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Mission Statement

“The Alabama Department of Revenue will
efficiently and effectively administer the revenue
laws in an equitable, courteous, and professional

manner to fund governmental services for the
citizens of Alabama.”
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Areas to be covered:

* General Information

* Business Income Taxes

* Sales, Use, Rental, and Lodgings Taxes
* Business Property Taxes

* Business Privilege Licenses

e Atlas Alabama
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Introduction of Attendees:

* Name of your business

* Business Structure (Sole Proprietor, Partnership,
S Corp, C Corp, LLE(Limited Liability Entities))

* Type of Business (Retail, Wholesale, Service, etc.)

* Length of time 1n business

* Number of employees, 1f any
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General Information




Agencies to Contact




Internal Revenue Service

* WWW.IrS.gov

File Pay Refunds Credits & Deductions Forms & Instructions

* IRS Forms: 1-800-829-3676

Pay Your Tax Bill Get Your Tax Record

° IRS ASSiStance: 1 B 8 00_ 829_ 1 040 Get Your Refund Status Apply for an Employer ID Number (EIN)
Preparer Tax ID Number (PTIN) Get Answers to Tax Questions
¢ FEIN : 1 - 8 O O - 8 2 9 _4 9 3 3 (Comp Ie te Federal Individual Taxpayer ID Number (ITIN) Apply for a Payment Plan

Form S84 before calling)

Forms & Instructions
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Alabama Secretary of State

v ~ Alabama Secretary of State

* Register with the Secretary of State:
www.sos.alabama.gov, or call (334) 242-5324

* Reserve Corporate Name glff]iocial V\gebsitte of tt;e
v bl dDama SECretary o

State

* Complete Domestic (incorporated in Alabamay) K\
Business Corporations, LLCs, LLPs and LPs NARANR  John H. Merril
Certificate of Formation W

* Complete Foreign (incorporated outside of Alabama) Z$ 7 Q 81
Business Corporations, LLCs, LLPs and LPs e e Vel il B Pt o
Application for Registration
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Alabama Department of Revenue

* www.revenue.alabama.gov

Individuals Businesses Professionals &= MOTOR VEHICLE [ MY ALABAMA TAXES CONTACT Q
* 334-242-1584 — Business Registration ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FORMS LEGAL NEWSROOM ABOUT
REVENUE

e 334-353-0602 — Individual Income Tax
e 334-242-1490 — Sales and Use Tax MISSION STATEMENT

The Mlabama Department’of Revenue will efficieritty and effectively administer

° 3 3 4_242 _ 1 3 OO . WltthldlIlg TaX the revenue laws in an equitable, courteous, and professional manner to fund

governmental services for the citizens of Alabama.

e 334-353-7943 — Corporate Tax
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° 3 3 4_3 5 3 _792 3 _ BUSIHGSS PI’iVllege TaX Make a Payment Where's My Refund? Register My Vehicle

e 334-242-1033 — Pass-Thru Entity

e 334-242-1189 — Certificate of Compliance
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Alabama Department of Revenue — Certificate of Compliance

Request a Certificate of Compliance when purchasing an existing business to ensure the business is in
compliance with the state taxes administered by the Department of Revenue

(https://www.alabamainteractive.org/ador tax compliance/welcome.action)

Items needed when requesting Certificate of Compliance:
* Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
= Secretary of State Entity Number

= Business Structure

The cost is $14 ($10 for the certificate plus $4 for processing)

Department will try to process most requests within 3-5 days

The Certificate of Compliance is issued as of a particular point and time. As a result, if a taxpayer that has been found to be out of compliance takes
sufficient action to come back into compliance, a new request for a Certificate of Compliance can be initiated by the requestor. An additional $14 will

apply to any subsequent requests.
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Local Government Agencies to Contact

County Courthouse

* Combined County/State business license
* County Sales Tax account number
* Property Tax account information

* File Domestic Certificate of Formation forms
(Effective January 1, 2020, corporations must file directly
with Alabama Secretary of State.)

City Hall
* City business license

 City Sales Tax account number
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My Alabama Taxes




My Alabama Taxes (MAT)

ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE HOME HELP CONTACT US

REVENUE

My Alabama Taxes

Welcome to My Alabama Taxes, the official web application of the
Alabama Department of Revenue.

On MAT, you are able to:

= File and view returns

= Make payments

s Send and receive correspondance
» And more

https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov
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* Convenient and secure way to interact with
the Alabama Department of Revenue to
access a variety of online services

* Allows you to:

v’ File income and sales tax returns

v" Amend returns

v’ Make payments (All payments $750 or
more MUST be made electronically)

v View letters from ADOR

v’ Manage your accounts

v Conduct other common transactions with
the Department

v Check refund status
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Once you have “signed up”, what information is needed when filing
through My Alabama Taxes (MAT)?

(separate handout provided)

General Information:

e User Name and Password

@ . > Alphanumeric — 8-16 character
%W}\UQ » At least one number and one letter
\f\é@\,\t > Case sensitive

T —

* After 3 tries must be reset by the ADOR
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Benefits of Filing Online

* View returns for accuracy
* Print a copy of the Confirmation Page
* View the history of previously submitted returns; aids in amending returns

* Save & Exit feature allows you to prepare the return without submitting it

* Allows a Taxpayer to verify that the Sales Tax Numbers of their wholesale customers
are valid numbers

* Can make changes to or amend returns as needed; except for local tax returns
* Can view credits available

* Can view balances due for all accounts registered

ALABAMA
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Recordkeeping




Why Should I Keep Records?

* Monitor the progress of your business

Prepare your financial statements

Identify sources of income

Keep track of deductible expenses

Keep track of your basis in property

Prepare your tax returns

Support items reported on your tax returns

ALABAMA
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What Kind of Records Should I Keep?

* The business you are in will determine the type of tax records you need to keep

* Law does not specify what records must be kept. However, the following may be requested:

All untaxed sales must be verified and documented

* Copy of Sales Tax Certificate of Exemption and/or retail certificate should be kept on file (zhis
information makes up the Customer Tax Exempt File)

.




How Long Should I Keep Records?

» Keep records that support an item of income or expense/deduction on a return until the
statute of limitations for that return runs out

* Statute of Limitations— Period of time in which the State of Alabama can assess
additional tax

ALABAMA
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Statute of Limitations

Generally all returns and amended returns 3 years from the date you file the return

Do not report income that you should report and it is more | 6 years from the date you file the return
than 25% of the gross income shown on return

File a fraudulent return Not limited
Do not file a return Not limited
Net Operating Loss (NOL) Until the loss 1s exhausted

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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Penalties and Interest




Penalties & Interest

Failure to Timely File Penalty
* 10% of tax due or $50; whichever is greater

Failure to Timely Pay Penalty
* 1% of tax due per month; maximum 25%
* Flat rate of 10% of tax due for monthly and quarterly returns (e.g., withholding tax)

Negligence Penalty (intentional disregard for rules and/or regulations)
* 5% oftax due

Fraud Penalty (7o purposely deceive)
* 50% of tax due

Interest
 If the tax is not timely paid, interest is also due
« Same rate as established by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury under authority of 26 USC 6621
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Business Income Tax

Individual and Corporate Tax

ALABAMA
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Topics to be Discussed

* Getting Started

* Business Structures

* Business Privilege Tax
* Withholding Tax

* Estimated Tax

* Business Expenses

ALABAMA
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Getting Started




How to Get Started

 Research, Research, Research & Research
* Choose your business name

* Register your business name
(Make sure you are consistent with the spelling of your business name)

* Choose your business structure

ALABAMA
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Business Structure




Business Structure
_

Sole Proprietor One owner * Income reported on Form 40, Schedule C + April 15th
* Not a separate taxable entity

