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 810-5-1-.211  Motor Vehicle Registration Delinquency Penalty and 
Interest Charges. (REPEAL) 
 
 (1)     Penalties for the late registration of a motor vehicle are codified in 
Sections 40-12-260 and 32-6-65, Code of Alabama 1975. Additionally, a penalty under 
Section 40-12-249 is applicable to anyone operating a vehicle with an improper class 
license plate. This rule does not address the penalty provisions of Section 40-12-255 
involving manufactured homes. 
 
 (2)     Registrants have 20 days from date of purchase or acquisition to register a 
newly acquired vehicle without penalty. 
 
 (3)      In determining the 20-day penalty free period, the day the vehicle was 
actually acquired is not included in the calculations. Thus issuing officials, in calculating 
the 20-day “grace period” must begin counting using the day following the purchase or 
acquisition date. 
 
 (4)      In calculating the 20 day penalty and interest “grace period,” if the 20th 
day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, holiday, or any day that the licensing office is closed, 
the vehicle owner may register his or her vehicle the next business day without penalty 
and interest charges as per Alabama law. 
 
 (5)      If someone is issued a current and valid Alabama temporary license 
plate(s) before the 20-day penalty and interest “grace period” expires for his or her 
newly acquired vehicle, penalty and interest are not to be charged if the vehicle is 
registered while the temporary plate(s) remains valid. The temporary plate must have 
been acquired prior to the delinquent period. 
 
 (6)      If someone is issued a current and valid temporary license plate for his or 
her newly acquired vehicle in another jurisdiction, penalty and interest shall not be 
charged when registered while the temporary plate is valid, even if the 20th day occurs 
before the temporary plate expires. Provided, the temporary plate acquired from another 
jurisdiction must have been secured within the 20-day “grace period” from date 
purchased or acquired. 
 
 (7)     Section 32-6-65, in defining the phrase “late registration of a motor vehicle” 
uses the phrase “date of purchase or acquisition.” There are many ways one may 
acquire a motor vehicle, including: 
 
 (a) Gift, 
 
 (b) Prize, 
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 (c) Divorce settlement, 
 
 (d) Estate settlement. 
 
 (8)      It is the responsibility of anyone acquiring a vehicle to prove to the 
satisfaction of the license plate issuing official the date the vehicle was acquired, if the 
vehicle was operated with a temporary license plate, and any other factor that would 
assist the issuing official in determining when the registration fee liability attaches, and if 
delinquency penalty and interest charges are due. 
 
 (9)     Situations sometimes occur where the date of purchase is different from 
the date of acquisition. In cases where the registrant can document to the issuing official 
that the newly acquired vehicle was not received by the owner until a date subsequent 
to the purchase date, penalty and interest shall not be charged if the vehicle is 
registered within 20 days of the acquisition date. Example: Someone acquiring a new 
truck from a dealership, as part of the purchase contract, requires the dealer to paint the 
truck and add special equipment, and such changes result in the new owner not taking 
possession of the truck until several days after the date shown on the title application as 
the purchase date. 
 
 (10)     Situations sometimes occur where a purchaser will acquire a motor 
vehicle, have it delivered by the selling dealership to the purchaser’s location, where it is 
stored until weeks or months later when the purchaser needs to place the vehicle into 
service. If the purchaser documents to the license plate issuing official that the vehicle 
was delivered by the seller and not subsequently operated on the public highways prior 
to the vehicle being registered, the issuing official shall charge no late registration 
penalty or interest. 
 
 (11)     Under provisions of the Alabama Certificate of Title and Antitheft Act, a 
salvage motor vehicle may be rebuilt and operated on the public highways after it has 
been inspected by the Department of Revenue. In such cases, upon inspection and the 
issuance of an application for certificate of title for the rebuilt vehicle by the Department 
of Revenue, the vehicle shall be registered within 20 days of the date shown on the 
application for certificate of title without penalty or interest charges attaching (unless the 
registration fee liability does not attach, for example, if the rebuilt vehicle is acquired by 
and immediately placed into dealer inventory). 
 
