

State of Alabama Department of Revenue

(www.revenue.alabama.gov) 50 North Ripley Street Montgomery, Alabama 36132

CYNTHIA UNDERWOOD
Assistant Commissioner
LEWIS A. EASTERLY
Secretary

NOTICE

TO: ALL TOBACCO DISTRIBUTORS & TOBACCO MANUFACTURERS

DATE: August 21, 2009

SUBJECT: Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity Standards & Firefighter Protection

Act

On May 21, 2009, Governor Bob Riley signed into law Act 2009-630 which becomes effective January 1, 2010. The Act requires the State Fire Marshal to be responsible for ensuring that all cigarettes sold in Alabama by cigarette manufacturers meet the reduced cigarette ignition propensity standards.

The Act states that no cigarettes may be sold or offered for sale in the state or to individuals in the state unless the cigarettes have been tested in accordance with the test method and meet the performance standard specified. Also, a written certification must be filed by the manufacturer with the State Fire Marshal and the cigarettes marked as being Fire Standards Compliant.

Wholesale dealers, agents and retail dealers must allow the State Fire Marshal, Department of Revenue, Attorney General and their employees to inspect cigarette packaging. A manufacturer, wholesale dealer, agent or any person who knowingly sells or offers to sell cigarettes, other than through retail sale that are not fire safe shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed \$100 for each pack of cigarettes sold not to exceed \$100,000 during any 30-day period.

A retail dealer who knowingly sells or offers to sell cigarettes that are not fire safe shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed \$100 for each pack of cigarettes sold not to exceed \$25,000 during any 30-day period.

Cigarettes that are not labeled as being Fire Standard Compliant will be seized and destroyed.

Questions concerning this notice should be directed to the below address or telephone number. Questions concerning Fire Standard Compliant Cigarettes must be directed to the State Fire Marshal at (334) 241-4166.

Alabama Department of Revenue Sales, Use and Business Tax Division Tobacco Tax Section P O Box 327555 Montgomery, AL 36132-7555 (334) 242-9627