos Vehicle Division

Abandoned Vehicles

* Purchaser must post title surety bond if vehicle is not
sold by a bonded agent
— Revised Abandoned Bill of Sale
— Message on ALTS Pre-qualifier Screen

« Purchaser has one year to apply for title without posting
bond if vehicle is purchased from bonded agent


Presenter
Presentation Notes
1st bullet point
- Make sure they understand the 2 ways to recognize a purchaser must bond.  The new BOS and also the system error message.


partment
Motor "Uehicle Division

andoned Vehicle Bill of Sale

ATABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
MoToRr VEHICLE DIVISION

Abandoned Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale sk
WM Year: Report Code:
Make: Model: Abandoned Date:
Sale Date: Location of Sale; T -

Dates on which the notice of sale was published (if reguired):
Mame of Newspaper/Courthouse Posting: ML 1

Date of 1st Publication/Courthouse Posting: B (milist at least thirty {30) days pricr to date of sale)

Date of 2Znd Publication/Courthouse Posting!

{must be one (1) week from dale of 1st publication)

Motice of Termination was sentto owner and/or lienholder of record on the following date:

INFORMATION ON NET PROCEEDS OF SALE OF ABANDONED MOTOR VEHICLE:

Sale Price of Abandoned Motor Vehitle -

Amount of Repair r

- Towing Expenses

. Storage Expenses

. Cther

Total Amount Deducted from Sale-Hrice (total lines 2 through. 5)
- Net Sale Balance (Iine 1 minus line &6 — if zercror less, enter -0-)

(ThiE amount eaall'bs pad to the county lcensing ofMolal Tof Sepoet It the county Ganeral fuRd and 2 cooy of Ene Necsipt of GO MINOE MUGE acccmpany thic sorm.)

NOmEWN =

Buyer's Signature: ) Buyer's Signature:
Buyer's Name: Buyer's Name:
Buyer's Address: Buyer's Address:

The seller hereby affirms that this vehicle was sold to the buyer listed abowve as an abandoned motor vehicle in accordance with
the provisions of Title 32, Chapter 12, Code of Ala. 1975. The seller also hereby affirms that the abowve information is true and
comrect and the seller is aware that a false statement made on this document, with intent to defraud. is a cnminal offense under
the Alabama Uniform Certificate of Tithe and Antitheft Law as codified in Title 32, Chapter &. Code of Ala. 1375.

Seller's Signature:

Seller's MName:

Seller's Address:

"All ViNs for 1221 and subseguent year modeal vehicles that conform to federal anti-theft standards are reguired to hawve 17 digits/characters.
Alterations or illegible information void this form._

MOTE: Buyer must obtain a title surety bond in order to title the
vehicle. (bonds.mvtrip.alabama.govwv)
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ALTS Updates

ETAPS API service no longer available (Dec. 2, 2019)

DA Lockout Feature

— Apps must be received by ADOR within thirty (30) days from creation
— Apps may be placed on “HOLD” for an additional thirty (30) days

— Live February 5, 2020

Adding a lienholder question in ALTS
— Must be answered prior to completing application
— Update to the API service

Adding a field to ALTS for “Vehicle Trim Packages”
— Update to the API service


Presenter
Presentation Notes
2nd bullet point
- Emphasize the Feb. 5th implementation date.
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ALTS Updates

* Public Title Portal (hitps://title.mvirip.alabama.gov/)
— Apply for Replacement Title
— Check Application Status
— Check Undeliverable Titles
— Applications Coming Soon (Add lien, Salvage, Rebuilt Owner Retention)

 Document Upload Feature

« NMVTIS Webservice Integration
— Validate OOS Title Information
— Lien Verification
— Check for Brands (i.e. Junk, Salvage, Rebuilt, etc.)
— Stolen Vehicle Check


Presenter
Presentation Notes
1st bullet point
Ask them to stop handing out the old paper form and remove links from their websites.

2nd bullet point
Just mention the benefits of uploading docs (processing time reduction, cost savings, etc.)

3rd bullet point
- Mention the ongoing bi-weekly meetings with AAMVA and explain how this will work in our systems and the benefits of each.

https://title.mvtrip.alabama.gov/
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Federal Odometer Law

* National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
— Issued Rule RIN 2127-AL39 (October 2019)

* Odometer Certifications
— Allow for electronic signatures
— Extends certifications from 10 to 20 years beginning Jan. 1, 2021
— Only affects vehicles year model 2011 and forward

* Benefits
— Deter odometer fraud, tax fraud, & skips in title transfers
— Consumer cost savings up to $7.5 million annually
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Electronic Lien & Title (ELT)

* Obijectives:
— |Issue electronic titles
— Record and release liens electronically

— Eliminate paper titles & allow electronic transfers among
dealers

« Goals to accomplish:
— NMVTIS webservice integration
— Document upload feature
— Implement Federal law changes (i.e. electronic signatures)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Just explain the objectives of ELT and point out the goals to accomplish.  This slide ties back to the previous slides


" Motor Uehicl Division

Title Admin Rule Updates
* New
— 810-5-75-.52.01 (Title Service Provider)

 Repealed
— 810-5-75-.49
— 810-5-75-.54
— 810-5-75-.62
— 810-5-75-.67
— 810-5-75-.68