 (12)     There are situations where owners acquire motor vehicles to be used 
exclusively on private property and not on the “public highway” as that term is defined in 
Section 40-12-240. In the event the owner needs to operate the vehicle on the public 
highways, the owner must first register the vehicle – there is no 20- day grace period in 
such cases. In the event the vehicle is operated on the public highways without the 
registration having been obtained delinquency penalties and interest charges are due 
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when the vehicle is subsequently registered. Vehicle operation on the public highways 
does not include movement directly from one side of a public highway to the opposite 
side of the highway (for example, to move the vehicle from plant sites directly across the 
highway from each other). 
 
 (13)      In the event someone leases a motor vehicle, the lease date is the date 
of acquisition, and the registration fee liability attaches on the lease date, unless the 
lessor or lessee can provide evidence that the lessee did not receive control and 
possession of the vehicle on the lease date.  
 
 (14)     In the event a licensed motor vehicle dealer moves a vehicle from his/her 
vehicle sales inventory to be used as daily rental vehicle, the motor vehicle dealer shall 
certify to the issuing official the date that the vehicle was placed into the rental 
inventory, or the date that the vehicle was first used as a rental vehicle, whichever date 
is first, in order for the issuing official to determine if delinquency penalty and interest 
charges accrue. This same requirement is applicable if the vehicle is removed from 
dealer inventory for use as a service vehicle, etc. 
 
 (15)      In the event a manufacturer of motor vehicles elects to sell a motor 
vehicle to the employee of the manufacturer or direct to a retail customer, the liability for 
registration fees would begin at the date of purchase or acquisition, with the purchaser 
having the 20-day grace period to acquire registration. 
 
 (16)      In accordance with the opinion of the Attorney General issued to the 
Honorable Larry Prince, Tax Assessor, Franklin County, on June 2, 1993, during the 20- 
day period a newly acquired vehicle may be operated without a current and valid 
Alabama license plate being displayed on the vehicle, if the owner has not secured a 
new registration for the vehicle. 
 
 (17)     In accordance with the provisions of Section 40-12-260, during the 20-day 
grace period from purchase date or acquisition date, the operator of the newly acquired 
vehicle must retain with the vehicle the ownership document(s) authorized in these law 
subsections for possible presentation to law enforcement. Provided, if the person 
acquiring the vehicle has a current and valid license plate formerly registered to another 
vehicle he/she previously owned, said license plate may be affixed to newly acquired 
motor vehicle. 
 
 (18)     If the newly acquired motor vehicle is a truck or truck tractor with a gross 
weight exceeding 10,000 pounds, or is a commercial bus, while the registration may be 
secured without penalty during the 20-day period following the date of purchase or 
acquisition, operation of the truck, truck tractor or commercial bus on the public 
highways, without a current and valid license plate may subject the operator to law 
enforcement sanctions; particularly, if the vehicle is operated outside the State of 
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Alabama. 
 
 (19)      If the owner of a newly acquired motor vehicle seeks to register the 
vehicle by transferring the current and valid registration from a vehicle he/she continues 
to own, in accordance with the provisions of Section 40-12-260, such transfer cannot be 
made. If, however, the owner can document to the satisfaction of the license plate 
issuing official that the previously owned vehicle was sold or otherwise disposed of prior 
to the acquisition of new vehicle, the transfer may be made. Provided, if the owner of 
the newly acquired vehicle can document to the satisfaction of the license plate issuing 
official that the previously registered vehicle was junked or destroyed thereby rendering 
it inoperable, although he or she continues to own the vehicle, prior to the acquisition of 
the new vehicle, the issuing official may transfer the license plate from said vehicle to 
the newly acquired vehicle within the 20-day period without registration penalty or 
interest charges. 
 
 (20)    In the event an Alabama resident acquires a motor vehicle in another 
state, and operates the vehicle in that jurisdiction, or outside the State of Alabama, for 
days, weeks, or months, perhaps using temporary plates from the jurisdiction where 
vehicle was purchased, the 20-day penalty free period shall begin on the day following 
the date the vehicle enters the State of Alabama, as the registration fee liability attaches 
upon vehicle operation upon Alabama public highways. 
 