Partnership « Two or more owners/partners ¢ Income reported on Form 65 (attach Federal * March 151 (calendar year)
* Income/loss passed through to Form 1065) » 15% day of third month
OWIIETS * Profit/loss distributions on Schedule K-1 following close of tax
(reported on form 40 schedule E) year
S Corporation * No tax at entity level e Income reported on Form 20S (artach e March 15" (calendar year)
* Income/loss passed through to Federal Form 1120S) e 15% day of third month
SRS * Profit/loss distributions on Schedule K-1 following close of tax
(reported on form 40 schedule E) year
C Corporation * Taxed at entity level * Income reported on Form 20C (attach o April 15" (calendar year)
Federal From 1120) + 15% day of fourth month
* Profit distributions on Form 1099-DIV following close of tax
year

ALABAMA ,
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Limited Liability Entity
* Types:
» LLC (Limited Liability Company) ... most common

= LLP (Limited Liability Partnership)
= LP (Limited Partnership)

A separate legal entity from the member(s)
* Owners risk only their investment, not personal assets

* LLCs with one member (sole proprietor/single member LLC) — report
income and expenses on schedule C

* LLCs with at least 2 members (including husband & wife) can elect to be
treated as a partnership or a corporation

ALABAMA
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Entity Classification Election (Form 8832)

* Entity uses this form to elect how it will be classified for Federal tax purpose
* Default Rule: Unless an election 1s made on Form 8832, a domestic eligible
entity 1is:
* A partnership, if it has two or more members

* Disregarded as an entity separate from its owner if it has a single owner (single
member LLC)

* An entity must file Form 2553, if making an election to be an S Corporation

 Alabama follows Federal election

. © 5. ADOR BEST!
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Business Privilege Tax

ALABAMA
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What is Business Privilege Tax?

A tax levied for the iprivilege of being organized under the laws of Alabama or
doing business in Alabama.

Every:

* corporation,

* [imited liability entity,

* disregarded entity,

e business trust,

* real estate investment trust,

doing business in Alabama or 1s qualified or registered under the laws of Alabama
must file.

ALABAMA
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Business Privilege Tax

* Is filed annually, except for the initial return
* Based on the net worth of the company, not the income

* Minimum tax due is $100.00 (plus $10 Secretary of State fee for Corporations)

ALABAMA
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Who is Not Required to File?

Sole Proprietor

General Partnerships

Companies that have not qualified to do business in Alabama with only an
investment interest in companies doing business in Alabama

Qualified Nonprofit Organizations

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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Business Privilege Tax Chart

Who Must File Alabama Form(s) to File When to File

All listed below

C Corporation

S Corporation

ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF
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BPT-IN

CPT and AL-CAR

PPT and AL-CAR

2-1/2 months after being organized,
incorporated, qualified or registered

15™ day of the fourth month following
end of business year (April 15" —
calendar year)

For fiscal year end June 30, no later
than 2 2> months after the beginning of
the taxpayer’s taxable year (September
15th)

15% day of the third month following end
of business year (March 15" — calendar

year)

& 2. ADORsBEST!



Business Privilege Tax Chart cona

LLE taxed as a Sole Proprietor PPT 15% day of the fourth month following end
of business year (April 15" — calendar year)

LLE taxed as a Partnership PPT 15%™ day of the third month following end of
business year (March 15" — calendar year)

LLE taxed as a C Corporation CPT 15%™ day of the fourth month following end
of business year (April 15" — calendar year)

LLE taxed as an S Corporation PPT 15% day of the third month following end of
business year (March 15" — calendar year)

. © 5. ADOR BEST!
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AL-CAR

* Must be completed by C Corporations and S Corporations

* Limited Liability Entities taxed as corporations are not subject to the Secretary
of State fee and are not required to complete Schedule AL-CAR

* A required attachment to Form CPT and PPT

* Taxpayers filing an initial return are not required to complete Schedule AL-
CAR or pay the $10 Secretary of State fee

ALABAMA
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Business Privilege Tax Reminders

* BPT does not have a “final” return. Taxpayer must dissolve/withdraw the business
with the Secretary of State for the account to be “closed.”

* [f the taxpayer never “uses” or “opens” the business, the BPT 1s still owed until the
taxpayer dissolves or withdraws the business.

* Copies of pages 1 through 4 of the federal tax return must be attached for partnerships
and corporations or use the Department’s form BPT-NW (Balance Sheet - Net Worth
Computation).

* A copy of the balance sheet used to compute the taxpayer’s net worth must be attached
for single member LLCs, if not provided with the copy of the federal return use the
Department’s form BPT-NWI (Balance Sheet - Net Worth Computation).

. © 5. ADOR BEST!
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Withholding Tax




Who Is Required to Withhold?

 Employers with employees working in the State of Alabama.

* Alabama employers with Alabama residents working outside the State of Alabama,
will need to withhold Alabama income tax on those residents unless they are
withholding tax for the state in which the employee 1s working 1n.

* Employers who are residents of Alabama are required to withhold taxes from wages
of their employees who are not residents of Alabama only to the extent the wages are
earned in Alabama.

* Nonresident employers are required to withhold Alabama income tax on wages
earned in Alabama.

ALABAMA
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Registering for New Withholding Tax Number

* Register through the online business registration system...

My Alabama Taxes or MAT (https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov)

* Contact the Withholding Tax Section at (334) 242-1300 1f you have any questions

ALABAMA

EPER\T/ME\I;QODE //INDIVIDUAL & CORPORATE TAX 9 ge’ ADOR :L BEST!


https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/

Withholding Tax Exemption Certificate

* Each employee must complete Form A4

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF RE
mery, AL 36104 + In
www.revenue alabama.gov

Employee’s Withholding Tax Exemption Certificate

Every employes, on or betors tha dats of commencement of employment, shall fumish his or har employer with & signed Alabama wilh-
helding exemption cerfficata relating to the number of withhoiding exsmptions which he or she claims, which in o avent shall exceed the
number o which tha amployes is aniiied. In the evant the amployea inflates the numbr of sxemptions allowed by this Chapter on Form
A4, the employea shall pay a penalty of five hundred dallars ($500) for such action pursuant to Saction 40-20-75.

FORM

50 North Ripley Street + Mon

e 3200 Ko, 20y

Part | - To be completed by the employee
T

EWPLIVEE S0GIAL EECORT

TP

* Used to properly compute withholding tax

oY THIE T cane

HOW TO CLAIM YOUR WITHHOLDING EXEMPTIONS

1. 1 you ciaim no personsl semption or yourse &nd wish o winhoid at the higheat rate, Wit he figurs TF,
510 &N date Form A4 and 2 1t wih your smpioyer.

LT e —— ° Employer must Wltthld using 7Zero exemptions When A

8. you are MARFIED or SINGLE CLAMING FAMILY, 2 83,000 personal exemption I Ellowed
Wrte the kater "N you are climing an exemption for both yoursalf and your Spouse of H N you are
single with qualtying dependants and are claiming te HEAD OF FAMILY sxemptin. .. S

4. Number of dependents (oter than spouss) thst you wl provids more tren ane-nhat of he suppor for during

— 1s not filed

AdRional EmoUNt, I 3y, you Went CeOuCted BEch pay period.
. This line to be completed by your employer: Total exemptic
*2" on ine 4. Empiayer shousd use column M2 (mamad wiin 2 dspendants) In the wilnholding tatles;

{exampie: mpioyee ciams W on ine 3 2nd

Under penalties of perjury, | cartity that | have examined this cerfiicate and to the best of my knowledge and balisf, it is irue, corract, and
complate.