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Just mention that all these rules were amended/repealed during 2019
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Title Admin Rule Updates

e Amended 810-5-75-.40
— 810-5-75-.03 810-5-75-.48
— 810-5-75-.14 810-5-75-.52
— 810.5-75-.15 810-5-75-.93
— 810-5-75-.17 810-5-75-.55
— 810-5-75-.21 810-5-75-.57
— 810-5-75-.24 810-5-75-.58
— 810-5-75-.29 810-5-75-.60

810-5-75-.31.02

810-5-75-.34
810-5-75-.36
810-5-75-.39

810-5-75-.61
810-5-75-.63
810-5-75-.64
810-5-75-.66



Compliance &
Licensing
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Compliance & Licensing Section

* Managers/supervisors
— Lisa Blankenship, Section Manager
— Maria Chamnong, Dealer License Supervisor
— Renee’ Kyser, Audit Unit Manager
— Vacant, Inspections Unit

* Units
— Dealer License (5 employees)
— Audit (14 employees)
— Inspections (12 employees)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Lisa is directly responsible for Inspections Unit until we get someone for that position


" Motos Vehicle Division

Title Service Provider
Act 2019-238 (Effective: October 1, 2019)

Allows a title service provider to perform designated
agent duties for a licensed dealer
— Application package available online

Title service provider
— Any person who acts as an agent for a licensed dealer
— Must be bonded like a designated agent
— Designated agent cannot do work for another designated agent

Admin Rule 810-5-75-.52.01

Notify MVD of anyone in your county acting as an
unregistered title service provider


Presenter
Presentation Notes
We will contact unregistered title service providers to instruct them on how to get registered with us.
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Title Service Provider

Individuals Businesses Professionals

ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF

REVENUE

Motor Vehicle License Information

Motor Vehicle License Information

Information for motor vehicle dealers and automotive dismantler & parts recyclers.
Apply for a Motor Vehicle License

Dealer License and Dealer License Plate Requirements

Automotive Dismantler & Parts Recycler License

Alabama Title System (ALTS)

'% Designated Agent Information
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Dealer License & Tags

* Act 2019-244 (Effective: October 1, 2020)

« Result of HIR14 (2018) to research and draft
recommendations to combat curbstoning and
abandoned vehicle fraud

 DOR responsible for issuing dealer tags

« Dealer must have state regulatory license and
county license before tag is issued



" Motos Vehicle Division

Dealer License & Tags

Metal DT tag replaced by temporary 7-day DT
tag issued by DOR

Temporary DT/Auction tag - $5
Manufacturer tags issued by DOR

Penalty for first violation of dealer tag law
increased from $100 to $200
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Dealer License & Tags

* Local official cannot collect ad valorem or sales
tax on vehicle in dealer inventory when
“standard” plate is issued

— Must provide MSO or reassigned title as evidence of
vehicle inventory
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Dealer License

& Tags

Creates master dealer license — eliminates

separate wholesale and rebui

Penalty for delinquent dealer

der license

icense - 15% of

license fee after grace period (Oct)

Increases bond from $25K to $50K

Allows DOR to adjust license fee
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Dealer License & Tags

Penalty for failure to obtain license
— $500 for first offense
— $1,000 for second or subsequent offense

No person, other than licensed dealer, may sell
vehicle without title reflecting person as owner

Local licensing official or law enforcement may
Impound vehicle
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Dealer License & Tags

Creates “facilitator” license for off-site sales - $25

Facilitator is any person who facilitates an off-site
sale, including the property owner

Must apply for license 10 days before sale

-acilitator must provide names of participating
icensed dealers who must also obtain an off-site
icense prior to sale

Penalties: 1st- $500 2™ - $1,000
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Dealer License & Tags

Creates motor vehicle wholesale auction license
iIssued by DOR

Any person in the business of buying, selling,
exchanging or facilitating the sale of vehicles at
wholesale to licensed dealers

Licensed and bonded similar to dealer

DOR may establish electronic reporting
requirements regarding sale of vehicles


Presenter
Presentation Notes
40-12-240(21):  Person is every individual, firm, partnership, association, estate, trust or corporation and the receiver, assignee, agent, administrator, or other representative of any of them


" Motos Vehicle Division

Licensing System

» Allows dealer or dismantler to apply for
license online

— Check system before privilege license is
iIssued

» Displays status of license - should be
checked before privilege license and
dealer tags are issued

» Changes effective October 13t :

— Applicant must upload privilege license to
receive dealer tags from the MVD
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Compliance & Enforcement

* Training manual
* Report violations

 Law enforcement bulletin/memo
(MVD will issue before October 1, 2020)

— ALEA Fusion Center
— AL Sheriff’'s Association
— AL Chief’s of Police

— Local licensing offices



Presenter
Presentation Notes
Jay questioned what is plan to include locals – I think asking if we send separate memo or the LE bulletin, but verify with him
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Temporary Tags for Dealers

 Law enforcement bulletin/memo

(issued once dealers using POD tag material)
— ALEA Fusion Center
— AL Sheriff’'s Association
— AL Chief’s of Police
— Licensing offices
* Notify roadside law enforcement about
temporary tag requirements



Presenter
Presentation Notes
Currently dealers still using blue and yellow temp tags we issue from our offices but they will be using the POD material as your offices are and we will coordinate sending the bulletin for that notification.


