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Secretary of State Qualification 

 
The Department of Revenue administers a variety of taxes that affect companies based inside and outside 
of Alabama. Before transacting business in Alabama, a foreign corporation (corporation incorporated 
outside of Alabama) must qualify with the Alabama Secretary of State.  Foreign corporations must file an 
application with the Alabama Secretary of State along with a certified copy of the articles of incorporation 
and remit a $150 qualification fee. The application form is specific to the entity type and can be found by 
visiting the Secretary of State’s  website: https://www.sos.alabama.gov/business-entities/business-
downloads.  
 
In order to form a domestic corporation (a corporation incorporated within Alabama), the corporate name 
must first be reserved with the Alabama Secretary of State.  Subsequently, the articles of incorporation must 
be filed with the probate judge of the county in which the corporation has its initial registered office. The 
fees for filing articles of incorporation are: $100 for the Alabama Secretary of State and a minimum of $50 
for the probate judge (probate fee varies by county). 
 

Alabama Business Privilege Tax 
 
The business privilege tax applies to all corporations and limited liability entities, including disregarded 
entities that conduct business in Alabama or are organized under the laws of Alabama. The business 
privilege tax accrues as of January 1 of each taxable year and is due on the corresponding federal return 
due date, with the exception of financial institutions. In case of a taxpayer organized during the year, 
qualifying during the year, or doing business in Alabama for the first time, the tax accrues as of the date of 
organization, qualification, or the date they begin doing business in the state; and is due by the extended 
due date of the entity’s corresponding federal tax return.   
 
The business privilege tax base is the taxpayer’s net worth apportioned to Alabama. The tax rate for business 
privilege tax is graduated based on the entity’s federal taxable income apportioned to Alabama. The rates 
range from $0.25 to $1.75 for each $1,000 of the Alabama net worth. If the federal taxable income 
apportioned and allocated to Alabama is: 
 less than $1, the tax rate is $.25 per $1000 net worth;  
 greater than or equal to $1 but less than $200,000, the tax rate is $1;  
 greater than or equal to $200,000 but less than $500,000, the tax rate is $1.25;  
 greater than or equal to $500,000 but less than $2.5M, the tax rate is $1.50;  
 greater than or equal to $2.5M, the tax rate is $1.75.  

    
The minimum privilege tax imposed is $100; the maximum privilege tax is $15,000, except for financial 
institutions, financial institution groups, and insurance companies that have a maximum privilege tax 
liability of $3 million. An electing family limited liability entity is capped at $500. 
 

https://www.sos.alabama.gov/business-entities/business-downloads
https://www.sos.alabama.gov/business-entities/business-downloads
https://www.sos.alabama.gov/business-entities/business-downloads
https://www.sos.alabama.gov/business-entities/business-downloads
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Under certain conditions, an enterprise zone credit (Section 5) or exemption (Section 11) for business 
privilege tax is available to qualified participants.  Although this program applies to business privilege tax, 
the program is administered by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA).  
Therefore, ADECA determines whether a project meets the requirements for the program and then certifies 
the credit/exemption to the Alabama Department of Revenue. 
 

 
Sales and Use Tax 

 
Alabama sales tax is a privilege tax imposed on the retail sale (a sale made to the end-user) of all tangible 
personal property sold in Alabama by businesses located in Alabama. The consumers use tax is imposed 
on the out-of-state purchase of tangible personal property that is brought into Alabama for storage, use or 
consumption where the seller did not collect tax at the time of purchase. The consumer use tax rates are the 
same as the sales tax rates. There are four different state sales and use tax rates, which include:  
 1.5% for farm and manufacturing machinery. This rate also applies to the gross receipts from sales 

of machines, parts, and attachments for machines used in manufacturing, processing, compounding, 
mining, and quarrying tangible personal property. 

 2% for new and used automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semi-trailers, and manufactured homes.  
 3% for retail food for human consumption sold through vending machines.  
 4% for the gross proceeds of sales of all other tangible personal property, other than that listed 

previously and specifically exempted by law. 
 

In addition to the state sales and use tax, local sales taxes are also imposed, and these rates vary by 
locality. The average combined state and local general tax rate is approximately 8%; and the average 
combined state and local manufacturing machinery tax rate is approximately 2.75%. The applicable 
sales and use tax rate for each jurisdiction is provided on the Department’s website at 
https://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/.  
 