G * Employers must retain exemption certificates for at least

TR RE AT HONEER TEIRT

ADORESE Ty —TWE TFTOnE

Employars are required to keep this cerfiicate on file. If the employes is balieved o have claimed more exempiion than legally entilled or y e a I S

claims 8 or more dapandant examptions, the employer should contact the Department at the following address or phone number for ver-
ification: Alabama Departmant of Fievanus, Withholding Tax Saction, RO. Bax 327480, Montgomery, AL 36132-7480, by phone at (334)
242-1300, or by fax at (334) 242-0112. It the mployee does not quallfy for the exemptions claimed upon verification, the employer is re-
quired to withhold at tha highest rate unti the employes submits a comected Form A4 refiecting the proper exemption they are entitied to
claim.

DEPENDENTS: To qualify s your dependant (Line & abous}, a person must recive more than one-half of his or her support from you
for the year and must ba related to you as follows:

Your son o daughter (including lagally adopted chiidren], grandchild, stepson, stepdaughtar, son-in-law, or daughiarindaw; * *
Your fathar, mother, grandparent, stepfather, stapmother, fathar-in-law, or mather-in-law, [ ]
Your brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half-brather, hali-sister, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law ’

Your uncl, aurt, nephew, or risce (butonly if related by blood)

of the A4 to the ADOR’s Withholding Tax Section

e © 2 ADOR, BEST!
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Nonresident Military Spouse Withholding Tax
Exemption

conm ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

L S — vt (/) * Public Law 111-97: Military Spouses Residency Relief Act
e Nonresident Military Spouse e
Withholding Tax Exemption Certificate
Form A4-MS is to be used only for employees claiming exemption from Alabama's income tax withholding requirements based on the

conditions set forth under the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (P.L. 111-97).
Part | -To be completed by the employee

ST e EFIOTEES00RL SECURTTY MONGER O S

L ITARY SEFVICEMEMEER'S NAME EFVICEMEMBERS SOCIAL SECUFITY NUMEER

WHERE BOTH CURRENTLY RESIDE
ACOREES

STFES

iy sTE 2F cope

In order to qualify for this exemption, the employee must be able to answer True to all of the following conditions. If not, they will not

* Spousal income is not subject to Alabama withholding if:

1. My Spouse is an active duty military servicemember .. .................... ... .Uﬁua L False

2. 1 am not a military servicemember . ... ... iiiii .....,_Trua _False . * . . * * .

3. My Spouse's current military orders assign him/her to a locafion in‘near Alabama . . . .|—"I'rua |_‘ False > The sp OuS e 1 S 1n the J url S dl Ctlon S Olely tO b e Wlth the

4. | am present in/near Alabama solely to be with my servicemember Spouse ........ .Uﬁua U False

5. | and my military servicemember Spousa live at the same address l_Trua False L4 L4 L4 L4 L4 L4 L4 L4

Ce e service member servicing in compliance with military
7. My miltary servicemember Spouse’s domicile isthe sameasmine............... .[_Trua |_‘ False

It you answered True to all of the above conditions, your wages are exempt from Alabama withholding fax.

Under penalties of perjury, | certify that | am not subject to Alabama withholding tax becausa | mest the conditions sat forth under the Mil- Orders

itary Spouses Residency Relief Act (PL. 111-87) and that | undarstand that my state of residency may tax the income | eam in Alabama.

Empl ’'s Sit Data

Part Il - To be completed by the employer

EMPLOYER NAME EMPLOVER DENTIFIGATION NUMBER [E14)

. .
e To qualify for the tax exemption, the answer to all 7
ACDRESS E STATE 7 Gote D)
Employers are required fo obtain from the employse a clear photocopy of their current military spouse ID, Form DD 2058 reflecting the ° °
sarvicemamber's state of legal residence, and a recent Leave and Earnings Statement. Employers must keep Form A4-MS with the am- C O I l 1 10 I I S e
ployee's personnel records. If the employer believes the employee has improperty claimed exempfion under the MSRRA, the employer

should contact the Department at the following address or phone number: Alabama Department of Revenue, Withholding Tax Section,
P.O. Box 327480, Montgomery, AL 36132-7480, by phone at (334) 242-1300, or by fax at (334) 242-0112.

THIS FORM MAY BE REPRODUCED

ALABAMA
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Withholding Tax Forms

A-6 Monthly...if employer 15t of the month following the
withholds more than month in which tax was withheld

$1,000 in the 1%t or 2nd
month of the quarter

A-1 Quarterly...if employer  Last day of the month following

withholds less than the end of the quarter (Example:
$1,000 a month Quarter ended March 3 1°'; return
due by April 30")
A-3 Annually January 31st
ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF
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W-2s must be filed with A-3

Must file A-3s and W-2s (and/or 1099s with
Alabama withholding tax) if returns and
payments were filed and paid electronically
Must file W-2s electronically if there are 25 or
more W-2s and/or 1099s with Alabama
withholding tax
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Employee vs. Independent Contractor

Three Common Law Factors:

0 Behavioral Control O Behavioral Control

v Controls when, where, and how the work is done v’ Plan their own hours

v’ Training v" Qualified
U Financial Control O Financial Control

v" No profit motive v Profit motive

v' Paid wages by the hour, week or month v’ Paid a predetermined amount
O Relationship O Relationship

v Employee type benefits v Will have a written contract

ALABAMA
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Employee vs. Independent Contractor

 [f an employer/employee relationship exists for Federal purposes, then this relationship
also exists for Alabama purposes. (See Federal form SS-8 Determination of Worker
Status for Purposes of Federal Employment Taxes and Income Tax Withholding)

* An employee cannot claim to be an independent contractor for Alabama purposes and
therefore exempt from Alabama withholding tax, unless he has met the Federal
guidelines for being an independent contractor.

* Refer to IRS Publication 15-A “Employer’s Supplemental Tax Guide.”

ALABAMA
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Form 1099

* Copies of 1099s without Alabama withholding tax should be mailed to:
ADOR

P.O. Box 327489
Montgomery, AL 36132-7490

*1099s in the amount of $600 or more without Alabama withholding tax should be reported
with form 1096 (A4labama Form 96 is no longer available,; Federal 1096 form is acceptable)

* 1099s and W-2s with Alabama withholding tax
= Should be combined
= Merger instructions are available on website to file in MAT

= 1099s with Alabama withholding tax must be reported in MAT in the Other Income
field, not as wages

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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Estimated Tax




Estimated Tax — Individual/Pass-through
Entities

* General rule: In most cases, you must pay estimated tax for the current year if both
of the following apply:

1. You expect to owe at least $500 in tax for the current year, after subtracting
withholding and credits

2. You expect your withholding plus your credits to be less than the smaller of:
" 90% of the tax to be shown on your current year tax return, or

" 100% of the tax shown on your previous year’s tax return

 Estimated tax may be paid in full (by January 15%") or in equal installments on or
before April 15", June 15t%, September 15" and January 15"

ALABAMA
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Estimated Tax- Corporations

* A corporation that has an Alabama income tax liability in excess of $500 must pay
estimated tax

* Payment due dates: - 15t payment is due by the 15" day of the 4™ month of the
taxable year

- 2nd 3rd and 4t payments are due by the 15™ day of the 6, 9t
and 12™ months, respectively
* The required installments shall be 25% of the required annual payment

* The required annual payment generally means:
* The lessor of 100% of the tax shown on the return for taxable
year, or
"= 100% of the tax shown on the return of the corporation for the
preceding taxable year

ALABAMA
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Business Expenses




Business Expenses

* To be deductible...a business expense must be both ordinary and necessary

* Ordinary expense 1s one that is common and accepted in your trade or business

* Necessary expense 1s one that 1s helpful and appropriate for your trade or business

ALABAMA
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How to Prove Certain Business Expenses

Amount Time Place or Description Business Purpose
Business Relationship

Gifts *  Cost of the gift Date of the gift * Description of the gift
(325 per person

per year)

Transportation * Cost of each * Date of the expense * Business destination Purpose: Business purpose for the expense
separate expense
* (Car expenses, date Business Relationship: N/A
you started using it
for business
* Mileage for each
business use

Travel Cost of each separate ¢  Dates you left and * Destination or area of Purpose: Business purpose for the expense
expense for travel, returned for each trip travel (name of city,
lodging, and meals * Number of days spent on town or other Relationship: N/A
business designation)

e © 5. ADOR BEST!
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Daily Business Mileage Log

Odometer Readings

Destination (City, Town or Personal
Date Area) Business Purpose Start Stop Miles Business Miles Miles

Note: You can keep a mileage log in a notebook and update it by hand, or use a spreadsheet to continuously track your
mileage. You can also use a mileage-tracking app. The key is to update your records regularly to ensure that they're
precise.
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What is the Burden of Proof?