" Moior Vehicl Division

SCRAP System

Used to report junk vehicles

Different from scrap metal portal (ALEA)
Licensed dismantlers & parts recyclers
Crushers

Junk brand added to title record — no title
Issued
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Online Training

* Designated agents
 Licensing Offices

* IRP/IFTA registrants
« AAMVA fraud training
* Use MVTRIP login


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Jay says talk about DA training (current and proposed-online).
Explain that anytime a new user is added for a dealer, must complete training and we also plan to provide refresher courses

Jay has note – AAMVA fraud training is a maybe (discuss with him to see if just remove for now or not)
He says planned beside the “User MVTRIP login”- my question – will they have MVTRIP account to be able to complete training?  I thought that would come after the fact.
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Registration Updates



" Motos Vehicle Division

Registration Section
* Managers/supervisors
— David Baxley, Section Manager
— Troy Thigpen, Registration Unit Manager
— Vacant, Warehouse

— Trishawn Bell, Motor Carrier Services
Supervisor

* Units
— Registration (MLI, Government Tags, Temporary Tags,
Record Request) (15 employees)
— Warehouse (5 employees)
— Motor Carrier Services (11 employees)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Explain Troy responsible for warehouse if they need to reach out to us with issues
Verify unit number of employees
Tell what each unit responsible for – I provided reg. unit but explain warehouse – what they do and they are responsible for Dept. records retention center as well
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File Format & Error Report
Updates

« Changes pushed out to production on 12/9/19

« Updated fuel codes in file format (E- Electric, P-
Plug-in hybrid, H-Hybrid (need to ask registrant if
plug-in or not, G — Gas, D — Diesel, etc.)

— Uniform Vehicle Valuation Manual includes fuel type

« Changes to registration validation edits to resolve
previous issues reported related to the registration
error report (ex. out of state driver license)

— |f still see issues or have questions, let us know


Presenter
Presentation Notes
David picks up from this slide
Explain (from Mike’s memo) how property tax valuation file providing fuel codes as provided from manufacturer mention will need to change to P if registrant states the vehicle does plug-in so the extra fees are collected properly

Mention that changes were pushed out previously and pulled back due to some issues but those should be resolved with what pushed out Monday night.  Let us know if see any issues.
On file format the fuel field has gone from 10 to 1 character and the other 9 are filler now.  Will see on error report if fuel code not one of the detailed one digit codes now.
Error report issues resolved - (One item know reported was related to the driver license field???)


" Motos Vehicle Division

Proration of Re-Registration

Fees
* Motor Homes
— Allowed for proration under 40-12-258

 Electric & Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles

— Not allowed for proration
— Treated as additional registration fee



w.labama “Department | ﬁ

somy. of Revenne Motor"Uehicle “Division

Inventory Management

« System Rewrite
— Edits based on previous years statistics

* Ordering inventory
— Stats on ADOR website
— Access to ordering inventory
— Limitations


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Jay states he thinks there is more info to provide here – need to discuss and decide


s, S labama (Department i ﬁ
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of Revenne Moios Vehick Division

Disposal of Unused Tags and
Tag Receipts

* Per the Examiners of Public Accounts, Print on
Demand (POD) excess materials may be destroyed
in the same manner as any damaged/misprinted
POD materials, as long as adequately documented
for audit purposes.

* Disposal of surrendered and unissued tags once
audited

— Contact MVD
« Schedule pick-up with ACI


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Memo 2016-23 – Vehicle Document Retention Requirements
Memo 2017-15 – Print on Demand Reg. Receipt/Decal Project Update


S @labama Department L)

somy. of Revenne Motor"Uehicle “Division

Generic Tag Runs

e Current Process

— Manual process to ensure no duplicate
numbers

* Proposed Process
— AIMS System Pulls Next Available Plate

— Eliminates Manually Assigning Tag Schemes
(ex: # of characters on plate)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Provide full explanation of the current process (Right now Beverly has to manually keep track of all tag schemes from years past to ensure that no duplicate numbers are out there) versus the proposed new process.  He has note on number of characters on tags – need to discuss where want to go with information provided here


oo @Alabama Department )

LTI o

— of Revenue MotorUehicle “Division

Reports

* Temporary Tag and MLI| Reinstatement
Reports (Separate reports to MVD discontinued)

— Reinstatement report (MLI system)
— 20-day Temporary Tag report (PROS system)
— Remitted to Comptroller’s Office

— Remit on 20t of each month — same as other
fees (Ex. Dec. MLI reinstatement report on Jan. 20t)

