
AUTOMOTIVE 
SALES,  USE

&   LEASE
TAX  GUIDE

PREPARED BY THE
Alabama Department 

of Revenue

IN COOPERATION WITH For electronic version of this 
guide with live links to important 

laws and regulations go to  
www.adaaweb.com

SEPTEMBER 2019



1 
 
 

Guidelines for Automobile Dealers 
 

Sales Tax 
 

The state sales tax on “automotive vehicles” is 2 percent of the gross proceeds of the sale.  In 
addition to light duty vehicles, an “automotive vehicle” also includes a truck, truck trailer, or 
house trailer; motorcycle; certain boats; and other items. (Code of Alabama, Section 40-23-2(4))  
The same rules apply to new and used vehicles.  
 
When a used automotive vehicle is taken in trade as a credit or partial payment on the sale of a 
new or used automotive vehicle, sales tax is levied on the net difference.  Other items 
exchanged for full or partial payment are taxable. (Rule 810-6-1-.22) When a trade-in vehicle is 
resold, it is subject to sales tax. (Rule 810-6-2-.104.02) Trade in provisions do not apply when a 
rental or leased vehicle is exchanged for a new or used vehicle. 
 
If a trade-in exceeds the selling price of the vehicle being purchased, the dealer may not add 
the amount of the trade-in allowance to its tax return as a deduction on the sales tax return. 
(Rule 810-6-1-.22) 
 
If a dealer allows a trade in on a wholesale, exempt or out-of-state sale, the amount should not 
be deducted on the sales tax return. 
 
When an automotive vehicle is removed from the state within 72 hours or delivered out of state, 
special rules apply as outlined later in this guide. 
 
Other items sold at a dealership such as parts and accessories are generally taxed at the full 
state rate of 4 percent.  Exemptions will be outlined later in this guide. 
 
 

General Sales Tax Collection Issues 
 
Sales tax must be added to the purchase price and collected from the retail customer.  It is 
illegal to refund or offer to refund all or any part of the amount collected, or to absorb or 
advertise the absorption or refund of the tax collected. (Code of Alabama 40-23-26(b) and Rule 
810-6-4-.20)  For purposes of the sales tax law, a retailer may state or advertise the sales price 
without reference to tax, separately state the sales price and amount of sales tax due, or sales 
price “plus tax” or “exclusive of tax.”  A retailer must maintain in his records the sales price and 
sales tax collected separately stated and furnish that information to the customer upon request.   
 
A separate rule by the Motor Vehicle Division requires that retailers separately state the amount 
of state, county, and city tax collected. 
 
Most cities and counties also levy sales, use, and lease taxes patterned after state law.  Some 
are collected by the Alabama Department of Revenue, while other localities collect the taxes 
themselves or hire third-party firms to do so.  Dealers must also collect city and county taxes 
where the dealership is located.  Be sure to check with the city and county where your 
dealership is located to determine filing requirements. 
 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.22.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.22.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.104.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.104.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.22.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.22.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-4-.20.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-4-.20.pdf
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Reciprocity for City and County Taxes (Rule 810-6-5-.04.01):  Only one city and/or county 
sales, use, or lease tax may be collected irrespective of rate. For example, a Montgomery 
resident who purchases a vehicle in Prattville and pays City of Prattville and Autauga County 
sales taxes cannot be charged City of Montgomery or Montgomery County sales or use tax 
when the vehicle is registered in Montgomery County. 
 
Tax-Exempt Sales:  Charitable and nonprofit organizations or institutions have no special 
exemption from sales and use taxes. However, under the Code of Alabama, certain entities may 
purchase items free of sales and use tax.  Beginning January 1, 2016, those entities are 
required to annually obtain a certificate of exemption from the Department of Revenue.  Should 
they fail to do so, they may no longer purchase tax free. Exemption numbers and sales tax 
numbers may be verified using the state’s My Alabama Taxes (MAT) website at 
www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov.  To verify a sales tax account number, the dealer must log 
in to his/her MAT account.  However, exemption numbers may be verified without entering the 
login information. 
 
Sales Tax Filing: To file taxes, go to www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov.  
 

 

Automobile Dealer Sales Transactions 
 

Rebates:  Manufacturers’ rebates of any type are taxable when applied to the purchase price of 
an automotive vehicle.  A rebate assigned to a customer is taxable when used as a down 
payment on a vehicle.  If the customer accepts the rebate in cash and does not apply it to the 
purchase of a vehicle, it is not subject to sales tax.  A dealer rebate is treated the same. 
 
