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October Marks License Renewal for Scrap Tire Handlers:
Changes in Delinquent Penalty Amounts—$500 Penalty Refund

Deadline, Nov. 27

MONTGOMERY—The month of October marks the annual license renewal

period for scrap tire handlers, and this license year brings some important changes for

license holders, according to the Alabama Department of Revenue.

Act 2001-976, passed during the recent Third Special Session of the Alabama

Legislature, amends portions of the 1999 scrap tire handlers’ licensing law, relating to

certain penalty provisions and licensing requirements.  Act 2001-976 also establishes a

60-day refund period for license holders to apply for refunds of any $500 delinquent

penalties paid under previous license years.

The scrap tire handlers’ licensing requirement includes a variety of business

operations such as retail tire dealerships, service stations, garages, scrap tire collection

facilities, landfills which accept scrap tires, tire recycling facilities, fleet vehicle

operators/fleet tire receivers, and anyone involved in the business of transporting scrap

tires for delivery to a collection or landfill facility.

The scrap tire handlers’ license is issued at the county level, usually by the

probate judge or county license commissioner.  In addition to licensing requirements,

certain scrap tire handlers are required to meet bonding requirements.  Proof of the

bond is required when applying for the license.
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The license expires September 30 of each year and must be renewed before

November 1 each year.  After Oct. 31, 2001, anyone purchasing a scrap tire handlers’

license is subject to a delinquent penalty.

Individuals or businesses failing to purchase a license before November 1 will be

subject to a $25 delinquent penalty if the license is purchased within 35 calendar days

or less following the October 31 deadline.  After 35 days, the delinquent penalty is

increased to $150 for failure to purchase a license.  Note that the graduated $25 and

$150 delinquent penalties replaced the previous $500 delinquent penalty, effective

Sept. 28, 2001.

Act 2001-976, which lowered the $500 delinquent penalty amount, also provides

for refunds of the previous $500 delinquent penalty and sets a timeframe in which to

apply for the refund.  Individuals or businesses that paid the previous $500

delinquent penalty will be reimbursed if they request the refund by Nov. 27, 2001.

In early October, the Alabama Department of Revenue mailed notices to all known

license holders who paid the $500 delinquent penalty and informed them of refund

procedures.

Anyone who paid the $500 penalty but did not receive the $500 refund

penalty notice from the department should immediately contact the Alabama

Department of Revenue, Sales, Use and Business Tax Division at P.O. Box

327550, Montgomery, AL  36132-7550, or telephone (334) 353-7827.  After Nov. 27,

2001, refund applications cannot be accepted.

Other important provisions of Act 2001-976 include:

•  Reducing the cost of additional transporter decals for each vehicle from $15

to $1.50.  The cost of the decal for the first vehicle remains at $37.50.

•  Requiring only one license fee for each business location.  If a business

operates as a receiver and a transporter from the same location, only one

$37.50 license fee is charged.  The license, however, must reflect that the

business operates as both a receiver and a transporter of scrap tires.
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•  No longer requiring transporters of scrap tires to provide certain vehicle

information cited under Section 22-40-2(g)(6), as that particular section of the

scrap tire handlers’ law has been repealed.

•  Designating the Alabama Department of Public Health to determine bonding

requirements for all scrap tire transporters and collection facilities, specifying

the minimum bonding amount to equal at least $10,000.

For more information concerning license renewal procedures, business owners

should contact the appropriate county license-issuing authority, who is usually the

probate judge or license commissioner of the county where the business activity is

conducted, or contact the Alabama Department of Revenue, Sales, Use and Business

Tax Division at (334) 353-7827.   License information may also be obtained from the

department’s Web site at www.ador.state.al.us.
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