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810-6-3-.52.    State Sales, Use, and Lodgings Tax Exemption for Qualified 
Production Companies 
 

(1) Purpose.   This rule sets forth guidelines and procedures to be used by the 
Department of Revenue in the administration of Act 2009-144, as codified in Article 3, 
Chapter 7A of Title 41 of the Code of Alabama 1975. 
 

(2) Definitions.  For purposes of this rule, and to the extent not inconsistent with 
the Rules of the Alabama Film Office, these terms shall be defined as follows: 

 
(a) Department:  The Alabama Department of Revenue. 
 
(b) Office:  The Alabama Film Office. 

 
(c) Qualified Production Company:   This term shall have the same meaning as 

ascribed to it in Code of Alabama 1975, Section 41-7A-42. 
 
 (d) Report:     Statement of a CPA issued upon the completion of the Final 
Incentive Audit that provides a summary of the Production Expenditures Expended in 
Alabama.  (Required by Alabama Department of Commerce/Alabama Film Office 
Incentives Rule 281-3-1-.02(1)(w)). 
 

(e) State-Certified Production:     This term shall have the same meaning as 
ascribed to it in Code of Alabama 1975, Section 41-7A-42. 

  
 (3)  Act 2009-144, as codified in Article 3, Chapter 7A of Title 41 provides for an 
exemption of state sales, use, and lodgings taxes levied pursuant to Sections 40-23-2, 40-
23-61, and 40-26-1, respectively, of the Code of Alabama 1975 for Qualified Production 
Companies that incur, in the aggregate, $150,000 or more in connection with one or more 
State-Certified Productions within a consecutive 12 month period.  
 

(4) The Qualified Production Company must submit an application to the Office 
for approval.  (See Alabama Department of Commerce/Alabama Film Office Incentives 
Rule 281-3-1-.04 for requirements and procedures) 
 

(5) Once approved, the Office shall issue an approval letter to the Qualified 
Production Company and to the Department notifying both that the Qualified Production 
has been approved.  The approval letter shall provide the total amount of Incentives 
approved and a breakdown of the Incentives awarded by State sales, use and lodgings tax 
and by Rebate.  Upon receipt of the approval letter, the Department will issue a state sales, 
use, and lodgings tax exemption certificate to the Qualified Production Company.  This 
exemption certificate shall be used by the Qualified Production Company to claim the 
exemption from the state portion of sales, use and lodgings tax when making qualifying 
purchases and/or accommodations.  Local sales, use and lodgings tax are not exempt and 
shall be paid to the vendor at the time of purchase or at the time the accommodations are 
provided.  The exemption is effective on the date the exemption certificate is issued by the 
Department.   
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(6) Upon completion of production activities within the State of Alabama on the 
State-Certified Production, the Qualified Production Company shall return the state sales, 
use, and lodgings tax exemption certificate to the Department. 
 

(7)  The Report is required to be filed with the Office as provided for in Alabama 
Department of Commerce/Alabama Film Office Incentives Rule 281-3-1-.06, and shall 
identify, on a city-by-city and county-by-county basis, the amount of total incentives used in 
the way of exemptions from state sales, use and lodgings taxes, in addition to specifically 
identifying the amount of the total Production Expenditures eligible for the Rebate.   
 

(8)  If a Qualified Production Company fails to timely submit the Report to the 
Office as provided for in Rule 281-3-1-.06, the Qualified Production Company shall become 
liable for the state sales, use, and lodgings taxes that would otherwise have been paid.  
 

(9)  If the Qualified Production Company, which is producing a State-Certified 
Production, incurs Production Expenditures in an amount less than $150,000, then the 
Qualified Production Company shall be liable for the state sales, use, and lodgings taxes 
that would have been paid had the exemption not been granted; provided, however, that if 
the Qualified Production Company pays the state sales, use, and lodgings taxes due within 
60 days of the date the Report was submitted, the Qualified Production Company shall 
incur no penalties.  (Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5) and 41-7A-40 through 48, Code of Alabama 
1975.  Adopted through APA, effective March 3, 2014.) 
 