The State of Alabama administers over 200 different city and county sales taxes; however, not all city 
or county sales taxes are administered by the Department of Revenue. For localities that are not 
administered by the Department of Revenue, the administrator for the specific locality should be 
contacted to obtain the necessary filing requirements. The Department of Revenue offers an online 
system called the ONE SPOT (Optional Network Election for Single Point Online Transactions), which 
provides a single point of filing for all state and non-state administered local sales, use, rental, and 
lodgings taxes through My Alabama Taxes (MAT). Further information on ONE SPOT is available on 
our website at https://revenue.alabama.gov/tax-incentives/about/sales-use-tax/. 

 
Statutory Sales and Use Tax Abatements and Exemptions 

 
Alabama's sales and use tax statutes contain various items that afford Alabama a definite advantage over 
other states. These statutes allow exemptions for specific organizations and commodities (see §40-23 et 
seq, Code of Alabama 1975). Some of the more common items that are exempt include: gasoline, 
lubricating oil, fertilizer and insecticides, feed for livestock, wholesale sales, and sales to governmental 
entities. Additionally, the sales and use tax abatements and other exemptions are statutorily available as 
listed in the following paragraphs. 
 
 
 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/tax-incentives/about/sales-use-tax/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/tax-incentives/about/sales-use-tax/
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Section 40-9B Abatements. Section 40-9B, et seq Code of Alabama 1975 provides that qualifying 
industries may receive an abatement on all state and the local non-educational portion of construction 
related transaction (sales and use) taxes associated with constructing and equipping a project. For state 
purposes, the general state sales tax rate of 4% and the state manufacturing machinery and equipment tax 
rate of 1.5% can be abated for qualifying industries.  
 
Business Activity Requirement (Statutory) 
→ Any trade or business in the 2012 North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS), 

promulgated by the Executive Office of the President of the United States, Office of Management and 
Budget as: 
 Sectors 31 (except National Industry 311811), 32, and 33 (manufacturing), 
 55 (Management of companies (if not for the production of electricity)),  
 Subsector 423 and 424 (merchant wholesalers, goods),  
 482 (rail transportation),  
 493 (warehousing and storage),  
 511 (publishing industries),  
 517 (telecommunications), 
 518 (data processing, hosting, and related services), 
 927 (space research and technology),  
 Industry Group 1133 (logging), 
 2121 (coal mining), 
 4862 (pipeline transportation of natural gas),  
 4882 (rail transport support activities),  
 4883 (Port authority water transportation support activities (other than 48833)),  
 5121 (motion picture and video industries (other than 51213)),  
 5415 (computer systems design and related services),  
 5417 (scientific research and development services), 
 Industry 22111 (electric power generation),  
 48691 (pipeline transportation of refined petroleum products), 
 48699 (all other pipeline transportation),  
 48819 (air transportation support activities),  
 51221 (record productions),  
 51913 (internet publishing, broadcasting, web search portals),  
 52232 (financial transactions processing, reserve and clearinghouse activities),  
 54133 (engineering services),  
 54134 (drafting services),  
 54138 (testing laboratories), 
 56291 (remediation services),  
 56292 (materials recovery facilities),  
 92811 (national security),  
 National Industry 115111 (cotton ginning), 
 221330 (steam and air conditioning supply),  
 541614 (process, physical distribution, logistics consulting services),  
 561422 (in bound call centers only),  
 562213 (solid waste combustors and incinerators),  
 611512 (flight training facilities), or 

→ Headquarters facilities as defined in NAICS 551114 (where at least 50 new jobs are created); 
→ Data processing centers (where at least 20 new jobs making at least $40,000 are created); 
→ Renewable energy facilities (includes solar projects);  
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→ Research & development facilities;  
→ Tourist destination attractions; 
→ Projects owned by utilities that produce electricity from alternative energy resources; 
→ Projects owned by utilities that produce electricity from hydropower production; 
→ Subsector 493 (Warehousing and Storage), Industry Number 488310 (Port and Harbor Operations), or 

Industry Number 488320 (Marine Cargo Handling), when such trade or business is conducted on 
premises in which the Alabama State Port Authority has an ownership and are used as part of the 
operations of the Alabama State Port Authority;  

→ Technology companies; 
→ Agricultural centers; and 
→ A target of the state’s economic development efforts pursuant to either of the following:  
 The accelerate Alabama Strategic Economic Development Plan adopted in January 2012 by the 

Alabama Economic Development Alliance, created by Executive Order Number 21 of the 
Governor on July 18, 2011, which identifies 11 targeted business sectors:  

- Advanced Manufacturing in aerospace/aviation, automotive, agricultural products/food 
production, metal and advanced metals, chemicals, and forestry products. 