 (21)     Generally, any vehicle subject to registration fee or ad valorem tax 
exemption is not exempt from penalty and interest charges. However, vehicle owners, 
under laws providing for exemption of “charges of any nature whatsoever” (such as 
Section 40-9-12) are exempt from penalty and interest charges. 
 
 (22)     The $15 penalty levied under Section 32-6-65 for “the failure to register 
the vehicle within 20 calendar days of the date of purchase or acquisition” is applicable 
when the vehicle owner has no current and valid Alabama license plate that can be 
transferred to the newly acquired vehicle. In the case where the vehicle owner has a 
current and valid Alabama license plate which was removed from a vehicle that was 
sold, junked or destroyed, and fails to transfer said license plate to the newly acquired 
vehicle within 20 days of purchase or acquisition, only the transfer penalty imposed 
under Section 40-12-260 shall be applicable. 
 
 (23)     Section 32-6-65 provides for a $15 penalty for anyone failing to renew his 
or her vehicle registration during his or her designated renewal month. In the event a 
motor vehicle owner has a current and valid Alabama license plate that may be 
transferred to a newly acquired vehicle, and fails to do so within the 20-day grace 
period, and also fails to timely renew his or her vehicle registration in the designated 
renewal month, both the $15 transfer penalty and the $15 penalty authorized under 
Section 32-6-65 for failure to timely renew shall be applicable. 
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 (24)     If the last day of the registrant’s renewal month(s) falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, holiday, or other day that the issuing office is closed, the registrant may renew 
his or her vehicle registration without penalty or interest charges during the next 
business day. 
 
 (25)     Some Alabama licensing officials send renewal notices to persons 
previously registering their motor vehicles in that county. The failure of any licensing 
official to offer this service, or the failure of the renewal notice to be received by the 
vehicle owner does not serve to waive the penalty or interest charges levied under 
Alabama law. 
 
 (26)      Section 40-12-10 provides that a license-issuing official cannot “fail to 
collect such penalties when issuing such license.” However, anyone determined to be 
subject to a registration law penalty may, after paying the penalty, seek a review by a 
court of competent jurisdiction to seek a refund of the penalty or interest charges. 
Registration penalties assessed on vehicles subject to registration under Section 32-6-
56, Code of Alabama 1975, may be appealed by filing a notice of appeal in accordance 
with Section 40-2A-7. 
 
 (27)  Penalty provisions found in Sections 40-12-260 and 32-6-65 are not 
applicable when the following registrations are issued: 
 
 (a)      State, county, municipal government, Public Utility Department vehicles. 
Vehicles owned by volunteer fire department license plates as authorized under Section 
40-12-250. 
 
 (b)      U.S. Government Loaned Vehicles. 
 
 (c)      Dealer, motorcycle dealer, manufacturer and dealer transit license plates 
(see Section 40-12-264). 
 
 (d)      Temporary license plates. 
 
 (28)     Under the provisions of Section 40-12-262, a non-resident moving to the 
State of Alabama with a current and valid out-of-state registration has 30 days following 
the date the vehicle enters the state to obtain an Alabama registration. Anyone failing to 
timely register their vehicle is subject to a registration penalty under Section 32-6-65. 
Note that this 30-day period is based on the vehicle owner having a current and valid 
out-of-state registration; if not, the vehicle must be registered immediately. Provided, if 
the vehicle is exempt from registration in its former base jurisdiction, registration for the 
vehicle must be accomplished within 20 days following the date the vehicle enters the 
state. 
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 (29)      Section 40-12-249 provides for a 25% penalty on the difference between 
fees paid and fees due when someone is cited with operating a vehicle with the 
incorrect class of license plate. This penalty refers to situations where the registrant’s 
vehicle is improperly registered with a lower weight license plate category than required, 
or when the registrant is operating a vehicle with one class license plate when another 
class license plate is required. 
 
