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Title System Modernization Update

• Alabama Title System (ALTS)

• MVTRIP integration (single user id/password)

• Wizard Based System – user friendly 

• Electronic Lien and Titling (ELT)

• Integrate NMVTIS

• Parallel Testing – End of 1st quarter



Title System Modernization

Menu



Title System Modernization

Transfer of Ownership – Out of State Title



Title System Modernization
Apply for a Replacement Title



Title System Modernization

Manage Liens



Title System Modernization

Apply for Corrected Title



Title System Modernization

Information/Summary Page



Dealer License

Year Status Count

2014 Approved 4524

2014 Rejected 40

2014 Revoked 80

2015 Approved 4405

2015 Rejected 56

2015 Revoked 175

2016 Approved 4435

2016 Rejected 67

2016 Revoked 125



Rebuilt Inspections Unit

• Dec. 2016 - Moved from Investigations to 
the Motor Vehicle Division

• Contact Information
• Phone:  (334) 242-3012
• Fax:  (334) 240-3316
• Email:  titles@revenue.alabama.gov

• Website
• All forms, FAQ’s, etc. are now located under 

the Motor Vehicle Division webpage



Rebuilt Inspections Unit

• Miscellaneous Info about Inspections

• Supervisor – Jonathan Lawrence

• Currently there are 9 Motor Vehicle 
Inspectors for all 67 counties

• Completed 19,000 inspections in FY2016

• Other duties include:
• VIN verification inspections;
• Attaching assigned VIN plates; and
• Assisting Law Enforcement with investigations



Questions
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MV Legislative & Regulatory Review



2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 1 
New Code Section: 32-6-700

• New “State Park” distinctive license plate available January 

2017

• Annual additional fee of $50

• Net proceeds to Department of Conservation to benefit

state park system 

• Effective January 1, 2017



2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-355: HB246  Representative Ledbetter
New Code Section: 32-6-690

• New “Stop Domestic Violence” distinctive license plate

• Additional annual fee of $50 to be distributed in accordance 
with 32-6-68   

• Portion due sponsoring organization goes to office of the 
district attorney for the county where plate issued

• For use and benefit of domestic violence prevention   
programs

• Effective Date – January 1, 2017



2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-339: HB94  Representative Baker

• Amends 32-6-130, 40-12-254 & 40-12-244

• Amends Disabled Veteran registration fee exemption 
or fee reduction

• Apply to any license plate category

• Exemption/reduction for standard registration fee only

• Must pay additional fee for distinctive plates

• Effective Date – January 1, 2017



2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1
Amends Code Sections 32-8-30, 32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

• Updates the title requirements for vehicles of a certain age or 
type. 

• For example:
- Vehicles over 35 years old
- Trailers over 20 years old
- Low speed vehicles
- Certain motor driven cycles



Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Sections 32-8-30, 
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

• Requires a person or entity initiating an involuntary transfer 
by operation of law in Alabama to give notice of the action to 
the department at least 35 calendar days prior to the date of 
the transfer.

• Requires the Department to maintain a list of reported 
vehicles to the public, without fee. 

• Link to the Involuntary Transfer portal – MVTRIP webpage.



Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Sections 32-8-30, 
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

• Does not apply to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant to the 
abandoned law or to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant to 
a divorce decree, or to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant 
to documents creating a lien or other security interest in the 
motor vehicle.

• ETAPS will not allow the creation of a title application until 
the 35 day notification period has expired.

• Effective Date: January 1, 2017



Involuntary Transfer



Involuntary Transfer



2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2015-470: HB458-Rep. Johnson

• Standardizes definitions for unclaimed/abandoned motor 
vehicles

• Ensures that owners/lienholders receive notice prior to sale 
to include out of state owners/lienholders

• Records search includes NMVTIS

• Sellers must retain records for three years from date of sale

• Less paperwork will be submitted to licensing officials

• System generated documents (i.e. bill of sale)

• Effective July 1, 2016



2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 2 - New Code Section – 32-13-11

• Provides that act 2015-470 only applies to the sale of an 
abandoned vehicle for which notice is published on or after 
July 1, 2016.  

• If the notice of the sale was posted prior to July 1, 2016, the 
vehicle could be sold under the current abandoned MV law. 

