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Motor Vehicle Updates
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1
Amends Code Sections 32-8-30, 32-8-31: 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

« Updates the title requirements for vehicles of a certain age or
type.

 For example:
- Vehicles over 35 years old
- Trailers over 20 years old
- Low speed venhicles
- Certain motor driven cycles
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Sections 32-8-30,
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

* Requires a person or entity initiating an involuntary transfer
by operation of law in Alabama to give notice of the action to
the department at least 35 calendar days prior to the date of
the transfer.

* Requires the Department to maintain a list of reported
vehicles to the public, without fee.

 Link to the Involuntary Transfer portal - MVTRIP webpage.
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 1 Continued - Amends Code Sections 32-8-30,
32-8-31; 32-8-42 and 32-8-46

* Does not apply to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant to the
abandoned law or to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant to
a divorce decree, or to a motor vehicle transferred pursuant
to documents creating a lien or other security interest in the
motor vehicle.

« ETAPS will not allow the creation of a title application until
the 35 day notification period has expired.

« Effective Date: January 1, 2017



i
o Reveune Motor Uehicle Division

2015 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2015-470: HB458-Rep. Johnson

o Standardizes definitions for unclaimed/abandoned motor
vehicles

« Ensures that owners/lienholders receive notice prior to sale
to include out of state owners/lienholders

« Records search includes NMVTIS

Sellers must retain records for three years from date of sale

Less paperwork will be submitted to licensing officials

System generated documents (i.e. bill of sale)
Effective July 1, 2016



NMotor Uehicle Division

N RTANG ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE i
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
Abandoned Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale

£y S > This formm may only be used to transfer ownership of an abandoned motor
vehicle sold pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 13, Code of Alabama 1975

VIN: SVWCM31Y94 M336253 Year: 2004
Make: Volkswagen Model: NEW BEETLE Abandoned Date: 5/1/20186

Sale Date: 5/1/2016 Location of Sale: 123 TOWING LANE
MONTGOMERY, AL 36117

.
L

Dates on which the notice of sale was published as required by Section 32-13-4, Code of Alabama 1975:

Name of Newspaper/Courthcuse Posting: MONTGOMERY
Date of 1st Publication/Courthouse Posting: 4/1/2016 (must at least thirty (30) days prior to date of sale)
Date of 2nd Publication/Courthcuse Posting 4/9/2016 (must be one (1) week from date of 1st publication)
Notice of Termination was sent to owner and/or lienholder of record on the following date: 4/1/2016
INFORMATION ON NET PROCEEDS OF SALE OF ABANDONED MOTOR VEHICLE:
1 Sale Price of Abandoned NMotor Vehicle $200.00 $5,000.00
2 Amount of Repair —_———
5 $100.00
3 Towing Expenses 31500
4 Storage Expenses N~ 7 7% T}
$150.00
5 Other o $465.00
B Total Amount Deducted from Sale Price (fotal lines 2 through 5) -
7 Net Sale Balance (line 1 minus line 6 — if zerc or less, enter -0-) $4.535.00

(This amount shall be paid to the county licensing official for deposit into the
county general fund and a copy of t receipt of such funds must accompany this form.)

Buyer's Signature:
Buyer's Printed Name: TOMMY *THOMAS

Buyer's Address: 863 TAYLOR DRIVE
MONTGOMERY, AL 36116

The seller hereby affirms that this vehicle was sold to the buyer listed above as an abandoned
motor vehicle in accordance with the provisions of Title 32, Chapter 13, Code of Alabama 1975.
The seller alsc hereby affirms that the above information is true and correct and the seller is
aware that a false statement made on this document, with intent to defraud, is a criminal offense
under the Alabama Uniform Certificate of Title and Antitheft Law as codified in Title 32, Chapter 8.
Code of Alabama 197

Seller's Signature:

Seller's Name: AMA mNG

Seller's Address: 123 TOWING LANE
MONTGOMERY, AL 36117

=“All VINS for 1981 and subsequent year moded vehicies that conform 1o federal anti-theft standards are required 1o have 17 dgpts/characters
Alterations or illegible information void this form.
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

Section 2 - New Code Section — 32-13-11

* Provides that act 2015-470 only applies to the sale of an
abandoned vehicle for which notice is published on or after
July 1, 2016.