 (30)      In situations where a vehicle is operated during the renewal month(s), 
after the previous registration expires with an improper class license plate, the operator 
can be cited for improper license plate for the full previous registration year with credit 
for the license previously obtained, with the 25% penalty applicable to the net amount 
due. Additionally, the registrant would owe registration fees for the proper classification 
of license plate for the current registration period. 
 
 (31)      In the event a person acquires a vehicle in a month other than their 
designated renewal month, and registers it with an improper classification license plate, 
the 25% penalty shall be based on the difference between the prorated fees for the 
license plate classification that should have been obtained beginning for the month the 
vehicle was acquired, and the prorated fees for the license plate classification that was 
obtained. 
 
 (32)  Section 40-12-10 authorizes the collection of a citation fee when a “Notice 
to Obtain License Plate” is issued, and requires that the issuing official collect the 
citation fee “before issuing any license.” 
 
 (33)  The term “citation” as used in Section 40-12-249 refers to the “Notice to 
Obtain License Plate” as authorized in Section 40-12-10, and does not refer to Uniform 
Traffic Tickets. 
 
 (34)  Section 40-12-10 requires the license plate issuing official to collect 
interest when issuing a delinquent motor vehicle registration. Interest charges are 
calculated based on the provisions of Section 40-1-44, with the Department of Revenue 
providing notice of interest rate changes to the license plate issuing officials. 
 
Author:  Sherry Helms, James P. Starling 
Authority: Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5), 32-6-53 and 40-12-272, Code of Alabama 1975 
History:        Adopted through APA November 2, 2004, effective December 7, 2004. 
                     Amended: Filed January 11, 2011, effective February 15, 2011. 
                     Amended: Filed December 6, 2011, effective January 10, 2012. 
                     Amended: Filed January 23, 2015, effective February 27, 2015.  
  Repealed: Filed April 20, 2020; effective 
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 810-5-1-.211  Motor Vehicle Registration Periods, Delinquency,  
Penalty and Interest Charges (NEW) 
 
 (1)  Registration During Designated Renewal Period. 
 
 (a) All motor vehicles, other than those registered pursuant to the 
International Registration Plan provided in § 32-6-56, Code of Ala. 1975, shall be 
renewed in the designated renewal month as provided in § 32-6-61, Code of Ala. 1975. 
 
 (b) If the last day of the designated renewal month falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, holiday, or any other day that the licensing office is closed, the motor vehicle 
registrant may register his or her vehicle the next business day without penalty and 
interest charges. 
 
 (c) Alabama license issuing officials may send renewal notices to persons 
previously registering their motor vehicles in that county. The failure of the license 
issuing official to offer this service, or the failure of the renewal notice to be received by 
the motor vehicle owner does not negate the penalty or interest charges levied under 
Alabama law for a delinquent registration. 
 
 (2) Twenty-day (20-day) Registration Grace Period from Date of Acquisition 
or Purchase.  
 
 (a) Registrants have 20 days from date of purchase or acquisition to register 
a newly acquired motor vehicle without penalty or interest. In determining the 20-day 
penalty or interest free grace period, the day the vehicle was actually acquired is not 
included in the calculations. Thus, license issuing officials, in calculating the 20-day 
grace period must begin counting using the day following the purchase or acquisition 
date. 
 
 (b) Determining the Acquisition Date of a Motor Vehicle.  
 
 1. It is the responsibility of the person acquiring a motor vehicle to prove to 
the satisfaction of the license issuing official the date the motor vehicle was acquired. 
 
 2. When the date of acquisition is different from the date of purchase, and 
the registrant can provide documentation to the license issuing official that the newly 
acquired motor vehicle was not received by the owner until a date subsequent to the 
purchase date, penalty and interest will not be charged if the motor vehicle is registered 
within the 20-day grace period of the acquisition date. (Example: Someone acquiring a 
new truck from a dealership, as part of the purchase contract, requires the dealer to 
paint the truck and add special equipment, and such changes result in the new owner 
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not taking possession of the truck until several days after the date shown on the title 
application as the purchase date.) 
 