* Upload Comptroller report (40-12-270) to
secure FTP folder

— Separate DOT report discontinued


Presenter
Presentation Notes
(see jay’s notes to make sure I cover everything here)
Explain MLI reports and how changing to reflect changes as they see on the comptroller report (they break down the 85% going to the dept/general fund from the 15% going to the peace officers annuity fund.  Previously the licensing officials did not see this breakdown on their reports because our financial operations division handled the split of the funds received from their offices after the amount they retained.  So know the 15% reflected on the comptroller report is NOT the amount they are retaining as of 1/1/2020.  We are updating the MLI system reinstatement reports to show the split of the fees for these 3 amounts.
Reminder: December report they are submitting to comptroller by January 20, 2020 still reflects their commission at 10%
January report as submitting in February will be updated to reflect the 15% they are to retain effective 1/1/2020.
Address that they are to remit the state portion of the Temp. Tag fees (report from PROS) now in the same manner to the comptroller
For last bullet point- explain how the process changed – they used to mail in reports to comptroller, MVD, and DOT.  We worked to verify DOT could get to information as provided to comptroller and that served their purpose for the information they needed and had provided update to no longer send DOT information separately and to provide the Comptroller reports to them electronically instead of mailing in.  ?Find memo where we explained to give reference(I would add it to the slide)


S BAlabama “Department &
of Revenne NMotor Uchicle Division

Reports

* 10% reinstatement fees on Dec. report

* 15% reinstatement fees on Jan. report and
moving forward

« Comptroller report breakdown

— 85% to general fund

— 15% to POAF (this is not the 15% to be
retained for reinstatement fees)

— Updating MLI system to show breakdown of
each fee



" Motos Vehicle Division

Law Enforcement Bulletin

 Dated 12/13/19

* Trailer Tag
— ALEA Fusion Center
— AL Sheriff’'s Association
— AL Chief’s of Police

 Reminds roadside law enforcement that
most trailers should be registered




" Motos Vehicle Division

Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax

 Annual audit
 \Webservice

* IRS Form 2290 filing requirements:

— Vehicles with declared (registered) GVW of
55K and higher — X5 weight range issue

— Vehicles registered with 60 days of purchase
date are exempt




S Alabama Department | ﬁ
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IRP & IFTA

 What is it?
* Assigned renewal month

 Reminder to send “AP” records to state in
nightly upload — not reflected on
registration database until IRP tag is
Issued

— MVD uses to verify ad valorem paid (registrant
not required to provide copy)

* Trip permit module


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Explain how using their AP records – MVD Motor Carrier system updates to reflect ad valorem paid based on their records so registrant does not have to provide a copy of that document/receipt.  This saves some time in getting their credentials issued and we are working to further streamline the process for them by getting additional documents verified electronically (not sure how much want to go into 2290 project)


" Motos Vehicle Division

Records Requests

New public portal
— Law Enforcement not charged for requests

Title records

Registration records

Abandoned vehicle records (title & registration)
Title histories

Alabama Interactive subscribers (ex. private
iInvestigators

Reminder - licensing offices can provide current
registration record to law enforcement


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Explain we want law enforcement directed to the site to obtain registration information as well so they would no longer need to provide.  LE not charged and our process is pretty quick so we suggest they make LE aware if they are still coming into their offices requesting registration information.


" Moior Vehicl Division

Government Tag Portal

* New portal for state agencies, cities,
counties and VFD to reqister vehicles

 Integrated with ALTS
* Electronic payment
* Tags shipped by MVD, if needed



" Motor"Uehicle Division

Tag Redesigns

Auburn University-1/1/2020 aﬁﬁBﬁﬁoﬁ

Birmingham Southern College-11/1/19

Faulkner University-11/1/19

 University of Mobile-1/1/2020 TN
y ©00000)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
As Jay mentioned in the Legislative Updates this morning, there is a new EMS plate that began being issued 1/1/2020 and you saw a picture of it there.


" Motos Vehicle Division

Tag Designs Remaining The Same:
2020

« AG Tag

« Alabama Sons of Confederate Veteran
* Breast Cancer Research

* Huntingdon College

« Save the Cahaba

* University of Alabama



‘,Motor‘_Udu'cle Division

Standard License Plate

Issuance beginning 2022

1000000

: “i\"nl i‘lu -h'-.‘.'"
-

| £
>R | ‘t www.alabama.trave _'-'


Presenter
Presentation Notes
This design will be reflected on the disability access plate


" Motor Uehicle Division

God Bless License Plate

* Next redesign in 2023

& God Bless America


Presenter
Presentation Notes
? Not sure if slide needed – I think we told them previously that senator chose to keep design – tell when next redesign due if include slide


} NMotor"Uehicle “Division

Bicentennial License Plate

* Plate can be renewed through 12/31/2020

ﬁmoooooo

www.alabama.travel
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Alverify

o Section 32-7A-17, Code of Ala. 1975

* Administrative rule 810-5-8-.09 entitled
|dentification Documentation for Registration

 Driver license validation for each registrant
needed for:

— Initial registration (no renewals)
— Transferring registration
— ALTS title applications (optional)


Presenter
Presentation Notes

32-7A-17 – requires ID to be presented, if a registrant must provide ID, the administrative rule details other identifying documents you can take when person does not have a driver license.
ALVERIFY can be used to verify the legal name of vehicle owner related to title transactions, etc. as needed


" Motos Vehicle Division

AGO Opinion — Credit Card

Fees
 Authorized under Section 11-103-1 to withhold fees

« Attorney General Opinion 2018-012:

— When a County Commission authorizes the use of credit cards
to pay the additional annual registration fees required for
distinctive plates (under Section 32-6-68) and elects not to
impose a convenience fee, the county may not withhold a
percentage of the cost of the fee charged by the credit card
issuer from entities entitled to the proceeds from the payment.


