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Reminder:  First Corporate Estimated Tax Payments
at New Rate due April 16, 2001

Montgomery—The Alabama Department of Revenue reminds corporate

taxpayers that April 16 marks the filing deadline date for the first estimated income tax

payment set at the new 6.5 percent corporate income tax rate.

Alabama voters approved the 1.5 percent corporate rate increase in a statewide

referendum, held March  21, 2000.  The new rate applies to all corporate tax years

beginning after December 31, 2000.

Corporations pay estimated tax if their Alabama income tax is expected to be

greater than $5,000 annually.  The tax is paid in four installments by the 15th day of the

fourth, sixth, ninth, and 12th months of the corporation’s tax year—unless the 15th day

falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday.  If this occurs, then the reporting deadline date is

moved to the next business day.  As a result, April 16, 2001, marks the first reporting and

payment date for 2001 calendar-year corporate taxpayers.

Alabama imposes a penalty for failure to make estimated payments where 90

percent of the corporation’s tax liability exceeds the estimated tax.  The penalty is the

lessor of (1) six percent of the difference between the tax liability reported on the return

and any estimated tax paid, or (2) 90 percent of the tax liability reported on the return less

any estimated payments made.  This penalty is avoided when the corporate taxpayer

makes estimated payments during the current year equal to the prior year’s tax liability as

shown on the return filed.

—MORE—



Reminder:  Estimated Tax Payments
Add One
April 6, 2001

Reminder:  Individual Estimated Payments, First Installment
due April 16

“April 16 will close out the 2000 tax year for individual filers marking the filing

deadline date of Alabama’s annual individual income tax return,” said State Revenue

Commissioner Michael L. Patterson.  “As always, we encourage individuals to begin

their tax planning and preparation for the next year as soon as possible.  One of the best

pieces of advice we offer to taxpayers is to practice good recordkeeping.  We encourage

taxpayers to keep all receipts, cancelled checks, and other related documents that

substantiate the deductions claimed on annual individual income tax returns as they are

subject to review by the department.  Good recordkeeping practices started early in the

year will help make next year’s filing easier,” said Patterson.

April 16 also marks another important date on the tax calendar for

individuals—the start of the 2001 tax-filing period for individuals who are required to file

quarterly estimated income tax reports and payments.

Self-employed individuals are required to report and pay estimated income tax on

a quarterly basis, based on the current maximum individual rate of five percent.  In

addition, individuals who receive taxable income from income sources other than one’s

wages or salary on which no tax has been withheld are also required to report and pay

estimated tax on a quarterly basis, if the taxable income received exceeds certain

amounts.  For individuals filing single, the filing threshold is set at $1,875 annually; for

married filing jointly or head of family filing status, the threshold is set at $3,750

annually.  Examples of such taxable income would include interest income or capital

gains distributions.  The reporting and payment dates for individuals are April 15, June

15, Sept. 15, and Jan. 15 of the following year.  As a result of April 15 falling on a

weekend day, the deadline date for this reporting period (January, February, March 2001)
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is moved to next business day, April 16, 2001.  The final return and installment payment

for estimated tax is made on January 15, 2002, for the 2001 tax year.

Penalties for failure to report and pay estimated tax include a delinquent penalty

of 10% of any additional taxes required to be paid or $50, whichever is greater, and a 6%

underestimation penalty.

For more information concerning an individual’s estimated income tax filing and

reporting responsibilities, contact the Alabama Department of Revenue, Individual and

Corporate Tax Division at (334) 242-1000; corporations contact (334) 242-1200.

Taxpayers having Internet access may download estimated income tax forms and

instructions from the department’s Web site at www.ador.state.al.us.

-30-

_______________________________________________________________

Media contact for more information:

ADOR Media Affairs Office:  Carla A. Snellgrove or Carolyn Blackstock:
(334) 242-1390; FAX:  (334) 242-0550
www.ador.state.al.us