Example: 

$50,000         Vehicle selling price 
$500              Dealer fee 
$50,500         Total 
($5,000)         Manufacturer’s rebate assigned to customer 
$45,500         Cost to customer (taxable amount would be $50,500) 
 
 
Demonstrators/Driver’s Ed Vehicles (Rule 810-6-2-.04):  When an automotive vehicle is 
withdrawn from a dealer’s inventory for use by himself or an employee, a $5 annual fee is due.  
The fee is not due on vehicles withdrawn from inventory for rental or leasing purposes if the 
vehicle is subject to lease tax.  A vehicle sold to a salesperson as a demonstrator is subject to 
sales tax.  A vehicle provided by a dealer to a school for driver’s education purposes is subject 
to the $5 fee, but not sales tax. 
 
Accessories (Rule 810-6-2-.02):  Accessories purchased from a dealer after a vehicle is 
purchased are subject to the 4 percent rate.  Accessories added to the vehicle before the sale 
and added in the sales price of the vehicle are subject to the automotive rate of 2 percent.  The 
original invoice must show the accessory sold at the time of the sale with the vehicle. 
 
Adaptive Equipment:  Equipment not generally used by persons with normal mobility, that is 
appropriate for use in a motor vehicle and that is not normally provided by a motor vehicle 
manufacturer are not subject to Alabama sales tax.  However, charges on the initial sale of 
adaptive equipment permanently affixed to a motor vehicle must be stated separately on the 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.04.01.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.04.01.pdf
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.04.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.04.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.02.pdf
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dealer invoice to the customer in order for such equipment charges to be exempt from the sales 
tax. 
 
School Buses (Rule 810-6-2-.88.02):  A school bus purchased by an individual for use under 
the direction of and control of a board of education is subject to tax.  School buses purchased 
by the school and paid for directly with school funds or obligating school funds are exempt from 
tax. 
 
Courtesy Deliveries (Rule 810-6-1-.12.01):  An Alabama dealer who makes a courtesy 
delivery of an automotive vehicle in Alabama for an out-of-state dealer is not the seller and is 
not liable for collecting Alabama sales tax; the out-of-state dealer is the seller.  The purchaser 
must pay tax when registering the vehicle. 
 
Discounts (Rule 810-6-1-.53): Cash discounts are not taxable. Discounts for volume sales are 
not taxable. (Rule 810-6-1-.54) 
 
Sales to Licensed Dealers (Rule 810-6-1-.89.02):  Sales to licensed dealers of tangible 
personal property to be put in the stock of the purchasing dealer are not subject to sales tax, 
even though that dealer may occasionally take from stock some part of the inventory for use or 
consumption, whereupon, it would be taxable to that dealer. Sales to a licensed dealer for his 
own use rather than for resale purposes are subject to sales tax. 
 
Sales of New Cars to Used Car Dealers:  Independent used car dealers who have valid retail 
sales tax licenses may purchase new vehicles without payment of sales tax; however, the 
exemption only applies if the sole intent and purpose is to place the vehicle immediately into 
inventory for resale.  The used car dealership must also title the new car in the name of the 
dealership.  If a used car dealer purchases a new vehicle with the intent for any purpose other 
than a sale to the public, sales tax is due.   
 
Dealer Transfers:  A dealer transfer is usually treated as an adjustment to an inventory account 
and is not charged to sales. Dealer transfers handled in this manner should not be deducted as 
wholesale sales. 
 
Fleet/Rental Company Sales:  Sales to fleets are generally subject to sales tax unless they are 
made to rental or leasing companies that have an Alabama rental tax number and will be rented 
in a transaction subject to Alabama rental tax. (Rule 810-6-5-.09)  Sales tax is due on the sale 
to an unqualified out-of-state lease company that takes possession in Alabama for lease solely 
outside Alabama.  A drive-out certificate should be completed at the time of the sale, when 
applicable, if the vehicle is going to be first registered out of state for sales tax not to be due on 
such a transaction.  Special rules may apply.  Please refer to section, “Vehicle Sales to 
Out-of-State Residents.” 
 