• Vehicle must be titled prior to the end of the calendar year 
2016, or the purchaser would be required to post a title surety 
bond in order to title the vehicle. 

• Effective Date: July 1, 2016



2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

• Applications for certificate of title accompanied by the “old” 
abandoned motor vehicle bills of sale as a supporting 
document will be rejected. 

• The “old” abandoned bill of sale will be submitted as the 
evidence of ownership with an application for title surety 
bond through the Department’s Surety Bond portal.



Abandoned Motor Vehicle
• The revised unclaimed and abandoned motor vehicle law 

requires a person or entity in possession of an unclaimed 
or abandoned motor vehicle to utilize the Department’s 
Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicle portal to report necessary 
information and generate a distinctive bill of sale.  

• The bill of sale is the only document needed by licensing 
officials in order to apply for certificate of title for the 
vehicle.

• The unclaimed/abandoned motor vehicle process should 
NOT be used when there is a break in the chain of 
ownership.



Abandoned Motor Vehicle
The county licensing offices will continue to apply for certificates of 
title for abandoned motor vehicles on behalf of the vehicle owner 
using the bill of sale created from the unclaimed/abandoned portal.



Abandoned Motor Vehicle
If the net sale balance on the bill of sale is greater than zero (0), the 
amount shall be paid to the county licensing official for deposit into the 
county general fund and a copy of the receipt of such funds must 
accompany the bill of sale.



Abandoned Motor Vehicle

• Effective January 1, 2017, the department no longer accepts 
applications for certificate of title accompanied by the “old” 
abandoned motor vehicle bill of sale as a supporting document.  
The purchaser is required to post a title surety bond in order to 
title the vehicle.

• The “old” abandoned motor vehicle bill of sale will be submitted 
as the evidence of ownership to DOR with an application for 
title surety bond through the Department’s Surety Bond portal 
at 

https://bonds.mvtrip.alabama.gov



What is a Title Surety Bond?

• A Title Surety Bond is guarantee of performance of a specific 
obligation or contract.

• A bond is issued by an insurance company and guarantees 
damages in the event that another individual claims ownership of 
the vehicle.

• A bond is similar to your personal auto insurance in that it is 
offering coverage in the event that a claim is made, except in the 
case of a bond, the coverage is for the certificate of title.



Common Examples of when a bond is required:

• The vehicle was never titled.

• The owner never received a title.

• The previous owner did not title.

• An error occurred in the title assignment.

• The trail or “chain of ownership” is broken.

• The Department can not ascertain ownership of the 
vehicle.

• The owner has an old Abandoned Bill of Sale.



Where do I obtain a Surety Bond? 
What is the cost?

• The Surety Bond can be obtained by any company that issues 
bonds and is licensed to issue a surety bond in the state of 
Alabama.

• Primarily, the cost of the bond depends on the amount of the bond 
coverage (face value).

• Other factors, including the applicant’s credit score.



How much Bond Coverage will I need?

Section 32-8-36 (3), Code of Alabama1975, states, in part, “The 
department may establish uniform bond amounts for vehicles”. 



What are the requirements for a 
Title Bond in Alabama?

• Standard bond amounts for type and age of vehicle.

• Document to substantiate ownership. (bill of sale, registration or 
outstanding title).  Required with the application (MVT 10-1A).

• State of Alabama Bond Form, (MVT 10-1).

• Vehicles branded as Salvage, Parts only, or Junk are not eligible 
for title surety bond.

• Bond Term of three (3) years.



An Overview of the Bond Process

Simply stated, the bond process is a three (3) step process.

1. Apply, on the surety bond portal, to receive a bond form, Form 
(MVT 10-1A). Upload documents to substantiate proof of 
ownership.

2. If (MVT 10-1A) is approved, A bond form (MVT 10-1) is sent to 
the applicant, via email.

3. Take the bond form (signed/sealed by the insurance company) 
to a Designated Agent to apply for Certificate of Title with the 
bond as the primary supporting document.



Checklist for Designated Agents

• Ensure that bond is completed on a state bond form (MVT 10-
1).

• Ensure that the (MVT 10-1) is complete:
� The bond number is printed at the top of the bond.
� The name of the Surety appears.
� The bond execution date is on the bond.
� The insurance company agent’s name and signature 

appear.
� The Principal’s (owner’s) name and signature 

appear.

