MotorUehicle Division

Probate Judges’ Summer Conference
June 14, 2016

Motor Vehicle Updates
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1

Amends Code Section 32-8-30, 32-8-31; 32-8-42 and
32-8-46

« Updates the title requirements for vehicles of a
certain age or type.

« For example:
- Vehicles over 35 years old
- Trailers over 20 years old
- Low speed venhicles
- Certain motor driven cycles
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Section 32-8-30,
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

* Requires a person or entity initiating an involuntary transfer
by operation of law in Alabama to give notice of the action to
the department at least 35 calendar days prior to the date of
the transfer.

* Requires the Department to maintain a list of reported
vehicles to the public, without fee.
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Section 32-8-30,
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

« Does not apply to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant to
the abandoned law or to a motor vehicle transferred
pursuant to a divorce decree, or to a motor vehicle
transferred pursuant to documents creating a lien or
other security interest in the motor vehicle

« Effective Date: January 1, 2017
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 2
New Code Section

* Provides that act 2015-470 only applies to the sale of an

abandoned vehicle for which notice is published on or after
July 1, 2016.
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood
Section 2 Continued - New Code Section

« If the notice of the sale was posted prior to July 1, 2016, the
vehicle could be sold under the current abandoned MV law.

* Vehicle must be titled prior to the end of the calendar year
2016, or the purchaser would be required to post a title surety
bond in order to title the vehicle.

« Effective Date: July 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

EYAANBIAYMIAW S

Section 1
New Code Section

™7 State Parks Supporter

 New “State Park” distinctive license plate
available January 2017

 Annual additional fee of $50

* Net proceeds to Department of Conservation to benefit
state park system

 Effective January 1, 2017
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 2
Amends Code Section 32-6-64.1

 Removes $5 fee when metal plate issued for:
- Military
- Veteran
- Alabama Gold Star Family (32-6-630) and
- Replacement (40-12-265) plates

« Effective August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 2 Continued - Amends Code Section 32-6-68
 Distribution for all distinctive plates additional ($50) fee (32-6-68)

- Except $5 distribution to Department of Senior Services “John
L. Buskey Senior Meals Program” not withheld from:
- Children’s Trust Fund (32-6-450)
- Ducks Unlimited (32-6-460)
- Support the Arts (32-6-470)
- Alabama Cattlemen’s Foundation (32-6-500)
- Alabama Association of Realtors (32-6-520)
- Alabama Wildlife Federation (32-6-560)
- God Bless America Personalized (32-6-611)
- State Law Enforcement Memorial (32-6-680)

« Effective August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 2 Continued - Amends Code Section 32-6-68

* When law does not specify distribution for additional fee
- After distribution 32-6-68(b)(1)-(3)
- Net proceeds ($46.25) distributed to State General Fund
-Like Out of State college or university (32-6-67 (e))

« Specifies this section does not apply to the standard
personalized plates (32-6-150)

« Effective August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 3
Moves Code Section 32-6-150.1 to 32-6-69

« $50 additional fee for distinctive plates distributed in accordance
with 32-6-68 except:
- Public two-year and four-year colleges and universities
- Private four-year colleges and universities
- Athens State University
- Environmental distinctive plate (32-6-150)
- Plates listed on next slide
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial
Section 3 Continued - Moves Code Section 32-6-150 to 32-6-69

« Detalls distinctive plate categories where additional $50 fee
does not apply
- Bicentennial - unless personalized (32-6-155.3) - $0
- God Bless America - unless personalized (32-6-610) - $0
- Helping Schools (32-6-300) - $20
- Educator and Retired Educator (32-6-302) - $50/$25
- Gold Star Family — unless personalized (32-6-630) - $0
- Plates exempt from personalization in subsection (a)

o Still will pay $5 in year metal plate issued (32-6-64.1)
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 4
Amends Code Section 32-6-250 and 32-6-251

 New “Silver Star” plate

Must provide proof of receiving the Silver Star — DD214

« The first plate is a permanent distinctive plate

« Regular registration fee, ad valorem tax, and an annual additional fee of
$25 must be paid for all Silver Star license plates

* Net proceeds distributed to the Alabama Veterans Assistance Fund

« Effective Date — August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 4
Amends Code Section 32-6-630

« Alabama Gold Star Family plate to be designed by Department of
Veteran Affairs in consultation with Alabama Gold Star Family
Organization.

* Next redesign — January 2021

« Effective Date — August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts

INFORMATION ONLY
Act 2016-409: SB262-Senator Shelnutt

« Transportation Network Company (TNC) Insurance Requirements
- Lyft, Uber, etc.
- connect paying passenger with driver (privately owned
vehicle)
- Required to maintain additional coverage when operating
vehicle under TNC

* No changes related to Mandatory Liability Insurance (MLI)
requirements

- Vehicle owner proves MLI coverage for registration transactions

« Effective Date — August 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-339: HB94 Representative Baker

 Amends Code Sections 32-6-130, 40-12-254 and 40-12-244

« Amends Disabled Veteran registration fee exemption/reduction
- Apply to any license plate category they qualify for.
- Exemption/reduction for standard registration fee only.