 3.  When the registrant can provide documents to the license issuing official 
that prove the motor vehicle was delivered by the seller and not subsequently operated 
on the public highways prior to the motor vehicle being registered, then no late 
registration penalty or interest will be charged. (Example: a purchaser acquires a motor 
vehicle, and has it delivered by the selling dealership to their location, and it is stored 
until the purchaser needs to place the motor vehicle into service.) 
 
 4.  If a person leases a motor vehicle or leases a motor vehicle with the 
option to purchase, the lease date is the date of acquisition, and the registration fee 
liability attaches on the lease date, unless the lessor or lessee can provide evidence 
that the lessee did not receive control and possession of the motor vehicle on the lease 
date. 
 
 5. In calculating the 20-day grace period, if the 20th day falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, holiday, or any day that the licensing office is closed, the motor vehicle owner 
may register his or her vehicle the next business day without penalty and interest 
charges. 
 
 6. Registrants issued a current and valid Alabama temporary license plate 
before the 20-day grace period expires, are not to be charged penalty and interest if the 
motor vehicle is registered while the temporary plate remains valid as long as the 
temporary plate was acquired prior to the delinquent period. 
 
 7. Registrants issued a current and valid temporary license plate in another 
jurisdiction are not charged penalty and interest while the temporary plate is valid, even 
if the 20th day occurs before the temporary plate expires.  
 
 8. If an Alabama resident acquires a motor vehicle in another state, and 
operates the motor vehicle in that jurisdiction, or outside the State of Alabama, for days, 
weeks, or months, perhaps using temporary plates from the jurisdiction where motor 
vehicle was purchased, the 20-day grace period begins on the day following the date 
the motor vehicle enters the State of Alabama, as the registration fee liability attaches 
upon motor vehicle operation upon Alabama public highways. 
 
 9. Under provisions of the Alabama Certificate of Title and Antitheft Act, a 
salvage motor vehicle may be rebuilt and operated on the public highways after it has 
been inspected by the department and a rebuilt title has been issued. The registrant has 
a 20-day grace period from the date shown on the subsequent application for certificate 
of title to register the rebuilt motor vehicle and not incur penalty or interest charges, 
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unless the registration fee liability does not attach. (Example: The rebuilt motor vehicle 
is acquired by and immediately placed into dealer inventory.) 
 
 10. Motor Vehicles used exclusively on private property and not on the “public 
highway” as that term is defined in § 40-12-240, Code of Ala. 1975, are not required to 
be registered. However, in the event the owner needs to operate the motor vehicle on 
the public highways, the owner must first register the motor vehicle. There is no 20-day 
grace period in such cases. Penalty and interest are due at registration when the motor 
vehicle is operated on the public highways without the registration first having been 
obtained. The penalty and interest would be calculated from the date the motor vehicle 
was purchased or date of acquisition. Motor vehicle operation on the public highways 
does not include movement directly from one side of a public highway to the opposite 
side of the highway (for example, to move the motor vehicle from plant sites directly 
across the highway from each other). 
 
 11. Motor Vehicles where the manufacture elects to sell or lease with the 
option to purchase a motor vehicle to the employee of the manufacturer or direct to a 
retail customer, the liability for registration fees would begin at the date of purchase or 
acquisition, with the purchaser having the 20-day grace period to acquire registration. 
 
 (3) Transfer of a License Plate to Newly Acquired Vehicle within Twenty-day 
(20-day) Registration Grace Period. 
 
An owner of a newly acquired motor vehicle may register the motor vehicle within the 
20-day grace period by transferring the current and valid registration from a motor 
vehicle if the owner can document to the satisfaction of the license issuing official that 
the previously owned motor vehicle was sold or otherwise disposed of prior to the 
acquisition of the new motor vehicle or if the owner can document to the satisfaction of 
the license issuing official that the previously registered motor vehicle was junked or 
destroyed thereby rendering it inoperable, even if he or she continues to own the 
vehicle. Otherwise, pursuant to the provisions of § 40-12-260, Code of Ala. 1975, the 
registration cannot be transferred to the newly acquired motor vehicle. Instead, the 
owner of the newly acquired motor vehicle must obtain a new registration within the 20-
day grace period registration. 
 