Giveaway Programs:  Vehicles withdrawn from a dealer’s inventory to be given away as a 
prize or promotion are subject to sales tax based on the cost to the dealership. (Rule 810-6-1-
.196)  The dealership is responsible for taxes on these transactions.  Since it is a gift to the 
customer, the customer will not owe use tax. Vehicles sold to and paid for by the Poarch Band 
of Creek Indians are not subject to sales tax when also delivered to reservation land. 
 
Trade-Ins for Family Members:  A vehicle may be traded in to a dealer by the titled owner on 
behalf of another individual without first being titled in the individual’s name. For example, a 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.88.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.88.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.12.01.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.12.01.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.53.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.53.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.54.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.54.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.89.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.89.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.196.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.196.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.196.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.196.pdf
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father may trade in a vehicle titled in his name on behalf of his son without titling it first in the 
son’s name. 
 
Loaned Vehicles:  A vehicle loaned by the dealership to a celebrity spokesperson or other 
person supplying a business or service to the dealership is subject to rental tax on the value of 
the vehicle. 
 
Vehicles Loaned to Universities/Coaches:  Vehicles loaned to college sports teams and their 
coaches free of charge that remain in the inventory of the dealer for sale, and display dealer 
tags are not subject to sales tax but must pay the $5 annual demonstrator fee. 
 
Sales in Interstate Commerce (Rule 810-6-3-.35.02):  Sales are considered to be made 
outside of Alabama and are not subject to Alabama sales tax where the seller is required by the 
sales agreement to deliver the goods outside the state in the seller’s equipment, by common 
carrier or the U.S. Postal Service, or independent trucker.  It is also exempt if the buyer 
contracts with a common carrier or the Postal Service to accept delivery of goods in the state for 
delivery outside the state.  When a buyer or an agent of the buyer, who is not a common carrier, 
takes actual possession of the goods in the state, the goods are subject to sales tax.  (Shipping 
documents should be kept in the deal file to substantiate mode of delivery.) 
 
Out of State/City/County Deliveries (Rule 810-6-3-.03.02):  When a dealer sells an 
automotive vehicle and delivers it outside of the State of Alabama or outside the city and/or 
county where the dealership is located, the dealer and the customer must complete the form 
“Certificate of Exemption—Out of State/City/County Delivery. Dealers may print a copy of the 
form at https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/STEX1.pdf .  
 
 
 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.35.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.35.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.03.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.03.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/STEX1.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/STEX1.pdf
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Vehicle Sales to Out-of-State Residents:  Residents of other states that do not allow Alabama 
vehicle purchasers to purchase a vehicle without the payment of tax to that state for first titling 
and registering in Alabama will be required to pay 2 percent to the State of Alabama when those 
residents purchase a vehicle in Alabama.  Dealers will not be required to collect any city or 
county taxes on these sales if they use the “Automotive Vehicle Drive-Out Certificate for 
Nonresidents.” (Form DOC-1 10/15) In addition, in no case can the amount of Alabama state 
sales tax collected on these sales exceed the amount of sales tax that would otherwise have 
been due in the state where the vehicle will be registered or titled for first use. Dealers should 
follow the Alabama sales tax rules when calculating the tax. 
 
This partial exemption law does not impact lease or rental tax. 
 
Alabama sales tax must be collected on sales to residents of the following states at the rates 
listed below: 

 

STATE 
STATE 

ABBREVIATION 
SALES TAX DUE TO STATE OF 
ALABAMA 

Arizona AZ 2% 

California CA 2% 

Florida FL 2% 

Indiana IN 2% 

Massachusetts MA 2% 

Michigan MI 2% 

South Carolina SC 2%  (capped at $500) 

 
The Alabama Department of Revenue will annually publish by January 1, a list of states that do 
not allow a full exemption to Alabama residents purchasing vehicles in those states. That list, 
which will be posted on the Department’s website, may be relied upon by dealers and, should 
the list be incorrect, dealers will be relieved from liability.   
 

