Alabama Licensing Officials Conference
January 13, 2016

Motor Vehicle Legislative & Regulatory
Review
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oy, of Revenue

" Motos Vehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2015-362:HB17-Rep. Shedd

« Amends Section 32-6-64, 32-6-64.1, 32-6-250, 32-6-
251, 32-6-271, 32-6-280, 32-6-300, 32-6-301, 32-6-
630, 32-8-30, 32-8-34, 32-8-35, 32-8-39, 40-12-244
and 40-12-414

 Adds other sections to be numbered

 AKA — Sen. Dial's “mega” bill
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NMotor Uehicle “Division

2015 Regqgular Session Legislative Acts
Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-64.

 Removes references to applications for
distinctive motorcycle plates

 The LOC will no longer consider applications for
distinctive motorcycle plates

« Effective January 1, 2016




NMotorUehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-64.1

« Additional fee of five dollars ($5) added to ANY
distinctive license plate

* Prenumbered or personalized

* Only collected in the year a license plate is
Issued

illustrations of.com #8395

 Fee distributed to ADOR

« Effective January 1, 2016



" Motos Vehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-250

« Creates two military distinctive plates:
= ® ALABAMA © =

(1) Legion of Valor

(2) Bronze Star

« Effective January 1, 2016
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= of Revenue NMotorUehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Legion of Valor distinctive plate
* Must present proof of membership in the Legion of Valor

« Must present proof of one of the following awards
(1) Medal of Honor
(2) Army Distinguished Service Cross
(3) Navy Cross
(4) Air Force Cross

« Purple Heart is not a qualifying award
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sy of Revenue Motor UVehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Legion of Valor distinctive plate (continued)

 First plate is a permanent plate and is registration fee
and ad valorem tax exempt

« Additional plates may be purchased upon payment of
registration fees and ad valorem tax
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= of Revenue NMotorUehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Bronze Star License Plate

Must provide proof of receiving the Bronze Star

« The first plate is a permanent distinctive plate

« Regqular registration fee, ad valorem tax, and an annual
additional fee of $25 must be paid for_all Bronze Star
license plates.

* Net proceeds distributed to the Alabama Veterans
Assistance Fund



" MotosVehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-271

« Adds annual additional fee of $.25 to Firefighter
distinctive license plate

* Distributed to the Alabama Joint Fire Councll

« Used to expand and maintain the Alabama Firefighter
Memorial - A \&D N

« Effective January 1, 2016 0 0 0 0 0 0 ﬁ

isd FIRE FIGHTER - K&
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-280

Creates a professional firefighter distinctive license plate |
Amends definition of “Retired Firefighter” to include

residents who retired from professional fire departments in
other states

Link from MVD webpage will contain list of professional
firefighters

Effective January 1, 2016



" MotosVehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-280 (continued)

« Annual additional fee of twenty-five cents ($.25)
collected for both the professional firefighter and
retired professional firefighter distinctive license
plates

* Distributed to the Alabama Joint Fire Councill

« Used to expand and maintain the Alabama
Firefighter Memorial

 Effective January 1, 2016



" Motos Uehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-300

* Increases annual additional fee for the Helping Schools
plates from $15 to $20

* No change to distribution of additional fee

= -

« Effective January 1, 2016

"Alabama €

DECAL HERE DECAL Hk

Helping Schools.
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-630

« Amends Alabama Gold Star Family law

* No fees or ad valorem tax for the first plate; includes
additional fee

« Additional plates obtained with payment of registration

fee, ad valorem tax and additional fee of $3 for initial
Issuance

il > GOLD STAR FAMILY 175 > I
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-6-630 (continued)

« One of the following documents is required to obtain
plates

(1) DD Form 2064- Overseas Death Certificate

(2) DD Form 1300- Report of Casualty

(3) Notarized affidavit from the Alabama
Department of Veterans’ Affairs

« Effective January 1, 2016



2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 40-12-244

* Added the Alabama Gold Star Family plate to
exemptions code section

« Effective January 1, 2016



2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-8-30

* Requires motor vehicle owner to apply for title to record
owner's legal name when the name changes