 (4) Ownership Documentation During Twenty-day (20-day) Registration 
Grace Period.   
 
 (a) During the 20-day grace period, a newly acquired motor vehicle may be 
operated without a current and valid Alabama license plate being displayed on the 
vehicle, provided that the owner has not secured a new registration for the vehicle. 
However, in accordance with the provisions of § 40-12-260, Code of Ala. 1975, during 
the 20-day grace period from purchase date or acquisition date, the operator of the 
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newly acquired motor vehicle must retain with the vehicle the ownership document(s) 
(i.e. temporary tag, Alabama application for certificate of title, or bill of sale) authorized 
in these law subsections for possible presentation to law enforcement.  
 
 (b) If the newly acquired motor vehicle is a truck or truck tractor with a gross 
weight exceeding 12,000 pounds, or is a commercial bus, while the registration may be 
secured without penalty during the 20-day grace period following the date of purchase 
or acquisition, operation of the truck, truck tractor or commercial bus on the public 
highways, without a current and valid license plate may subject the operator to law 
enforcement sanctions; particularly, if the motor vehicle is operated outside the State of 
Alabama. 
 
 (5) Registration of a Motor Vehicle Removed from Inventory and Used as a 
Rental. 
 
If a licensed motor vehicle dealer removes a motor vehicle from their motor vehicle 
sales inventory to be used as a daily rental motor vehicle, the motor vehicle dealer must 
certify to the license issuing official the date that the vehicle was placed into the rental 
inventory, or the date that the motor vehicle was first used as a rental motor vehicle, 
whichever date is first, in order for the issuing official to determine if delinquency penalty 
and interest charges accrue. This same requirement is applicable if the vehicle is 
removed from dealer inventory for use as a service vehicle, etc. 
 
 (6)  Penalty and Interest for Delinquent Registration. 
 
 (a) The penalties associated with the late registration of a motor vehicle, other 
than a trailer, are codified in §§ 32-6-65 and 40-12-260, Code of Ala. 1975.  
 
 (b) Penalty for Failure to Timely Register or Renew a Motor Vehicle. 
 
 1. § 32-6-65, Code of Ala. 1975, provides for a $15 penalty for anyone failing 
to renew his or her motor vehicle registration during his or her designated renewal 
month. A motor vehicle owner that has a current and valid Alabama license plate that 
may be transferred to a newly acquired vehicle, and fails to do so within the 20-day 
grace period, and also fails to timely renew his or her motor vehicle registration in the 
designated renewal month, will be subject to both the $15 transfer penalty and the $15 
penalty authorized under § 32-6-65, Code of Ala. 1975, for failure to timely renew. 
 
 2. § 32-6-65, Code of Ala. 1975, provides for a $15 penalty for “the failure to 
register the motor vehicle within 20 calendar days of the date of purchase or acquisition” 
applies when the motor vehicle owner has no current and valid Alabama license plate 
that can be transferred to the newly acquired vehicle. A motor vehicle owner that has a 
current and valid Alabama license plate which was removed from a motor vehicle that 
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was sold, junked or destroyed, and fails to transfer said license plate to the newly 
acquired motor vehicle within the 20-day grace period of the purchase or acquisition, 
will be subject to only the transfer penalty imposed under § 40-12-260, Code of Ala. 
1975. 
 
 (c) Penalty for Late Registration of Trailers. The penalty provisions for trailers 
are codified in § 40-12-10, Code of Ala. 1975. The penalty section provides for a late 
registration penalty of 15% of the amount of the license but not less than $1.50. 
 
 (d) Pursuant to § 40-12-10, Code of Ala. 1975, a license issuing official is 
required to collect accrued interest when issuing a delinquent motor vehicle registration. 
Interest due for the late registration of a motor vehicle is codified in § 40-1-44, Code of 
Ala. 1975. The interest is computed based on the underpayment rate established by the 
Secretary of the Treasury under the authority of 26 U.S.C. § 6621 and is published 
quarterly by the department. 
 