Examples of Taxation Options  
 
Florida Resident Purchases Vehicle from Alabama Dealer 
 
Option 1: Florida resident takes possession at Mobile, Alabama dealership: 

Alabama dealer collects state, city, and county sales taxes.  
Option 2: Florida resident takes possession at Mobile, Alabama dealership: 
  Alabama dealer collects the 2 percent State of Alabama sales tax but does not  
  collect City of Mobile and Mobile County sales taxes by completing the   
  “Automotive Vehicle Drive-Out Certificate for Nonresidents,”  if the vehicle  
  is removed from the State of Alabama within 72 hours. The State of   
  Florida will give the Florida resident credit for the 2 percent sales tax paid to the  
  State of Alabama. 
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Option 3: Alabama dealer delivers vehicle to Florida resident outside the State of   
  Alabama:  no State of Alabama, city, or county taxes are collected and   
  at the time of delivery, dealer completes the “Certificate of Exemption—Out  
  of State/City/County Delivery” form. Dealer should retain this form in the   
  deal file or where other tax records are maintained. 
 
Option 4: Alabama dealer delivers vehicle out of state in dealer’s equipment or by   
  common carrier: no Alabama taxes collected.  Dealer should retain proof   
  of delivery in the deal file or where other tax records are maintained.  That  
  proof could include an affidavit signed by the purchaser when the vehicle   
  is delivered, an invoice from the third-party common carrier that delivers   
  the vehicle, etc. 
 
(Note: Some dealers have historically sent the title, registration documents, and a check for 
sales tax to the county official in the purchaser’s home state to ensure that the vehicle is 
registered and the lien perfected.  Under the new law, if the purchaser from one of the states 
listed above takes possession of the vehicle in the State of Alabama, the dealer must collect the 
2 percent Alabama state sales tax.  For example, for sales to Florida residents, the dealer could 
collect 2 percent for the State of Alabama and send a check for 4 percent to the State of Florida.  
In order to avoid collecting county and city sales taxes, the dealer should continue to use the 
Drive-Out Certificate.) 
 
Alabama Resident Purchases Vehicle from Florida Dealer 
 
Option 1: Florida dealer delivers vehicle out of state: no Florida taxes collected. 
 
Option  2: Alabama resident takes possession at Florida dealership: 

If a Florida dealer sells a motor vehicle to a resident of another state that 
imposes a sales tax of less than 6 percent (Florida vehicle sales tax rate) and the 
buyer takes possession of the vehicle in Florida, the buyer’s home state rate may 
be applied to the sale. 
 
For example, an Alabama resident would sign an affidavit and pay 2 percent 
sales tax to the State of Florida because Alabama has a 2 percent state sales tax 
rate on motor vehicles. The Alabama resident must still pay applicable local 
(county and city) sales/use tax at the time of registration in Alabama. Credit is 
given for the 2 percent state tax paid to Florida, so no state sales/use tax is due 
in Alabama. 

 
Automotive Vehicle Drive-Out Certificates for Nonresidents may not be used for the sale of 
motor homes or travel trailers and state, city, and county sales taxes must be collected on the 
sale of those vehicles to any out-of-state purchasers.   
 
(Note:  The Automotive Vehicle Drive-Out Certificate (Rule 810-6-3-.42.03) must be executed 
by both the seller and the purchaser at the time of sale.  Certificates completed after the 
transaction is concluded will be invalid. The certificate must be retained in the seller’s records 
along with the corresponding sales invoice.  The seller will be liable for the Alabama sales tax 
on any sale for which the export exemption has been claimed, but the certificate and sales 
invoice are not retained in the seller’s files.  Sales of other vehicles such as mobile homes, 
motor bikes, all terrain vehicles, and boats do not qualify for the export exemption.) 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/810-6-3-.42.03.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/810-6-3-.42.03.pdf
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Dealers may change the printer settings to print “portrait” so that the form is a standard 
8”x11” form. 

 
 

Heavy Duty Truck Transactions 
 

Truck Bodies (Rule 810-6-2-.103): A truck body which is not a part of an automotive vehicle at 
the time it is purchased is taxed at the general 4 percent rate. However, if a truck chassis and 
truck body are purchased out of Alabama in separate transactions but are assembled into a unit 
for importation into Alabama, the applicable tax would be the automotive rate of 2 percent. 
 
Federal Excise Tax (Rule 810-6-4-.07.05):  A truck dealer who bills and collects the federal 
excise tax from the customer and remits it directly to the federal government is not required to 
collect sales tax on the federal excise tax.  
 