* The responsibility to substantiate entries, deductions and statements made on
your tax returns

* You must be able to prove certain elements (proof of payment & supporting
documentation) of expenses to deduct them

ALABAMA

EPER\T/ME\I;QODE //INDIVIDUAL & CORPORATE TAX 9 ge’ ADOR :L BEST!



Don’t forget ...

e Research, research, research

* Consult with an attorney or tax professional regarding your business structure
* Register in My Alabama Taxes & sign up for the appropriate account(s)

* File and pay on time

* Keep all records associated with your business

* Contact us 1f you are not sure of the answer to a question or have trouble locating
information you need on our website

We are here to assist you with any questions ~ anytime!

ALABAMA
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Questions?




Let s take a quick break...

0?* A BRE;? .

<
QAT
s




Sales, Use, Lodgings, and
Rental Taxes

Sales and Use Tax Division
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Topics to be discussed:

* Explain registration process for sales, use, lodgings and rental taxes
> Provide instructions for the registration process

* Explain different taxes and appropriate rates l
> Including various terminology and definitions %

7 (\
©
* Explain filing requirements

> Provide instructions for the electronic filing methods
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Registration Process for
Obtaining a
New Tax Account Number
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Who Must Register for a Tax Account Number?

* All Retail Businesses — Businesses, which sell tangible personal property to
the end user, must register for an Alabama Sales Tax Account Number

* Lodgings Businesses — Businesses, which provide short term lodgings, must
register for an Alabama Lodgings Tax Account Number

* Rental Businesses — Businesses, which lease tangible personal property, must
register for an Alabama Rental Tax Account Number

* All Other Businesses Not Listed — Contact your local ADOR Taxpayer
Service Center to determine what (1f any) state taxes apply.
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Registering for a New Tax Account Number

(separate MAT handout provided)

How to Apply for a New State Account Number with the Alabama Department of Revenue:
* Online MAT registration —https://myalabamataxes.alabama.gov/ /

How to Apply for a New Account Number with the City and/or County:
 State-Administered Localities — registration included with State registration

* Self-Administered or Privately-Administered Localities — will need to contact the locality
directly

List of Non-State Administered localities can be found at:
http://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/ and clicking on “City and County Taxes
Not Administered by the Alabama Department of Revenue” under Tax Rate Reports.
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What if no retail sales are being made?

The following may require an Alabama Sales Tax Certificate of Exemption
(Form ST:EX-Al):

* All Wholesalers — Businesses, which sell exclusively to retailers,
manufacturers, or other wholesalers (may require certificate of exemption)

* Manufacturers - Businesses making purchases of raw materials to be
included 1n the final product

Please contact the Taxpayer Service Center in your area if you have questions.
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Tlax Types Administered
by the
Sales & Use Tax Division

ALABAMA

REVENUE //sALes & UsE Tax €& 2. ADORsBEST!



Tax Types Administered by the Sales and Use Tax Division:

Tax Types:

* Sales Tax

* Use Tax

* Rental/Leasing Tax
* Lodgings Tax

* Miscellaneous Taxes
= Utility
" Prepaid Wireless Charge
= Mobile Service
= Contractors Gross Receipts
= Dry-Cleaning Fee
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Tax Rates

Sales Tax Rates:

* General Rate
* Consumable Vapor Products

* Reduced Rates:
» Automotive
»Farm
»Machine
» Vending

4.00%

4.00%

2.00%
1.50%
1.50%
3.00%

Please check your local (city and county) tax rates on the ADOR web site: http://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-

use/tax-rates/
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Sales Tax

Sales Tax

* Is a privilege tax imposed on the retail sale of tangible personal property sold in
Alabama by businesses located in Alabama

* The tax 1s collected by the seller from their customers and remitted directly to the
State

» All sales of tangible personal property are retail sales except those defined as
wholesale sales
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General Terms and Definitions

* Retail Sales — Sale of tangible personal property to the consumer or end user.
(Excludes certain labor, services and real estate.)

* Consumable Vapor Products - Total gross sales of consumable vapor products
that contain nicotine should be included under “Vapor Products (electronic
cigarettes) — 4%". Sales of vapor products that do not contain nicotine should be
included under “General Sales Tax — 4%”.

* Wholesale Sales/Sales for Resale - Sale of tangible personal property to licensed
merchants, dealers or other wholesalers for “resale”. (The Seller must maintain a
copy of the sales tax license or exemption certificate for these customers.)
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General Terms and Definitions (cont’d)

* Withdrawals — Any items purchased tax-exempt and withdrawn for use instead
of being sold are subject to sales tax at cost.

* Over Collections — Tax collected over and above actual rate. Any over
collections must be paid to the State. Same holds true for local sales tax.

 Exemptions/Exempt Sales — Non-taxable transactions, vary to types of business,
consumer and 1tems sold.
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REVENUE //saLes & Ust Tax 9 Ze ADOR4BEST!



What are “Tax Exempt Sales?”

Commonly-Seen Exemptions:

* Sales of Exempt Items — Items specifically exempted by law (Rx drugs, gasoline, motor oil).

Sales to Exempt Customers — Customers specifically exempted by law or have a Certificate of Exemption, Direct
pay permit, Government Agencies in Alabama, Federal Government.

> Please note that statutorily exempt entities must now obtain an annual exemption certificate.

Sales Paid for with Food Stamps — Applies only to approved food items actually purchased with Food Stamps.
All other items taxable.

Out of State Sales — Generally shipped by common carrier.

Wholesale Sales/Sales for Resale — Sales to licensed dealer. Obtain copy of sales tax license.

Certain Labor - Not all labor is exempt from tax.
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What “Labor” 1s Taxable?

Types Labor and Taxability of Each:

* Repair Labor — Not taxable provided it 1s shown as a separate line item
on the invoice.

 Installation Labor — Condition of sale to install item not taxable provided
labor 1s broken out or shown separate. A lump sum amount is taxable.

 Fabrication Labor — On custom or made to order items labor can not be
deducted. It 1s part of the cost to manufacture the 1tem.
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What 1s Consumers Use Tax?

Consumers Use Tax

* Due when merchandise 1s purchased at retail and brought into Alabama for
storage, use or consumption unless specifically exempted by law.

* Counterpart to sales tax.

* Enacted to prevent vendors located outside the state from having an unfair
advantage against in-state vendors who charge sales tax.

* Use tax rates are the same as state sales tax rates.

ALABAMA

REVENUE //saLes & Ust Tax 9 Ze ADOR4BEST!



What 1s Simplified Sellers Use Tax?

Simplified Sellers Use Tax:

* Act 2015-448, entitled the “Simplified Sellers Use Tax Remittance Act” allows
“eligible sellers” to participate 1n a program to collect, report, and remit a flat 8%
Simplified Sellers Use Tax (SSUT), on sales made into Alabama.