- Bioscience 
- Foundational targets in corporate operations, cybersecurity, data centers, 

distributions/logistics, information technology, and research & development.  
- Alabama Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (ALEPSCoR) State 

Science and Technology (S&T) Roadmap; or 
- The type listed in a regulation adopted by the Department of Commerce. 

 
Job Creation Requirement 
There are no minimum employment and/or wage requirements for a new or major addition project with the 
exception of headquarters facilities and data processing centers: 
 Headquarters facilities (NAICS 551114) must create at least 50 new jobs. 
 Data processing centers must create at least 20 jobs with the average annual total compensation of 

no less than $40,000, including benefits. 
 

Capital Investment Requirement 
 
→ New Project 
There is no capital investment threshold or limiting investment amount for a new abatement project  
 
→ Major Addition 
The additional capital investment by an industry that is expanding their current facilities in Alabama 
must equal the lesser of:  
 30% of the original cost of the currently existing industrial property (sum total of the original 

facilities and equipment or any expansions or additions prior to the current addition); or 
 $2,000,000. 
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Please note that the local granting authority must grant the abatement for the qualifying project before an 
abatement is effective. Therefore, any purchases made prior to the granting of the abatement are ineligible 
for the sales and use tax abatement. Further, the abatement of sales and use taxes are only applicable to 
taxes that are within the jurisdiction of the granting authority. Thus, the purchases must be delivered or 
taken title to at the project site (or within the jurisdiction of the granting authority).  The abatement for the 
state and local non-educational sales and use taxes end once a project is placed in service, with the 
exception of the data processing centers.   
 
→ Data processing center projects are eligible for the abatement of all state and local non-educational 

sales and use taxes associated with constructing and equipping a project for an extended time period 
contingent upon the total capital investment in the project. For these projects, the maximum abatement 
period is: 

 
 10 years for projects that invest up to $200M within 10 years from the commencement of the 

project. 
 20 years for projects that invest over $200M but less than $400M within 10 years from the 

commencement of the project. 
 30 years for projects that invest over $200M within 10 years from the commencement of the project 

and exceed $400M within 20 years from the commencement of the project. 
 
Section 40-9G Sales Tax Abatements. Section 40-9G, et seq Code of Alabama 1975 allows certain 
reinvestment projects to qualify for sales and use abatements. Section 40-9G abatements are subject to and 
follow the same procedures, provisions, limitations, and definitions under §40-9B and include the same 
granting authority authorized to grant abatements under §40-9B-5(b)(1) with an exception - capitalized 
repairs, rebuilds, maintenance, and replacement equipment qualify for Chapter 9G abatements if the 
property is acquired as part of an expansion to an existing facility that qualifies as a “qualifying project” 
under §40-9G-1(4).  A “qualifying project” is any project that: 

 Spends at least $2M in capital expenditures as part of any addition, expansion, improvement, 
renovation, re-opening, or rehabilitation of a facility, or replacement of any existing equipment or 
tangible personal property;  

 Predominately involves an approved activity defined in §40-9G-1(1); and  
 For which no project agreement has been entered into with the Governor for the provision of other 

incentives. 
Section 40-9G business activities mirror §40-9B activities except for data processing centers and certain 
facility projects, which do not qualify. 
 
Section 40-9G Utility Tax Rebate.  For qualifying projects defined in §40-9G, et seq Code of Alabama 
1975 and recommended by the Department of Commerce and approved by the Governor, a refund of utility 
taxes may be allowed for up to 10 years. The amount of the refund would be equal to the utility taxes paid, 
minus the utility taxes paid on average during the three tax years immediately preceding the qualifying 
project.  
 
Enterprise Zone Exemption.  Under certain conditions, an enterprise zone exemption for sales and use 
tax is available for qualified participants. Although this program applies to sales and use tax, the program 
is administered by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA). Therefore, 
ADECA determines whether the project meets the requirements for the program and then certifies the 
exemptions to the Alabama Department of Revenue.   
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Raw Materials Exemption.  Raw materials purchased by manufacturers or compounders for use as an 
ingredient or component part of their manufactured or compounded product are specifically exempt from 
sales and use tax.  Alabama Department of Revenue Regulations 810-6-1-.137 and 810-6-1-.80 address the 
raw materials exemption. 
 