 

Finance and Insurance Transactions 
 

Warranties/Extended Service Contracts (Rule 810-6-1-.186.05):  Sales tax is not due on the 
sale of a warranty or extended service contract; however, parts used in performing repairs 
under the contract are taxable based on the cost of the parts to the dealer.  Sales or use tax is 
not due on parts used in performing repairs free of charge for a customer under the terms of a 
manufacturer’s extended warranty or service contract, and the manufacturer provides full credit 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.103.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-2-.103.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-4-.07.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-4-.07.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
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to the dealer performing the repairs.  Labor costs that are separately stated are not taxable in 
either case. 
 
Tire and Wheel/Dent and Ding/Road Hazard:  These products are taxed like service 
contracts.  Sales tax is not due on the sale of the contract, but parts used to perform the repairs 
are taxable.  Labor costs that are separately stated are not taxable. 
 
Window Etching:  Window etching is a service and is not subject to sales tax. 
 
Dealer Fees (Code of Alabama, Section 40-23-2(4)):  Dealer fees (also known as clerical 
fees, doc fees, dealer prep charge, processing fees, etc.) are taxable at the automotive rate.  If 
clearly labeled and separately stated, the $16.50 title fee is not subject to sales tax.  If not 
separately stated, it is taxable. 
 
Debt Waiver/GAP Insurance:  These items are not subject to sales tax.   
 
Key Replacement Programs:  Key replacement programs are taxed similar to service 
contracts.  The key replacement contract is not taxable, but parts used to perform repairs or 
replacement are taxable. 
 
Maintenance Agreements (Rule 810-6-1-.186.05):  If a maintenance agreement is required 
and mandatory as a condition of a sale, sales or use tax is due on the purchase of or withdrawal 
from inventory of parts used in performing repairs or services pursuant to the maintenance 
agreements.  Tax is to be computed on the cost of the parts to the dealer.  In Warrior Tractor & 
Equipment Company, Inc. v. State of Alabama, the ALJ determined, “Because the Taxpayer 
factored the cost of the filters into the cost of the equipment, the Taxpayer was selling the filters 
to its customers with the equipment per the Logan’s Roadhouse rationale.”  Based on this case, 
the oil filters used in the free oil change services will not be subject to tax as long as the service 
is part of the sale, and the cost is figured into the selling price of the vehicle.   
 

 
Service/Parts/Body Shop Transactions 

 
Automobile Repair Shops (Rule 810-6-1-.08):  The retail sales to a consumer of parts, 
batteries, tires, etc. are taxable.  Labor is not taxable if separately stated.  Supplies consumed 
by the repair shop such as paint and solder, as well as tools and machinery used, are taxable at 
the time of the sale to the repair shop and collected by the supplier or paid to the Department of 
Revenue as use tax if the supplier is not licensed to collect sales tax. 
 
Automotive Supply Jobbers (810-6-1-.08.01):  Automotive supply jobbers (anyone who 
makes retail sales of auto parts and supplies) must collect sales or use tax on sales to all 
customers who do not have a valid sales tax license number or certificate of exemption.  
Invoices that do not show the purchaser’s name but are made out to “cash” are always taxable.  
Sales to purchasers with sales tax numbers may only be made tax free, if the items are being 
purchased for resale.  It is the responsibility of the jobber to know the nature of the customer’s 
business so that the jobber will know when to collect sales tax on items purchased for use. 
Sales of any new, used or rebuilt automotive parts are taxed on the net trade difference; 
however, sales or use tax is due on taxable sales of batteries without any deduction for the 
trade in.  If labor is performed in connection with the sale of repair parts, invoices covering the 
transaction shall clearly show the amount charged for each part and amounts charged for labor, 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.08.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.08.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.08.01.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.08.01.pdf
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and that amount charged for labor is not subject to sales or use tax.  If the invoices are not 
itemized, the entire amount of the transaction is subject to tax. 
(Note:  Dealers should refer to the rule for additional information concerning this complicated 
area.) 
 
Retail Sales of Parts and Accessories (Rule 810-6-5-.04.02):  The sale of parts and 
accessories to retail customers at the dealership are subject to state, city, and county sales tax 
where the dealership is located. The sale of parts and accessories to retail customers in other 
cities and counties where the dealership delivers the parts in a dealership-owned vehicle are 
subject to state sales tax plus the applicable city and county taxes where the customer is 
located and must be collected by the dealer.  The same is true if a dealership salesperson calls 
on customers in other cities and counties irrespective of how the parts are delivered.  If parts 
are sold to retail customers in other cities and counties where the dealer has not established 
nexus and delivery is made by common carrier (i.e. postal service, UPS, Fed Ex., etc.), the 
transaction would be subject to state sales tax, but not the city and county where the customer 
is located. (NOTE:  Sales to licensed wholesale customers such as another dealership or 
independent repair facility that will use the parts on customer cars and charge sales tax on the 
parts are not subject to state, city, or county sales taxes.) 
 
