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Income Tax Credits Available to 
Small Businesses for Creating Jobs 

 
 
Full Employment Act of 2011 Credit 
Sections 40-18-290 through 40-18-293, Code of Alabama 1975, allows small businesses, which employ 50 or fewer 
employees and create new jobs paying more than ten dollars ($10) per hour, to qualify for an income tax credit. 
Employers will receive an income tax credit equal to $1,000 and shall be available in the tax year during which the 
employee has completed 12 months of consecutive employment. The employer must have a net increase in the total 
number of full time employees in Alabama on the last date of each tax year during which employees are hired for 
which the employer claims a credit, over the number employed in Alabama as of the last day of the tax year 
immediately preceding the first employment year. The income tax credit may be claimed for employees who are 
hired following June 9, 2011. This tax credit shall not exceed the amount of the taxpayer’s state tax liability for 
which the credit is claimed. This credit is not refundable or transferable. An Employer is not allowed to receive 
both a credit under this provision and a credit provided under the Full Employment Act of 2011.   
 
Alabama Small Business and Agribusiness Jobs Act Credit 
Section 40-18-390 through Section 40-18-394, Code of Alabama 1975, allows small businesses, which employ 75 
or fewer employees and creates new jobs paying more than $40,000 annually, to qualify for an income tax 
credit.  Employers will receive an income tax credit equal to $1,500 and shall be available in the tax year during 
which the employee has completed 12 months of consecutive employment.  The employer must have a net increase 
in the total number of full time employees residing in Alabama on the last date of each tax year during which 
employees are hired for which the employer claims a credit, over the number employed in Alabama on July 24, 
2016. This tax credit is not transferable and shall not exceed the amount of the taxpayer’s state tax liability for 
which the credit is claimed. Any unused credit can be carried forward three years.  
 
Veteran’s Employment Act Employer Credit 
Sections 40-18-321 and 40-18-322, Code of Alabama 1975, allows a $1,000 income tax credit to qualifying 
businesses for each unemployed veteran or combat veteran hired for a full-time position. The full-time position 
must pay at least $14 per hour and the majority of duties must be at a business location within Alabama. The credit 
will only be available in the tax year during which the newly hired employee completes 12 consecutive months of 
employment.  
 
Veteran’s Employment Act Business Start-Up Expense Credit 
Section 40-18-323, Code of Alabama 1975, allows for a nonrefundable tax credit against the income tax liability 
to recently deployed unemployed veterans in an amount up to $2,000 for expenses associated with one start-up 
business in which the veteran holds at least 50% ownership interest. The credit is only applicable for businesses: 
started after April 2, 2012, located within Alabama, and showing a net profit of at least $3,000 for the year in which 
the tax credit is taken. 
 
Apprenticeship Tax Credit  
Section 40-18-422, Code of Alabama 1975, provides a $1000 income tax credit for employers that employ an 
apprentice and limits employers to 5 apprentice credits per year. The credit limits credit-availability for an 
individual apprentice to no more than 4 years and mandates the apprentice tax credit to sunset in 2021.  
 
 
For more information on these tax credits, go to https://revenue.alabama.gov/tax-incentives/ or contact Mr. 

Neal Hearn with ADOR’s Individual & Corporate Tax Division at (334) 242-4575 or by email at 
Neal.Hearn@revenue.alabama.gov. 


