MV 40-12-250

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Doc Code RPS0A

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION 22!
P.O. Box 327630 e Morltgomery, AL 36132-7630 * (334) 242-9000

Application For Government License Plates

INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE SIDE

REGISTRANT INFORMATION

DEPARTMENT OR AGENCY NAME TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include Area Code)
STREET ADDRESS FAX
CITY STATE ZIP EMAIL

TYPE OF PLATE REQUESTED
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Total new license plates requested . . . . . X $24.25 = $§

Total license plates to be transferred. . . . X$125 =9
Totalamountdue........... ... ... .. .. ... $

| understand that the government tag(s) issued or reassigned to the motor vehicle(s) identified above cannot be used on any other vehicle. The
government tag must be removed from the vehicle when it is sold or otherwise permanently taken out of service by the agency to which the tag
is assigned. Alabama law requires that current proof of liability insurance coverage and a valid registration receipt be carried within the vehicle.

Signed by: Title: Date:




INSTRUCTIONS

1. REGISTRANT INFORMATION — complete the registrant information. The street address block should contain the
physical address of the department.

2. TYPE OF PLATE REQUESTED - check the appropriate box. PUD license plates may be used only on vehicles
that are owned by a municipal corporation or board. All other municipal vehicles should display municipal license
plates.

3. ADDITIONS — complete vehicle information for new registrations.

a. BODY TYPE. Example: Cars — Four Door (4DR) or Two Door (2DR), Van (VAN), Pickup Truck (PU), Motor-
cycle (MC), Bus (BUS), Truck (TK), Trailer (TL), Utility Trailer (UT), etc.

b. TAG FOR TRANSFER. If a tag is not available for transfer, leave this space blank. If a tag is available for
transfer, enter the number of the tag to be transferred in this space, and complete the “Deletions” section of
this form for the vehicle from which the tag will be removed.

4. DELETIONS — complete vehicle information for registrations to be deleted.

a. BODY TYPE. Example: Cars — Four Door (4DR) or Two Door (2DR), Van (VAN), Pickup Truck (PU), Motor-
cycle (MC), Bus (BUS), Truck (TK), Trailer (TL), Utility Trailer (UT), etc.

b. If your department is deleting the registration of a vehicle and the vehicle will not immediately be replaced,
complete this section and return the license plate to the Department of Revenue at the address listed on the
top of the form. If the vehicle will be immediately replaced, complete this section, along with the “Additions”
section of this form for the vehicle the tag will be transferred to.

5. If a replacement tag or registration receipt is needed for an existing vehicle registration, an Application for Replace-
ment License Plates and Registration Receipts (Form MV 40-12-250A), must be completed. The form is available
on the Department of Revenue website at www.revenue.alabama.gov.

6. Submit $24.25 for each new license plate requested. If you already have a license plate and need to transfer it to
a new vehicle, submit $1.25 per license plate transfer. A copy of the Alabama title or the Application for Certificate
of Title (Form MVT 5-1C) is also required. The department or agency’s name must appear on the title as the owner
or operator. An endorsed title or manufacturer’s statement of origin will not be accepted. If the vehicle is not subject
to titling, a copy of the bill of sale is required. If the vehicle to be registered is leased, a copy of the lease agreement
must also be provided. The lease must include an option to buy in order to be eligible for a government license
plate. For U.S. Government Loaned plates, submit a Transfer Order of Excess Personal Property (G.S.A. Standard
Form 122), or a letter from the Defense Revitalization and Marketing Service of the Department of Defense and a
DD Form 1348-1A instead of a title. The form should list the agency the vehicle is shipped or consigned to.

Checks should be made payable to the Alabama Department of Revenue and mailed to the address below. State
agencies may submit forms via fax or email.

Alabama Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Division
Registration Section
P.O. Box 327630
Montgomery, AL 36132-7630

Telephone: (334) 242-9000

*All VINs for 1981 and subsequent year model vehicles that conform to federal anti-theft standards are required to
have 17 digits/characters.



