
 810-5-12-.04 Investigation Procedures for Open Assignment of Title 
(REPEALED) 

 

(1) An open title is defined in Section 40-12-396(b)(3), Code of Alabama 1975, 
as "...accepting open assignment of title and/or bill of sale for a motor vehicle which is not 
completed by identifying said licensee as the purchaser or assignee of the motor vehicle." 
The following procedures will be utilized when it is determined  a licensee (as licensed 
under 40-12-392, Code of Alabama 1975) is accepting open titles in violation of the code. 

 
(2) A Notice of Statutory Non-Compliance will be issued giving the taxpayer ten 

calendar days from the date of the notice to comply. 
 

(a) The Department will compile a list of all open title(s) reflecting the issuing 
state, title number, vehicle identification number, make and model of the vehicle, and 
other information as deemed necessary. 

 
(b) A copy of the front and back of each open title will be obtained. 

 
(3) Revisit the licensee after the expiration of the ten calendar day period. If the 

licensee is then in compliance, no further action will be pursued. However, if the licensee 
is found to still be in possession of open title(s), the licensee may be assessed a $1,000 
penalty for willful failure to comply under Section 40-12-29, Code of Alabama 1975. An 
action to revoke the license may also be initiated. In the event that the licensee is a 
designated agent and the license is revoked, the licensee’s designated agent status will 
also be revoked. 

 
(4) Should a licensee previously given a Notice of Statutory Non-Compliance 

be in possession of open titles(s) in the future, a Notice of Statutory Non-Compliance will 
be issued to the licensed motor vehicle dealer to take effect upon date of the notice. This 
offense shall be considered willful failure to comply and a $1,000 penalty will be assessed 
under Section 40-12-29. An action to revoke the license may also  be initiated. In the 
event that the licensee is a designated agent and the license is revoked, the licensee’s 
designated agent status will also be revoked. 

 
(5) A licensee who accepts an open title assignment and subsequently sells a 

motor vehicle and does not complete the assignment of title identifying said licensee as 
the purchaser or assignee of the motor vehicle shall be considered to have intentionally 
and willfully failed to comply with the provisions of Article 8 of Chapter 12 of Title 40 and 
a $1,000 penalty will be assessed under Section 40-12-29. An action to revoke the license 
may also be initiated. In the event that the licensee is a designated agent and the license 
is revoked, the licensee’s designated agent status will also be revoked. 

 
(6) The motor vehicle licensee will be provided a copy of his appeal rights under 

Section 40-2A-8, Code of Alabama 1975, when action to revoke his license is taken. 
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810-5-12-.04       Revocation of License (NEW RULE) 

 
(1) The department may revoke the license of any motor vehicle dealer, 

automotive dismantler and parts recycler, or motor vehicle wholesale auction for the 
willful and intentional failure of the licensee to comply with the applicable provisions 
under §§ 40-12-396, 40-12-416 and 40-12-449, Code of Ala. 1975.  

 
(2)      A Notice of Statutory Non-Compliance shall be provided by the 

department to the licensee detailing the area or areas of alleged non-compliance. A 
response must be submitted to the department within ten (10) calendar days from the 
date of the notice either refuting the alleged non-compliance or detailing the action 
taken to correct the area or areas of non-compliance. 
 

 (3)   Failure to satisfactorily respond to the department will result in the 
issuance of a revocation notice advising that the license will be revoked. A licensee 
may be accessed penalties for willful failure to comply as provided in §§ 40-12-29 and 
40-12-450, Code of Ala. 1975. If the licensee is a designated agent and the license is 
revoked, the licensee’s designated agent status will also be revoked. 
 
            (4)  The revocation notice will include the right to appeal the department's 
intended action pursuant to § 40-2A-8, Code of Ala. 1975.  
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