« |f the notice of the sale was posted prior to July 1, 2016, the
vehicle could be sold under the current abandoned MV law.

* Vehicle must be titled prior to the end of the calendar year
2016, or the purchaser would be required to post a title surety
bond in order to title the vehicle.

« Effective Date: July 1, 2016
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-358: HB280-Representative Wood

« Applications for certificate of title accompanied by the “old”
abandoned motor vehicle bills of sale as a supporting
document will be rejected.

* The “old” abandoned bill of sale will be submitted as the
evidence of ownership with an application for title surety
bond through the Department’s Surety Bond portal.

« If the net sale balance on the Abandoned Bill of Sale is
greater than zero (0), the amount shall be paid to the county
licensing official for deposit into the county general fund and
a copy of the receipt of such funds must accompany the
Abandoned Bill of Sale.
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Title System Modernization Update
« Alabama Title System (ALTS)
« Completed by the end of first quarter

« MVTRIP integration (single user
id/password)

« Wizard Based System — user friendly
« Electronic Lien and Titling (ELT)

* Integrate NMVTIS
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Internet Explorer
Version

« Connecting to Motor Vehicle Division systems — MVTRIP
« Can use Internet Explorer 11, Edge (with Windows 10), Chrome, or Firefox

 Must be current, vendor supported versions receiving regular
security updates.

« ETAPS is only compatible with Internet Explorer

 MVD monitor and follow up with officials’ offices
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-408: SB163-Senator Dial

Section 1
New Code Section: 32-6-700

“"'State Parks Supporter

* New “State Park” distinctive license plate available January
2017

« Annual additional fee of $50

* Net proceeds to Department of Conservation to benefit
state park system
 Effective January 1, 2017
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts

Act 2016-355: HB246 Representative Ledbetter
New Code Section: 32-6-690

* New “Stop Domestic Violence” distinctive license plate

« Additional annual fee of $50 to be distributed in accordance
with 32-6-68

« Portion due sponsoring organization goes to office of the
district attorney for the county where plate issued

* For use and benefit of domestic violence prevention
programs B AUABAMA B

« Effective Date — January 1, 2017 000000
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2016 Regular Session Legislative Acts
Act 2016-339: HB94 Representative Baker

Amends 32-6-130, 40-12-254 & 40-12-244

Amends Disabled Veteran registration fee exemption
or fee reduction

Apply to any license plate category
Exemption/reduction for standard registration fee only
Must pay additional fee for distinctive plates

Effective Date — January 1, 2017



1.:??.'-'.'?" Alabama “Department @
sy of Revenue MotorUehicle Division

Permanent Disabllity Placard

IMPORTANT: REMOVE BEFORE
DRIVING VEHICLE

NOTICE: MISUSE OF THIS PLACARD
IS A CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

ALABANMA

FEB
MAR
APR
MAY
JUMN
JUL

AUG
SEP
oCcT

NOW

EXPIRES LAST DAY OF

DEC MONTH PUNCHED
i -

INVALID IF MORE
A THAN OME MONTH IS PUNCHED _/z"
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Standard Disability Access Plate
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RN ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE —COURTY USE-SRLT
(_-,/ ;‘( ,{_. g, MotTor VEHICLE DivisioN LIOENSE LN S ACARD
& ‘! 2 \/ Application For Disability Access Parking Privileges - —

NOTIKCE: Return This Application To Your County |icenaing Office
To Aoquire Disabiinty Access Placards and/or License Plates.
AT RCANMT ™ AN TRL B P aedl PeLARIS M
| (i)
EINEE T ACOMNL IS — MHIYECAL LOGATION MAL PO ACOMENSs
iy TR WIATE p1a Loy 0 “BYAT rig