Exemption of Certain Aircraft Maintenance Parts.  All parts, components, and systems that become a 
part of a fixed or rotary wing military aircraft or certified transport category aircraft which undergoes 
conversion, reconfiguration, or general maintenance (as long as the aircraft’s FAA registration is out of 
state) are exempt from state sales and use tax. The local sales and use tax cannot be exempted unless 
specifically exempted by the local law or by joint resolution of the local governing body.   
 
Pollution Control Equipment Exemption.  All equipment or materials purchased primarily for the control, 
reduction or elimination of air or water pollution are exempt from state sales and use tax. Sections 40-23-
4(a)(16) and40-23-62(18), Code of Alabama 1975 address the pollution control exemptions. 

 
Utility Gross Receipts Tax Exemptions. Sewer costs as well as water used in industrial manufacturing in 
which 50% or more is used in industrial processing are exempt from the utility gross receipts tax.  
Additionally, Alabama law allows exclusions from the utility gross receipts tax and the utility service use 
tax for utility services used in certain types of manufacturing and compounding processes. Sections 40-21-
83 and 40-21-103, Code of Alabama 1975 allow exemptions for: 
 The furnishing of electricity to a manufacturer or compounder for use in an electrolytic or 

electrothermal manufacturing or compounding process; 
 Natural gas which becomes a component of tangible personal property manufactured or 

compounded (but not used as fuel or energy); and  
 Natural gas used by a manufacturer or compounder to chemically convert raw materials prior to 

the use of such converted raw materials in an electrolytic or electrothermal manufacturing or 
compounding process. 
 

Property Tax 
 

All real and personal property is subject to property tax unless specifically exempted by law. The Alabama 
Constitution contains various property tax provisions that may be considered as industrial incentives. For 
example, §214 of the Alabama Constitution limits the state millage rate on both real and personal property 
to 6.5 mills. This rate is equivalent to a tax of $6.50 for every $1,000 of assessed value. However, both 
counties and cities may levy millage rates in addition to the state's 6.5 mills. These local rates vary, but the 
average state millage rate for any one locality is 43 mills, including the state's 6.5 mills. The average tax on 
Class II property with a market value of $1,000,000 would be $8,600 ($1,000,000*20%*.043). 
 
Property tax is assessed to the owner of real and personal property having situs in Alabama. All property 
must be reported each year between October 1 and December 31 with the county tax assessing official of 
the county in which the property is located. The appraisal of real and personal property is based on a fair 
and reasonable market value. 
→ Property is assessed in one of the following four classes and assessment ratios:   

 Class I - property of utilities used in the business of such utilities, 30%;  
 Class II - property not otherwise classified (this includes business property), 20%;  
 Class III - agricultural, forest, and residential property and historic buildings and sites, 

10%; and  
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 Class IV - private passenger automobiles and motor trucks commonly known as "pickups" 
owned and operated by an individual for personal or private use and not for hire, rent, or 
compensation, 15%.   

 
Personal property depreciation is estimated by the use of a remaining value of percent good and is derived 
from a composite factor.  Personal property tax is calculated as follows:   
 

Market value (original cost * composite factor) * 20% * millage rate 
 
The economic life for manufacturing equipment depends on the business activity (8 to 25-year life), except 
for tools, dies, jigs, and molds which have a three-year economic life. Office furniture and equipment have 
a 10-year economic life, except for computers which have three-year economic life. The composite factor 
and economic life determinations can be viewed on the Alabama Department of Revenue’s website under 
the Property Tax Division section. 
 
In Alabama, real property is assessed at its fair and reasonable market value as of each October 1.  The 
initial appraisal of taxable property is calculated using the cost approach.  Under this approach, the market 
value of land is determined, then the replacement cost new of any improvements are added, less any accrued 
depreciation. The Alabama Appraisal Manual is used by counties to calculate the value of real property 
improvements. Depreciation guides are provided in the manual, which aide the appraiser in estimating 
physical depreciation. 
 
Although the Department of Revenue oversees the administration of property taxes, the county tax assessing 
and collecting officials are responsible for assessing property and collecting the property tax. Property taxes 
are paid annually to county tax collecting officials between October 1 and December 31, following the 
assessment. 

