810-5-1-.236 God Bless America Distinctive License Plates.

(1) Owners of private passenger vehicles, to include pickup trucks as defined
in Section 32-8-2(14.1), Code of Alabama 1975, and motor homes regardless of weight,
shall be entitled to purchase a God Bless America distinctive license plate. Registrants
shall pay standard registration fees based on the type of vehicle and all applicable
taxes, but no annual additional fee will be charged in accordance with Section 32-6-610,
Code of Alabama 1975, unless the owner chooses to obtain a personalized God Bless
America distinctive plate in accordance with Section 32-6-611, Code of Alabama 1975.

(2) Effective October 1, 2006, owners of motor vehicles may request pre-
numbered God Bless America distinctive license plates.

3) Motor vehicle owners may elect to obtain a God Bless America distinctive
license plate, before the expiration of their current license plate, by surrendering their
current passenger license plate to the county license plate issuing official and paying
the issuance fee as provided for in Section 40-12-271, Code of Alabama 1975.

(4) Section 32-6-611, Code of Alabama 1975, provides for personalized God
Bless America distinctive license plates effective September 1, 2008.

(5) The personalized plates shall be processed in the same manner as
personalized plates in Section 32-6-150, Code of Alabama 1975.

(6) Any registrant desiring to obtain a personalized God Bless America plate
shall pay an annual additional fee of fifty dollars ($50) in addition to the standard
registration fees associated with the vehicle type and all applicable taxes as allowed by
law. The annual additional fee shall not be prorated.

(7) The Department of Revenue shall be responsible for the design of the
God Bless America distinctive license plate.

(8) Owners of a motor bus which is owned by a church, private school,
hospital, or other eleemosynary institution and used only for the purposes of such
institution, may elect to secure the God Bless America distinctive license plate upon
payment of an annual registration fee of $13.00, as provided for in Section 40-12-
246(d), Code of Alabama 1975.
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