* An “eligible seller” is one that sells tangible personal property or service into
Alabama from an inventory or location outside the state and who has NO physical
presence and 1s not otherwise required by law to collect tax on sales made into the
state.

* The collection and remittance of the SSUT relieves the eligible seller and the
purchaser from any additional state and local sales or use taxes on the transaction.

e, € 2 ADORBEST!
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Where will I see Simplified Sellers Use Tax?

* Online purchases from remote eligible sellers

* As a consumer, you should see the following statement on purchase invoices/receipts
that are made by eligible sellers:

“Seller has collected the simplified sellers use tax on this transaction(s) and the tax will be
remitted on the customer s behalf to the Alabama Department of Revenue. Seller’s program

account number is SSU-RXXXXXXXXX.”

* As a consumer you should not see SSUT charges on invoice/receipts from instate
vendors or brick and mortar vendors. Sales tax would be due on these type of
transactions.

Remember, if you make an online purchase and the vendor does not charge the applicable Alabama Sales Tax and/or
SSUT, you, as the consumer, are required to make a remittance of the Consumers Use Tax on the purchase.
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What 1s Lodgings Tax?

Lodgings Tax:

* Privilege tax on persons, firms, and corporations engaged in the renting or furnishing
rooms, lodgings, or other accommodations to transients for periods of less than 180 days
of continuous occupation.

 This includes, the short term rental of rooms in one’s personal home through online
rental sites, such as Airbnb, VRBO, Craigslist, and any other online portal.

e State Rates: (Note different rate for the Alabama Mountain Lakes area in North Alabama)
* Lodgings 4%
* North Alabama* 5%

*Alabama Mountain Lakes area includes: Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin,
Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston counties
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What 1s Rental Tax?

Rental Tax:

* Privilege tax levied on the lessor for the leasing or renting tangible personal
property. (Note: does not include real property.)

* True Lease vs. Conditional Sales Lease

Rates:

Automotive vehicles 1.5%
Other 4.0%
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Local (City and County) Taxes




What 1s Local Tax?

* Tax levied by a local jurisdiction such as a county or municipality

* Local Taxes are generally collected in the form of property and/or sales
taxes

* Used to fund the services provided to citizens by local governments such as
street and sanitation maintenance, fire and police protection, etc.
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When Should I Collect Local Taxes?

® When “nexus’ has been established

® Nexus 1s defined as having a physical presence or having regular sales routes
in an specific area including shows for products

® As of January 1, 2014, a local retailer who uses its own trucks or an affiliated
contract carrier to make deliveries must collect tax 1n the destination
jurisdiction

® Rates vary - Specific information on all localities may be found at:
https://revenue.alabama.gov/sales-use/tax-rates/
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Local (City/County) Sales Tax Rates

ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES

REVENUE

Sales and Use Tax Rates

FORMS

Sales and Use Tax Rates

Sales and Use Tax Rates vary across cities and counties in addition to what is taxed by the State.

iew a comprehensive list of state tax rates.

iew City and County Code Explanations.

Tax Rate Reports

* State Administered al Tax Rate Schedule

of Local

nd County Taxes Administered by the Alabama Department of Rew

» Contact information for Non-State Administered Localities
» Local Sales, Use, Rental &

dgings Tax Rates Text File

Search by Address

Click here to search by address.

State Tax Rates Search Local Sales, Use, Lodgings & Rental Tax Rates
Tax Type Rate Type Rate View Listin ity and/or County

COMSUMERS ~ AUTO 2000% 4 couny city

USE

COMSUMERS ~ FARM 1.500% Select 2 County v —

Use

COMSUMERS GEMERAL 4.000% = Current Rates

USE Rates History

COMSUMERS  MFG. MACHINE 1.500% E
use
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ue (For Sales, Rental, Lodgings, Sellers Use, and Consumers Use Tax Only)
nd County Taxes Not Administered by the Alabama Department of Revenue (For Sales, Rental, Lodgings, Sellers Use, and Consumers Use Tax Only)

ABOUT

Sales and Use Tax Rates
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Filing Requirements




Filing Requirements are:

Taxes to be Filed Monthly

* Report total sales (gross sales)

* Exempt or non-taxable sales are reported as a deduction

e Must file even if no sales for the month

Due Dates

* Taxes are due the following month (tax period)

* Taxes are delinquent after the 20™ of the following month
 If 20 falls on a weekend or holiday, must file on or before the next working day to be timely filed

* Penalties if not timely filed or timely paid

Discount for Timely Filing (on or before 20" day tax due):
* 5% on the first $100.00 of tax

* 2% on the amount of tax over $100.00

« May not exceed $400.00
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Alabama businesses have access to a centralized, statewide electronic
filing and remittance system for state, county and city sales, use,
lodgings and rental taxes. As of October 1, 2016, all Sales, Use,
Rental, and Lodgings Tax can be filed and paid through ONE SPOT.

ONE The ONE SPOT system eases the burden of monthly tax filing.
ONE SPOT has been designed to cut down on tax administration for

SPO I retailers and business owners that do business in multiple cities or

counties throughout the state. ONE SPOT can be easily accessed
through the My Alabama Taxes (MAT) website at
myalabamataxes.alabama.gov.

My Alabama Taxes & ONE SPOT...it's the ONE SPOT to File!

Remember, there are benefits to filing online!

e © 2 ADOR, BEST!
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Before you can file the monthly returns using MAT, you must “sign up” on MAT at

myalabamataxes.alabama.gov and create a username and password.
(separate handout provided)

ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE HOME HELP CONTACT US
REVENUE

My Alabama Taxes

Welcome to My Alabama Taxes, the official web application of the
Alabama Department of Revenue.

On MAT, you are able to:

¢ File and view returns
* Make payments
« Send and receive correspondance

* And more
a Logln A Individual ;-E Businzss
Username Where's My Refund? Obtain a New Tax Account Number

D Confirmation Quiz View or Upload a Report
Password Verify My Return Verify an Exemption Certificate

Register My MorphoTrust elD

Forgot Password?

=?: Fayments rg‘ Other

Pay a Bill I've Received Filing Individual Income Taxes on MAT
Forgot Username?

) ) Alabama Accountability Act
Don't have a logon? Register here
Subscribe to Mailing Lists

ONE SPOT / SSUT
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Don’t forget...

* Registration process for state, city and county tax accounts

 Different taxes and appropriate rates

* Filing requirements and deadlines
* Electronic filing methods

* Recordkeeping requirements - keep all records associated with your business
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Questions?




Business Personal Property

Property Tax Division
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REVENUE € 2 ADOR:BEST!



What 1s Property (Ad Valorem) Tax?

* Ad Valorem [Latin] - According to the value of
* Tax levied according to the value of the property being taxed

* Property tax 1s assessed and collected at the County level in Alabama
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EEVERDE //PROPERTY TAX 9 e ADOR 34 BEST!



What Property Owned by A Business 1s
Taxable?

* Real Property

e Motor Vehicles

* Personal Property
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REVENUE //properry Tax e e ADOR 34 BEST!



What 1s Personal Property?

* Property not permanently affixed to or part of the real property
* Examples - furniture, computers and/or equipment

* Everything that 1s NOT real estate 1s personal property

ALABAMA
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Who 1s Required to Report Personal
Property?
* Every individual, firm, or corporation owning business personal
property located in Alabama on October 1;
* Every owner of an aircraft based in Alabama; and

* Every holder of a permanent trailer tag 1ssued by the State of
Alabama.
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When Should Personal Property Be
Reported?