Parts Used to Recondition or Repair Dealer-Owned Vehicles (Rule 810-6-1-.116):  When a 
licensed dealer purchases parts and materials to repair or recondition vehicles held in inventory 
for sale, the purchases are tax free if they become part of the vehicle that will later be sold and 
taxed on the total sales price.  Parts and materials used to repair or recondition vehicles for 
others are taxable.  “Materials” mean items such as paint, body lead, and wax which become 
part of the reconditioned vehicle.  Supply items not becoming part of the vehicle such as 
sandpaper, masking tape, and rags are taxable retail sales when purchased by the dealer.  
“Parts” mean such items that are passed on substantially intact by the dealer such as fan belts 
and batteries. Labor charges are not taxable if separately stated. 
 
Automobile Painting (Rule 810-6-1-.06):  The painting of an automotive vehicle is a service by 
the painter and not taxable; however, the paint, supplies, etc. used or consumed by the painter 
are taxable when sold to the painter. 
 
Gasoline, Motor Fuel, and Lubricants (Rule 810-6-3-.28):  Gasoline and similar substances 
and lubricating oil and greases are exempt from sales and use taxes. Diesel and other similar 
substances otherwise taxed are not subject to sales and use taxes. 
 
Warranty Parts (Rule 810-6-3-.73):  Parts taken from the dealer’s inventory used to fulfill 
original or extended manufacturer’s warranties are not subject to the sales tax. (Rule 810-6-1-
.186.05) The fact that a flat deductible is charged to the customer has no bearing on the tax 
status of the parts as long as the dealer receives full credit for the parts from the manufacturer.  
When a dealer uses parts in repair work pursuant to any warranty agreements other than those 
granted by the manufacturer, the parts used in the repair are subject to tax. 
 
Sublet Repairs (Rule 810-6-1-.141):  A dealer who sublets all or part of a repair job purchases 
the parts at wholesale, tax free, installed by the outside subcontractor; however, sales tax 
should be collected on the retail price of parts when billed to the consumer.  Labor charges are 
not subject to sales tax if separately billed. A subcontractor who consumes materials and 
supplies, such as paint, are subject to tax on the cost of the materials and supplies at the time of 
purchase by the subcontractor.  

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.04.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.04.02.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.1161.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.1161.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.06.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.06.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.28.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.28.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.73.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.73.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.186.05.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.141.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-1-.141.pdf
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Freon:  Freon may be purchased tax free to be used to repair a vehicle in a dealers inventory if 
it becomes a part of the vehicle that will be resold.  Freon used to repair or recondition 
customers’ vehicles are subject to sales tax. 
 
Shop Supplies:  Shop supply fees included on an invoice with a retail sale of property are 
subject to sales tax when purchased by the dealer.   
 
Wheel Weights:  Wheel weights may be purchased tax free if used to balance the tires on 
vehicles in inventory that are resold; however, those used in servicing customers’ vehicles are 
subject to sales or use tax. 
 
Pollution Control Devices (Rule 810-6-3-.46):  Parts that are primarily used for pollution 
control, such as catalytic converters, are exempt from sales and use tax. 
 
Returned Merchandise (Rule 810-6-1-.147): When property is returned by the purchaser and 
the seller refunds the full amount paid, there is no sale and the sales price of the returned 
property is not to be included in the gross proceeds of sales.  However, when property is 
returned and a part, but not all, of the sales price is refunded, the full sales price is to be 
included in the gross proceeds of sales.  This would include, but not be limited to, property 
returned and a restocking fee is charged before refunding the balance of the purchase price.  
Furthermore, if the property returned was previously purchased for resale, tax exempt, no sales 
tax is due on a restocking fee charged before refunding the balance of the purchase price. 
 