- If want distinctive plate with additional fee due- must pay
the additional fee.

« Effective Date — January 1, 2017
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2016-355: HB246 Representative Ledbetter
Code Section to be determined

* New “Stop Domestic Violence” distinctive license plate

e Additional annual fee of $50

 to be distributed in accordance with 32-6-68
- Portion due sponsoring organization goes to office of the
district attorney for the county where plate issued.

- For use and benefit of domestic violence prevention
programs.

« Effective Date — January 1, 2017
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Administrative Rule

810-5-1-.238 Registration of Motor Vehicles Not Subject to Titling

« Section (2) updates related to items to verify upon physical inspection of
vehicle/ownership documents.
- Removes reference to 17 digit NHTSA conforming VIN.
- Clarifies vehicle cannot be registered for public highway use if the
MSO, title or bill of sale indicates the vehicle is for off road use only.
- Specifies additional items identified in certification label on vehicle:
- manufacturer
- VIN
- date of manufacture
- statement: “This vehicle conforms to all applicable federal
motor vehicle safety standards in effect on the date of
manufacture shown above.”

» Effective date — February 10, 2016
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Internet Explorer
Version

« Connecting to Motor Vehicle Division systems — MVTRIP and ETAPS
« Can use Internet Explorer 11, Edge (with Windows 10), Chrome, or Firefox

 Must be current, vendor supported versions receiving regular
security updates.

 MVD monitor and follow up with officials’ offices
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CAPSIlock

X Login

& Password

Login Page Change Password

Lost Username? Lost Password?
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MLI System Updates

« Suspension File sent to Licensing Officials

e Suspension code updated to include earliest reinstatement date
(memo 2016-003)
* Includes VOID/REVOKED (VR) status records
* Includes OPEN (MO) status records
« Clerk should mention to registrant and attempt to get
answered before registering vehicle
« Clerk should not refuse to process registration transaction if
registrant is not prepared to respond.
« Registrant has appeal period

« Suggestion to include Insurance Verification Date
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MLI System Updates

e Administrative Rule 810-5-8-.10 MLI Questionnaire and
Notice of Suspension(NOS)

- Department send questionnaires by emalil
- If registration record includes email address
- No postcard mailed

- Department send NOS by email
- Registrant opened link to questionnaire record
sent by emaill

- Currently only receiving email addresses on 8% of
registration records

PLEASE INCLUDE EMAIL ADDRESSES IN REGISTRATION FILES.



Pre-commitments — search without a receipt

© Tag Precommitment

@ C

Precommitment Add New Tag Redeem a

Precommitment




Pre-commitments — search without a receipt

Application Number
Registrant Mame
VIN

Q Search Information

—
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Pre-commitments — search without a receipt

.ﬁ Stabtus Information

Campaign Completed Successfully YES

application already Redaeasmeed [ Sl
applicaticon FPaid For YES
Application Status Faid

i md  Registrant Information
application Humber:z: 549

Created Date: Z2AAZ2, 2001 520008 P
Tag Typec Freshraatsr Fishim=z
HMamee- Abemmathy . Danisil=
Ermail- julie. mitch=lHEdconr. alabanms . aons
Phiorn-e: (2 Z4p-IOF-ZTa50
Address- E&650 Mobile Highnerasy
Catyrs A N My

State- Al

Fip- TE105

Camuarwiy - MO TG OMERY

<P Vehicle Information

Wi

<1 bf 1 Shocwua 26598

i}_:;_'___,.': ActHons

Application Payment Receipt
beiote anpiication
venicte voucher

W W oo heer



Precommitment Add New Tag Redeem a

Application Precommitme

Search Precommmitment

Applications Manual
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Pre-commitments — redemption with receipt

**PLEASE NOTE — THE PRE-COMMITMENT MUST BE REDEEMED IN ORDER TO GIVE
THE REGISTRANT CREDIT FOR THEIR PURCHASE**

Success

Your transaction has been completed successfully, thank you.

Message: The application has been successfully redeemed.
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Inventory Management

* IMS Help Document
* Make sure to Recelve Orders
» ACI Source Location shipments
» Enter first and last tag numbers
« Confirm number of tags received

 Future Enhancements
— View Inventory balances
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PROS

After logging in, you will see navigation splash screen. Click on the “View Current Reservations” option.

