
temporary tag fee: 
 
                            enter the total number of temporary tags requested . . . . . . . . . .  
 
                            price per temporary tag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 
                            Total amount due (line 1 times line 2) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 
 
Attach payment payable to the Alabama Department of Revenue. please mail the completed form and payment to the 
above address. 
 
 
name: ________________________________________________     title:________________________________________________ 
 
 
signature: ____________________________________________     Date: ________________________________________________ 
 
 
it shall be unlawful for any owner to make any false statement in making application for issuance of a temporary license 
tag or temporary registration certificate, or for any designated agent or manufacturer to issue a temporary license tag or 
temporary registration receipt with knowledge of such false statement. Anyone violating the provisions of this section 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished, upon conviction, by a fine of not more than $500.00 or by 
imprisonment for not more than six months, or by both.

DESIGNATED AGENT / MANUFACTURER                                                                                                DESIGNATED AGENT NUMBER (IF APPLICABLE) 

MAILING ADDRESS 

STREET ADDRESS                                                                                                                                     CITY, STATE, ZIP                                                                                 COUNTY 

CONTACT PERSON                                                                                                                                    TELEPHONE NUMBER 

EMAIL ADDRESS                                                                                                                                 

AlAbAmA DepArtment of revenue 
motor vehicle Division 

p.o. box 327610 • montgomery, Al  36132-7610 • (334) 242-9000 

temporary tag Application 
see instructions on bAcK

MVR-1 
8/20

$2.25

(              )



Alabama temporary tag instructions 

A designated agent as defined under section 32-8-34, code of Alabama 1975, may issue a temporary tag 
and temporary registration receipt valid for twenty (20) days from the date of issuance to the owner of a 
motor vehicle which is to be permanently licensed in any state. only licensing officials may issue a 
temporary tag and temporary registration valid for more than twenty (20) days.  
 
A manufacturer of a mobile home, trailer coach, travel trailer, semitrailers or trailers, including utility 
trailers, or house trailer manufactured on a chassis or undercarriage as an integral part thereof drawn by 
a self-propelled vehicle who has a manufacturing, constructing, or assembling plant in this state may 
make application to the department for authority to issue a temporary tag and temporary registration 
valid for twenty (20) days from the date of issuance in connection with such mobile home, trailer coach, 
travel trailer, semitrailers or trailers, including utility trailers, or house trailer manufactured in this state 
and which is to be permanently licensed in some state other than Alabama in accordance with section 32-
6-212, code of Alabama 1975.  
 
A manufacturer of a boat who has a manufacturing, constructing, or assembling plant in this state may 
make application to the department for authority to issue a temporary license plate and temporary 
registration certificate in connection with the boat trailer used to transport such boat manufactured by it 
in this state when the boat is to be domiciled in some state other than Alabama. A dealer in boats may 
also make application to the department for authority to issue temporary license plates and temporary 
registration certificates valid for twenty (20) days from the date of issuance in connection with a boat 
trailer used to transport a boat sold by it which is to be domiciled in some state other than the state of 
Alabama. 
 
if approved by the department, such manufacturer or dealer shall enter into a bond (form mvt 4-3) with 
a corporate surety authorized to do business in this state as surety thereon, payable to the state of 
Alabama in a sum as provided for in section 40-12-398, code of Alabama 1975. provided that a 
manufacturer or dealer who has entered into a bond pursuant to section 32-8-34, 32-20-22, or 40-12-398, 
code of Alabama 1975, shall not be required to obtain another bond pursuant to this section. such 
manufacturer or dealer may perform its duties under this division either personally or through any of its 
officers or employees. 
 
Designated agents and manufacturers who issue temporary tags and temporary registrations must 
maintain a record of all temporary tags and temporary registrations issued for a period of one year. the 
Department of revenue may examine these records upon request. failure of a designated agent or 
manufacturer to faithfully perform the duties associated with the issuance of temporary tags and 
temporary registrations may result in the revocation of this authority.  
 
temporary tags issued for a truck or truck tractor with a gross weight exceeding twelve thousand 
(12,000) pounds shall display the notation "unladen Weight only".  
 
the temporary tag should be displayed in accordance with section 32-6-51, code of Alabama 1975, on 
vehicle for which it was issued. the temporary registration should be kept inside the motor vehicle.  
 

please mail application and remittance to:  
 

Alabama Department of revenue  
motor vehicle Division  

p.o. box 327610  
montgomery, Al 36132-7610 