 

Use Tax 
 
Use tax is designed to prevent out-of-state vendors from having an unfair competitive 
advantage against in-state vendors who must collect sales tax. The liability for paying use tax 
falls on the purchaser, if the vendor from whom a dealer purchases items to be used by the 
dealership does not collect sales or use tax. It is the responsibility of the dealer to register for a 
use tax account in order to self assess and report use tax due directly to the Department of 
Revenue.  City and county use tax is also due.   
 
Examples of items on which use tax might be due include computers purchased from out-of-
state companies to be used at the dealership, shop equipment, advertising supplies, office 
supplies, shop supplies, etc.  The majority of any large liability for use tax will be on new 
dealership construction or renovations where items are purchased out of state and sales or use 
tax was not collected at the time they were purchased. 
 
Simplified Sellers Use Tax Program (SSUT): The SSUT program allows an out-of-state 
eligible seller to collect, report and remit a statewide eight percent (8%) tax on sales made into 
Alabama.  However, sales of automotive vehicles are not included in the SSUT program and the 
sales tax collected on sales of automotive vehicles should continue to be collected at the current 
state and local rates.  
 
 
Use tax is not due on items purchased for resale. 
 
Use Tax Filing: To file taxes, go to www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov.  

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.46.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-3-.46.pdf
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
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Lease/Rental Tax 
(Code of Alabama, Section 40-12-222/Rule 810-6-5-.09) 

 
The leasing or renting of any automotive vehicle, truck trailer, semitrailer, or house trailer is 
subject to lease tax at the state rate of 1.5 percent of the gross proceeds of the lease.   Leases 
of automotive vehicles to the state, cities, or counties are taxable to the lessor, but the tax may 
not be invoiced to the state, city or county. 
 
Many cities and counties also impose lease tax.  Those rates may be obtained at 
https://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/. 
 
Lease tax is levied against the lessor (leasing company) and not the lessee (customer); 
however, the tax may be passed on to the customer with the exception of governmental entities.  
The tax that is passed on, however, must be included in the monthly taxable gross proceeds 
subject to lease tax.  In other words, lease tax is a tax due on the total amount received.   
 
Example: 
$500   monthly automotive lease tax payment 
x1.5%    state lease tax 
$507.50 lease payment with tax to consumer 
x1.5%  state lease tax 
$7.61  amount due to state from lessor 
 
 
Short Term Leases:  On vehicles leased to customers from a fleet of rental cars, lease tax is 
due on the total rental contract, including insurance, damage waiver, etc. even if separately 
stated on the contract.  Local tax rates are based on the location of the leasing company. 
 
Long Term Leases:  In long term leases with an option to purchase at the end of the lease, the 
typical transaction involves the leasing dealership, the leasing company to which the lease is 
assigned by the dealer, and the customer.  In this type of transaction, lease proceeds are 
usually received by both the dealership and leasing company.   
 
A. Taxable Proceeds at Dealership:  Capitalized cost reductions or down payments by the 
customer whether by cash, manufacturer rebate, or other means are subject to lease tax.  
Dealer fees are subject to lease tax. The state, city, and county lease tax due is based on the 
dealership location. The first payment, including any non-recurring charges not separately 
stated to the customer, made at the dealership is subject to rental tax due by the leasing 
company and is based on the dealership customer’s garage location of the vehicle. 
 
The lease tax law does not allow a deduction for trade ins as in the sales tax law.  If the 
customer trades in a vehicle that he owns and applies his equity in the vehicle as all or part of a 
cap cost reduction on the new leased vehicle, that amount is subject to lease tax.  The net 
amount (vehicle ACV less any lien payoff) allowed for the trade in constitutes gross receipts 
derived from the lease and is subject to lease tax.  The dealership’s records should clearly 
indicate the lien payoff by the dealership and the net trade-in allowance calculation.  If the trade 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/
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in allowed has negative equity and that amount is added back to the price of the vehicle to be 
leased, the negative equity amount is subject to lease tax.  
 
B. Taxable Proceeds Received by Leasing Company:  When the dealership sells or assigns 
the lease to a leasing company, the leasing company would owe rental tax on the first payment 
made at the dealership and the subsequent monthly amounts received from the customer based 
on the customer’s garaging location of the vehicle. 
 
(The guidelines discussed in A and B above are applicable when the dealership writes up the 
lease in its name, receives the down payment, and then sells or assigns the lease to a leasing 
company.  However, if the dealer is acting as an agent of the leasing company, the leasing 
company is liable for all rental taxes due on the transaction including rental tax on the cap cost 
reduction and the first payment if taken at the dealership.) 
 