Individualis with gqualfied dmummmm-wWVMMQMNMMWGOMMIMOGGMW
placards and/or hcense plates. Individuals with long term disabiities may self-certity their qualitying GBIty f thoy are renewing their
dinability access placards cAlor b [ for the five year period beginning in 2012,
Indicato bolow whioh privilege a Doing roguosted:
DISABILITY ACCESS LICENSE PLATE(S) (10 Mmmmmmmmw plates) — isswoed only for vehicles ownod
by (&) porsons with a dsabiiny as descoribed Dolow: and (D) organizatons that IransEort porsons with a disability as doscnbod bolow
D DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARIXS) — maued only 1o porsons with & disability, an described below, who have a LONG-TE RM rrstation or
Inpairenent i e ability 10wl
u TEMPORARY DISABILITY ACCESS PLACARD(S) « ssuod only 1o porsons with a disabilty. as desconbed below, who have a TEMPORARY
InEaton or Inpalrment 0 their abdlity 10 walk (ot 10 excood six months )

| centily, under penalty of perjury, that | meet the
" ©w a Gesadslmy

Quaet Y
hoenrse plate/ ph d as listed n the
SOCHon beldow : ATV LA T T SOCRPLAT LIVER PO LT CAAL. CILAA T AR) Care

REQUFRIEMENTS AND PHYSICIAN'S CERTFICATION

Disabity Accoss liconse platos and placards may be issued 10:
(a) porascons with o disabdlty which mits o smpaies thowr abdity 0 walk. or
(b) organizations that inanaport persons with a dinatsity which limits or mpasrs thesr ability 10 walk (ewceopt thet organcations shel¥ not be
obgible for placards)
An detarmened by a icensod physician, pormsons with disabilitbes whech lenit or iImpasr thoir abiay 10 walk mMoans Dorsons who
D (1) Cannot walk two hundrod foot wiahout SIoppang 1o rest; or
D (2) Cannot walk without the use of, or asssstance from, a brace, cane, cruich,. another porson, prosthetic device, whoolchar, or other assistive
donicw; o
(32) Are restrs d by lung dis 20 such an codton! that the Porson’s 10000d (reapiratory) expiratory volume 1of one second, whoen moasurod by
spirormetry. s loss than one liter, or the artenial oxygon tonsson & loss than 60 mymn hg on room air at rost; or
(4) Une portabie oxygen; or
(5) Have s cardinc condibon 1o the extent that the person’s functions! w are o shiod m soventy as Class Il or Class IV accornding to
standards set by the Amencan Hearl Association; or
(&) Are severoly maod in their ability to walk due 10 an armhnne, neurciogical, or orthopedic condtion
Physiclan, Mmmhﬁo).bonwmmﬂnwmhwm disability which limits or impairs his/her abiity to walk and indicate
below the length of disability if temporary.
8 Long-term Dinabeity
Tompomary Dinabity (perod not o escesd six montis ) Begoning Date Ending Dute

The undersigned affisms under penalty of perjury that the applicant listed above has the specifico disability(ses) as checked above.

0000

TIET RIS PV RIS WA T e TUL TP WRATE W

AL LRl L ™ ¢ Y | ey TIT

DISABILITY ACCESS APPLICANT'S SELF-CERTIFICATION

Iwﬁ.“”dmmlﬁ

issued 0¢ the previous period. A AR E BR R U O TE2SAT TSIA P RRy ’ GATE -

See Reverse Side For Organicational Certifcation, Fees, Quantitss. and Other important nfoe ma tson
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Updates from Meeting with Examiners of
Public Accounts

Memo 2016-023
General rule — if money collected, refunded or distributed, keep
documentation

* Not required to keep documentation for audit:
« Weight Affidavit
« Evidence of Insurance — related to registration
* Identification Documents — verify only
« Title Applications — available in ETAPS
* Registration Receipts
 Temporary Tags



i
o Reveune Motor Uehicle Division

Updates from Meeting with Examiners of
Public Accounts

Memo 2016-023

General rule — if money collected, refunded or distributed, keep
documentation

« Keep documentation for audit:
« Lease termination, junk vehicle affidavit, repossession
« Ad Valorem tax credit or refund issued
« Waiver of Penalty — Administrative Rule 810-5-1-.244
« Undercover Plates
 Distinctive License Plates — required to “qualify”
« Evidence of Insurance — related to MLI transaction
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Validation Year Decals