* Application for a new title required before registration
can be renewed

« Effective January 1, 2016
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-8-34

« Standardizes bond amount for all designated agents
* Increase bond amount from $10,000 to $25,000
Amendment(s) to Section 32-8-35

* Requires the first title to reflect

(1) owner’s current legal name
(2) owner's current mailing address
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ama Department ;
of Revenne Motor Uehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 32-8-39

* Requires that each title issued by ADOR reflect the

owner’s current legal name
Effective January 1, 2016

Memo 2015-023 and 2015-024
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of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division

Administrative Rule

810-5-75-.40 Requirements for Names and Signatures on Title Applications,
Title Assignments and Motor Vehicle Registrations

Note that the owner’'s name must be in agreement on all title documents and
any variance(s) in the owner’s name between title documents will require
that the owner provide an affidavit attesting to the variance(s). The affidavit
must be notarized, unless witnessed by a designated agent.

If the current legal name of the owner or operator has changed, and the
certificate of title is issued by another state and is being held by a
lienholder, and the vehicle is not required to be titled in this state as
provided by 32-8-31, the owner or operator must provide evidence of
the current legal name, which shall be shown on the vehicle
registration.

Effective date - TBA
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sy of Revenue Motor UVehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Amendment(s) to Section 40-12-414

* Requires that the surety bond amount for automotive
dismantlers and parts recyclers be the same amount as
designhated agent bonds (currently $25,000)

« Effective October 1, 2015
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o Reveune Motor Uehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Creates Code Section: 32-6-155.2

* New “In Memory” distinctive license plates

Annual additional fee of $50

Additional fee distributed to State General Fund

All plates will be personalized AT.ABAMA

Effective January 1, 2016

S7 In Memory Of




ama (Department ‘- '
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Creates Code Section: 32-6-155.3
 New “Alabama Bicentennial” distinctive license plate
« Effective January 1, 2016
* Ends December 31, 2020

 No additional fee
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sy of Revenue Motor UVehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Creates Code Section: 32-6-59.1

 Creates motorcycle plates for all distinctive license plate categories

 Any exemptions in the license plate category apply to the
motorcycle plates in the same category

« Same plate design for motorcycle and passenger plates in each
category

* Provisions shall not apply to the Amateur Radio plate category
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. of Revenue NMotor Uehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Creates Code Section: 32-6-150.1

« All distinctive plates may be personalized with noted
exceptions:
(1) Firefighter, professional firefighter, or retired

professional firefighter plates

(2) Rescue squad plates
(3) Veteran plates, unless otherwise authorized by law
(4) Military plates, unless otherwise authorized by law
(5) Special access or disability access plates
(6) Twenty day temporary tags



TS

e of Revenue Motor Uehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Creates Code Section: 32-6-150.1 (continued)
(7) Alabama State Defense Force plates
(8) Amateur Radio plates
(9) Alabama apportioned (IRP) plates

« Effective January 1, 2016
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Creates Code Section: 32-6-150.1
* Provides for an annual additional fee of $50

« Applies to any personalized or distinctive plate
with noted exceptions: I
(1) Helping Schools plates ' <
(2) Retired Educators plates
(3) Firefighter, professional firefighter, or retired
professional firefighter plates

(4) Rescue squad plates

(5) Veteran plates, unless otherwise authorized
by law

(6) Military plates, unless otherwise authorized
by law
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= of Revenue NMotorUehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Creates Code Section: 32-6-150.1 (continued)

(7) Special access or disability access plates
(8) Twenty day temporary tags

(9) Alabama State Defense Force plates
(10) Amateur Radio plates

(11) Alabama apportioned (IRP) plates

(12) God Bless America plates

(13) Bicentennial plates

(14) Gold Star Family plates

 Distribution of net proceeds consistent with various plate
categories

« Effective January 1, 2016



" Motos Vehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2015-499:HB217-Rep. Boothe

