

State of Alabama Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov) 50 North Ripley Street Montgomery, Alabama 36132

December 4, 2015

MICHAEL E. MASON Assistant Commissioner JOE W. GARRETT, JR. Deputy Commissioner CURTIS E. STEWART Deputy Commissioner

MEMORANDUM

2015-030

TO: License Plate Issuing Officials/Law Enforcement

County Programmers/System Vendors

FROM: Sherry Helms, Registration Manager 54 H

Motor Vehicle Division

SUBJECT: Legislation Effective January 1, 2016

During the 2015 legislative session, Act 2015-362 was signed into law by Governor Bentley. This memorandum outlines the provisions of the Act that become effective January 1, 2016.

- License Plate Issuance Fee Section 32-6-64.1 is amended to add: "In addition to any other fees provided for by law, an additional fee of \$5 is added to the cost of any distinctive license plate, whether pre-numbered or personalized, in the year the license plate is issued." Distinctive license plates include specialty, military, collegiate and generic specialty license plates. The fee does not apply to replacement license plates. This fee shall be distributed to the Department of Revenue to offset costs of manufacturing and administering motor vehicle registration credentials.
- New license plates:

o Alabama Bicentennial

- ➤ There are no registration fee exemptions for this plate category.
- ➤ Annual additional fee of \$50.
- Plates cannot be renewed after December 31, 2020.

o In Memory

- ➤ Issued to honor deceased family members.
- No prenumbered plates will be offered for this plate category.
- There are no registration fee exemptions for this plate category.
- > Annual additional fee of \$50.

o Professional Firefighter

- ➤ Issued to a paid member of a paid or part-paid fire department of a city, town, county or other subdivision of the state.
- > Regular registration fee.
- Not required to pay the \$3 fee.
- Firefighters' names must appear on the list provided by the Firefighters' Personnel Standards and Education Commission (on DOR website), or they must present a certification form signed by the chief of the department if their

License Plate Issuing Officials/Law Enforcement County Programmers/System Vendors Page 2 December 4, 2015

names do not appear on the list.

An annual additional fee of \$0.25 shall be collected each year.

o Bronze Star

- ➤ Issued to a recipient of the Bronze Star as evidenced on the form DD214.
- ➤ The first plate is a permanent license plate with validation decals.
- ➤ Regular registration fee applies to all plates in this category.
- An annual additional fee of \$25 and ad valorem tax must be paid for all plates.
- Additional plates can be purchased by paying fees as outlined above.
- Additional fee distributed to the Alabama Veterans' Assistance Fund.

Legion of Valor

- ➤ Issued to any resident who is a member of the Legion of Valor (LOV) with positive proof of membership and the award of the Medal of Honor, Purple Heart, Army Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross, or Air Force Cross.
- ➤ The first plate is a permanent license plate.
- First plate is exempt from the registration fee and ad valorem tax.
- Additional plates can be purchased by paying regular registration fees and ad valorem taxes.

Motorcycle license plates

- ➤ Issued for each distinctive plate category in Chapter 6, Title 32 except Amateur Radio Operator plates.
- > Same plate design that is issued for private passenger automobiles, pickup trucks, and pleasure motor vehicles in each distinctive license plate category.
- The standard motorcycle registration fee applies, except that the same registration fee or ad valorem tax exemption, reduction, or additional fees that applies to private passenger automobiles, pickup trucks, and pleasure motor vehicles would also apply to motorcycle plates of the same design.
- Any distinctive license plate issued under Chapter 6, Title 32 may be personalized except:
 - > any firefighter category plate
 - rescue squad plates
 - > veterans plates and military plates unless otherwise authorized by law
 - > special access or disability access plates
 - > twenty-day temporary tags
 - ➤ Alabama State Defense Force plates
 - Amateur Radio Operator plates (32-6-70 and 32-6-90)
 - ➤ Alabama apportioned plates (IRP)
- An additional annual fee of \$50 will be collected for any personalized or distinctive license plate issued under Chapter 6, Title 32, except for the following:
 - ➤ Helping Schools plate
 - ➤ Retired Educators plate
 - > any firefighter category plate
 - rescue squad plates
 - > veterans plates and military plates unless otherwise authorized by law
 - > special access or disability access plates

License Plate Issuing Officials/Law Enforcement County Programmers/System Vendors Page 3 December 4, 2015

- twenty-day temporary tags
- ➤ Alabama State Defense Force plates
- ➤ Amateur Radio Operator plates (32-6-70 and 32-6-90)
- ➤ Alabama apportioned plates (IRP)
- An annual additional fee of \$0.25 is added to the cost for all firefighter plate
 categories (Professional Firefighter, Retired Professional Firefighter, and Firefighter).
 The additional fee is distributed to a fund managed by the Alabama Joint Fire Council
 and is to be used for expanding and maintaining the Alabama Firefighter Memorial
 located in Tuscaloosa.
- Retired professional firefighter definition is amended to include a retired professional firefighter who is a resident of this state and has retired from a professional fire department in another state and otherwise meets the requirements of Section 32-6-280.
- The Helping Schools distinctive plate annual additional fee increases from \$15 to \$20 annually.
- Changes to Alabama Gold Star Family plate
 - ➤ A member of the immediate family of a person who died while on active duty of any branch of the United States military may receive Alabama Gold Star Family distinctive plates.
 - For display on a private passenger automobile, pickup truck, or motorcycle.
 - First plate is exempt from the payment of registration fee, ad valorem tax, and additional fees.
 - Additional Alabama Gold Star Family plates may be purchased upon payment of regular registration fees, taxes, and an additional fee of \$3 in the year the metal plate is issued.

The registration record layout has been revised to include the changes reflected above and will be available from the Motor Vehicle Division website at

http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/index.html under 'Reference' then 'Registration File Information'. New and updated primary/secondary tag types are included under the tab labeled "valid tag types for 1/1/16". The revised registration record layout also includes the new data fields that should be submitted beginning January 1, 2016. These data fields are detailed under the tab labeled "file format". A tab has also been included for the county and city code fields, and the new autocycle body style (AU) has been added to the tab labeled "body style" (Memo 2015-22).

If you have questions regarding the change, please contact the Registration Unit at: tags@revenue.alabama.gov or (334)242-9006.