* Between October 1 (lien date) and December 31

* Late returns incur a penalty and fee
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Business Personal Property

* C(lass II property assessed at 20% of market value

* Property tax 1s billed one year in arrears on October 1 and due no
later than December 31

* Property located in Alabama on October 1 1s taxable, unless
specifically exempted

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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How Do I Obtain a Business Personal
Property Return Form?

* Form mailed from the local county office each year
* Local county assessing official’s office

* Download the form (ADV-40) from www.revenue.alabama.gov.

I
Ya
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OPPAL

Optional Personal Property
Assessment Link

Online Filing
Available to taxpayers each year from
October 1 to January 31

OPPAL.alabama.gov
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OPPAL

Optional Personal Property
Assessment Link

Filing business personal property returns

1s now easier than ever.

HOME HOW OPPAL WORKS DO INEED TOFILE ? FAQS REGISTER LOGIN

To file a return in AUTAUGA, ELMORE, JEFFERSON, LIMESTONE, MOBILE, MONTGOMERY, MORGAN Or SHELBY, please CLICK HERE. To file in all
other counties in Alabama, please REGISTER HERE

© 2016 Alabama Departiment of Revenue . 50 North Ripley Street . Montgomery, AL 36104 . Info Line 1.855.277.3232
Please read our Terms of Service.
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What Should Be Included in the Itemized

Listing?
* Description of the Property

* Acquisition Date of the Property

* Acquisition Cost of the Property

Type of Property Date Acquired
10 Dell Computers 05/23/2012
4 Dell Computers 02/12/2015

ALABAMA
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Acquisition Cost
$10,000
$ 5,200
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How 1s my Property Tax Calculated?

Example: Assume you have a business with a total asset market value of $10,000 located in a city
with a combined millage rate of 34.5 mills*, the taxes would be:

ASSESSED VALUE CALCULATION
Property Market Value Assessment Ratio Assessed Value
$10,000 X 20% = $2,000

PROPERTY TAX CALCULATION
Property Assessed Value Millage Rate (as a decimal) Property Taxes
$2,000 X 0.0345 = $69

*Millage rates vary, depending on location. Millage rates are listed on ADOR website, or call your local
county assessing official.
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Home Businesses

All personal property used in a home-based business, even if the
same property is used by the homeowner personally.

Examples:

* Arefrigerator 1s used for your in-home daycare; 1t 1s taxable
and should be reported on your return at 100% of
acquisition cost.

 Computers may be for personal and business use; they are
taxable and should be reported at 100% of acquisition cost.
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Supplies

* Stocks of goods intended to be consumed during the normal course
of business. Not raw materials, goods 1n process, or inventory held

for sale.

* Report either cost of supplies on hand as of October 1 or one
month’s average cost.

* Examples:
~  Paper used to wrap sandwiches sold by a restaurant
> 01l used to lubricate machinery in a plant
> Cleaning supplies used by a janitorial firm

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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Don’t forget...

* Property taxed at market value as of October 1, each year

* Business Personal Property reported to local county assessing
official’s office (Form ADV-40) or through official websites

* All property subject to tax in Alabama must be reported annually

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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Questions?




Business Privilege Licenses

Business & License Tax Division
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What are business privilege licenses?

* A license which is required for certain businesses or professions as indicated in Title 40,
Chapter 12, Code of Alabama 1975, to engage 1n a particular activity within the State.

 Commonly called a business license.

* Note: Do not confuse business privilege licenses (BPL) and business privilege tax
(BPT). These are two separate requirements. Business privilege licenses (BPL) are
e 1ssued via the local counties and 1s a fee paid by businesses for the privilege of operating
a business within the state whereas business privilege tax (BPT) 1s a tax administered by
the State.

ALABAMA
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Sample Business Privilege License

CONTROL NO. MONTGOMERY COUNTY LICENSE NO.
0318037548 0000000
ACCOUNT NO. PR
DaT548
KIMBERLY SIMMONS
[ LICENSE YEAR | 101 8 LAWRENCE STREET DATE ISSUED__‘
e MOMNTGOMERY, AL 38104 |
e | & 05 | 21 | 2018|
2017-2018 Mo. [DAY| ¥R |
LICENSE TYPE BUS'N_ESS LGC':A::.IF?::EN i EXPIRES
STORE LICENSE B e L SANEL September 30, 2018
CHAIN STORE LICENSE MONTGOMERY, AL 36104 RENEW IN OCTOEER
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE
lseCTIoN BUSINESS TYRE ﬁ'ts'::l:_ FEE | PENALTY |CITATION|INTEREST| TOTAL
960 | COLLECTION AGENCIES 76.00 100 11.25 0.00 187 8812
|
TRANSFER OF LICENSE TOTAL e
Evidence heving been edduced before me thal & bona fide
sala of the business licensed by this cartifizate has been mada THOMAS L WHITE R AIL a6a
by licenase, this ficense is transfarred 1o 5akd purchaser Siale Comptroller FEE
WERNGM BARNETT
Name of Purchaser Cemmissioner of Revenue TT:: :25"' o
STEVEN L. REED s REPRINT LICENSE
Ts5uing Authonty Iesuing Authaorty 3
L3 05/21/2018 01:59PM
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Who 1s required to purchase a state/county
business privilege license?

* Not all professions or businesses require a state/county business privilege license. Please visit our webpage at
https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-licensing/ to view the Quick Reference Guide and a list of
the various licenses identified by code section.

 In addition to the business privilege license, some occupations/professions such as contractors, cosmetologists,
physicians, automobile dealers, etc., require a regulatory license, which may be required prior to obtaining the
business license. Please check with the appropriate board for licensing requirements. Go to
http://inform.alabama.gov/agencysearch.aspx to search for contact information.

* Persons operating a business via the Internet, such as a store, with a physical presence within Alabama, (mailing
address, employees, etc.) are required to obtain the same licenses as a brick and mortar business.

ALABAMA
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M= Anofficial website of the United States gowvernment. Here's how you know +

Individuala Businessez Professionals & MOTOR VEHICLE B MY ALABAMA TAXES B CONTACT q

ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF FORMS LEGAL NEWSROOM ABOUT
REVENUE

MISSION STATEMENT

The Alabama Department of Revenue will efficiently and effectively administer the
revenue laws in an equitable, courteous, and professional manner to fund
governmental services for the citizens of Alabama.

Individualincome Register My elD Make a Payment Where's My Refund? Register My Vehicle
Tax Forms

Tax Cuts and Jobs Act Guidance

The Alabama Department of Revenue has issued its preliminary guidance on the impact of the provisions of the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA). For up-to-date
TCJA guidance, visit https://revenue.alabama. gov/audience/professionals and click on “Tax Cuts and Jobs Act” in the menu on the left.
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DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FORMS LEGAL NEWSROOM ABOUT

REVENUE

SERVICES

The Alabama Department of Revenue administers many services for taxpayers. Information for each
division, along with some of the Services from each, can be found below.

Individual & Corporate Tax Q Motor Vehicle Division

Individual and Corporate Tax is responsible for the administration of The Motor Vehicle Division is responsible for the issuance of vehicle
individual income tax, business privilege tax, corporate income tax, titles, maintenance of vehicle records, the administration of the
parinerships, 3-Corporation, fiduciary and estate tax, financial Mandatory Liability Insurance law, and the issuance of motor vehicle
institution excice tax, and withholding tax for businesses and individuals. regulatory licenszes.

Where's My Refund? Mandatory Liability Insurance
IRP & IFTA Information

Request Motor Vehicle Recards

Due Dates
Taxpayer Service Centers

L4 s

Tax Laws License Plate and Registration Information

Title Information

AR

Mator Vehicle License Information
Wisit Division »

Wisit Division ®

— Business & License Tax silin ‘> Sales & Use Tax
Business & License Tax administers and collects taxes for motor fuels, Sales & Use Tax administers, collects and enforces several different taxes,
severance, and tobacco as well as oversees licenses for businesses and including sales tax and consumers tax, and is responsible for
motor fuels. administering, collecting, and enforcing those tax types.