 (7)  Penalty for Incorrect or Improper License Plate Class Citations.  
 
 (a) § 40-12-249, Code of Ala. 1975, provides for a 25% penalty on the 
difference between fees paid and fees due when someone is cited with operating a 
motor vehicle with the incorrect class of license plate. This penalty refers to situations 
where the registrant’s motor vehicle is improperly registered with a lower weight license 
plate category than required, or when the registrant is operating a motor vehicle with 
one class license plate when another class license plate is required. 
 
 (b) The operator of a motor vehicle being operated during the renewal 
month(s), after the previous registration expires with an improper class license plate, 
can be cited for improper license plate for the full previous registration year with credit 
for the license previously obtained, with the 25% penalty applicable to the net amount 
due. Additionally, the registrant of the motor vehicle would owe registration fees for the 
proper classification of license plate for the current registration period. 
 
 (c) A person that acquires a motor vehicle in a month other than their 
designated renewal month and registers it with an improper classification license plate 
will be subject to the 25% penalty. The 25% penalty will be based on the difference 
between the prorated fees for the license plate classification that should have been 
obtained beginning for the month the motor vehicle was acquired, and the prorated fees 
for the license plate classification that was obtained. 
 
 (d) § 40-12-10, Code of Ala. 1975, authorizes the collection of a citation fee 
when a “Notice to Obtain License Plate” is issued, and requires that the issuing official 
collect the citation fee “before issuing any license.” 
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 (e) The term “citation” as used in § 40-12-249, Code of Ala. 1975, refers to 
the “Notice to Obtain License Plate” as authorized in § 40-12-10, Code of Ala. 1975, 
and does not refer to Uniform Traffic Tickets. 
 
 (8)  Exemptions from Penalty and Interest.  
 
 (a)  Generally, a motor vehicle that is exempt from registration fees or ad 
valorem taxes is not automatically exempt from penalty and interest charges. However, 
penalty provisions found in §§ 32-6-65 and 40-12-260, Code of Ala. 1975, and the 
accrued interest are not applicable when the following registrations are issued: 
  
 1.  A motor vehicle is owned by persons exempt from “charges of any nature 
whatsoever”, such as those entities exempt under § 40-9-12, Code of Ala. 1975. 
 
 2. State, county, municipal government, Public Utility Department vehicles. 
Vehicles owned by volunteer fire department license plates as authorized under § 40-
12-250, Code of Ala. 1975. 
 
 3. U.S. Government Loaned Vehicles. 
 
 4. Dealer, motorcycle dealer, manufacturer and dealer transit license plates 
(see § 40-12-264, Code of Ala. 1975). 
 
 5. Temporary license plates. 
 
 (b) If the last day of the registrant’s renewal month(s) falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, holiday, or other day that the issuing office is closed, the registrant may renew 
his or her motor vehicle registration without penalty or interest charges the next 
business day. 
 
 (9) Appeal of Penalty. § 40-12-10, Code of Ala. 1975, provides that a license 
issuing official cannot “fail to collect such penalties when issuing such license.” 
However, anyone determined to be subject to a registration law penalty may, after 
paying the penalty, seek a review by a court of competent jurisdiction to seek a refund 
of the penalty or interest charges. Registration penalties assessed on vehicles subject 
to registration under § 32-6-56, Code of Ala. 1975, may be appealed by filing a notice of 
appeal in accordance with § 40-2A-7, Code of Ala. 1975. 
 
Author:  Sherry Helms, James P. Starling, and Michael D. Gamble. 
Authority:  §§ 32-6-56, 32-6-61, 32-6-65, 40-1-44, 40-2A-7, 40-2A-7(a)(5), 40-9-12,  
  40-12-10, 40-12-240, 40-12-249, 40-12-250, 40-12-255, 40-12-260, 40- 
  12-262, and 40-12-264, Code of Ala. 1975 and 26 U.S.C. § 6621. 
History:  Adopted: Filed November 2, 2004, effective December 7, 2004. 
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