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Jay suggests to provide the code section that allows counties to withhold fees


" Motor Ushicle Division

Address Verification

PROS (Verify address prior to shipping
print on demand tags to registrants)

Titles
MLI

County offices



" Motos Vehicle Division

Administrative Rules

810-5-75-.31.02 — Abandoned MV Record Request
— Repealed rule
810-5-1-.485 — Implementation of DPPA (Records Rule)

— Repealed and replaced with updated language due to
implementation of the records portal

810-5-1-.240 — Trailer License Plates

810-5-1-.211 — Penalty & Interest

— Recent ADOR Legal Opinion for penalty on trailers
— Assessed under 40-2-10, not 32-6-65


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Removed 810-5-1-.238 that Jay covers already
Is rule .485 referenced as the Records Rule now – see if slide needs updating


MLI Updates



i
LTI

somy. of Revenne - Motor"Uehicle “Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

« Tag must be surrendered to official when claiming
stored/inoperable exemption
— Voluntarily Surrender prior to insurance lapse (Poster)

— Within 30 calendar days from receipt of MLI Verification
Notice

— Use Form MV 32-7A-5 Request for Registration
Revocation to surrender tag

« County registration record must be updated to
“revoked” and uploaded to DOR

« Exempt response can only be claimed once per year
per vehicle


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Rule 810-5-8-.06 being repealed and replaced labeled as MLI Reg. Suspension, Reinstatement and Revocation Procedures
Explain what to do if reg. doesn’t have tag to provide and our intentions to update the form and system (see Jay’s notes to see how/where to best address between the two slides)


NMotorUehicle Division

MY Z2-TA-S

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE i
MoTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
PO, Box 327630 = Montgomery, AL 36132-7630 = (334) 242-9000

Request for Registration Revocation Form

This affidawit should be comp d by amy ant d g the aton and t=d i plai= prior to te motor wehicle no
longe r being d by & liabil policy ina o with Secton 32-TA-5, Code of Ala. 1975,

FIECRS T FAM T 1 P

ADDRE S5 1 0T Y. SIAE Fa

TIECAS TP T = P

TRAT Y, STAE, Pl

WEHICLE MEM BFICATOM MUREER (VM- WEHICLE P ORPRAL TN (7 EAFL MSNE_ MCIDEL)-

LICEMSE FLATE MUMESER:

Ifre hersby certify undsr penaities of pejury D be the lewiul and tres (5} of the wehicle d rined =i and that this vehide has not
=en operatsd withouwt liability insurance covwerage in accordancs with Secton 32-TA-4, Code of Ala. 1975,

REGISTRANT 1:

REGISTRANT 2:

O AT ) OArE-

License official must ensure the registration record, as uploaded to the state registration datab. has beanr d. Thisform
should ber ined by the li ing official along with the sumendered license plate for audit purposes.



Presenter
Presentation Notes
Updating form for documents when tag not available to surrender.  We will update the MLI manual as well



of Revenne e Moios Vehick Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

Exempt response cannot be claimed if vehicle was

involved in crash or citation (MLI system links)

— Vehicle cannot be operated on or after insurance verification
date

Rule 810-5-8-.06 establishes “good cause” exceptions

— Use Form MV 32-7A-11 Mandatory Liability Insurance
Affidavit

Good cause documentation and completed forms should
be uploaded to MLI system

Revocation notice may be printed by licensing office
from MLI system


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Explain they are looking to determine ability to claim the exempt response (ticket or crash) during the time period the registrant is claiming exemption – INCLUDING insurance verification date


! “
LTI

somy: of Revenue NMotor Uehicle Division

MLI Exempt Situations

« Exempt Responses: Correspondences dated prior to
12/18/19:

— Manually update the record to VR, and plate does not have to be
surrendered.

« Exempt Responses: Tag Not Available to Surrender

— Due to being stolen, transferred to another vehicle, left on sold
vehicle, moved out of state, vehicle totaled, etc.

— Have Registrant Provide Documentation (bill of sale, police
report, total loss payoff from insurer, etc.) and manually update
record to VR.

— Form MV 32-7A-5 Request for Registration Revocation Form
and system being updated to include documentation submitted
instead of plate, when plate cannot be surrendered.


Presenter
Presentation Notes
See Jay’s note to inform them we will update the manual, system and document to address how to log responses as outlined here (manually update to VR and how to address under current law when tag not available)


ALaBaMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
MoTmor VEHICLE DIvision

PO Boo 327630 = Montgomery, AL 36132-TA30 » (334) 242-9000

Mandatory Liability Insurance Affidavit

This affidawit should be compleisd by =my ant N ex to daiming fhe wehicle was siored, inopersble, or otherwss
unused for good cause in acoordancs with Section 32-TA-11, Code of Ala. 1975 In order 1o qualify for the extension of time, the applicant
must submit this form o the local licensing official within thirty (30) calend ar days from the date the good cause event claimed below ceas-
es.

MHOTE: All of the following conditions must be met:

= The license plate must be sumendsred o the kocal icensing official;

= The wehicle waa not invobred in an acodent during the lapoe in coversne;

= The registrant or & drver of the wveahicle was not issued & citabon durnng the lepae in coverage while operating the wehicle on & public nosd
o highrway; smnd

= The exemption weas not previoushy cleimed during the curmsnt registration period for the wehicls.