3
View Ready to Order Reservations

Reserve Plate Rearder Plate View Current Reservations

Rl

View Recent Orders

=
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Print on Demand Temporary Tags

Currently:

60 day standard temp tags can be fed through laser
printers; MC size temp tags not available

« Works with PROS system

Problem with size of temp tag form (not standard size)

Proposed:

8.5 X 11 perforated form for both standard and MC tag
Same design for both 20 day and 60 day tags

20 day tag will work with ALTS or an application through
PROS

60 day tag will work with PROS

Can be secured to bolt holes of license plate holder
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New Temp Tag Design

Alabama Temporary Tag Receipt MVR: 52-6-211 (4/16)
Tag Number: Issue Date: Fxpiraton Date:
Issued To:
TARIE OTTw | STATE | ZIF
Issued For:
FIAKE FAICET iy

Issued By:

AEALER or COUNTY OFFICLAL

I =
Control Number: TSTOO000 Designated Agent Number:

[] VALID FOR GROSS WEIGH'T 1 UNLADEN WEIGHT ONLY

ALABAMA

ISSUED IN CONJUNCTION WITH A TEMPORARY TAG RECEIPT

EXPIRES
MONTH

DAY

Clontrol Number: TSTQOOOQQ0

lemporary lag TR O
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New Temp MC Tag Design
Alabama Temporary Tag Receipt MVE: 32-6-211 (4/16)
Tag Number: Issue Date:

Expiration Date:

Issued To:

NAME CITY | STATE | ZIP

Issued For:

YEAR MAKE MODEL WIN

Issued By:

DEALER or COUNTY OFFICLAL

Control Number: TSTQO0000

COUNTY Cry

Dresignated Agent Number:
[] VALID FOR GROSS WEIGHT [ ] UNLADEN WEIGHT ONLY

ALABAMA

ISSUED IN CONJUNCTION WITH A TEMPORARY TAG RECEIPT

EXPIRES
MONTH

DAY

YEAR

Control Number: TSTO0000

Temporary Motorcycle Tag
IR A
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LAS T YoAR DECAL KO,

ALABAMA LAW REQUIRES ORIGINAL OR PHOTOCOPY OF RECEIPT TO BE IN VEHICLE.

on Demand Tag Recelpts

MVR 20-12-253B (3/2013)

CURRENT YEAR DECAL ND.

META

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE ST — — —
MOTOR VEHIGLE AEGISTHATION TAG AND Tax AECEIPT aaom Sl b B BONUBE
coos 4G AFEAET
AL ACAGAIRNTONGD STATE | ACGLUSED FROM
TN RENEAT TG OF L AN TAG TYPE GURMENT YEAR TAG SO
Tax R TAX T2 STAY TREG WO
MW Ut
AD VAL 3TART 0T
FRICC S
VEHICLE DENTIICATION N, wonEL Fr=mrr v GROSS W NOT OUER CURFENT TAG SeRRES Reteew 115 TAG 1N
AP OR TITLE VARE = So0~ = Toton STATE SAR COUNT ¥ wTAK CrEY STAX T TOTAL SALES TAX
ASSESSED VALVE BTATE SOUNTY o aCMoul AD AL cREpay AD VALOREN AD WAl OV TOTAL 2D VAL W s Tax
PENALTY WTEREST
Tiss Cole E == ATF. FEE ADOL. tot TICENEE 7o B TeE FENALTY ZITAT IS0 NTERES TOTAL 178 WAL FET TTAL TAZ & TAX
(=
DATE OF XMSUE PAZ I5SUED | TOTAL PRiD
S' N EHE : AWE CERINEY (AP THAT THL PO OMMATION CONTARR I 1ML ON B IDAE AND OOfwT Gt
—_—
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Permanent Disabllity Placard

IMPORTANT: REMOVE BEFORE
DRIVING WEHICLE

NOTICE: MISUSE OF THIS PLACARD
IS A CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

ALABANA

FEB
MAR
APR
MAY
JUMN
JUL

AUG
SEP
oCcT

NOW

EXPIRES LAST DAY OF

DEC MONTH PUNCHED
i -

INVALID IF MORE
A THAN OME MONTH IS PUNMCHED _/z"
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ALAaBanMa DEPARTMENT OF REVEMUE COURTY USE GHLY
MorTor VEHICLE Drvisiong B ey
Apphcatlcn For Disability Access Parking Privileges

NMOTRZE: Return This Application To Your W

To Acguire Disability Accesas Placards U Pl
AR AR T PARAE TELEFHONE HUBIEER
ETHEET ADDREES — FHYSOGAL LIOCAT HON WAL FGE ADDFRESE
Gy GOUNTY ETATE Fa CaT Y STAE Z=