Assessment Procedures Tax Rates

& Business Licensing

Environmental Taxes

Motor Fuels

Pari-Mutuel Pool Tax & State Horse Wagering Fee

—

Assessment Procedures

E-filing, Payments, & Assistance
Due Date Calendar
Information for Local Governments

L s

Severance Taxes

AR SRR LN AN

Tobacco Taxes
Wisit Division ®

Wisit Division »

ALABAMA
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ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FORMS LEGAL NEWSROOM ABOUT
REVENUE
Business Licensing Home ° Business&Llicense » Business Licznsing

Business Licensing

The Business Licensing Section issues licenses for automotive dismantler & parts recyclers, and aides the counties in administering
state [ county business licenses.

Licenses

* Business Privilege License lssued by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission
» Store License lssued by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission
* Municipal Business Licenses Not administered by ADOR

Resources

» Quick Reference Guide

» General Subject Index

» Handbook of Privilege & Store Licenses
* 2010 Census

* Starting 3 New Business Booklet

* County Probate Office Directory

* MNotices

s Interest Rate Factor Chart[3

* Forms Search

View Business Licensing FAQ »

Atlas Alabama

A comprehensive resource for business owners throughout the state interested in starting or expanding a small business, Visit Site s

Laws

The taxes listed below are administered by the License Tax Section of the Business & License Tax Division,
Go to the Code of Alabama 1975,

General Provisions: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 1
* Business, Vocation or Occupation Privilege Licenses: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 2
+ Store Licenses: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 6

+ Exemption of Certain Persons: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 7

Business, Profession & Occupation Index: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 2




ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FORMS LEGAL NEWSROOM ABOUT
REVENUE
Business Licensing Home > iness & License > iness Licensing

Business Licensing

The Business Licensing Section issues licenses for automotive dismantler & parts recyclers, and aides the counties in administering
state / county business licenses.

Licenses

* Business Privilege License lssued by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission
# Store License |ssued by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission
* Municipal Business Licenses Mot administered by ADOR

Resources

< * Quick Reference Guide >
s (GENEral SuDject Index
* Handbook of Privilege & Store Licenses
+ 2010 Census
* Starting a Mew Business Booklet
» County Probate Office Directory
* Motices
» Interest Rate Factor Chart[5
* Forms Search

View Business Licensing FAQ »

Atlas Alabama

A comprehensive resource for entrepreneurs and small business owners throughout the state interested in starting or expanding a small business, Visit Site »

Laws

The taxes listed below are administered by the License Tax Section of the Business & License Tax Division.
Goto the Code of Alabama 1975,

* Generzl Provisions: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 1

* Business, Vocation or Occupation Privilege Licenses: Title 20, Chapter 12, Article 2
* Store Licenses: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article §

* Exemption of Certain Persons: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 7

» Business, Profession & Occupation Index: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 2




What do I need to purchase a business privilege
license(s)?

* Name/legal structure of the business, for example, sole proprietor, partnership, LLE
(limited liability entity), etc.

* Social Security Number (SSN) or Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).

* The type of business that you will be operating, 1.e., what type of services or products will your
business offer.

* A detailed description of the type of business that the company will be engaging in. For example, if
opening a store, you will need to know what type of products will be sold as various items may
require separate licenses (for example, bicycles, radios, auto accessories, etc.).

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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Additional information for purchasing a business
privilege license(s):

* Multiple licenses are required when conducting business in multiple
categories.

A separate license may be required for each business location, depending on
the license category.

* The licensing official may require that an application form be completed.

ALABAMA
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Where do I obtain a business privilege license(s)?

* State/county business privilege licenses are administered via the local county offices.
Visit the local county license authority, where the business 1s located, to purchase the
state/county business privilege license(s). (Note: The name of this office may vary
depending upon the county. It may be the County Probate Judge, Revenue
Commissioner, License Commissioner, etc.).

* A list of County License Offices 1s available on the Alabama Department of
Revenue’s webpage: https://revenue.alabama.gov/business-license/business-
licensing/county-probate-office-directory/.

* You may also visit www.atlasalabama.gov/ for contact information.

ALABAMA
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ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FORMS LEGAL NEWSROOM ABOUT
REVENUE
Business Licensing Home * Business &License » Business Licensing

Business Licensing

The Business Licensing Section issues licenses for automotive dismantler & parts recyclers, and aides the counties in administering
state [ county business licenses.

Licenses

* Business Privilege License lssued by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission
* Store License |ssusd by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission
* Municipal Business Licenses Net administered by ADOR

Resources

* Quick Reference Guide

* General Subject Index

* Handbook of Privilege & Store Licenszes

* 2010Census
St

s Interest Rate Factor Chart[S
* Forms Search

View Business Licensing FAQ »

Atlas Alabama

A comprehensive resource for entrepreneurs and small business owners throughout the state interested in starting or expanding a small business, Visit Site =

Laws

The taxes listed below are administered by the License Tax Section of the Business & License Tax Division.
Go to the Code of Alabama 1975,

s Generzl Provisions: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 1

s Business,Vocation or Occupation Privilege Licenses: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 2
* Store Licenses: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 6

s Exemption of Certain Persons: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 7

s Business, Profession & Occupation Indes: Title 40, Chapter 12, Article 2
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County Probate Offices Directory

County Address Phone

Autauga 176 West 5th St 334-361-3730
Prattville, 36067-3041

Baldwin .0, Box 459 251-837-0260
Bay Minette, 36507-0459

Barbour-Clayton R.O.Box 158 334-775-8371
Clayton, 36016

Barbour-Eufaula 303 E Broad 5t, Ste 101 334-587-7637
Eufaula, 36027
Bibb 8 Court Sguare, Ste. A 205-8926-3104

Centreville, 35042

Blount 220 Second Ave. East, Rm. 101 205-625-4191
Oneonta, 35121

Bullock RO, Box T1 334-738-2250
Union Springs, 36088

Butler T00 Ct Square 334-382-3512

Greenville, 36037

Calhoun 1702 Moble St., Ste. 107 256-241-2900
Anniston, 36201

Chambers £2 Lafayette St. 334-864-4381
Lafayette, 36862

Cherokee 100 Main 5t., Ste, 204 256-927-3363
Centre, 35860

Chilton P.O. Box 270 205-755-1555

Clanton, 35046




Where do I obtain a business privilege license(s)?
(cont’d)

* If operating a chain store, all store licenses (Section 315) for the chain are
purchased in the home county where the business originated (i.e., the county
where the first store was opened). Other required licenses for the store are to be
purchased in the county where the business is located.

* In addition to the state/county business privilege license, some counties impose
a separate county business license fee. Check with the local county office to
determine 1f this applies to you and your business.

* Municipalities may also require a business license. Check with the city or town
clerk’s office to determine if this applies to you and your business. Visit the
Alabama League of Municipalities’ website at www.alalm.org for municipal
contact information.

ALABAMA
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How much does a business privilege license cost?

* License fees vary based upon the profession and/or the location of the business. In

general, monies collected are distributed equally to the State and county general
funds.

* There 1s a $1.00 issuance fee per license. Some counties have additional fees for
1ssuance or mailing. Note: Each county has its own procedures for the issuance
of business privilege licenses.

* If the business does not begin operations until after April 1%, you may be eligible
for a half-year license.

ALABAMA
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Other Business Privilege License Information

Businesses are required to renew licenses during the month of October each year.
* Licenses not renewed by the due date (October 31) are subject to a non-waivable 15% penalty plus interest.