FIECEST AN T | AN

BOERE S L (T, STATE, TP

TIECEST VO T = PO

TOE TS 2 (GTY, SIAE. BFy

[WERCLE I COPART M (7 EAFL MRRE, MRDey

PELFAMCE WERFICATION OATE.

Please select the applicable r (Do 0 HMote that the documentation presented
must be to the satisfaction of the licensing official.):

|:| “ehide was impoundsd (svidence reguired) .
El Reqistrant, by evidence of militany orders, was stetoned or d eployed ouisids Alsbamsa.
O r was d (enich quired).

|:| Reqistrant was hospitslzed or otherwise medically =ted (e ).

l4we hersby certify under penalties of perury 1o be the lewful and true owner(s) of the wehicle described ahowve and that this vehicle has not
been operzisd during the lapas in lisbility insurance coverags.

EIGNATURE 1:

EIGNATURE 2:



Presenter
Presentation Notes
These new and updated forms available from our website


State of Alabama

Department of Revenue
o ot oy, Pérwir sk aalabierin gpere|
PO Box 317850
Bformporsaery, AL JSLST

Motice of Registration Revocation
October 22, 2019

Do, John
100 Flower Lane
Karntgormeny, AL 36116

INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE: 4222015

VEHI -
WiN:
LICEMNSE PLATE:

PiN: ERGDEY

The depariment recaived your response that the above referenced wehicie was siored, inpperabie
ofhansise unusad on the inswrance verfication date, and has delEﬂmnEdhalal{:ﬂhElulmlIhgmdMs
hawve baan mel in ardes 1o claim the exemplion:

=  Tha license plate was surmandered 1o the kocal liceansang offcial,

= The wehicle was not imvolved in an accident during the lapse in coverage;

= The negisirant or & drivier of the wehicle was not isseed a cilaton during the lapse in coverage
while operating the wehicle; and

= The exemplion was nod previousty claimed during the curment registration penod Tor the wehiche.

As aresult, the vehicle registration is hereby ravobed, as of the dale of this nolice, in accordance with
Secton 32-TA-11, Code of Ala 1975, Tor the remainder of the regisbration pencd. In the ewent thal the
wehicha for which the registration is revoked is no longer stored, inoperable or othersise unused, a naw
registration and license plate must ba obltained before aparating the vehicle. By claiming this
exemgption, reinstatement of the vehicla's registration following amy further lapse in coverage during the
currant registration pesiod will reqguire the payment of reinstalemant feas.

If further assistance is needed, please visil www besuretoinswreal. com, confact your lecal licensing
afficial, or call the Malor Vehicle Division at (334) 242-5000.

Im—mwmmd“mdm mwmdm1ﬁ‘!ﬁ.mn [ e
R By by BTy ST O Al 1 B ) Bl caniEl of Seseaon of B BOBEE, . oF et of i by
nwﬂnwhh:mdmmmmnmdmmhu—nh T Tribmnal. Sech

muptce of Sppaal sl Be e withir 30 days of e date mohse of soch et o sefueal e i maded 1o the Eosaye ™ A notos of apoeal ke
= awvmtable from Ta Tribunal webate ot yass tradribonal atabama pow and should be dineched to the: addreas on the form.
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Insurance Verification Notice (letter format)

— Mailed or emailed by DOR when MLI case is
created

— Notifies vehicle owner that registration will be
suspended in 30 days if not resolved.
— Replaces postcard questionnaires

» Old postcard responses still to be processed until
phased out


Presenter
Presentation Notes
See Jay’s note – verifying if old postcard responses processed in accordance with old law (process)- you explained previously how to manually update records for prior to 12/18/19, so…


EasiE

State of Alabama

Department of Revenue
Perwrw. revenue.alaba
PO Box 327630
MMonigomerny . AL 36132-7630

Mandatory Liability Insurance Verification Notice
Iy 1R 20

DOODO01 gAY 0380 =sAUTE TL 1 302 IS0L16-S81841 _ —21-POo00L-1

M T Ty e e e e

ARAE AL JFISO1G-5818

INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE: (122201

VEHICLE. ARIRY LE
WIN:
LICENSE PLATE: [

PIN: AC2IWT40

Alabama's mandatory liakility insurarce law is designed to protect Alabama drivers by requiring
insurance verification. Noncomplianca may result in a registration suspeansion and reinstatement
fes.

Unfortunately. the departmeant was unable to verify liability insurance coverage for the above
referenced wehicle on the insurance Jerification date identified above. If the vehicle was coverad
on this date, please provide evidence of continuous liability insurance covarage for the vehicle
within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of this notice. Evidence of insurance coverage may
be provided by completing an online MLI questionnaire at. www. besuretansureal.com or by
providing the evidence of insurance coverage to your local licensing official.

Registrants may claim an exemption from the MLI law if the wehicle was not operated during the
lapse in coverage due to the vehicle being stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused (i e sold).
All of the following conditions must be met in order to claim the stored or inoperable exemption:

+ The license plate must be sumendered to the local licensing official within thirty (30)
calendar days from the date of this notice;

= The vehicle was not invelved in an accident during the lapse in coverage;

= The registrant or a driver of the vehicle was not issued a citation during the lapse in
coverage while operating the vehcle; and

» The exemplion was not previously claimed during the current registraton penod for the
vehicle.