 
Statutory Property Tax Abatements and Exemptions 

 
Inventory Exemptions. Unlike some other states, Alabama does not levy a property tax on inventory of 
goods, wares, and merchandise that are offered for sale. However, inventory that is used for lease or rental 
purposes is subject to the property tax. Materials that are to be compounded or manufactured and are stocked 
at plants or furnaces for manufacturing purposes are also exempt from property tax.   

 
Pollution Control Equipment Exemption.  All equipment, facilities or materials constructed or acquired 
primarily for the control, reduction or elimination of air or water pollution are exempt from property tax.  
Section 40-9-1(20), Code of Alabama 1975 addresses the pollution control exemption. 

 
Section 40-9B Abatements.  Section 40-9B, et seq Code of Alabama 1975 provides for the abatement of 
certain property taxes to qualifying industries. All of the non-educational state and local portions of property 
tax can be abated for projects if the proper procedures are followed. Under §40-9B, except for data 
processing center projects, all of the non-educational state and local portions of property tax can be abated 
for a maximum of 20 years. Projects that are granted property tax abatements for up to 10 years are granted 
by the city, county or public authority (jurisdictional). Property tax abatement must be granted by the 
respective granting authority prior to placing the project in service. No additional property (real or personal) 
is eligible for abatement once the project is placed in service, except for data processing centers, or if a 
“major addition” is made. Please see the extended abatement periods for data processing centers below. 
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Projects that are granted property tax abatements for over 10 years are granted by the local granting 
authority (city, county, public authority) for the first 10 years, and by the appropriate granting authority for 
years 11 through 20 as follows: 

 county non-educational property taxes may be abated only with the consent by resolution of 
the governing body of the county; 

 municipal non-educational property taxes may be abated only with the consent by resolution 
of the governing body of the municipality; and  

 state non-educational property taxes may be abated only with the consent of the Governor.  
 
The governing body of a county or a municipality may separately authorize one or more public industrial 
authorities for such consent on its behalf by passing of a resolution. The abatements granted can be 
incorporated into one agreement.   
 
The abatement period for data processing centers can be extended contingent upon the total capital 
investment in the project: 
 The maximum abatement period is 10 years from and after the date the private use property 

becomes owned for federal income tax purposes for projects that invest at least $200M within 10 
years from the commencement of the project. 

 The maximum abatement period is 20 years from and after the date the private use property 
becomes owned for federal income tax purposes for projects that invest over $200M but less than 
$400M within 10 years from the commencement of the project.  

 The maximum abatement period is 30 years from and after the date the private use property 
becomes owned for federal income tax purposes for projects that invest over $200M within 10 
years from the commencement of the project and exceed $400M within 20 years from the 
commencement of the project. 

 
Statutory requirement(s):  Section 40-9B property tax abatements have the same statutory business activity 
requirements, job creation requirements and capital investment requirements as §40-9B sales and use tax 
abatements.  Please see statutory requirements for §40-9B sales and use tax abatements for details.    
 
Section 40-9G Property Tax Abatements. Section 40-9G, et seq Code of Alabama 1975 allows certain 
reinvestment projects to qualify for property tax abatements on replacement equipment and property 
purchased for capitalized repairs, rebuilds, renovations, and maintenance if the property is acquired as part 
of an expansion to an existing facility that qualifies as a “qualifying project” under §40-9G-1(4).  A 
“qualifying project” is any project that: 
 Spends at least $2M in capital expenditures as part of any addition, expansion, improvement, 

renovation, re-opening, or rehabilitation of a facility, or replacement of any existing equipment or 
tangible personal property;  

 Predominately involves an approved activity defined in §40-9G-1(1); and  
 For which no project agreement has been entered into with the Governor for the provision of other 

incentives. 
 
Section 40-9G business activities mirror the §40-9B activities with the exception of data processing centers 
and certain facility projects, which do not qualify. All of the state and local portion of the property tax not 
earmarked for education on the real and personal property incorporated into a qualifying capitalized 
reinvestment project can be abated for up to 20 years. The §40-9G property tax abatements are subject to 
and follow the same procedures, provisions, limitations, and definitions under §40-9B with the exceptions 
below: 
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 The amount of the property tax abatement equals the excess amount of property taxes owed for the 
applicable tax year that exceeds the amount of property taxes owed for the tax year immediately 
before the qualifying project was placed in service, and  

 Regardless of the length of the abatement, the abatement may be granted as follows:  
 County non-educational property taxes may be abated only with the consent by resolution 

of the governing body of the county;  
 Municipal non-educational property taxes may be abated only with the consent by 

resolution of the governing body of the municipality; and  
 State non-educational property taxes may be abated only with the consent of the Governor. 