« Amends Sections 40-12-240 and 40-12-248

* Provides definition for the term “Farmer”

« Changes F4 plate restriction for truck tractors
for farmers from one to four plates

« Effective immediately following passage; June 12,

201
o1 ALABAMA

80 1226

FARM




" Motos Vehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2015-470: HB458-Rep. Johnson

« Standardizes definitions for unclaimed and abandoned
motor vehicles

« Ensures that owners/lienholders receive notice prior to
sale to include out of state owners/lienholders

« Records search includes NMVTIS F T
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2015-470: HB458-Rep. Johnson (continued)

« Sellers must retain records for three years from date of
sale

* Less paperwork will be submitted to licensing officials
« System generated documents (i.e. bill of sale)

« Effective July 1, 2016
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S of Revenue NMotorVehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2015-349: HB630-Rep. Weaver

* Provides that Regional Care Organizations (RCOSs)
are exempt from all state, county, and municipal
license fees, business privilege or license tax

Regional Care Organization Districts
Effective October 1, 2013

« Exemptions apply only to RCOs, not individual
health providers

« MVD has a link to the Alabama Medicaid webs
which provides a list of RCOs.

 Effective June 5, 2015
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2015 First Special Session Acts

Act 2015-506: SB23-Senators Dial and Whatley

« Amends Code Sections 31-2-12, 32-6-110, 32-7A-6, and
40-12-244

« Amends registration fee exemption for members of the
Alabama National Guard and State National Guard

« Exemption applies to any license plate for which the
guard member qualifies
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2015 First Special Session Acts

Act 2015-506 (continued)

 Clarifies that a liability insurance policy must be an
Alabama policy

* Must be written by an insurer licensed to write policies Iin
Alabama

* Permits evidence of insurance to be presented in
electronic format

Be Sure to

INnsure
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2015 First Special Session Acts

Act 2015-506 (continued)

 Provides that no other content can be accessed on the
electronic device when viewing it for evidence of
Insurance

« Holds law enforcement and governmental employees
harmless for any damages to the electronic device

« Allows the Department to establish rules regarding
sending notices in an electronic format (32-7A-26)

« Effective August 11, 2015



" Motos Vehicle Division

Administrative Rule

Rule 810-5-8-.10 Mandatory Liability Insurance
Questionnaire and Notice of Suspension

« Allows the Department to send insurance questionnaires
and notices of suspension via electronic mail

* Electronic notices can only be sent if an email address is
available

« Effective date — February 10, 2016

* Please provide email addresses with daily registration
uploads



Motor Uehicle Division

Administrative Rule

Amending 810-5-8-.05 Evidence of Insurance
Requirements

« Adds language that evidence of insurance
can be provided in either a tangible or in an
electronic format

« Effective — February 10, 2016
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2015 Second Special Session Acts

Act 2015-553: HB37-Hammon
e Creates Code Section 32-6A-1

« Creates definition for autocycles as a motor vehicle
designed:

« to travel with 3 wheels on the ground

* equipped with a steering wheel

e equipped with seating that does not require the operator
to straddle or sit astride the seat

 manufactured and certified to comply with federal safety
requirements for motorcycles



2015 Second Special Session Acts

Act 2015-553 (continued)

« Autocycles will be titled, registered, and taxed In
the same manner as motorcycles

* Vehicle body style =Autocycle

* Register with motorcycle plate






Motor “Uehicle Division

CONTACT INFORMATION

titles@revenue.alabama.gov
(334) 353-0477

'{’@ MLI Unit

(334) 242-9006
mli@revenue.alabama.gov

cONTAGT Us
Registration Unit
(334) 242-9006

tags@revenue.alabama.gov
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Questions?

Questions
are
guaranteed in
life;
Answers
arent.