If each of the above conditions have baeen satisfied, the current registration will be revcked for
the remainder of the registration periad. In the event that the wvehicle for which the regestration
has bean revoked is no longer stored, inoperable or otharwise unusead, a new registration and
license plate must be obtained before operating the vehicle. Once this exemption is claimed,
reinstatement of the vehicle's registration following any further lapse in coverage during the
registration period will require the pagment of reinstatement fees.

Please note that failure to provide evidence of continuous liability insurance or failure to
surrender the license plate to your local licensing official within thirty (30) calendar days
from the date of this notice will result in the suspension of the registration of your
vehicle. For assistance visit www_besuretoinsureal_com, your local licensing official, ar call
(334) 242-9000.

Pt

Ealigss

‘s

N

%
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Notice of Suspension

— Mailed and emailed by DOR if MLI case is not
resolved within 30 days of date of notice

— Notifies vehicle owner that registration is
suspended as of the date of the notice of
suspension.

« Suspension is effective immediately
* Vehicle owner still has 30 days to appeal


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Jay asks to verify with Jack if the MLI suspension file includes only suspensions now and explain this to them


State of Alabama

Department of Revenue
(wansrevenue. alabama.gov)
PO Box 327630
Montgomery, AL 36132

Notice of Registration Suspension
October 22, 2019

John, Doe
100 Flower Lane
Montgomery, AL 36116

INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE: 4/21/2019

VEHICLE: Toyota Cam
LICENSE PLATE:
PIN: EF8WTS

Alabama’s mandatory liability insurance law is designed to protect Alabama drivers by requiring
insurance verification. Noncompliance may result in a registration suspension and reinstatement
fee.

Unfortunately, the department was unable to verify liability insurance coverage for the above
referenced vehicle on the insurance verification date identified above. Therefore, registration
has been suspended as required by Section 32-TA-8, Code of Ala 1975. If the vehicle was
covered on this date, evidence of continuous liability insurance coverage for the vehicle may be
provided to your local licensing official in order to remove the registration suspension.

If you previously responded to the MLI Verification Motice, you may be receiving this notice
because your vehicle's insurance policy could not be confirmed with your insurer on the above
insurance verification date. If you had insurance on the insurance verification date, it is
suggested that you contact your insurer for further assistance in providing evidence of insurance
coverage.

If you qualify to claim an insurance exemption because the vehicle was stored, inoperable, or
otherwise unused on the insurance verification date, please visit www besuretoinsureal.com or
contact your local licensing official for further information.

If the vehicle was not insured with an Alabama-licensed insurance company on the above
insurance verification date and the vehicle did not qualify to claim the stored, inoperable, or
otherwise unused exemption provided under Section 32-TA-11, Code of Ala 1975, a
reinstatement fee and proof of current insurance on the above vehicle must be provided to your
local licensing official in order to remove the registration suspension.

If further assistance is needed, please visit www besuretoinsureal com, contact your local
licensing official, or call the Motor Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000.



of Revenue " Motor Uehick Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

Registrant Response System
(www.besuretoinsureal.com) allows registrant to
respond once:

Responses
— Yes (insurance confirmed) — updates to CL status

— Yes (insurance unconfirmed) — remains OP until due to
suspend
— No (not insured)

« System instructs registrant to go to licensing official’s office to
pay reinstatement fees

— No (exempt) — will suspend if tag not surrendered to
licensing official timely


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Remind them that personnel with proper access (MLI Senior Users) have the ability to change a response after the fact but proper notation is required in the MLI system.

http://www.besuretoinsureal.com/

" Motos Vehicle Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Registrant Response System Yes Response-
nsurance Confirmed.

Your response has been recorded.

The submitted insurance information was confirmed for the insurance verification date.
The record has been closed, no further action is necessary.



Presenter
Presentation Notes
Staff will see same messages from the MLI system


| Postinn ama “Department
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e of Revenue " Motor Uehick Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Registrant Response System Yes Response-
nsurance Unconfirmed.

Your response has been recorded.
The submitted insurance information was NOT confirmed for the insurance verification date.

If the vehicle was insured on the insurance verification date, contact your insurer to request that they provide evidence
(statement on insurer's letterhead, etc.) of insurance coverage indicating that the vehicle was covered on the insurance
verification date. This evidence can be submitted electronically to the Alabama Department of Revenue at
www_besuretoinsureal.com or it can submitted to your local licensing official.

If the vehicle was not insured on the insurance verification date, visit your local licensing official to pay the required
reinstatement fee (5200 for first suspension; $400 for second and subsequent suspension) and provide evidence of current
Alabama liability insurance coverage. If the vehicle was stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused please visit your
local licensing official to surrender the tag within thirty days from date of the MLI Verification Notice. Failure to
surrender the license plate within 30 days of the MLI Verification Motice will result in suspension of the vehicle

registration.




| Postinn ama “Department
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e of Revenue " Motor Uehick Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

* Registrant Response System No Response

Your response has been recorded.