 
The governing body of a county or a municipality may separately authorize one or more public industrial 
authorities for such consent on its behalf by passing of a resolution. The abatements granted can be 
incorporated into one agreement.   
 
 

Corporate Income Tax 
 

Corporations remit the Alabama income tax based on their net taxable income derived from conducting 
business within the state. The amount of net income apportioned to Alabama is determined by applying a 
four-factor formula of property, payroll, and double-weighted sales to arrive at the total net income. The 
rate of state corporate income tax is 6.5% (individuals are taxed at a rate of 5%). Corporations anticipating 
a tax liability of $500 or more in a tax year must file and remit estimated tax on a quarterly basis.   

 
There are various credits and deductions that are statutorily available for Alabama corporate taxpayers.  The 
taxpayers may participate in any or all of the statutory tax credits if the proper requirements are met. Please 
see the following paragraphs regarding the deductions and credits available to businesses in Alabama. 
 

Income Tax Credits and Deductions 
 

Federal Income Tax Deduction. The computation of Alabama corporate income tax begins with the federal 
taxable income. Alabama allows various adjustments to federal taxable income to arrive at the Alabama 
taxable income - one of which is a 100% deduction for federal income taxes (FIT) paid or accrued that is 
apportioned to Alabama - resulting in a lower net effective income tax rate. The FIT deduction is a 
constitutional deduction under the Amendment 212 of the Constitution of Alabama.  

 
Net Operating Loss Carryforward. Corporate income tax law provides for a fifteen-year carryforward of 
net operating losses. In computing net income, a corporation is allowed a deduction for the sum of the net 
operating losses which are carried forward. Each net operating loss may be carried forward and deducted 
only during the fifteen consecutive year period immediately following the year in which the loss arose. 
 
Investment Credit. A discretionary tax credit of up to 1.5% of qualified capital investment for a qualified 
project for a period of up to 10 years. For qualifying investments in a targeted or a jumpstart county, the 
incentive period is available for up to 15 years. The credit can be taken against the Alabama income tax 
liability, financial institution excise tax liability, and/or utility taxes paid. The credit has a five-year carry 
forward. At the discretion of the Department of Commerce and the Governor, a three-year transferability 
provision is available if such provision is expressly stated in the Project Agreement. The total amount of 
the tax credit is at the discretion of the Alabama Department of Commerce and the project must enter into 
a Project Agreement with the State. Please contact the Department of Commerce for further details. 
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Port Credit. A discretionary income tax credit is provided for businesses that utilize Alabama’s port 
facilities. Only taxpayers that have been approved by the Alabama Department of Commerce are eligible 
to claim the credit. The credit can be applied against an approved company’s Alabama income tax liability 
for the tax year containing the last day of the port credit incentive period. The credit is not refundable or 
transferable, but any unused credit may be carried forward for 5 years. Please contact the Department of 
Commerce for further details. 
 
Apprenticeship Credit.  A tax credit in the amount of up to $1,250 per qualified apprentice is available to 
employees who employ a qualified apprentice for at least 7 full months of the taxable year. Companies that 
employ a qualifying apprentice under the age of 18 may qualify for an additional $500 credit.  An employer 
can qualify for up to 10 apprentices annually. The credit is nonrefundable, nontransferable, and cannot be 
carried forward. The apprenticeship credit is administered by the AIDT under the Department of Commerce. 
Please contact the Alabama Office of Apprenticeship for further details. 
 

 
Veteran’s Employment Act – Employer Credit.  For tax years beginning January 1, 2018, employers 
meeting the requirements for the Alabama Small Business and Agribusiness Jobs Act Credit or the Full 
Employment Act of 2011 are eligible for a $2,000 nonrefundable income tax or financial institution excise 
(state-portion) tax credit for each job created if certain employee qualifications are met. To be qualified for 
the credit, the employee must be an unemployed or a combat veteran hired for a full-time position paying 
at least $14 per hour after March 12, 2018.  Additionally, any recently deployed, unemployed veteran who 
holds at least 50% ownership interest in a start-up business is eligible for up to a one-time $2,000 
nonrefundable tax credit for expenses related with the start-up.  
 