• Ensure that the Insurance Company provides a Power of 
Attorney with the bond.  This is mandatory.

• Ensure that the bond effective date is not older than 90 days.

• Ensure that the bond effective date and the date of the Power 
of Attorney agree.



Applying for a Bond through the Surety Bond Portal
https://bonds.mvtrip.alabama.gov







Alabama title issued under surety bond



Legal Name Requirements

• Section 32-8-30, Code of Alabama 1975, require that if the 
owner’s legal name has changed from the name recorded on the 
certificate of title, an application for a corrected certificate of title 
must be made to reflect the owner’s current legal name. 

• Registrations cannot be renewed until an application for a 
corrected title has been made.

• Administrative Rule 810-5-75-.40 Requirements for Names and 
Signatures on Title Applications, Title Assignments and Motor 
Vehicle Registrations.

• Refer to Memo 2015-023



Questions
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MVTRIP Updates



Internet Explorer 
Version

• Connecting to Motor Vehicle Division systems – MVTRIP

• Can use Internet Explorer 11, Edge (with Windows 10), Chrome, or Firefox

• Must be current, vendor supported versions receiving regular 
security updates.

• ETAPS is only compatible with Internet Explorer

• MVD monitor and follow up with officials’ offices



CAPSLock



MLI System Updates

• Suspension File sent to Licensing Officials

• Suspension code updated to include earliest reinstatement 
date (memo 2016-003)

• Includes VOID/REVOKED (VR) status records
• Includes OPEN (MO) status records

• Clerk should mention to registrant and attempt to get 
answered before registering vehicle

• Clerk should not refuse to process registration 
transaction if registrant is not prepared to respond.
• Registrant has appeal period



MLI System Updates

• New Status Code: (ID) Insurance Denied

• The MLI System has been updated to reflect a new “registration status 
code”:  (ID) Insurance Denied (memo 2016-014)

• The new status code alerts licensing offices and registrants that the 
registration will be suspended unless the registrant can provide 
evidence of insurance that can be confirmed with the insurer.
• Clerk should mention to registrant to inform them of the pending 

suspension unless evidence is provided.
• Clerk should not refuse to process registration transaction if the 

status code is present.



MLI System Updates

• Administrative Rule 810-5-8-.10 MLI Questionnaire and Notice 
of Suspension (NOS)

-Department send questionnaires by email
-If registration record includes email address
-No postcard mailed

-Department send NOS by email
-If registrant opened link to questionnaire record        
sent by email.

-Currently only receiving email addresses on 11% of registration              
records.

PLEASE INCLUDE EMAIL ADDRESSES IN REGISTRATION FILES.



International Registration Plan 
(IRP)Updates

• Issuance of 2022 IRP plates – January 1, 2017

• Renewal Month for New Accounts – July (Memo 2016-18)

• Collecting Ad Valorem Taxes (Memo 2014-19)

• Charter Buses/Motorcoaches operated interstate –

January 1, 2016 

(Memo 2015-20)



Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (FHVUT)

Form 2290

• Title 26, U.S. Code Sect. 4481 and Code of Alabama Section 32-8-58

• Requires 2290 filed prior to issuing registration

• Highway motor vehicles with declared GVW (combined) 55,000 lb. or more

• Official must verify payment of FHVUT for current year

• Vehicles registered in July, August, or September can provide FHVUT payment
proof for preceding tax period.

• Proof not required for vehicles registered within 60 days of purchase date

• Memo 2015-29 (Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax) – IRS documentation
to provide to taxpayers exempt from providing 2290





Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (FHVUT)

Form 2290 (continued)
• 810-5-1-.233 Proof of Payment of Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax

• Registration receipt must be annotated with “Y” in block “FHVUT” to indicated 

proof documentation was received when required (declared GVW 55,000 or 

more) 

• Outlines Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requirements for acceptable proof of 

payment documents

• Vehicles registered in July, August, or September can provide FHVUT payment 

proof for preceding tax period.