If the vehicle was insured on the insurance verification date, contact your insurer to request that they provide evidence
(statement on insurer's letterhead, etc) of insurance coverage indicating that the vehicle was covered on the insurance
verification date. This evidence can be submitted electronically to the Alabama Depariment of Revenue at
www .besuretoinsureal.com or it can be submitted to your local licensing official.

If the vehicle was not insured on the insurance verification date, visit your local licensing official to pay the required
reinstatement fee (5200 for first suspension; $400 for second and subsequent suspension) and provide evidence of current
Alabama liability insurance coverage. If the vehicle was stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused please visit your
local licensing official to surrender the license plate within thirty days from date of the MLI Verification
Notice. Failure to surrender your license plate within 30 days of the MLI Verification Notice will result in suspension

of your vehicle registration.




| Boctuuiun, ama “Department
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Mandatory Liability Insurance

« Registrant Response System No (Exempt)
Response

Your response has been recorded.

Visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within thirty days from the date of the MLI
Verification Notice in order to complete the exemption claim. Failure to surrender your license plate within 30 days
will result in the suspension of the vehicle registration.




" Motos Vehicle Division

Mandatory Liability Insurance

» Collecting Reinstatement Fees
— Only at a local licensing office (32-7A-12)

— Department, including Taxpayer Service
Centers, can no longer accept payments

— Reinstatement notice may be printed by
licensing office from MLI system



State of Alabama
Department of Revenue

{whanerrevenvue_alabama_ gow)
P O Box 327630
Montgomery, AL 36132

MNotice of Registration Reinstatement

December 3, 2019

Doe, John

Hontgnmery: !! !611?

VEHICLE: Toyota Camry

VIN: *
LICENSE PLATE:

ISSUED BY: |
COUNTY: Montgomery

The motor vehicle registration for the vehicle described above has been reinstated by the local
license plate issuing official.

This document serves as evidence of the registration reinstatement in accordance with Section
32-TA-17 Code of Ala 1975, of the Mandatory Liability Insurance (MLI) law. This registration
reinstatement is valid for 30 days from the date of this correspondence. The registrant or driver

of the above referenced vehicle may present this document as evidence of compliance with the
MLI law upon demand to law enforcement.

Any driver convicted of operating an Alabama-registered vehicle without liability insurance
coverage as required by Alabama law, or with suspended or revoked vehicle registration, will be

subject to fines and possible impoundment of the vehicle as outlined in Section 32-7A-16, Code
of Ala 1975.

If further assistance is needed, please contact your local licensing official, or call the Motor
Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000.



%o Alabama Department ﬁ

somy. of Revenne Motor"Uehicle “Division

MLI| System Updates

« Updated MLI Manual
— MVTRIP/MLI Application Screen
— From within MLI Record

* Elimination of Codes

DS — same as open (OP)
D — same as open (OP)

R3 — same as closed (CL)


Presenter
Presentation Notes
If asked what to do if still see record in below statuses:  do we want them contacting us to determine how to update record?
DS= open unless response time expired
ID = depends on previous status, right?  Stays open or reverts to suspended
Nothing to do with R3 code see, that basically equals closed record


" Motor Uehick Division

Vehicles Exempt from OIVS

* Vintage
* IRP
« Taxis


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Only exempting from OIVS reverification process not exempt from MLI law- must provide proof of insurance and verify to register
Give reminder that registration fees for RV and Farm vehicles can be prorated if vehicle requiring reregistration within same registration year
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OIVS Statistics

» Total OIVS Requests:
— 2019 CY: 62 Million
— 2018 CY: 62 Million

» Total Correspondence Sent:
— 2019 CY: 847,111 (Questionnaires and NOS)
— 2018 CY: 818,525 (Questionnaires and NOS)

 Total Reinstatement Fees Collected:
— 2019 FY: 5.7 Million
— 2018 FY: 8.1 Million


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Jay has note on explaining why reg fees collected lower based on the number of VRs – may need to verify with him if we want to wait to get asked before going into details on why lower
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NAIC Information

* NAICs Writing Alabama Personal Policies
(OIVS): 193

* NAICs Writing Alabama Commercial
Policies (not OIVS): 3,121

* NAICs Exempt from OIVS (less than 500
policies)(manually verified): 14
 Lists provided on MVD Advisory Council Page


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Reminder on commercial policies that they are viewing the insurance document when registering but vehicles insured under commercial policies are not subject to OIVS.  They might ask about a personal automobile – question goes back to how is it covered under their insurance policy – if commercial, then mark policy type to reflect that (not subject to OIVS)
Explain how the 14 insurance companies not subject to OIVS but writing personal auto lines must login to verify insurance policy information provided by registrants
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MLI Administrative Rules

« Updating all MLI rules from recent law changes

— Amended

« 810-5-8-.01 — Certificate of MV Liability Bond, Cert. of Cash Bond
and Satisfaction of Judgements

« 810-5-8-.07
— Repeal and Replace

« 810-5-8-.06 New Rule entitled — MLI Registration Suspension,
Reinstatement, and Revocation Procedures

— Repeals — language in law or other rules
« 810-5-8-.02
« 810-5-8-.03
« 810-5-8-.04
« 810-5-8-.05
« 810-5-8-.08
« 810-5-8-.10


Presenter
Presentation Notes
Rule hearing held Dec. 10th 
David picks up on next screen
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