Enterprise Zone Credit/Exemption. Under certain conditions, an enterprise zone credit (Section 5) or 
exemption (Section 11) for income tax is available to qualified participants. Although this program applies 
to income tax, the program is administered by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community 
Affairs (ADECA). Therefore, ADECA determines whether a project meets the requirements for the program 
and then certifies the credit/exemption to the Alabama Department of Revenue.  
 
Growing Alabama Credit. Provides a tax credit to corporations and individuals that make cash 
contributions to state and local Economic Development Organizations (EDOs) for qualifying projects that 
stimulate economic growth in certain qualifying industries. The donors receive an income tax credit equal 
to their contribution and may offset up to 50% of their state income tax liability. The contributions must be 
reserved for a qualifying EDO project, and such reservations are allowed only when an available project 
has been approved by the Alabama Renewal Commission, and when the Growing Alabama Funding 
Agreement has been executed. The Growing Alabama Credit does not flow through to the owners of pass-
through entities and is non-transferable.  This credit may be carried forward for up to five years.   
 
Opportunity Zones Investment Incentives. The Alabama Incentives and Modernization Act (Act 2019-
392) provides Alabama taxpayers the same tax benefits available under federal law when they invest in an 
approved opportunity fund for qualified projects in low income areas in Alabama that are designated as 
“Opportunity Zones” (OZ). Under this Act, the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs 
(ADECA) is authorized to enter into project agreements with the “approved” opportunity funds to invest 
the state funds into the OZ projects. In addition to providing for investments, the project agreements may 
provide the funds’ investors with a tax credit, the ‘impact investment credit’, against state income taxes or 
financial institution excise taxes if the investment does not meet an agreed-upon rate of return. The total 
tax credits allocated to “approved” OZ funds cannot exceed $50 million and will not be available for 
projects if an approved fund has committed to invest in the project prior to August 5, 2019. The state 
investments will be available until December 31, 2024. Please contact ADECA for further details. 

http://arc-sos.state.al.us/PAC/SOSACPDF.001/A0013312.PDF
http://arc-sos.state.al.us/PAC/SOSACPDF.001/A0013312.PDF
http://arc-sos.state.al.us/PAC/SOSACPDF.001/A0013312.PDF
http://arc-sos.state.al.us/PAC/SOSACPDF.001/A0013312.PDF
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The tax credits listed above do not reflect all available tax credits for Alabama taxpayers. For more 
information on all available income tax credits, please see the Department of Revenue’s tax incentive 
website at https://revenue.alabama.gov/tax-incentives/about/income-tax-incentives/. 
 
 

Other State Tax Incentives 
 
Jobs Act Incentives. A discretionary credit with an annual cash refunds up to 3% of the previous year’s 
gross payroll for up to 10 years. For companies employing at least 12% veterans, up to an additional 0.5% 
credit is available for the wages of veterans. Additionally, up to an additional 1% of the credit is available 
for companies in targeted counties. The total amount of the tax credit granted at the discretion of the 
Alabama Department of Commerce and the project must enter into a State Project Agreement. Please 
contact the Department of Commerce for further details. 
 
 

Miscellaneous Licenses and Taxes 
 
It is important to note that certain businesses are required to obtain a business privilege license. Please visit 
our webpage at https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/ to view the Quick 
Reference Guide and a list of various licenses identified by code section. You can also check with the 
appropriate board for licensing requirements by visiting http://inform.alabama.gov/agencysearch.aspx/. 
Additionally, the state does not administer any local occupational taxes; such taxes are administered at the 
local level. Also, the type of license required and the fee for the license are determined at the local level. To 
ensure compliance with local registration and filing requirements, please contact the appropriate local 
county probate offices. For more information, please visit https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-
license/business-licensing/. 
 
Municipal Business License Abatement. Section 11-51-189 Code of Alabama 1975 allows the governing 
body of a municipality to abate all or a portion of the business license tax for up to three license years if the 
taxpayer complies with the criteria for abatement of sales or use taxes according to §40-9B, et seq Code of 
Alabama 1975. 
 

Contact 
 
If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact the Alabama Department of 
Revenue Office of Economic Development at (334) 242-1175. 

https://revenue.alabama.gov/tax-incentives/about/income-tax-incentives/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/
http://inform.alabama.gov/agencysearch.aspx/
http://inform.alabama.gov/agencysearch.aspx/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/

