

State of Alabama Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov) 50 North Ripley Street Montgomery, Alabama 36132 MICHAEL E. MASON
Assistant Commissioner
JOE W. GARRETT, JR.
Deputy Commissioner
CURTIS E. STEWART
Deputy Commissioner
BRENDA R. COONE

June 29, 2016

MEMORANDUM

2016-12

TO: All License Plate Issuing Officials

FROM: Tammy Fuller, Revenue Manager

Motor Vehicle Division/Title Section

SUBJECT: Unclaimed/Abandoned Law Update

On Friday, July 1, 2016, the revised unclaimed and abandoned motor vehicle law will be in effect. The revised law requires a person or entity, including towing companies, in possession of an unclaimed or abandoned motor vehicle to utilize the Department's Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicle portal in order to sell an "abandoned" vehicle. The Unclaimed/Abandoned portal will be available on the Motor Vehicle webpage at https://unclaimed.mvtrip.alabama.gov.

The county licensing offices will continue to apply for certificates of title for abandoned motor vehicles on behalf of the vehicle owner using the following criteria:

- If the notice of the vehicle sale was posted prior to July 1, 2016, the motor vehicle may be sold under the previous abandoned motor vehicle law. Notice of possession and notice of sale publications must be provided with the abandoned motor vehicle bill of sale form. Abandoned motor vehicles sold under the previous law must be titled by the end of the 2016 calendar year. Beginning January 1, 2017, the purchaser will be required to obtain a title surety bond in order to title the vehicle.
- If the notice of the vehicle sale was posted on or after July 1, 2016, the reporting entity will be required to utilize the Department's Unclaimed/Abandoned Vehicle portal. The reporting entity will utilize the portal to report necessary information and generate a distinctive bill of sale (sample attached), which will be the only document needed by licensing officials in order to apply for certificate of title for the vehicle.

For more information regarding the unclaimed/abandoned vehicle requirements, please contact the Alabama Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division at: (334) 242-9007, or titles@revenue.alabama.gov

MVT 32-13B (7/1/16)

SABADA SESTI

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

Abandoned Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale

This form may only be used to transfer ownership of an abandoned motor vehicle sold pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 13, Code of Alabama 1975

VIN:3V\	WCM31Y94M336253	Year:	2004		
Make: Volks	wagen Model:	NEW BE	ETLE	Abandoned Date:	5/1/2016
Sale Date: 5/1/	/2016 Location of		OWING LANE GOMERY, AL	. 36117	
Dates on which the notice of sale was published as required by Section 32-13-4, Code of Alabama 1975: Name of Newspaper/Courthouse Posting: MONTGOMERY					
Date of 1st Publica	tion/Courthouse Posting:	4/1/2016	_(must at least	thirty (30) days prior	to date of sale)
Date of 2nd Publica	ation/Courthouse Posting:	4/9/2016	_(must be one	(1) week from date of	1st publication)
Notice of Terminati	on was sent to owner an	d/or lienholde	of record on t	he following date:	4/1/2016
	N NET PROCEEDS OF		ANDONED MO		\$5,000.00
2 Amount of Repa 3 Towing Expens 4 Storage Expens 5 Other	es			\$200.00 \$100.00 \$15.00 \$150.00	
6 Total Amount D 7 Net Sale Baland (This amount sh county general	Deducted from Sale Price on the Ce (line 1 minus line 6 – it is all be paid to the county fund and a copy of the research	if zero or less, licensing office	enter -0-) ial for deposit		\$465.00 \$4,535.00
Buyer's Signature	lame:TOMMY THOMAS				
Buyer's Address:	963 TAYLOR DRI' MONTGOMERY, A	VE			
motor vehicle in a The seller also he aware that a false	/ latter	ovisions of Tit bove informat is document, of Title and Ar	le 32, Chapter ion is true and with intent to	13, Code of Alab d correct and the se defraud, is a crimin	ama 1975. eller is nal offense