• FHVUT must be paid in name of owner and/or registrant (non transferable)

• Memo 2015-29 – Guidance for DBA names

• No FHVUT  required on non highway vehicles (mobile crane)

• Official retains FHVUT proof documentation for one (1) year for audit purposes



Pre-commitments

• Check status of plate

• Search without receipt

• Redemption with receipt

• Web service

• How can organization apply?
• MVD website contains New/Reissue 

Distinctive Applications 
(Forms/Registration)



Pre-commitments – check status of plate



Pre-commitments – check status of plate



Commitment To Purchase
6/1/2016 TO 5/31/2017

• Alabama Sports Officials 
Foundation

• Alabama Treasure Forest

• DISL Manatee Sighting Network

• HudsonAlpha Foundation



Commitment To Purchase
6/1/2016 TO 5/31/2017

• K9’s for Vets

• King’s Home

• Mending Kids’ Hearts

• Southern Miss



Commitment To Purchase
6/1/2016 TO 5/31/2017

• Venecia’s Foundation



Commitment To Purchase
11/1/2016 TO 10/31/2017

• Alabama Theatre

• Epilepsy Foundation

• Friends of Tuskegee Airmen



Commitment To Purchase
11/1/2016 TO 10/31/2017

• Michigan State University

• Rev. Linda Hall Angel Burn 
Walk Foundation

• Share the Beach



Pre-commitments – check status of plate



Pre-commitments – search without a receipt



Pre-commitments – redemption with receipt



Pre-commitments – redemption with receipt

**PLEASE NOTE – THE PRE-COMMITMENT MUST BE REDEEMED IN ORDER TO GIVE 

THE REGISTRANT CREDIT FOR THEIR PURCHASE** 



Inventory Management



Inventory Management

• IMS Help Document
• Make sure to Receive Orders 

• ACI Source Location shipments
• Enter first and last tag numbers
• Confirm number of tags received

• Future Enhancements

– View inventory balances



PROS



PROS



PROS



PROS



Miles College Redesign



Judson College Redesign



Ronald McDonald House 
Charities



AL Wildlife Redesign



Delta Sigma Theta Sorority 
Redesign



Active Reserve Redesign



University of West AL Redesign



Battle of the Bulge Redesign



Vietnam Veteran Redesign



WWII American Campaign 
Redesign



WWII Asiatic Campaign Redesign



WWII European Campaign 
Redesign



AL Forestry Forever Redesign



Florida State University



Standard Disability Access Plate



Permanent Disability Placard





Updates from Meeting with Examiners of 
Public Accounts

Memo 2016-023
General rule – if money collected, refunded or distributed, keep 
documentation

• Not required to keep documentation for audit:
• Weight Affidavit
• Evidence of Insurance – related to registration
• Identification Documents – verify only
• Title Applications – available in ETAPS
• Registration Receipts
• Temporary Tags



Updates from Meeting with Examiners of 
Public Accounts

Memo 2016-023
General rule – if money collected, refunded or distributed, keep 
documentation

• Keep documentation for audit:
• Lease termination, junk vehicle affidavit, repossession

• Ad Valorem tax credit or refund issued
• Waiver of Penalty – Administrative Rule 810-5-1-.244
• Undercover Plates
• Distinctive License Plates – required to “qualify”
• Evidence of Insurance – related to MLI transaction



Validation Year Decals

2018 Year Validation Decals

• ADOR sending 2 shipments

• First order in LPIO offices November 2016

• Second order – January/February 2017

• Printed with 7 instead of 6 characters

• No need to include county indicator or 

leading zero in registration records



Questions
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Print on Demand Receipts/Decals and 
Temporary Tags



Print on Demand Temporary Tags

Currently:
• 60 day standard temp tags can be fed through laser 

printers; MC size temp tags not available
• Works with PROS system
• Problem with size of temp tag form (not standard size)

Update in 2017:
• 8.5 X 11 perforated form for both standard and MC tag
• Same design for both 20 day and 60 day tags
• 20 and 60 day tag will work with PROS
• Can be secured to bolt holes of license plate holder



New Temp Tag Design



New Temp MC Tag Design



Print on Demand Tag Receipts



Questions



CONTACT INFORMATION

MLI Unit 

(334) 242-9006

mli@revenue.alabama.gov

Registration Unit 

(334) 242-9006

tags@revenue.alabama.gov

titles@revenue.alabama.gov
(334) 353-0477