Security Deposit:  A refundable security deposit is considered part of the lease proceeds.  
Lease tax can be charged when the deposit is received, then refunded when it is returned at the 
termination of the lease. Another option would be for the lessor to defer payment of the tax on 
the security deposit until the termination of the lease.  If the lessor retains the deposit, lease tax 
would be due on it at the termination of the lease. 
 
Dealer Loaner Vehicles:  If a dealer loans a vehicle out of dealer inventory, the customer is not 
charged, and the dealer is not reimbursed by the manufacturer, no lease tax is due.  If the 
customer is not charged, but the dealer is reimbursed by the manufacturer, lease tax is due on 
the amount paid to the dealer.  Even if the dealer has a separate loaner vehicle entity, lease tax 
is due if the entity is reimbursed by the manufacturer.  The same is true for a vehicle loaned 
under an extended warranty or service contract; if the dealer is reimbursed, tax is due. 
 
Loaners from Rental Car Companies:  If a dealer arranges a loaner vehicle for a customer 
through a separate rental car company (i.e. Enterprise) and the dealer is reimbursed from the 
manufacturer, the dealer should provide the rental car company with the dealership’s rental tax 
number.  The rental car company would not collect rental tax from the dealer, but the dealer 
would pay rental tax on the amount reimbursed by the manufacturer.  If the dealer does not 
have a rental tax account, the dealer would pay rental tax to the rental car company. 
 
Leasing to someone in another state/delivery:  There is no drive-out provision for 
lease/rental tax.  If a customer picks up a vehicle in Alabama, the transaction is taxable in 
Alabama. 
 
Fleet/Rental Company Sales:  Sales to fleets are generally subject to sales tax unless they are 
made to rental or leasing companies that have an Alabama rental tax number and will be rented 
in a transaction subject to Alabama rental tax. (Rule 810-6-5-.09)  Sales tax is due on the sale 
to an unqualified out-of-state lease company that takes possession in Alabama for a lease 
solely outside Alabama.  A drive-out certificate should be completed at the time of the sale if the 
vehicle is going to be first registered out of state for no sales tax to be due on such a 
transaction.  Special rules may apply.  Please refer to section, “Vehicle Sales to Out-of-
State Residents.” 
 
Sale of a Previously Leased Vehicle: If an automotive vehicle that was previously leased is 
later sold, sales tax is due on the gross proceeds of the sale. 
 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.pdf
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(Rule 810-6-5-.09.01—Rule 2) 
The gross proceeds received by the lessor for services provided which are incidental to the 
lease and included in the lease agreement are subject to lease tax, even if the charges for such 
services are separately stated.  When under a separate optional agreement, the lessor of 
tangible personal property performs independent services that are separate, distinct, and not 
incidental to the leasing of the property, the gross proceeds from those services are not subject 
to lease tax if separately stated. 
 
When a lessor requires maintenance of the item leased as part of the leasing contract, the gross 
proceeds derived from the maintenance charge are subject to lease tax.  Tax is not due on a 
separate, optional maintenance contract. 
 
If delivery and pickup charges are part of the lease agreement, they are subject to lease tax.  If 
those charges are imposed in a separate, optional agreement, they are not taxable. 
 
Lease Tax Filing: To file taxes, go to www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov.  

 
  

https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.01.pdf
https://revenue.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/810-6-5-.09.01.pdf
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
http://www.myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/
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Casual Sales and Use Tax 
 
Casual Sales and Use taxes (Code of Alabama, Section 40-23-101) are designed to uniformly 
tax all vehicle sales and purchases that are not otherwise taxed. This commonly involves sales 
between individuals.  The tax rates are the same as the sales and use tax rates.   
 
Licensed dealers are required to collect sales taxes for the state, city, and county.  If an 
individual purchases a vehicle other than at wholesale from any seller in Alabama that is not a 
licensed dealer or from outside the state of Alabama, the purchaser must pay both state and 
local use tax when registering the vehicle with the county licensing official in the county where 
the purchaser resides. 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
This report is intended to provide information to automobile dealers and other recipients 
on the subject matters covered. ADAA is not rendering legal, accounting, or other 
professional services or advice and assumes no liability whatsoever in connection with 
its use.  Please consult with the dealerships professional advisors. 