Individuals I||l||lrl1'| qua:ll'ﬁe-d disabilities must obtain a llcensad physician’s certification prior 1o the initial issuance of disability access
placards I Individuals with long-term dissbilities may seli-cartify their qualifying gi=sability if they are reneswing their
disability sccess pla-r:ards amndior licenss plates for the five year period beginning in 2012

Indicate below which privilege i being reqguestaed:
DISABILITY ACCESS LICENSE PLATE{S) (to include disability access military and motorcycle plates) — issused only for vehecles owned
by (a) persons with a dizability as described below; and (b)) organizatons that trensport persons with a disability as descnbed below.
D DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARINS) — issusd only to persons wath a disability, as described below, who have a LOMG-TEAM Emiation or
mpairmant in thair ability to walic
I;I TEMPORARY DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARD(S) — issu=ad only to persona with a disabifty, as described below, who have a TEMPORARY
Emitation or mpairment n their ability 1o walk [motf o exceed six monithis).

| cerify, umder penalty of jury, that | mesd the
qui e I'I;'-tger]urp a disability

[E plate a5 listed in the

section below : APPLICAMT E ENEMNATURE (DR LEGAL CLEFRDLAN] OATE

HEQUIREMENTS AND PHYSICLAN'S CERTIFICATHON

Disability Access license plates and placards may be isswed to:
(8} persons with & disabiky which limits or fmpairs their ability 1o walk: or
(b} organizations that trensport persons with a disabdity which limits or impars their abiliby 1o walk (except that organizations afal oo be
abgible for placards).
As determaned by & licensed physician, persons with disabilities which limit or impasr thair abilty to walk means persons wiho:
(1} Camnmot walk beo hundred fest withvout stopping to rest; or
(2} Canmnot walk without the use of, or assistance from, & brace, cane, crutch. anocther person, prosthetc device, wheelchair, or other assistive
device: or
(3} Are resrictsd by lung disssse o such an extant that the person’s forced (respiratony) edspiratory volums for one sscond, when measursed by
spiremetry. is less than one liter. or the arterial oxygen tension = less than 60 mm.bg on room air at rest; or
(4} Uss ponable oopgen; or
(5} Hawe a cardiac condition to the sxent that the person’s functional imitatons are classified n severnty as Class Il or Class IV according to
standards sat by the Amencan Heart Association; or
(8} Are sewernsly limited in their ability to walk dus 1o an arthritic, neurclogical, or orthopedic condition.
Physician, check the number{s) abowve representing the applicant™s specific disability which limits or impairs hisfher ability to walk and indicate
below the kength of disability if temporary.
I:I Long-term Disabality
Temporary Disabilty [penod not o evceed six monitifis)l Begnning Dabe: Ending Date-

The undersigned affirms under penalty of perjury that the applicant listed abowe has the aspecific disability(ies) as checked abowea.

o0 O ol

LICENSED PFHY SICIAN'S EMOMNATILRE TELEPHONE NUMBER

TYPE DR PRINT FAME [ STATE

DHSAHILITY ACCESS APPLICANT S SELF-CERTIFICATION

| certify, umder penally of ury. that |
condines to messt the mremr;!ﬂr-;ri Iu'lhe

dsability = plat='pl

'h}l'ﬂ'ﬂ'-.. m APPLICANT S SaOrMNATUARE [OA LEGAL SULAFACH AR DATE

See Aeverse Side For Orgamzational Certifcation. Fees, Ouantities, and Other imporiant nforms tion
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Administrative Rule

810-5-75-.40 Requirements for Names and Signatures on Title Applications,
Title Assignments and Motor Vehicle Registrations

Note that the owner’'s name must be in agreement on all title documents and
any variance(s) in the owner’s name between title documents will require
that the owner provide an affidavit attesting to the variance(s). The affidavit
must be notarized, unless witnessed by a designated agent.

If the current legal name of the owner or operator has changed, and the
certificate of title is issued by another state and is being held by a
lienholder, and the vehicle is not required to be titled in this state as
provided by 32-8-31, the owner or operator must provide evidence of
the current legal name, which shall be shown on the vehicle
registration.

Effective date — May 20, 2016
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2015-470: HB458-Rep. Johnson

« Standardizes definitions for unclaimed and abandoned
motor vehicles

« Ensures that owners/lienholders receive notice prior to
sale to include out of state owners/lienholders

« Records search includes NMVTIS F T
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2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2015-470: HB458-Rep. Johnson (continued)

« Sellers must retain records for three years from date of
sale

* Less paperwork will be submitted to licensing officials
« System generated documents (i.e. bill of sale)

« Effective July 1, 2016
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CONTACT INFORMATION

titles@revenue.alabama.gov
(334) 353-0477

'{’@ MLI Unit

(334) 242-9006
mli@revenue.alabama.gov

cONTAGT Us
Registration Unit
(334) 242-9006

tags@revenue.alabama.gov
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Questions