* Licenses are nonrefundable, i.e., licenses purchased, which are not used and/or not needed, are not eligible for a
refund unless they represent a duplicate license as evidenced by the purchase of two licenses in the same business
entity name for the same license period.

* Licenses are transferable if the business is sold. The license must be transferred to the new owner at the county
license office with the payment of a $1.00 transfer fee.

* Licenses must be displayed in a conspicuous place at the business location and are subject to inspection by the
license authorities.

 Failure to purchase/display a license, as required, may result in a citation being issued.

ALABAMA
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Business & License Tax Division
Contact Information

MOTOR FUELS SECTION 334-242-9608

SEVERANCE TAX SECTION 334-242-9612

Gasoline Tax

Coal Severance Tax

Aviation & Jet Fuel Tax

Local Solid Minerals Tax

Diesel Fuel Tax

Oil & Gas Privilege Tax

Motor Carrier Mileage Tax

Oil & Gas Production Tax

Wholesale Qil/Import License Fee

Forest Products Severance Tax

Local Gasoline and Motor Fuel Taxes

Uniform Natural Minerals Tax

Lubricating Oil Tax

TOBACCO TAX SECTION 334-242-9627

ENVIRONMENTAL/OTHER TAXES 334-242-9612

State Tobacco Products

Hazardous Waste

State-administered County Tobacco Taxes

Solid Waste

Master Settlement Agreement (MSA)/
Escrow Provisions

Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust
Fund Charge

Scrap Tire Environmental Fee

PRIVILEGE LICENSES 334-353-7827

Pari-mutuel Pool Tax & State Horse Wagering Fee

Privilege License Tax

Store Licenses

ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF
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Don’t forget...

* It 1s the taxpayer’s responsibility to notify the county licensing official in the event that the
business closes or changes locations.

 State/county business privilege licenses must be renewed during the month of October. Renewal
notices are mailed as a courtesy by some counties. However, these are courtesy reminders as
there is no statutory requirement to send reminder notices.

* Upon receipt of the state/county business privilege license, contact the local taxing authority
to determine if a municipal license is required. Note: Some cities require a “delivery” license.
Therefore, all companies which enter into their jurisdiction may be required to obtain a license.
The State of Alabama does not regulate municipal licenses or county imposed licenses. Contact
the county or city for any licensing requirements.

* Taxpayers should visit the Department of Revenue’s webpage at
www.MyAlabamaTaxes.Alabama.gov to register the business with the proper tax account(s) such
as sales tax, withholding, etc.

ALABAMA
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Questions?




Atlas Alabama
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G ATLASALABAMA &:%

Charting your course to small business success

Atlas Alabama is a website for entrepreneurs and small business
owners, which provides a consolidated access point for basic
information on doing business in Alabama, including details on
licenses, taxes, loans, funding sources and insurance.

In addition, Atlas Alabama features a comprehensive list of national,
state and local resources that can also assist small business owners.

The link to Atlas Alabama is www.AtlasAlabama.gov.

ALABAMA
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Aboutthe Commission  Counl ctory  Municipality Directory # QUICKLINKS @6 CONTACT  Q

BATLASALABAMA

Small Business Starts Here

Ready to turn your passion into a small business?

START TODAY |

Whether you are just starting out or ready to expand,
our small business resources can point you in the right direction.

Provides Quick Access to Key Resources

ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF
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Plan:

* Business Checklist

* Agency Directory

*  Writing a Business Plan
» Start-Up Costs

* Financing

 B.E.S.T. Seminars

Launch:

*  Choose a Location
*  Structure & Name
* Tax Information

* Licenses & Permits

Manage

* Taxes

* Insurance

* Best Practices

Grow
*  Open Additional
Locations

* Adding New Employees
* Merge and Acquire
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About the Commission County Directory Municipality Directory

# QUICK LINKS

B ATLASALABAMA

Quick Links

OPPAL % PLAN

Planning to start a small busi The following
resources will help point you in the right direction.

My Alabama Taxes =

== Small Business Resources in Alabama
State Agencies & Departments ﬁ

i= 10 Steps to Starting Your Business
AL Small Businezs Development Center ()
III Steps to Writing a Business Plan

Made in Alabama L=
ﬁ Starting Costs Calculator

4 ADOR's B.E.S.T. Seminar

MANAGE
Make sure you're managing your day-to-day

operations in the best way possible. Conduct your
business like a boss.

‘ Guide to Business Taxes
- Recordkeeping

= Feasibility Checklist
&, Social Security/FICA

@ Steps to Closing a Business

ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF

REVENUE //ATLAS ALABAMA

GET STARTED

REQUIREMENTS NEWS FAQS

Home : QuickLinks

This step is where planning turns into reality! Start

laying your groundwork now for a successful
business.

@' County Directory

; Municipality Directory
5 Guide to Business Taxes
E Business Entity Types
E Secretary of State

Watch your business take full bloom by expanding,
increasing production, and possibly even adding
new employees.

i= Readiness Checklist
i= Business Checklist
|#” Financing

& SBAStart Up Cost Guide

& 2. ADORsBEST!



B ATLASALABAMA

GET STARTED REQUIREMENTS NEWS FAQS

State Agencies & Departments

Home > State Agencies & Departments

FOR ALL BUSINESSES

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC & COMMUNITY AFFAIRS *

Administers state and federal programs benefiting local governments,
schools, businesses, children, elderly, victims of crimes and abuse, and
the disadvantaged and poor.

State Small Business Credit Initiative
Office of Minority Business Enterprise
Alabama SAVES

Surplus Property Program

ADECA News

LR O S

Visit Agency Site »

&Ia ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

The OSBA mission is to aid, counsel, assist, and protect the interest of
small business concemns in order to preserve free competitive enterprise
and maintain a healthy state economy.

Small Business Advocacy
Resource Providers
Publications

LA s

Incubator Programs

Visit Agency Site »

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Administers state unemployment and workers’ compensation, job
match services, provides labor market information, enforces child labor
laws, and inspects elevators, boilers, and mines,

Employee Search

Ul Taxes & Wage Reports
Labor Law Posters

Child Labor

UC Partial Claims

Labor Market Information
eGOV Website

CLLLC s

Visit Agency Site »

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

The mission of DOR is to efficiently and effectively administer the
revenue laws in an equitable, courteous, and professional manner to
fund governmental services for the citizens of Alabama.

Starting a Mew Business
Business Section
B.E.5.T. Seminars

ONE SPOT Tax Portal

LA

Visit Agency Site »




Taxpayer Service Centers (TPSC)

The Alabama Department of Revenue 1s available to offer assistance
to taxpayers at any one of nine Taxpayer Service Centers located
throughout the State of Alabama.

To find the Taxpayer Service Center located nearest to you, go to
https://revenue.alabama.gov/taxpayer-service-centers/ on the
Department’s website.

Service Center hours are from 8:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m. (central time),
Monday through Friday.

e © 2 ADOR, BEST!
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In closing, we hope that you have obtained the information and
knowledge that will assist you in successfully operating your
business....remember when it comes to understanding tax laws,
know that the Department of Revenue 1s here to assist you.

These seminars are a chance for you to establish working
relationships with the employees of the Department, who can
assist you with any of your tax questions or concerns. It 1s better
to seek assistance in the beginning than to find yourself in a
situation that could have been avoided.

ALABAMA € 2. ADOR:BEST!
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Thank you
for being
ADOR’s B.E.S.T.!

This presentation can be found under the “B.E.S.T. Resources” tab

on our webpage at
https://revenue.alabama.gov/taxpayer-advocacy/b-e-s-t-seminars/

ALABAMA
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Notes:
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