2018 Year Validation Decals

 ADOR sending 2 shipments
* First order in LPIO offices November 2016
* Second order — January/February 2017

* Printed with 7 instead of 6 characters
* No need to include county indicator or
leading zero in registration records
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Print on Demand Tag Recelpts

ALABAMA DEFARTMENT OF MEVENUE o e S O L o P Y O e, | O LI YSRGS mynsomzzson qrere
P i b e i Sau e e
R MAD I SON 2015 | 81000
FoR = NO. OF MOsS. LAST WEAR TAGE TV e CHUFEREER T YEAR TALS M
e umen ™ [ ™= SrATE | RS G
v Ve | | Frice=s O - 0O | 1= 1= AMIL
ETIGIE TGO s ohE e o | GRoes W NGT ovER SRS TS REREw RS TAS
1LITEBGS48KS55C584820 CRAND CHE O .00 o APR 320 2016 APR 2016
TEEP 2006 o.o0o0 o.oo0 o.00 o.o0o0 o .00
o.0o0 o.0o0 0O.00|0.00 |o.oo o.o0o0 o oo o oo 0o.00
v o.o00 o .00 o.00 o.o0o0 o.00 o.o0o0 o.o0o0|0.00 o.0o0 o.o0o0 o.o00
TEST USERZ2 ©-00
GATE oF IEEUE TRAE FEEUES | TOTAL FAID
124 TEST STREET
TOUOSCAILOOSA 254050000
sSIGN HERE > _ _
Control #: 85084395

AT ABADNA

DECAL VOID IF ALTERED

o=

0000000

Decal Instructions

Peel the decal attached from the backing and place on a
clean dry surface in the UPPER RIGHT corner of your license
plate. It is not necessary to remove the old decais.
The new decal must be clearly visible on the plate within
the area idicated.

04
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Print on Demand Temporary Tags

Currently:

« 60 day standard temp tags can be fed through laser
printers; MC size temp tags not available

« Works with PROS system

* Problem with size of temp tag form (not standard size)

Update in 2017:

« 8.5 X 11 perforated form for both standard and MC tag
« Same design for both 20 day and 60 day tags

« 20 and 60 day tag will work with PROS

« Can be secured to bolt holes of license plate holder
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New Temp Tag Design

Alabama Temporary Tag Receipt MVR: 32-6-211 (4/16)
Tag Number: Issue Date: Expiraton Date:
Issued To:
TALE CTTw | STATE | Z1F
Issued For:
FIARE RACITIEL VT

Issued By:

AEALER or COUNTY OFFICLAL

I =
Control Number: TSTOO000 Designated Agent Number:

[] VALID FOR GROSS WEIGH'T [ UNLADEN WEIGHT ONLY

AL ABAMA

ISSUED IN CONJUNCTION WITH A TEMPORARY TAG RECEIPT

EXPIRES
MONTH

DAY

Clontrol Number: TSTQOOOQQ0

lemporary lag TR O
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New Temp MC Tag Design
Alabama Temporary Tag Receipt MVR: 32-6-211 (4/186)
Tag Number: Issue Date:

Expiration Date:

Issued To:

NAME CITY | STATE | ZIP

Issued For:

WEAIL MAKE MODEL W

Issued By:

DEALER or COUNTY OFFICLAL

Control Number: TSTQ0Q00Q

COUNTY Crly

Dresignated Agent Number:
] VALID FOR GROSS WEIGHT [ ] UNLADEN WEIGHT ONLY

ALABAMA

ISSUED IN CONJUNCTION WITH A TEMPORARY TAG RECEIPT

EXPIRES
MONTH

DAY

YEAR

Control Number: TSTO0000

Temporary Motorcycle Tag
IR A
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Questions?
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CONTACT INFORMATION

titles@revenue.alabama.gov
(334) 353-0477

'{’@ MLI Unit

(334) 242-9006
mli@revenue.alabama.gov

cONTAGT Us
Registration Unit
(334) 242-9006

tags@revenue.alabama.gov
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